reviews for: listing #97518 - Malibu, California Cottage rental

Deluxe Oceanfront Cottage on Dry Sandy Beach - SEA LION
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Carbon Beach
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $300 - $500 /nt
    $1,925 - $2,800 /wk
    $7,500 - $10,500 /mth

sort by:

A Relaxing Retreat

Review submitted: February 15, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

What an amazing property! It is exactly as shown in the listing. Sam met us at the property when we arrived and showed us around. Another employee checked in with us on day two to ensure all was well. We didn't have any concerns, but I believe any issues would have been remedied immediately based on how helpful everyone was.
The place was convenient to many restaurants. We'd highly recommend V's, which is right across the street. I had the best hamburger I have ever had! Ralph's grocery store was only a mile or so up the road, but once you shut the door to the unit, we felt like we were 1,000 miles away from everything! There is a million dollar view from the balcony. It's a great place to soak up the sun and sea air. The place was very convenient to LAX, Santa Monica and Venice Beach. It was the perfect place for a short getaway to recharge from the cold Wisconsin winter. I can't wait to come back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

California Paradise

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

The soothing sound of the surf, swooping shore birds, seal and dolphin sightings, walks along the shore, beautiful sunrises and sunsets.... paradise found.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in sunny Malibu and lucked out with very warm January weather. The unit comes just as advertised. Comfortable, homey, with all the amenities. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and quick to address any questions that we may have had.
It was a great location as we toured around the Malibu area, up the coast to Santa Barbara and into the LA area as well. We quickly discovered that we enjoyed staying close by, exploring all that Malibu has to offer and preparing breakfasts and dinners in the well equipped kitchen and dining on the balcony overlooking the million dollar view.
We highly recommend checking out the Malibu Pier, Surfriders Beach and the beautiful Adamson House, all just a short walk away. We frequented "Ralph's" grocery store, just a short drive up the Pacific Coast Highway, where we could find freshly prepared meals, good produce and anything else we needed.
This was the perfect place for the perfect beach house experience. We highly recommend it!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

You can NOT be closer to the water!

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

Spent the holidays in this condo and had a great time. The weather was perfect. During high tide, the water is actually underneath the building. Sound of surf crashing was impressive. Door in bathroom goes to stairs ending directly on the sand. At low tide, the starfish colonies are amazing. Lots of dolphins as well. I will say the unit is not quite as large as it appears in the pcitures, but is still very comfortable. I would give this an "excellent" review if the unit had a dishwasher. It was a bit of a drag to have to do dishes by hand on vacation. The groundskeeper, Angel, was extremely friendly and helpful. If you want to go to the beach, and are not a fan of the sand, this is the place for you. The view is outstanding and you will see sunrise and sunset from the deck. By the way, Malibu's best breakfast can be found at Coogie's.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

California Dreaming

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

We had a fabulous time staying at Sea Lion at the end of June, from the initial greeting on our arrival through to the farewell at the end it was really an awesome stay.
The apartment is just gorgeous, the most beautiful view out over the beach and the pier out around the bay area. We enjoyed BBQs on the decked balcony which was spacious and sheltered. You could sit and hear the waves lapping under you. The apartment was really nicely furnished and had everything we needed for our stay. We loved the touch of having a log fire, even though it was summer, we lit it for the ambience. Perfectly located next to the pier, Nobu and the Malibu Inn close by and then a short distance to the Country Mart made this location really fab. We will be back and have missed our time there greatly. We will definitely return and tell everyone we know who is planning a visit (well not everyone as nice secret!). Thank you Sue and the team for all your help and being available whenever we had a query. Fiona, Andy, Jenny (the mother in law) and Phoebe aged 4. x

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

What a view!

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

What an amazing place! It was just as described and very clean. The owner was very helpful and even called during our stay to see if there was anything we needed.

The address wasn't visible from the street so we ended up driving by it twice before finding it. I recommend looking up a street view picture before arrival. Other than that we had a wonderful stay. I miss the beach and the sound of the waves and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Wonderful relaxing stay

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 11, 2013

We didn't know what to expect since we both haven't stayed in Malibu before and had never spoken on the phone to the owners prior to our stay (just email) so initially I was a little hesitant. However, the self check-in was pretty smooth as we met some nice neighbors who helped direct us into the right unit. When I first walked in to the apartment, I was completely wowed by the view of the Pacific, the gorgeous large deck, the quaint white sofa, beautiful day bed next to the kitchen, and little sea shell decor in the living room. The kitchen with its granite counter--top and clean fridge and stove made it really convenient for cooking with ease plus you will be dining with an ocean view. What more can anyone ask for? Oh yes, we also saw dolphins. The bedroom didn't have an ocean view (and I could hear people talking on occasion when they walk outside, and it's next to our windows) but that was a just a minor thing. I would definitely recommend this place.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Very nice

Review submitted: February 27, 2013   Date of arrival: February 21, 2013

What a great place. We really enjoyed
our stay. Very clean, right on the water.
Pictures on VBRO are perfect condo is
just as it appears.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Love this condo each time we stay

Review submitted: February 20, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

We've stayed at this condo on a number of occasions and just love it. Great location for beach, restaurants, golf, everything. We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

GREAT LOCATION !

Review submitted: December 18, 2012   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

One of the nicest places we have been. Ideal for persons that love the sea and the sound of the waves.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Enjoyed the views and sounds of the ocean!

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

This spot is perfect. The property had everything we needed and the staff was very attentive. From start to finish the rental staff was professional and efficient. The condo is right on the ocean and you hear the soothing sound of the waves 24/7. We spent our week on the porch and walking on the beach. Took a few excursions to the attractions, but home for the beautiful sunsets. Many thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Malibu Tranquility

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

We have just returned from vacationing at this wonderful slice of heaven. Everything was fantastic -- very efficient checking in, with gated parking to the unit itself - very equipped and elegantly designed. From sitting out with morning coffee to beach walking along Carbon and Surfrider Beaches, we truly enjoyed this vacation. We had two teenage girls who took surfing lessons (Malibu Surf Shack) and had their first successful surfing experiences! Close proximity to historical Adamson House and a short drive to The Getty Villa. We're thankful we were able to stay and vow to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Absolutely perfect

Review submitted: May 12, 2012   Date of arrival: May 2, 2012

If you are planning a trip to the Los Angeles area and want to stay on the beach you will love all of Sue's rentals. I have stayed in all of them and some several times and have never been disappointed. I just returned from staying in this beautiful new unit. Sue makes sure that you have all the amenities you could want and each unit is directly on the beach, clean and beautifully decorated. They are gated and have easy access to PCH which is a huge plus.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review