reviews for: listing #97615 - Mission Beach, California Townhome rental

One House From Ocean! Sleep 6
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $314 /nt
    $1,000 - $2,200 /wk
    $2,500 - $6,900 /mth

sort by:

Comfy

Review submitted: May 16, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

A basic, comfortable unit. Just a block from the beach and a few blocks from the main street of shops, grocery, etc.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: January 12, 2014   Date of arrival: December 16, 2013

We rented both units for an extended family vacation. Had an incredible time. We found both units are great to stay. Location is superb. No need to drive the car all the time. We can satisfy most of our daily life by taking a stroll: food, grocery, amusement park and shopping. Of course the beach is just a few steps away. The kids walk back and forth from the beach several times a day. The unit is bright and clean. Parking is such a blessing with this unit with a large size garage. We love to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Steps to the Ocean!

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: April 8, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this property. Even though it a small unit, our family of 5 was fine here since many of our days were spent on-the-go anyway. Its close proximity to the ocean is a big selling point as we could simply walk back from the beach for a quick pit stop or to retrieve something we forgot. Having a garage to keep the car in overnight was a big plus, too. Even though the garage is shared with the other unit, we found it to be fine. We loved having the washer and dryer available as well, since our stay lasted several days. Although we did a lot of cooking at the property (kitchen is well-supplied), there are lots of stores to check out and places to eat within walking distance, especially at Belmont Park that has the Giant Dipper roller coaster. During our stay we also took the kids to SeaWorld, which is so close! Probably the neatest feature of this property was the coded entry! No need to worry about accidentally forgetting the property keys or locking them inside. Great idea, and quite convenient for the traveler! Thank you for a memorable stay in San Diego/Mission Beach!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing stay !

Review submitted: March 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

We stayed here for spring break and had the best time! This home is the perfect place for a group of friends or a family to stay and enjoy the relaxing sun, beautiful scenery and delicious restaurants that are yards away. The ocean view and magnificent balcony are worth the stay alone and the spacious and comfortable living space was more than adequate for our time there. So many amenities were included and the little stresses from vacationing were removed completely due to the fully furnished and supplied home. This is the perfect place for a enjoyable and relaxing vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: December 8, 2012

Our family had a fantastic time in mission beach and enjoyed our stay in OceanBreeze very much. It is fresh, brigth and very clean. We noticed that the unit is recently refreshed with new paint and nice ceiling fans. The kitchen is well equipped with many pots and pans, etc. We cooked breakfasts and most of the dinners and found we had all the untensils we needed in kitchen. Ralphs and Trade Joes are close by where we bought most of our groceries. We are also very happy with the new Bosch dishwasher and nice microwave rangehood.

The location is unbeatable -20 steps from ocean in a very nice court. The garage parking is so cool. WIFI and TV are nice too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A wonderful break and excellent location !

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: November 15, 2012

We loved our break in Mission Beach and enjoyed our stay in this cute unit.

The location is wonderful. Being literally 20 steps away from boardwalk, we were totally relaxed during our stay. No need to plan too much before heading out to the beach, no anxiety as to whether we forgot our sunscreen, or jacket, etc. The boardwalk is beautiful, we rented bikes and rode north all the way to La Jolla. Of course, it will be much nicer if there is ocean view from the unit directly, but we did not want to pay the extra $$ for it since you are surrounded by the ocean during the day, and we did not spent that much time inside the unit during the day time any way.

We really appreciated the large garage parking-easy in and out with our van. no stress! Our experience this time is so much better than last time we stayed in Mission Beach, when we struggled with a narrow spaced outdoor parking space. We almost damaged our car.

The unit is very well maintained, clean and bright. Nice WIFI and TV. Kitchen is stocked with all the cooking utensils we needed: coffee maker, toaster, microwave, pots and pans, dishes, etc. The grocery shopping is easy, 2 miles away, there is Ralph and Trade Joe's. Or you can get simple stuff from the convenience stores within walking distance.

When we were there, the front unit guests just checked out. The owner is very nice to let us use the front patio, which has amazing ocean views. Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful getaway and nice and clean unit

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay! The unit, althought no ocean view, is literally steps away from the beach. Our children goes back and forth several times a day. It is conveniently located with restaurants, Belmont Park, grocery shopping all within walking distance. The unit is very clean and well maintained, and have all we needed : coffee maker, blender, toaster, pots and pans, dinnerware, etc. We cooked quite a few dinners and enjoyed BBQ in downstairsl patio a coupled of evenings. Very nice TV and WIFI. The newly added bedroom with bunk beds is great, so our kids do not have to sleep on the sofa bed. They were very happy to have their own private room. The location is close to most attractions and airport. We really liked the neigborhood and location.

Another important note, we had a garage parking, which is essential for a hassel free vacation in Mission Beach. THANKS!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Mission Beach Vacation

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 21, 2012

This rental had shown a beach view in its discription and that is why we went with it, there was no view and no balcony. The unit was clean and had a nice garage,the kitchen was incomplete and had to buy utensils and it had a rusty can opener and two broken cork screws.They did take care of the froze up refigerator very quickly.

Owners response: We took customer feedback very seriously. After receiving this review, we tried to contact the tenant to get better clarifications, but unfortunately have not received any response back so far.

We reviewed the listing description and added an explicit statement that this unit has only limited peekaboo ocean views to avoid misexpectations like this. The majority of customer feedback has always stated the kitchen is well equipped with utensils. It has microwave, coffee maker, toaster, blender, many post and pans, dinnerware and silverware. We are in the process of adding a dishwasher very soon. Our appololgy for a rusty can opener, it is being replaced.

It is our goal to have our customers enjoy their time in Mission Beach. Please contact us during the stay if anything is not functioning and missing. We respond quickly.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

lovely vacation unit

Review submitted: October 6, 2012   Date of arrival: September 26, 2012

We enjoyed our stay. It was a comfortable unit for 3 of us, my mom in her 70s and my 8 month old baby. We were able to check in early. We met Minnie, the owner. She was very nice and helpful. She showed us around, told us how to use the entry codes and provided a lot of information.
I shared the queen sleeper with my baby. It was a little chilly with one blanket on the first night. I didn’t find an extra blanket. The Next day I forgot to ask Minnie for another blanket. To my surprise, I saw an extra blanket in the closet in the evening. She must have brought it for us. It was very thoughtful of her.
It was a great location, near all the major places we would like to go, the beach, SeaWorld, old town, seaport village etc.
There are plenty of cooking utensils in the unit. My mom even cooked baby food there.
We really liked this unit and have recommended to our friends!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

pleasant stay at Mission Beach

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

We arrived at a nice neighborhood, full of energy and actions everywhere as well as closed to market and restaurants. The unit is well maintained with pride of ownership, we felt relaxed in a pleasant and clean vacation home. The room is spacious and the kitchen is well equipped. The bed and sofa bed are cozy and comfortable, the wifi connection is better than we expected. The cleaning people and property manager are very responsive with our requests, we didnt know how to lock the door at first, but the manager quickly came to demonstrate it. It was a nice surprise to have a parking garage at the beach house:)
parents stayed there before and highly recommended us to rent the place for the summer.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Very nice vacation

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

- Very clean unit. It is also bright and open.  We had 5 ( one baby, we rented a pack n play) and did not feel cramped at all.  
- Location is great. 30 second to the beach. Kids walk back and forth from/to the beach all day, which is very convenient.  It is also close the surfing school where my kids took lessons.  There are many  shops and restaurants nearby. It is also close to amusement park and Seaworld.
- Unit is well equipped. We found what was supplied sufficient.   The lack of dishwasher was not a big concern to us. We did not cook that much during vacations, but BBQed for a couple of nights in the patio downstairs.
- We were concerned about the noises in the morning from the recycle scavengers, but it was  fine, and maybe we were lucky.   
- For a couple of days,  a heat wave hit San Diego.  Temperatures in Mission Beach reached over 80 degrees, which is rare. We used the room fans a lot during daytime ( it tend to get cool in evenings) which helped a lot to cool the unit down.  We hoped there is AC, but realized that 99% of the Mission Beach/San Diego properties do not equipped with AC.
- The owner is very responsive and flexible. We went back and forth quite a lot for questions and clarifications.    The welcome kit provided also has quite comprehensive info to help us arrange the trip.  Overall, We enjoyed our stay very much.  We plan to try the front large unit with another family next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Super vacation property

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 31, 2012

This is a great place for your vacation or gateaway. Our family loved it. It is very clean - house keeping team did a terrific job, very professional! The space is decently sized and efficiently utilized. We found it very cozy for a family of four. Our 2 teenage daughters slept in the queen sleeper and told us it was very comfortable and our queen bed in bedroom is also quite comfy. If you open the windows, you can hear the sound of ocean waves, which is very soothing for a nap and night sleep. The kitchen is well equipped with utensils and appliances, which we found quite sufficient for preparing the daily meals. The patio is private with BBQ grills. We used it a couple of evenings or BBQ. We loved the outdoor shower with warm water.

Another note, we loved the new lightly colored wood floor. It matches very well with the dark chocolate color furnishings. We plan to do the same for our own home later.

The location is excellent! It is on a family oriented court - nice and quiet. It is convenient for many things: restaurants, surfing, amusement parks, grocery shopping, airport, etc. We stayed in many vacation rentals before, we really liked this one. Will recommend highly to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location, so-so unit

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 18, 2012

First the good:
- This really is a top-notch location, as good as you can get without having a true beach view. Just off a surfing break on Mission Beach, with lots of restaurants and such within an easy walk or bike ride. Ralph's and Trader Joe's both nearby for groceries, plus easy access to the sights in San Diego. We had a great time biking all the way up to La Jolla Cove one day, with a not-too-difficult, reasonably well-marked bike trail the whole way.
- Nice TV, wireless internet, keyless entry, outdoor shower, washer/dryer, and a basic but clean grill.
- Garage parking (crucial if you have a car on Mission Beach).
- Clean, well-maintained unit, inside and out.
- Lots of beach supplies in the garage - chairs, umbrella, boogie boards, etc.
- Serivce was good. We got all the paperwork smoothly, and when we had an issue with the garage key code, the owner and property manager took care of it quickly.

Overall, we were somewhat disappointed with the unit, though. A few things - none showstoppers, but enough to knock the unit down to 3 stars in our book:
- Maybe we've gotten spoiled by the explosion of high-end beds in hotels these days, but the bed is an old-fashioned spring that wasn't very comfortable at all.
- Similarly, the couch cushions have springs poking up pretty severely. If it's "new", it's a very low-cost piece.
- There's no dishwasher, which for a "fully equipped" kitchen, was a surprise.
- We've gotten used to VRBO (and similar) places coming stocked with a few staples left over from previous guests, but the management really cleaned the place out. All we found were salt and pepper, paper towels, and a sponge. No cooking oil, no dish soap, no laundry detergent, no butter, no coffee filters, no basic Bed Bath and Beyond spice rack. Maybe we've just been lucky in the past, but again, it was a surprise.
- The recycling scavengers woke us up at 5AM every morning. I'm sure there's not much to be done about it (these guys are obviously pros), but it was really annoying. I'm really surprised the permanent residents put up with it.

Again, nothing was a total deal-breaker, but for a place that has only 5-star reviews and cost as much as it did, we were disappointed with the quality of the unit. Excellent location.

Owners response: Thanks for taking the time to provide the review, which will help us to continue to improve our service.

1. The unit does not have a dishwasher, which we did specify in our listing from the very beginning. To respond to this review, we added extra verbiage in the listing to make this really clear.
2. The damage on the sleeper sitting cushion (which does not impact the sleeping) was discovered very recently. We are in the process of getting it fixed/replaced.
3. As to the kitchen staples, it is our house cleaning procedure to clean up the leftovers at each turnover. The intent is to ensure health safety.
4. For the noise the noises made by the recycling scavengers, it is a universal problem in Mission Beach, etc. The traffic pattern of the scavengers is not predictable. In fact, the owners of this neighborhood are very united and took actions to lock our trash/recycle bins to reduce the traffic of the scavengers, which is uncommon in the rest of Mission Beach. Of course, this does not mean we can eliminate it in total.


Thanks again for the review.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome getaway

Review submitted: May 13, 2012   Date of arrival: April 30, 2012

House is beautiful and an awesome place for a family getaway.

The owner was extremely responsive and helpful, and provided lots of information to make our stay enjoyable. I particularly liked the Welcome Kit the owner provided, which contained all the information we need in Mission Beach. We walked to breakfast and dinner every day, using the owner's suggestion list extensively.

The location is perfect. Mission Beach is so great for walking, we seldom needed a vehicle. There are multiple places to eat and shop within walking distance. If you would like to cook, there are Ralphs and Trade Joe’s within 2 miles for grocery shopping. It is also easy on and off the freeways and to and from the airport. A central location to explore beyond Mission Beach - La Jolla, downtown, the Zoo, Sea World, and Coronado are all a short drive away.

We highly recommend this vacation home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming place

Review submitted: May 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

It is perfect for 3 girls to have some great time over here, a easy drive to La Jolla to enjoy the excellent restaurants and boutique shopping, and quick turn around to shopping mall. This place is very clean and newly deco, the bathroom is new and clean. It is cozy for us to curl up in the house at night and listen to the sound of the wave, then we can walk to the beach with a second to do the people watch and running. It has internet access and great TV, the kitchen is fully equipped. NICE!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Really lovely place

Review submitted: April 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 29, 2011

Had a great time. The place is bright and clean. Kitchen is well equiped. Bed and sofa are very comfortable. When we got there, it was a little hot in the room given that week had one of the hottest weather in San Diego. However, once we opened up the windows, the ocean breeze flew thru and room got a lot more cooler.

Location is excellent. 30 seconds walk to the ocean. Easy access to many activities.

We enjoyed our stay very much.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Really lovely place

Review submitted: March 31, 2012   Date of arrival: August 29, 2011

Had a great time. The place is bright and clean. Kitchen is well equiped. Bed and sofa are very comfortable. When we got there, it was a little hot in the room given that week had one of the hottest weather in San Diego. However, once we opened up the windows, the ocean breeze flew thru and room got a lot more cooler.

Location is excellent. 30 seconds walk to the ocean. Easy access to many activities.

We enjoyed our stay very much.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home Away from Home

Review submitted: September 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

My 12 year old daughter and I stayed at this adorable 1 bedroom on the beach. We had the best vacation ever!! We really appreciated Jill with all her help and answering my many questions! It was clean, comfortable, cute and perfect for the two of us. We would ride our bikes right out the door down the board walk. I slept in the bedroom she slept on the couch. She said it was very comfortable! We loved the outdoor shower with WARM water after playing in the ocean. The BIG closet was a life saver for us. We stored everything in there which kept our place neat! The location was perfect, close to Old Town San Diego, Belmot Park for ice cream, surf lessons on the same beach(which is a really nice beach), Qualcomm for a Soccer game and La Jolla for snorkeling. We watched the US Open Soccer game on the very nice TV. Trader Joes was so close. We will definitely come back. I wish I was there right now. Next time it would be fun to go with another family and rent the entire property! The 3 bedroom looks just as lovely.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Vacation

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

The place was excellent and it is located literally right next to the beach. The view was absolutely amazing. The interior is wonderfully decorated and has a nice modern touch. Everything was clean and in order.

Again, absolutely amazing. I would definitely go again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice gateaway

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

We loved this place! Bright and clean. So close to ocean and you wake up with the ocean waves. The kids enjoyed the sand and water which is just steps away, and my husband and I enjoyed the patio a lot watching sunsets with glass of wine.

Location is excellent. Very close to many activities, restaurants and shops.

We enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great price for a great vacation

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

This is an amazing place for a vacation! The unit is located in one of the best courts in Mission Beach. All we needed was in walking distance ( Belmont park, stores, food, surfing, etc) and the beach just steps away. The patio is GREAT with amazing ocean views and we did lots of BBQ! The house is recently renovated, clean, new laminated wood floors with new furnitures and large flat screen TV. The new beds were very comfortable too. We had a great time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review