reviews for: listing #97471 - Mission Beach, California Condo rental

Beach Front Penthouse with Spectacular Views
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  South Mission Beach
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,250 - $3,000 /wk

sort by:

Exceptional condo on Mission Beach

Review submitted: July 13, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

The condo more than met our expectations: clean, spacious, comfortable, many amenities, fantastic view (esp. on July 4th). The owner was very helpful in answering questions.There was an extensive binder of information about the condo and the surrounding area. She left gifts for the 3 children and a bottle of wine for us.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable and serene

Review submitted: July 12, 2014   Date of arrival: June 22, 2014

Great location! Amazing view of the fireworks show from across the bay at Seaworld every night. Easy walk to ocean side, even with beach gear in tow. Very comfortable accommodations with room for all 6 of us. All amenities imaginable provided, which made for a very relaxing and worry-free stay.

The owner was very clear and provided all the information needed very quickly in order to reserve my stay as well as detailed instructions on how things work and how to get around.

I would highly recommend this condo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 23, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

This was our second stay at this condo and we had another wonderful week. We chose this rental again because it has everything we need to play, relax, and have a great vacation.
The bay is the perfect place for our two boys (7 and 9) to play with the provided boogie boards and sand toys. We also had family visit us on two different days and we used the umbrella and chairs that were also provided by the owner.
The condo itself is very clean and roomy. We made breakfasts and lunches in the full kitchen. The condo has an ocean breeze that keeps it very cool and comfortable! An added bonus is the nightly Sea World firework show from the balcony. My boys loved it! My family also appreciated the 2 parking spots that came with the condo. (It is hard to find parking at Mission Bay.)
We would definitely stay a third time!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent 4th of July

Review submitted: November 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We stayed here for a week. The condo was very nice, clean and ready for us. We had no problems using anything in condo except the BBQ, and the owner responded promptly to the lack of propane in the BBQ. The condo is on the third floor and the parking is in a garage below the complex. Therefore you're going to have to climb three flights of stairs with your luggage, there is no elevator. If you have trouble with stairs, this isn't the place for you. Even from the beach, it's 2 1/2 flights of stairs. The bedroom with the bunk bed is a small room, more 'bed' than 'room' and has two doors, one opens to the hallway and the other opens to the master. The other bedrooms are nice. The living room, with the pullout bed, is bright in the morning and may not be great for sleeping in late. That said, our family of 4 had enough room and was comfortable. The condo has windows that open on 3 sides, East, South, West, so you can open up all of the windows and get a nice breeze. There were plenty of supplies for us, such as beach toys, kitchen utensils, toilet paper, etc. We didn't have to provide anything other than food.

The immediate neighborhood was quiet (well, quiet for Mission Beach) and the beach in front of the condo was clean and calm. The condo is within walking distance to the Coaster but far enough that the noise and traffic from the Coaster won't affect you while you're in the condo or on the sand in front of the condo. We were here for the 4th of July and our immediate beach area was quiet. Since the condo is in Mission Beach, traveling in and out of Mission is a challenge but that's an issue for everybody.

Overall, this was a nice condo in a nice location. Our family of four (kids between 5 and 15) had a good time with enough room to not get in each other's way. It was clean and well provided. We would stay here again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great week!!

Review submitted: August 1, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

What a fantastic week! The condo is centrally located and it was especially great for small kids as it was on bay side so my 2 and 4 year old (plus all the other kids on the beach) had a fantastic time playing down by the water. Owner had left the kids personalized pail and shovel (really nice touch)! Owner gave great advice and suggestions of what to do, where to eat, where to go and when -- really instrumental in my planning. Was also incredibly responsive to all of my emails/questions. Would recommend this place to anybody!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The family vaca

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

First I would like to say what a great vacation spot. The views were fantastic, sea world fire works, the boats in the bay, and the best was the sandy bay front. But where we are really impressed is the home itself. It's perfect we slept 9 ( 4 adults and 5 kids ) it never felt crowded, parking was not an issue because there were 2 garage spots and 2 bathrooms!!!! What a must never had to wait for the wives to get ready. The home is in great condition with a washer and dryer so don't over pack! I would suggest this property to anyone. Shelly the homeowner was fantastic and accommodating for evwrything. She has a things to do (home made very easy to read) if you have never been here.

Again a must rent property in San Diego

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Bay Front Location!

Review submitted: July 20, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Perfect location on Mission Bay. It was nice to be able to walk right out onto the beach and have everything we needed provided in the storage locker by Shelly. Great views, convenient location, and lots to do! Seeing the fireworks every night was an added bonus. Condo was well maintained and spacious. Shelly was excellent to work with. Would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great condo!

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2012

Stayed here during the school year for 9 months and loved it! Great views from every room in the house and property is very well taken care of. Furnishings included with rental are top notch and great communication with the landlord Shelly throughout lease. Definitely recommend for a short or long term stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great For Vacation With Small Kids

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

My family of three and another family of three (both with kids under age 5) stayed at this condo for one week in mid-June. We had a terrific time! We were so happy to be able to walk out the door and right onto the beach. When the kids were tired and dirty from playing for hours on the beach it was easy to get them cleaned up and back inside as well. The bay side location was excellent for young kids because we didn't have to be concerned about waves knocking the small kids over and the mid-June time frame was great, too - most days we had the beach all to ourselves! Another treat of the location is that several of the nights we got the chance to watch the SeaWorld fireworks show from the balcony! Very cool.

During the booking process Shelly was super responsive to questions and prior to arrival sent us a very detailed packet of instructions and codes for access - even including pictures and diagrams for clarity. Very helpful. Once we arrived and got into the place it was really nice - nicely decorated and very comfortable. Shelly was also thoughtful and left a few small welcome gifts for the kids and parents! The only drawback of the house location was that some of the planes taking off from the airport come over the house now and then.

We had a great time and have already recommended this condo to friends!

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Bayside Getaway :)

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2012

This condo delivered. The owners thought of everything. It was decorated really well and reflected it's ammenities and appearance exactly as portrayed in the photos. We had a warm welcome complete with a basket full of extra goodies to enjoy. We had a beautiful view of the bay and loved the breeze that flowed through the entire condo. Everything was fresh and new and extremely clean. The kitchen was completely stocked with every single thing you could need (even a garlic press, I was impressed haha). Having a full size washer and dryer in the unit was fabulous. No lugging your laundry up and down steps or having to share with other units! Parking is tight if you have a large SUV but it was refreshing to have it safely tucked away in a nice, clean and secure garage. Plenty of nice beach toys and comforts too! Shelly is warm and available, happy to suggest things to do and helpful. We also LOVED the lock system of the entire complex. We really appreciated not having to worry about keys! It's a wonderful convenience especially if you have a few people staying.... no one has to stress over who's got the key (or worry about losing it at the beach). You will get a work out bringing your stuff up the steps but being in the top unit was awesome! We had a wonderful experience and sure other's will too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kailey Landmark

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this condo for two nights and we left completely satisfied. We didn’t want to leave. The condo exceeded all our expectations from the decor to the view and location. This condo has been recently renovated and has been refurnished with brand new furniture. The condo is decorated very nicely and has everything you could possibly need on your vacation! They even provided towels, beach umbrellas and chairs. It was very convenient that they had their own garage and storage space. The pictures online do not do this condo justice. The condo was VERY clean, spacious and in great condition! The panoramic view from the condo is beautiful! We opted out of going out to breakfast every morning because we wanted to enjoy our Kureg coffee on the patio while overlooking the bay. We also enjoyed watching the Sea World Fireworks every night...it is literally right across the bay. We loved the location of the condo, Belmont Park is within walking distance as well as many restaurants and shops. The owners provided a very detailed binder that describes everything from how to operate the TV, to recommended restaurants. This was our first vacation rental experience and I am so glad we picked this condo! It was the best trip we have had and I would highly recommend it! :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Super comfortable, well appointed and unbeatable location!

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Where to start gushing about this condo? The balcony from which you see the SeaWorld fireworks every night? Being 8 steps from building sand castles by the bay? Or just a couple short blocks from big waves, volleyball courts and ocean? South Mission Beach is a delightful place to spend a vacation. Miles of bike/walk trails along the bay and the ocean; parks within half a mile each way; a store, several restaurants and a roller coaster within walking distance, just for starters. And if you hop in your car (easy to do because the condo provides two parking spaces), there is easy access to all San Diego has to offer. The owners of the condo are super thoughtful. First, they did their own trial run in the condo to see how comfortable it was, and made changes accordingly. They really care about providing a great experience, and the results are impeccable! They provided detailed instructions and information for how to use everything, as well as great advice about local restaurants, stores, attractions, etc.-- not to mention super thoughtful welcome care packages for everyone. The place is spotless, beds are very comfortable, and the condo is well stocked from shot glasses to kiddie cups. Lots of details made the stay easy-- plenty of towels and linens, dishwashing capsules, new sponge, etc. We arrived at 4p, ran out to the local store and were having dinner at home (following building some sand castles right out front) by 6:30p. EASY! So great with two small kids (ours are 5 and 3). I would absolutely recommend this condo, and we would return in a heart beat. In a word... SPLENDID!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Stay in Mission Beach!

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

This was my first time using VRBO, so I was a little nervous to see what the actual vacation rental would look like when we got there (would it be clean? would the location be as advertised?). We were pleasantly surprised to find that everything was BETTER than advertised! Everything in this rental was new and in great condition. Everything was sparkling clean! The beds and linens were comfortable and nice! There were plenty of plates, cooking-ware, utensils, and flatware! The condo looks like a professional decorator had decorated it! The owner had even stocked new beach chairs, sand toys, beach umbrellas, beach towels, and boogie boards! Literally, every time we needed something, it was there. The location....we could do an easy walk to Belmont Park (with kids age 6 and 8 and also grandparents), the condo is RIGHT on the boardwalk to the bay side, and you can walk to the ocean side beach very, very easily. We carried all of our beach equipment without using a wagon or cart and weren't out of breath or tired when we got to the ocean beach. Very easy, short walk. One of the things I enjoyed about the condo was being able to have our morning coffee (owner has stocked a nice, new Keurig coffee maker) on the balcony overlooking the bay, watching the paddle boarders and sailboats. You can also see the Sea World fireworks from the balcony at night. There are two parking spaces that a large SUV fits into, which is a huge plus at the beach. There is plenty of storage space. There is nothing with the condo that could have been done better. It was a great experience with my kids and my parents. The condo would be awesome for a family with kids younger than mine, too, because the bayside beach has almost no waves and nice sand, making it perfect for babies and toddlers. Thank you for a great vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Amazing!!!

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

My husband and I, my parents, and our two children, a 1 year old and 5 year old stayed here on vacation and I can't even explain in words how wonderful it was. We wanted to stay forever!! The beach home is very quiet and very large! The extra den off the master bedroom was perfect for our kids (I even fit a portable crib in there). It gave my husband and I privacy and also peace of mind knowing the kids were close. It's all on one level and very open, so it's great for young children to be able to explore around. Staying on the bay was wonderful. My daughter collected so many sea shells and my son loved playing in the sand and water. The area by the bay is much calmer than the regular beach area, so it was perfect for kids. At night we put the kids to bed and my husband and I stayed up watching TV, or enjoying the balcony and looking out at the water. It is a close walk to lots of restaurants and shopping or a short drive to other parts of San Diego. The owner, Shelly was so amazing. She helped us find places during our stay and provided us with a book that has so much information about the area and how everything works in the home. It is very secure, fun and beautiful. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

This is the best place I've stayed. The condo was immaculate and it had all the items we needed. The view of the bay is spectacular. The short walk to the beach makes it even better. I have no complaints. I didn't want to leave. Unless you consider adding a butler, I don't have suggestions to improve. You have a gem!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mission Beach Bay Front

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

Location, location, location. This condo is in the perfect location to enjoy all that Mission Bay and Mission Beach have to offer. The bayfront balcony is so relaxing and the windows throughout the place makes it feel as if you are outside all the time. The place is immaculate, beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable with all new furnishings and media players. Keyless entry was extremely convenient. There is lots of storage to put your things away. We stayed with another couple and three kids and we had plenty of room to move around and enjoy the place. The parking, which is super important in MIssion Beach, is covered and very convenient. We played on the sand, roller bladed/biked on the Boardwalk and walked over to the ocean all located next to the condo. I would highly recommend this place to all my friends and family. We look forward to going back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review