reviews for: listing #975977ha - Grenada, Caribbean rental

Spacious Villa Hideaway, Pool, Sea Views, Boats, Kayaks, Hobie
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 2,999 - $ 4,499 / week
  • sleeps  8
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Beyond Wonderful!

Review submitted: July 23, 2009   Date of arrival: June 30, 2009

Our family spent 10 days in July at spectacular Tivigny House -- and we agree that this villa is above and beyond wonderful! We were impressed immediately upon arrival: fresh tropical flowers, the house and pool beautifully illuminated, even coloring books and crayons for our 4-year old and 6-year old children! This attention to detail and comfort enhanced the beauty of Tivigny. The house is spotless, and thoughtful details like local spice soaps and flowers in each bathroom made our family feel indulgent indeed!

The design of the house brings the outdoors in and we loved this! Views from literally every room in the house. Tivigny strikes the perfect balance of being spacious, yet comfortable, with lots of spots to find privacy or to congregate with larger groups.

Mark and Liz warmly welcomed us and provided for all our needs, including an additional children's life vest, so that we could fully relax and enjoy our vacation. We sensed that they truly cared that we have a trouble-free and fabulous vacation. It's not often that the owner of a villa is on hand, but we found that to be especially nice when travelling out of country with small kids. We felt we needn't worry about a thing!

There is so much more to say... Choosing Tivigny House is the right choice!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Tami and Bruce for your kind words. Whenever we are on the island we try to welcome our guests personally and I am glad we were able to in your case.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

THIRTEEN DAYS IN PARADISE

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: February 11, 2014

We obviously love Grenada as this was our sixth visit. Why Grenada? If you are looking for a casino and a lot of night life, it may not be for you. However, having visited 18 other Caribbean Islands, we enjoy the friendly people, cleanliness, safety, varied topography and a number of great beaches.
Last year we rented a VRBO Villa on the Island of Martinique. We thought we had found the nicest Villa one could imagine. However, Tivigny was so much nicer. As others have mentioned, the photos don't really do it justice. I don't think you could ask for anymore from the Villa or the outstanding staff.
We had guests join us for a week of our stay and they were likewise amazed. I could go on and on about the facility but let me share some experiences others may not have touched upon.
The location is ideal, far enough out of town to be peaceful but not so far as to be inconvenient. The view of the bay and ocean is outstanding. The ocean access via the sailboat, dingy and kayaks was very much appreciated. We followed the recommendation for a sailing lesson from Oscar which was a great idea and useful, although he made it look so easy! However, we took several nice trips during our stay.
I can't say enough about the great landscaping and the horticulturist that came four times a week to ensure not a single brown leaf was to be found on all the beautiful bushes and flowers.
The housekeeper was there on arrival and made you feel at home immediately. A hug goes along with the greeting! What a wonderful lady.
Although we are very familiar with the Island, the Marina at Whisper Cove was a new jewel to us. This was fairly recently purchased by a French Canadian couple that are doing a great job, running a small restaurant, meat market, yes, the husband is a butcher, and small store with fresh vegetables. Our Valentine Evening dinner was great, complete with a small band. The coffee severed is the best that I have ever had. You can walk or take the dingy. Go for breakfast.
Do ask the property manager for information about the Island. She is very knowledgeable and more than willing to spend some time with you.
One of my wife's favorites was the infinity pool. She is not as much of an ocean person as I and thoroughly enjoyed the pool numerous times a day. We will certainly return. My wife will never go back to a resort. If you never left the Villa, you could enjoy your stay but rent a car or taxi and venture out. There are many nice beaches and places to see.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for such a detailed and helpful review, and we're so glad you enjoyed your time at Tivigny. We will pass your kind comments on to the staff who are always delighted to hear that they have given satisfaction. As you noted, the Grenadian people are friendly and eager to please, and they are our best asset and best advertisement for the house and the island.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely, well looked after villa

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

Our party of five really enjoyed a lovely three week stay at Tivigny in April 2013, I must say that Tivigny exceeded our expectations and we were very happy that we choose that villa.
I don’t think the photographs do justice to the quality of the building and (quite surprisingly for a Caribbean rental!) everything worked. We also found that the quantity and quality of all the kitchen equipment was excellent, we’ve rented larger and considerably more expensive villas that could learn an awful lot from Tivigny.
Of course one of the highlights of Tivigny is the proximity to the bay and I think we use “little nipper” daily – great fun.
As even if staying in your own home for three weeks things go wrong and whilst faults were very rare what impressed was the genuine desire to correct with minimal fuss and great speed.
The two staff, Ursel and Anderson, both went out of their way to ensure we were looked after.
We have no problem whatsoever in recommending Tivigny.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The definition of a luxury villa

Review submitted: April 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 30, 2011

One Fantastic Place – Forget the cost this is value for money, particularly if the cost is shared, as in our case, between 2 couples!
The property is just a few minutes from St George by car ( jeep desirable as the access road is largely unmade) or taxi, but off the main road in a quiet and secluded spot away from the hustle and bustle of the capital. The view overlooking the bay, the villa’s gardens and Hog Island is idyllic.
However it is the accommodation itself that has the real wow factor. No expense has been spared or corners cut in providing everything you could want from a holiday retreat. A lot of thought has gone in to the decoration, paintings, design and furnishings. The kitchen has everything a cook could desire (so my wife tells me) and you will not run out of crockery and utensils if you do not use the dishwasher regularly. There is an ice machine to cool those ‘sundowners’.
All 3 bedrooms are superb and the lounge a place to chill with a vast range of books, TV, wi-fi and a state of the art sound system with i-pod dock that provides music, if desired, to the pool area. The pc was away for repair when we were there, but no matter at all! Outside there are 3 different areas to relax, the infinity pool with its sun bathing areas, there is an outside covered dining area with hammock, and a gazebo in the back garden with table and chairs.
Positioned to catch the sun most of the day, and the sunset, the pool itself is the place you will spend most of your day, and evenings, if you are here to just chill! It has a timed control infinity fall and submerged lighting and an electronic canopy. Ther is even an in-pool bar and barstools – plentiful supply of plastic wineglasses and tumblers. If you do need the sun from sunrise the east facing porch has a 2 seater swing chair.
All this is excellently looked after by the housekeeper, who will cook if you wish, and the gardener.
At your disposal is a motor boat, kayaks and a sailing dinghy to explore the safe waters of the bay from the villas own jetty.
There are plenty of things to do on the island, but you will have to make a real effort to leave the villa, such are its attractions!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

the definition of a luxury villas

Review submitted: April 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 30, 2011

One Fantastic Place – Forget the cost this is value for money, particularly if the cost is shared, as in our case, between 2 couples!
The property is just a few minutes from St George by car ( jeep desirable as the access road is largely unmade) or taxi, but off the main road in a quiet and secluded spot away from the hustle and bustle of the capital. The view overlooking the bay, the villa’s gardens and Hog Island is idyllic.
However it is the accommodation itself that has the real wow factor. No expense has been spared or corners cut in providing everything you could want from a holiday retreat. A lot of thought has gone in to the decoration, paintings, design and furnishings. The kitchen has everything a cook could desire (so my wife tells me) and you will not run out of crockery and utensils if you do not use the dishwasher regularly. There is an ice machine to cool those ‘sundowners’.
All 3 bedrooms are superb and the lounge a place to chill with a vast range of books, TV, wi-fi and a state of the art sound system with i-pod dock that provides music, if desired, to the pool area. The pc was away for repair when we were there, but no matter at all! Outside there are 3 different areas to relax, the infinity pool with its sun bathing areas, there is an outside covered dining area with hammock, and a gazebo in the back garden with table and chairs.
Positioned to catch the sun most of the day, and the sunset, the pool itself is the place you will spend most of your day, and evenings, if you are here to just chill! It has a timed control infinity fall and submerged lighting and an electronic canopy. Ther is even an in-pool bar and barstools – plentiful supply of plastic wineglasses and tumblers. If you do need the sun from sunrise the east facing porch has a 2 seater swing chair.
All this is excellently looked after by the housekeeper, who will cook if you wish, and the gardener.
At your disposal is a motor boat, kayaks and a sailing dinghy to explore the safe waters of the bay from the villas own jetty.
There are plenty of things to do on the island, but you will have to make a real effort to leave the villa, such are its attractions!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Even more beautiful than the photos suggest

Review submitted: November 13, 2008   Date of arrival: July 20, 2008

Tivigny in a fantastic position overlooking the bay and practically every room has panoramic views of the sea. But despite its tranquil setting this villa is still within walking distance (just about) to local bars and restaurants. Tivigny is beautifully furnished and tastefully decorated, and there are plenty of DVDs, books and CDs to borrow. The pool is stunning and the numerous sun terraces, balconies and verandahs allow you to have a different sundowner vantage point every night. But the best thing about Tivigny is the level of service provided to the guest. The kitchen is equipped with practically every gadget you could wish for - even a breadmaker - and the daily visits by Maudlin (the manager) ensure that guests want for nothing. Quite simply our best villa experience ever.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 10

 

Guestbook Comments

Review submitted: December 6, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

'An oasis of calm, beauty and tranquility'
Just a quick note to say how wonderful our stay in your beautiful house was. We seemed to enter a paradise as soon as we climbed the steep drive. The feeling of space and air was so calming . We loved the way you can feel inside when you are outside and outside when you are inside – a very clever design! Beautiful furniture and decoration all added to the experience. Views across a magical swimming pool over to a picture postcard sea. What more could one ask for in the Caribbean. Thank you so much for letting us share in your oasis of calm, beauty and tranquility. - Robin Raban-Williams (plus family of 5 girls)

'The location is stunning'
Tivigny House is ideally located, just 10 minutes drive from all the supermarkets of Grand Anse, yet far enough away to feel 'away from it'. The location is stunning overlooking Hog Island and Clarke’s Court Bay. The villa itself is tastefully furnished, with the decor and attention to detail second to none. The house has exactly the right number of outdoor lounging spots for both getting to the sun, and getting away from it. The stunning views are from every room in the house, and particularly the infinity swimming pool, which sits ideally overlooking the bay and is stunning both night and day. The owners have ensured that nothing is left to thought, the service throughout our stay was second to none and I would highly recommend this villa to all. - Shaun Simons

'The most delightful villa'
Tivigny House is without doubt the most delightful villa we have ever had the pleasure to stay in. From the stunning views to the architecture and furnishings, everything was of the highest quality. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay there to anyone with a taste for privacy and refinement who is in need of a little luxury. - Sarah Moseley

Helpful votes: 12 / 16

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review