reviews for: listing #976 - Waimanalo, Hawaii House rental

Mountain View Beach House
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Beach Lots
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $800 - $3,900 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful!

Review submitted: September 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 21, 2011

We stayed the week at their Makai Hale house and it was wonderful! The property was very clean, fresh and pleasent. We were very pleased to see how well the kitchen was stocked with equipment. Many times when you stay in a house or a condo - there is the bare minimum of kitchen appliances and utensils. that was not the case at this property. The caretaker was very hopitable and helpful as well. The location was amazing, quiet, right off the beach and away from the rush of waikiki. We will be going back to the island frequently since my son lives there and we will definitely rent this house again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Experience the essence of Aloha

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

Our family of 4 enjoyed an extended stay in the Mountain View (2 months). We were moving to the island and chose this lovely cottage as our temporary home while we looked for our current residence. We quickly fell in love with this island style living and particularly Waimanalo Beach, the best kept secret in all the islands. Ana and Kini were the perfect hosts, treating us more like family than guests. Their abundant outpouring of aloha was more than welcoming, it was how we new we were truly "home." One of my favorite daily rituals while staying in the Mountain View was watching the sun dip down behind the Ko'olau mountains every evening. It was a magical sight each and every evening.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Mountain view Waimanalo

Review submitted: June 5, 2011   Date of arrival: May 18, 2011

My family had the best time ever in Hawaii and the Mountain view "home away from home" was awesome. Where can you get a house in Hawaii, five doors down from the beach and its affordable. The house was fully furnished, had a great kitchen, and a BBQ so we didn't have to eat out. The beach was amazing and the house came with huge beach towels, and every beach toy we could imagine. After hanging out at the beach we would come home and use the hot tub to relax.

Have never stayed at a better place,or had such a good trip to Hawaii.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Mountain Review Resort Waimanalo

Review submitted: June 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 9, 2010

What a great place to stay! Our family arrived after a long trip and we were so happy to see our own "home" away from home to stay. The house had everything that was needed and more! The backyard had a BBQ, a great patio set and a hammock. My kids were in heaven. They could play everywhere and because it was away from the street I didn't have to worry. The beach was five doors down and the house had everything and more for the beach, toys, boggie boards, nice beach towels, and snorkel gear. When we got back from the beach we enjoyed the hot tub and the beautiful weather in Hawaii.

Our hosts could not have been more helpful and gave us tons of suggestions for places to visit, eat, and because it comes with a full kitchen we could eat in and not blow the budget.

If you want to relax, and enjoy Hawaii this is the place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

lovely views, peaceful place

Review submitted: June 5, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2011

very clean place, lovely views, and wonderful beaches, would come back anytime...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Property needs New Beds & Sofa - No Hot Tub!

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

We have been travelling to Hawaii for decades and were disappointed with this property. Very uncomfortable old beds and couch. Shower needs work - very low water pressure, tiny and generally icky. I inquired about the quality of the beds & the hot tub before securing our reservation. The owner did not mention the hot tub is no longer exists. Hot tub picture needs to be removed from the website. No phone as noted in listing. Back yard is not private (or quiet) since a renter lives in the cottage which borders the yard and neighboring houses (and barking dogs) are very close. Owner, or relative, appears to build furniture. Large slabs of wood, garbage cans, propane tanks and ladders are stored against the cottage and moved at odd times. Bug problems (including roaches) could be better addressed, i.e. spraying, closing up pipe openings, not storing wood under cottage, caulking, etc. Overall cleanliness was good. Parking was challenging as owners use their carport as a work area and there was lots of in and out traffic. Best thing about the cottage is its proximity to the beach which is within walking distance at the end of the street although it is a surfing more than swimming beach. We wanted to use the boggie boards but they did not have straps (which is required at most beaches). Loved the friendly dog. Nice to have coffee and macadamia nuts waiting on arrival. Good restaurants and activities recommended by the owners who are very friendly. Enjoyed having kitchen facilities but cottage is not worth what we paid. Keep looking - there are better options out there.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Owners response: Aloha, We have always done our best to make each person's visit to our houses a comfortable, relaxing and happy experience. We take all comments seriously and address concerns as they come up. As we live across the driveway from the Mountain View, we would hope that anybody who had any concerns while staying with us, would simply let us know right away. There is a very nice and large hot tub available just on the other side of the driveway that we obviously need to make clearer to future guests. We are environmentally conscious and choose not to spray poison to deal with bug problems. We do, however, thoroughly clean our houses top to bottom, before and after each guest and do use other green methods to deal with any issues. The beach is a 5 mile, white sand, and is a swimming beach; not for surfing as there is an outside reef to Waimanalo Bay. The waves are not always lapping on the shore, and it is a good beach to swim, body surf, and boogie board. We offer the Mountain View for a very good rate, especially for last minute travelers, and are very clear (especially during phone calls with potential renters) that we have a studio on the property with a long term tenant. There is a private parking area next to the house. As we are made aware, and we notice ourselves, we replace old mattresses and furniture. We have several different housing options and have been in business since 1997.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review