reviews for: listing #97595 - South Lake Tahoe, California House rental

New Listing-3,400 sq ft Mountain Chalet-Room to Roam
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Tahoe Keys
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $275 - $395 /nt
    $1,795 - $2,350 /wk

sort by:

Excellant Winter Home!

Review submitted: December 30, 2013   Date of arrival: December 6, 2013

Michael was very accommodating to my group and our dogs. The house is very spacious and does not lack in amenities. The kitchen and dining area are very nice and updated. We had a great time in Tahoe and will definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you very much for the positive review. I am glad you had a good time and I hope to be able to welcome again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I am in love with this house!

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

Some friends and I spent Thanksgiving here and it was magnificent. The house is beautiful, open, but incredibly cozy. It's located in a cute little neighborhood near the beach and a few miles from Stateline. Michael is very nice, accommodating, and responsive.
Everything about our stay was fantastic...mostly due to this awesome house.
I can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for the kind review. I do try and provide a vacation rental that truly makes my guests feel like they are in a 'home away from home' with all the amenities and clean environment you would expect in your own house. I also strive to not make it look like a 'vacation rental' with bare minimum furnishings - sounds like I have succeeded….thank you very much again and I would love to have you stay at my home again. Summer time is great too as the house is only located a block from the lake and the beach.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

An awesome winter ski house

Review submitted: August 10, 2013   Date of arrival: January 3, 2013

This house was perfect for the winter ski season. I rented this place for the 2013 ski season with a bunch of friends from SF. It's conveniently located, has great sized rooms, 2 living areas, and a really nice hot tub area. The owner Michael is also really easy to work with and when we had a water leak this winter (due to an unusually bad cold spell, not the house) he was very responsive in helping to deal with the insurance and repair people. The house looks exactly like the pictures and there's plenty of space for large parties to hang out. The bbq and additional sink/bar area were also nice touches.

There's also an indoor pool nearby and a nice small park for dogs too.

I would definitely look into renting this place again in the future. Thanks Michael!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you very much for the kind comments. I am glad you and your family and friends enjoyed the home for the winter season. You were great tenants and I look forward to having you back next season.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Winter wonderland

Review submitted: December 27, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2012

I'm not really into giving reviews but the service and the house were exceptional so I'm writing this review. From the time I emailed Michael inquiring about the property to our check out, everything went out smoothly.
Owner - Michael was very responsive to all my questions/requests. He was very pleasant to deal with.
House - It was a perfect white Christmas. The house is very beautiful and clean. Our family very much enjoyed it. My favorite are the kitchen and the master bed. The kitchen is fully equipped, big and very nice. Everything we need to prepare for our Christmas eve dinner gathering was there. The master bedroom is huge. We particularly love the tempurpedic mattress. It was so comfortable. Extra blankets and towels were provided too. We stayed most of the time in the 2nd floor where the big kitchen and family room were. It was huge to accommodate our whole family with kids having more than enough room to play around too. Overall, it was a very memorable stay. We love it.

Tiffany

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the kind review Tiffany. I am glad you and your family had a memorable Holiday Vacation in my home and that it provided everything you needed. It is my intent to provide a vacation home a cut above the others - I am glad I succeeded. You were great to deal with also and I appreciate the prompt payments and communication. Please keep me in mind for future vacation needs - the house offers a lot during the other seasons as well such as tennis right in front of the house, swimming in the outdoor and indoor pools, the beach just a block away, cycling, boating and more. Thanks again and hope to have you as my guests again soon. Michael

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Thank you for a wonderful vacation!

Review submitted: December 25, 2012   Date of arrival: December 20, 2012

5 friends and I spent a fantastic long weekend in this beautiful house. The house was way beyond my expectations - it was spacious, conveniently-located, classically-decorated, and equipped with luxuries. The owner is a wonderful and generous man!

Owners response: Thank you very much for the kind review. You were a pleasure to deal with as well and I am glad this worked out for both of us as a last minute deal. I pride myself in having a home that is truly an owner quality home and not 'just a rental'. Please come again during the other seasons which have a lot to offer as well.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great Vacation!!

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: December 12, 2012

We couldn't have asked for a more perfect house for our family's winter vacation. This house is definitely more beautiful than that pictures. The kitchen is huge and had everything we could have needed to cook for our crew for 4 days. It was very clean and there were extra towels, blankets, sheets, etc. Working with Michael was so easy. He was easily accessible by email and gave us all the info we needed in advance. We spent our days skiing at Heavenly and our nights cooking and sitting around the dining room table laughing and cathcing up. We would definitely recommend this house.

Owners response: Thank you very much for the nice review. You were a pleasure to deal with as well. I agree that the house has great karma and the layout is perfect for larger groups. I have enjoyed holidays up there with large groups including family and friends as well. Come again please and enjoy the other seasons which have boating, tennis, swimming, cycling and more right at the door step.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Location

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 21, 2012

We love this house. We stayed there several times this summer. There is lots of room, it has everything you need to be comfortable,it's clean (and allows pets). The location is perfect, right next to a private beach, tennis courts, and indoor/outdoor pools. I'm in love with the kitchen! All together a good vacation rental,

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

What a great place

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

You can count our comments as a love letter to your house. All I can say is when we all arrived (12 of us) the children were ecstatic, running around saying "oh this is the best house we have ever been in" and hugging eachother!! We found this house so well equipped with what any family would ideally want in a vacation home---comfort, outdoor and indoor games and what a great kitchen with literally all the things one would need to make meals. The house is laid out to accomodate everyone comfortably with each having his or her own space in which to feel comfortable. Thank you so much.

Betty

Owners response: Thank you very much for the kind review. I am glad you had a good time at the house and will come again. The house is great for all seasons and the park behind the house is great for the kids and dogs to play in the snow.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

What a place!

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

We spend a glorious week at Michael's place. Excellent location in Tahoe Keys. The house has a perfect lay out for a large group or small. The furniture is as beautiful as it is comfortable. I have never cooked in such a well-stocked kitchen! The hot tub and sauna were a nice touch after a long day of hiking. The beach is just a short walk away. I was able to put my kayak in at the beach and paddle to the Marina for lunch at Fresh Ketch or go the opposite direction and wind my way into the keys. We can't wait to book another vacation there. Thanks, Michael!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you very much for the nice review. I am glad you had a great time and thank you for leaving the place in such great shape. I hope to rent to you again soon - winters are awsome at the house and so close to Heavenly Ski resort. Thanks again for choosing my rental - Michael

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Location, Great House!

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

Upon entering the house for the first time, we found the property to be even better than expected! It was clean, welcoming, spacious, and conveniently located to the beach, pools, playground, tennis courts, and basketball courts. The owner was an absolute pleasure to deal with and was extremely hospitable and communicative during the entire booking/checking-in process. Whenever we head back to South Lake Tahoe for vacation, this will be our first choice for lodging. Highly recommended!

Owners response: Thank you very much for the nice review. I am glad you had such a great time in my vacation home. I thrive to provide great service and am glad I succeeded. Thank you for treating the house like your own and enjoy some of the other seasons up in Tahoe which have a lot to offer. Thank you again. Michael

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great time during Memorial Day weekend!

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We rented this house during Memorial Day weekend and were soil my it was still available. The location is unbeatable. Just a 10 min drive from the lake shore, restaurants, stores and casinos. There is a Marina in walking distance where you can enjoy and indoor and outdoor pool, also tennis courts are right outside the back of the house. And we absolutely loved the hot tub!

Michael was very helpful before, during and after our stay. He responded. Dry fast to our emails and other questions we had.

Overall we had a great weekend and will definately be staying at this house again!

Thanks Michael!

Owners response: Thank you very much. I am glad you enjoyed the house and had a great Memorial Day Weekend. You were perfect renters and left the house in perfect order - thank you and I hope to rent to you again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A great first time experience!

Review submitted: April 13, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

This being my first experience of renting a vacation home I didn't know how it was going to work out! As it happens it turned into a wonderful experience for the 10 of us who rented the house.

The owner was incredibly helpful from the first moment of contact until the last and we couldn't have wished for a more helpful and welcoming person to deal with.

The pictures are a true reflection of a lovely home. The property is very well maintained and clean and I'm finding it very hard to fault anything and I will always recommend this house as the ideal holiday rental. It is so well laid out you never feel you are on top of anyone else. It works so well with two large living areas and a lovely deck and jacuzzi which in the summer must be perfect.

The house is very close to the lake and the owner tells me that (at an additional cost) he is happy to take summer renters out on a cruise as he owns a beautiful 1950s Chris Craft cruiser which is currently being renovated but will be in the water in time for the summer.

Thank you for a great first experience and we look forward to returning to this wonderful house in the not too distant future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Traumurlaub in den Bergen

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

Dieses Ferienhaus stellt sich in Wirklichkeit komfortabler dar als beschrieben. Es ist riesengross, ueberkomplett ausgestattet, sauber und toll eingerichtet.

Besonderen Spass hat das Kochen in dieser ganz einzigartig ausgestatteten Kueche gemacht. Da fehlt es an nichts! Alle Geraete, sowie Geschirr bis hin zu Gewuerzen und Grundnahrungsmitteln waren vorhanden. Durch die beiden Backoefen hatten wir auch kein Problem die Speisen fuer 8 Personen gleichzeitig zuzubereiten.

Die 4 Schlaf- und 2 Wohnzimmer bieten ausreichend Platz und erlauben somit auch Privatsphaere bei Vollbelegung. Nicht zu vergessen ist auch der sogenannte "Laundry Room". Da befinden sich eine Waschmaschine, ein Waeschetrockner, ein Buegelbrett mit Buegeleisen und ein Tisch. Durch die schoene Aussicht in den Garten wird auch der "Waschtag im Urlaub" zum Vergnuegen.

2 von den 3 Badezimmern haben ein Whirlpool und in einem dieser Badezimmer ist auch eine Sauna integriert. Im Garten befindet sich ein Jacuzzi und die Terrasse ist ausreichend gross um ein tolles Grillfest zu veranstalten.

Das Haus ist sehr guenstig gelegen - in 5 Minuten Fussmarsch ist am Seeufer, im Hallenbad oder bei den Tennisplaetzen. Nahe dem Haus, in der Marina des Lake Tahoe findet man ein sehr gutes Fischrestaurant und hat auch die Moeglichkeit sich ein Boot auszuleihen. Nach ca. 10 Minuten Autofahrt gelangt man nach Heavenly, einem grossartigen Schigebiet. Die Aussicht von der Piste auf diesen dunkelblauen See ist einfach umwerfend.

Wir hatten in diesem Ferienhaus einen unvergesslichen Urlaub und koennen es unbedenklich weiterempfehlen!

Owners response: Vielen Dank fuer die nette Beschreibung meines Ferienhauses. Es freut mich, dass sie so einen erholsamen Urlaub in Tahoe verbrachten und wuerde mich freuen, wenn sie bald wieder buchen wuerden. All Jahreszeiten in Tahoe bieten tolle Aktivitaeten vom Schifahren, Boat fahren, Tennis, Schwimmen, Wandern, Radfahren und laufen.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

If you are looking for something a cut above the regular rental property, look no further. This house has it all from top of the line kitchen with quality cookware to tons of room. I emphasize the kitchen because I love to cook and it is rare that you find a rental that has all the conveniences of home. The place is huge with plenty of room for a crowd without feeling like you are on top of each other. We had 8 and could easily have had a few more. When we arrived everything was in perfect order and thanks to the owners notes we didn't have to spend an hour figuring out how everything worked.
There are so many perks to this house that you don't know where to start. The location is perfect for skiiing, cycling, running and the tennis courts are right next door. At the end of the day there is a jacuzzi waiting for you and a wonderful fire both upstairs and down. The beds were super comfy and it is a quiet neighboorhood. We were also able to bring the family dog which made it so convenient.
All in all the location, amenities and overall care of this rental is among the best I have experienced in Tahoe!

Owners response: Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you found the house perfect during the spring season. Summers are great too as the Marina with boat rentals and other activities is only a very short walk from the house and the pools and tennis courts and beach are just a couple of steps. If you are inclined to come to Tahoe in the winter, it is a fantastic location for Heavenly ski resort too. And enjoying the sauna and hottub after a long day skiing is very enjoyable. Hope to rent to you again soon.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review