reviews for: listing #97744 - Washington, DC Apartment rental

Wash DC - Mid-Town - 2-Bedroom / 2-Bath Apartment
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  425 Mass Apartments
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $229 - $349 /nt
    $1,599 - $2,303 /wk
    $4,970 - $8,990 /mth

sort by:

The perfect location to see it all!!

Review submitted: July 15, 2014   Date of arrival: June 18, 2014

My wife, 3 daughters and I stayed at the condo for a week in June. It was PERFECT! The condo itself is very nice and fit us just right. The kitchen was great for cooking breakfast and with my wife and 3 girls....being able to do laundry was a huge plus.

But I have to say, the best part of this place is the location. That Penn Quarter area just to the south between the condo and the Mall.....Chinatown to the southwest and the area right around the condo was very quaint as well. Many....many great places to eat within walking distance....grocery store 3 blocks away....the convenience of this location cannot be beat! You can walk down the the national mall.....or jump on the Metro just a few blocks away and get anywhere quickly. The rooftop pool was great.....views were amazing!!

The people at Zen were also very helpful getting us in a bit early and out a bit late! The whole experience was just top shelf for our family.....high recommend this condo!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family vacation for July 4th.

Review submitted: July 9, 2014   Date of arrival: June 29, 2014

This is a very large property in a great location. After a small initial problem with housekeeping, which was taken care of immediately, this was a fun week at a beautiful property. The manager Mark and Barb were very attentive to all our needs.
Pros:
Location (close to everything including Metro), size (huge unit and rooms), amenities (all cooking utensils, cleaning supplies, towels, etc.), cleanliness (after housekeeping correction this place was spotless!), concierge staff (front desk especially Johnson), other property residents (everyone was friendly and welcoming), pools (especially w/kids on a 100 degree day), Zen staff. :)
Cons:
Property sparsely decorated and minimally furnished (kind of antiseptic). That's it!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved DC

Review submitted: June 15, 2014   Date of arrival: June 11, 2014

We so enjoyed our stay in DC. This was a first for our family. We loved the Mass apartments . It really gave us the downtown DC feel in a very safe environment. The concierge was extremely helpful with any questions we had. Helped us navigate riding the Metro and telling us areas that were in easy walking distance .We walked most everywhere including to the White House and all of the Smithsonians and always felt safe waking back even at night. The apartment was wonderful and we had a CVS right across the street for anything we needed including groceries.Plenty of places to eat right beside us for taking dinner to the apartment after a long day of sight seeing. Would certainly stay here again and woudl recommend it to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location

Review submitted: June 10, 2014   Date of arrival: June 2, 2014

Our group of seven (2 kids, 2 teens, 3 adults) stayed in this Mass Ave apartment last week. We priced hotels and this was cheaper, plus having a kitchen and washer/dryer really came in handy! We brought food and ate our breakfasts and suppers in the apartment, only eating lunches out.

We paid the $15/day to park our vehicle and did all our sightseeing by foot/metro. Never felt unsafe in this neighborhood, even walking home late from Union Station after our Monuments by Moonlight tour.

The apartment was very clean and the concierge in the building are awesome!! The kids swam in the pool twice during our stay. It's a bit of a walk around the rooftop to get to the "big" pool on the 425 wing. The rooftop has beautiful views at night--very pleasant up there.

One tip--the blinds in the apartment don't block much light. I had trouble sleeping the first night because of the street light coming through the window shades. The next two nights I was so tired from all the walking we did those days that I had no trouble sleeping, lol!

Mark is very quick to respond via email and if you have a straightforward stay with no special requests I imagine you will have a 5 star experience. However, I asked for an early check-in because we had a 3pm tour scheduled and I needed somewhere to park our car beforehand. Housekeeping team was slow to respond to email. Finally, though, they assured me I could check-in at 1pm. Upon arrival the concierge seemed puzzled to see me there so early. I explained my early check in so she called Zen and said they hadn't even arrived to clean the apartment yet! Thankfully she let me park in the garage so we could be on our way. I never heard a word of explanation from Zen about this error until a week later when I emailed Mark to let him know I would be writing up high-star reviews (because we did really enjoy the apartment/location despite Zen's errors)--basically giving him a chance to explain what happened before I wrote my review. He responded defensively and with no apology. He said their car had broken down on the way to clean the apartment that day. No explanation as to why Zen never contacted me l to let me know this. It's common courtesy if you can't make an appointment to call and let the other party know. I would've understood! After several email exchanges, Zen has offered nothing even approaching an apology for their lack of communication.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent family trip to DC.

Review submitted: June 5, 2014   Date of arrival: May 28, 2014

I brought my wife and three daughters (ages 13, 11, 9) to DC and greatly enjoyed this property. The size of the apartment was perfect for our family and a much better fit for us than a hotel. I found nightly rates at hotels to be about the same as this property, so this was a great deal for us.

Mark at Zen Properties was very responsive and professional. The property was exactly as described, very clean and well kept. Lots of upscale features. The concierge desk at the apartment complex was always helpful.

We enjoyed the convenience of being a couple blocks away from a WalMart and Safeway, and a CVS right across the street. We also enjoyed being in the heart of the city. This made it easy for us to take a site seeing break mid-day, head back to the apartment and rest up, then tackle another museum in the afternoon. If we would have stayed outside the city, we would have probably made one trip in every day, and worn ourselves out more than we did.

We did not have a car, and you don't need one at this property. We took the Metro from Reagan to the Chinatown stop, then a 3 block walk to the apartment. We took the Metro and the DC Circulator bus everywhere we wanted to go. The apartment is close enough to The Mall and Ford's Theatre that you could walk (we did this a couple times) but we usually took very short Metro rides to all the hot spots.

A few things to keep in mind:
- Distance from the apartment to two different Metro stations is about three city blocks. I forgot how big city blocks are. This equated to about a 10 minute walk for our family each time we wanted to hop on the Metro.
- You are in the heart of the city. So, to be expected, you hear the city noise throughout the day and night.
- We never felt unsafe. Police everywhere.
- The building is full of young professionals. They work hard and they play hard. We saw and heard some serious partiers on the weekend evenings. This didn't bother us much, but some may be more sensitive to this.
- Despite sticking out a bit as a family of five who were obviously tourists, all these young professionals we bumped into, or asked questions of, were very kind and helpful.

Excellent experience, and I would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

This Condo was excellent!

Review submitted: June 4, 2014   Date of arrival: May 29, 2014

What a wonderful condo in an excellent location! We stayed here for 5 nights and it is everything as advertised and more. Mark is very easy to work with and the bldg is very new, clean and modern. It is close to the Gallery Place Metro stop for easy mobility. There are so many great restaurants near the condo as well. An excellent find!!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Capitol Accommodation

Review submitted: May 17, 2014   Date of arrival: April 27, 2014

Review #7793234 "A Capitol Accommodation!"

Traveling to Washington for business and/or pleasure, we highly recommend this spacious, immaculate and oh so comfortable modern apartment with its unobstructed view of the capitol building. It was perfect for our week-long stay, and was fully-equipped, with lots of fresh towels, kitchen equipment, even detergent for the in unit laundry. The staff at Zen-Hospitality were, to a person, helpful and professional, and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. This location is ideal as we could walk to nearby museums (e.g. Museum of American History, Portrait Gallery, etc.), good restaurants (e.g. Rasika, The Capitol Grille), even a Safeway supermarket. We are definitely returning here whenever we are DC bound. A great value!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Terrific location. Comfortable!

Review submitted: April 28, 2014   Date of arrival: April 22, 2014

This property exceeded our expectations. The unit was handsomely furnished and immaculately clean. The unit was just as described. Location was central with easy access to DC sights by foot or close-by Metro station. The neighborhood had plenty of restaurants plus a Safeway only 2 blocks away.

The front desk staff were friendly and make check-in very easy. They were available to answer questions and helped us arrange for transportation to close-by Reagan National Airport.

The owner was very quick to respond to any questions I had during our stay.

Be sure not to miss the Smithsonian American Art Museum and adjoining National Portrait Gallery that are only a short walk from 525 Massachusetts. They are open until 7pm every day so you can visit after many other attractions have closed.

I would highly recommend this property. It was so much more comfortable than a hotel.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location and accomodations

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

Just back from our trip to Washington and I must say our accommodations exceeded all of our expectations! Condo was clean, kitchen updated, great space for 2 couples and front desk people were very helpful.
Great location for the tourist, easy walk to the Smithsonian Museums and numerous restaurants, shopping and grocery stores. We will definitely be returning to Washington and will stay here again as well as recommend this condo to our friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Best. Experience. Ever.

Review submitted: August 20, 2013   Date of arrival: August 12, 2013

Even with 5 stars across the board, I still felt this property was significantly underrated. From the knowledgeable and courteous concierge staff to the peaceful and polite neighbors, our experience during our week-long stay far exceeded any and all expectations for our family of 6 (5 adults, 1 child).

You can easily walk to several museums and the Mall, and there are also multiple loop tour bus stops just a few blocks away as well.

As an added bonus, we were able to participate in two separate 'resident appreciation' events, which provided a light continental breakfast one day and then a nice, bbq dinner the following night. You're literally minutes away from a variety of great dining and shopping options, and if you like doing in-home meals to save a few bucks, you're in luck, as there's a Safeway just 2 blocks away.

All my fears about parking our giant (rental) Expedition EL were allayed as it fit comfortably in the parking garage beneath the building.

I wish I could say more, but I believe the take-home point is that none of us could believe such a wonderful place could exist so close to the heart of everything in DC. We were sad that we had to leave, but if we're fortunate enough to get to DC again, you can bet we'll be arranging our trip around availability of this remarkable space. :)

TIP: Be sure to check out Busboys & Poets up at 5th & K. You won't be disappointed!

TIP: If you were planning to rent a car to see DC, don't. You're within walking distance of everything or a tour bus that's headed there! The only major exception I can think of would be Mount Vernon, which we did not get to this trip.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 14

 

Sorority Convention!

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2013

I must say that I was really pleased with the property, cleanliness, location, and the overall experience once I arrived in D.C. for my sororities centennial celebration. The apartment was just as described. There were a total of 7 women all in our mid 30's that stayed comfortably in the apartment. They all were also very pleased with the place. The location was in walking distance from everything we needed to get to in a timely manner which was the convention and verizon center. This was my first time not using a hotel for accomodations and because of the horror stories I have heard about vacation rentals, I was really proactive about doing my research, getting receipts, insurance and communicating with the owner prior to arrival. Personally, I would have liked a quicker response time to some of my questions (24 hours) however he was able to explain the delay and get me what I needed. I maintained the five stars because the overall experience I had once I arrived made up for the slow response time. He also allowed us to enter the apartment early which was a plus with all of the luggage we had. I would definitely recommend the property to others.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Great location, easy access to all DC area sights

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 2, 2013

Our family (grandparents, kids, grandkids) enjoyed our 8 night stay in a unit on the 400 block of Massachusetts Ave. The location of the building was easy for walking, or using the Metro. Parking underground made having a car for further away area sights very easy. When we arrived, the entrances were easy to find based on the descriptions and directions we were given. All of the information we were given about the 2 bedroom, 2.5 bath unit with den was accurate. When we arrived, the unit was not yet ready to be occupied, but one phone call and we were able to drop off our luggage, some perishables and begin our busy week in the area. When we arrived back, the unit was ready for all of us. All appliances were clean and working. We used the washer and dryer several times. It was nice to have access to the rooftop/pool and the business center. We also enjoyed the close pizza restaurant and grocery store. We requested an addition self inflating mattress which was there when we arrived. I would recommend this location and property. Thanks for helping to make our DC family adventure a memorable one.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Great Location

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

This unit was very clean and close to all the things we wanted to do. Grocery store was a short 2 block walk and museums were only 8-9 blocks away. Everything went well, check in was very smooth as was check out. Will definitely stay there again and would recommend it without any hesitancy

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Excellent Once We Got In

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 18, 2013

We had a little trouble upon our arrival as the building concierge didn't have the parking passes we were supposed to have had left for us. It took us about an hour to get a response from the company and then discovered that they had given us the wrong address (they apparently have apartments in several buildings in that block). In the meantime, because parking is very limited and expensive we ended up paying $15 to park our car. However, once we got the correct address everything was fabulous! The apartment was exactly as described, had everything in it that we needed, and was very conveniently located. The building and the apartment were all very luxurious and clean. The kids had a blast playing foosball in the game room and swimming in one of the two rooftop pools. We also made use of some of the rooftop lounge areas, top of the line grills, and printing in the business center. So much better for a family of six than staying in a hotel! We will definitely consider staying here again. Had we not had the issue with being given the incorrect address, this would be 5 stars for sure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Just as a point of clarification, the guest received detailed arrival instructions but arrived at the wrong wing of the building anyway. Once they were directed the correct wing, the front desk there had the Welcome Package, keys, and parking passes waiting for them. The guest knew in advance that parking at this property was a $15/night charge. It was clearly stated in the original quote, in the agreement the guest signed , and in the confirmation/arrival instructions the guest received prior at the time of booking.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Family of 6 loved it!

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: May 29, 2013

We took 4 of our 5 kids here for a week and the accomodations/amenities couldnt have been better. Just a few blocks from metro in chinatown it was incredibly convenient for riding metrorail which takes you anywhere you need to get in DC. Great kitchen and rooms with pool on the 13th florr which was great for the kids and nice and cold after a warm day in DC. Front desk was super helpful and friendly. Definitely recommend this place to anyone that would like to see DC at its best!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Washington DC Apartment

Review submitted: June 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 3, 2013

The apartment was exactly as described and in an ideal location for sightseeing in Washington, most of which can easily be done on foot from the apartment. It was very well equipped and very clean and the staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. There was plenty of space for myself, my wife and our 2 daughters. The process of booking was first class and the information received was very comprehensive and usefulI. I have no hesitation in recommending this apartment.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Female senior citizen

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: May 7, 2013

This apartment met our every expectation and then some. It was so clean and beautiful with a great view. The concierge was so helpful in giving directions and suggestions. So much nicer than staying in a hotel. We would certainly stay here again if we ever come back to DC and would recommend it to any friends or relatives wanting to visit. There was a convenient market next door and great restaurants in Chinatown.

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

2 gal travelers

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 25, 2013

This condo was wonderful!!! So accessible to everything that we wanted to see and do; the amenities in the condo were all that we ever hoped for! The beds and linens were awesome; cooking utensils and glassware everything that we wanted; towels soft and cuddly. We loved being close to two Metro stops, and within walking distance of the Capitol and National Mall. Surrounding restaurants were great, and the grocery an easy walk away. It was definitely ZEN HOSPITALITY!! We would recommend it HIGHLY to anyone wanting to come to Washington DC for any length of time. And, we would definitely return to this same place!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Vacation

Review submitted: April 25, 2013   Date of arrival: April 14, 2013

It was the perfect spot for our family. The unit was meticulous and perfectly suited for our needs. We had more than enough space and the kitchen and washer/dryer made our stay so much better. The concierge desk and staff at Meridian Place welcomed us and sincerely treated us like we were their guests. The location of the unit and the fact that we had a parking space made coming and going simple. The restaurant choices were endless.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect D.C.

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 17, 2013

Just stayed for 4 nights with another couple and we were all thrilled with apartment and location.
Very centrally located to visit museums and government buildings, go to restaurants AND a short walk to Metro. Property manager was EXTREMELY helpful and always available. You will consider yourself very lucky to stay here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

This apartment was just as advertised and more. This apartment is in a great location: close to Union Station, at the edge of Chinatown and Penn Quarter, and just a few blocks from the convention center. I used it for a work/vacation combination trip, and it was perfect. Everything you can ask for is within walking distance: there is even a wine bar in the bottom of the building! The apartment has a warm and comfortable feeling. The layout is smart: the office and half bath in front, the kitchen and dining/living room in the center, and the bedrooms on one side. The kitchen is full sized with cooking equipment and even starter coffee! There were tons of closets, so we could hide our luggage, etc. out of sight,and plenty of hangers so we could hang our clothes. Light streams in from large windows, providing an airy feel. In fact, the only concern is that when I stayed there, the windows only had privacy shades (vs. blackout). The light from streetlights was very bright. I provided feedback to the owner, and he said he was going to replace them. If he hasn't done so when you rent, simply bring eyeshades and you will be set! The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are clean and spacious. We enjoyed sharing coffee in the morning before we set off for the day, and it was cozy and fun when we decided to eat in one evening. All in all, it was a great visit. I hope to return again soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Place

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

I took a big leap of faith when I decided to reserve this apartment in Washington DC. I read the reviews and talked to Mark and just decided I would go for it. I have to admit I did have a few nightmares where this apartment was a nightmare. Ok I was just a bit anxious. My son and boyfriend depended on me to find a good place.

Wellll this gamble worked out. The minute we walked in I was thrilled. It was clean, it was pretty, it was safe and fully equipped with everything you needed. It is close to the metro, to the mall, etc.

There is a concierge as you walk in the door, any hour of the day or night. These people were really nice.

The roof of this apartment building is a perk to anyone who goes once spring comes. It is expansive and very clean. You could have dinner up there.

I highly recommend this apartment, it sure beats a hotel room in every way, even price. You can not lose.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay while in DC

Review submitted: March 28, 2013   Date of arrival: March 20, 2013

We sure wish we knew about this place on our other trips to DC. The apt. is quite lovely and spotless. Everything looks new. This is a nice secure, safe building. The location is great and the ammenities are, also. We have never rented a car when we come to DC. The metro is relatively close and cabs are plentiful, too. We would not hesitate to stay here again and would highly recommend this apt. complex to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

5 Stars All Around

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 4, 2013

Beautiful, spacious and well appointed apartment and very accessible, making it excellent for sightseeing and a refuge in the city.

We really loved our stay here, and would absolutely recommend it. Everything in the home was "as described" if not better. We really felt "at home" in Washington DC which was a plus over staying in a hotel. If I lived in DC, this is where I would want to live.

New/clean furnishings, mattresses, towels, linens, rugs and kitchen amenities allowed our stay at this location to be very enjoyable and pleasant for a family of five. We could eat and sleep well in the comforts of this apartment.

Furthermore, the location is spectacular. You can easily walk to the heart of the city which offers excellent dining, markets, shops etc. It is also only an 8 block walk to the Capitol building.

The owner was a delight to work! The parking a huge plus. We would definitely return and/or highly recommend this property to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Five Star Place

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 4, 2013

Beautiful, spacious and well appointed apartment and very accessible, making it excellent for sightseeing and a refuge in the city.

We really loved our stay here, and would absolutely recommend it. Everything in the home was "as described" if not better. We really felt "at home" in Washington DC which was a plus over staying in a hotel. If I lived in DC, this is where I would want to live.

New/clean furnishings, mattresses, towels, linens, rugs and kitchen amenities allowed our stay at this location to be very enjoyable and pleasant for a family of five. We could eat and sleep well in the comforts of this apartment. Furthermore, the location is spectacular. You can easily walk to the heart of the city which offers excellent dining, markets, shops etc. It is also only an 8 block walk to the Capitol building.

The owner was a delight to work! The parking a huge plus. We would definitely return and/or highly recommend this property to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location and place

Review submitted: March 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

Mark did an excellent job of contacting us. Keys ready and apartment very clean and easy access to Metro. We enjoyed this apartment much more than a hotel room as we had enough room to walk around and eat breakfast at home. Safeway is right down the bock for easy grocery access. Cabs at the front door and the circulator is right across the street. We used a car service to get to BWI which worked out quite well. Would definitely recommend and use again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

DC apartment

Review submitted: February 11, 2013   Date of arrival: February 4, 2013

The rental manager/president of the company was very accommodating and helpful. He made sure we had everything we needed. The apartment was exactly as it was listed on the website. It was close to the metro and bus routes which we were able to take full advantage of during our stay. Getting a taxi was no problem either and the neighborhood was safe and clean. There were many restaurants (fast food and sit down) that were in walking distance. The apartment was clean, nicely decorated, and fully stocked. The front desk staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the DC area. I have no real complaints about the service or the rental. I would definitely stay with Zen hospitality again and fully recommend this apartment for anyone visiting DC

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Comfortable and close to the convention center

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: January 10, 2013

My sorority sisters and I were in town for our Founders Day weekend. We needed to stay somewhere in walking distance to the convention center. This property is only about a 5 minute walk to the convention center. This was very important to me and the other guest. The property is also close to many of the popular restaurants and bars in chinatown. The description of the property was very accurate and we were pleased with the cleanliness and overall look of the apartment. The owner also allowed us to drop off our luggage into the apartment before check-in time. We want to thank the owner for being so accommodating with our last minute request. Staying at this vacation rental was better than staying in a hotel because it felt like a home away from home. We will definitely look into this property first for future trips to the DC area.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Highly recommended for family of 5. Good location

Review submitted: January 19, 2013   Date of arrival: December 24, 2012

We just had a wonderful 1-week stay in Appt 1128 on the 11th floor for Christmas and will recommend it to our friends.

The location was particularly convenient. Gallery/Chinatown station is just 5 minutes away (3 different lines). From that station, the Pentagon is only 15' away. One can walk to many restaurants, the Archives, the Spy Museum and even the Mall. There are quite a few homeless by the metro station but we never felt unsafe in the area.

The Appt was excatly as described. It is probably very new, or very well maintained. We liked the the clear, white walls and the frames on the walls, the very comfortable beds (incl sofa), the quality of bedding and towels, the furbished kitchen. We appreciated to find some soap, dishwasher powder, laundry powder, tissues, kitchen paper towels, coffee, tea, etc... It was great to find a spare light bulb in the closet, as one burned when I turned a bed light on.

That Appt is at the very end of a corridor, at the corner of the building and has lots of windows. It overlooks a busy intersection and some people might find it noisy at night. But it brings a lot of daylight in the rooms, although they mostly face North.

Both baths have a sink, toilet, and a tub with shower. One is accessible from a bedroom and from the living room as well. The living room is small but the 5 of us could eat at the table. We appreciated how clean it was when we walked in. We liked the free, secured, broadband WiFi. Having the washer/dryer in one of the baths was also convenient.

We took all our breakfasts and dinner at "home". A Safeway supermarket is located just a block away (3 minute walk) and had everything we needed during the stay. That saved quite some restaurant expense. Using the metro or walking also saved on taxis (we never even considered renting a car).
So, if you think this rental is expensive, think about the total cost of your vacation. I wouldn't say the week fee was cheap, but it was worth the comfort and location.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Birthday Getaway!

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

This was a fantastic trip with a few friends for my birthday. The location was perfect for nearby necessities but public transportation would be needed for local attractions. The apartment was very modern in its style of furniture and appliances and I love cooking! Therefore, that kitchen was remarkable for me! This property was well maintained and even had little necessities like dish detergent that I forgot to pack! All in all, Mark was very accommodating and I would definitely recommend this property to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our stay at Archstone Ballston Place

Review submitted: December 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Many thanks to Zen Hospitality for making our visit to Washington a memorable trip. Everything was as described in the listing. The apartment was clean, well maintained and the staff was friendly and helpful. I would recommend this location to anyone visiting the DC area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great Family Vacation, Despite Hurricane Sandy!

Review submitted: November 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

Having pored over the reviews of this property before renting, I can say that I found them to be very accurate. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this apartment to anyone visiting DC. A few things to add:
1. The apartment's 11th floor corner location was very nice- quiet and with plenty of windows. The view is not super attractive, however, as there is a lot of construction going on in this area.
2. The location is convenient, but not really what I would consider a short walk to any of the attractions we were interested in. This isn't a problem, though, with great public transportation nearby and readily available taxis (often a better option with a larger group.)
3. I wouldn't really describe the apartment as luxury, but it is attractive, comfortable, convenient and spacious- much better than a hotel room! The building was really nice as others have described, with a good workout room also.
4. The owner accommodated our request for an extra bed (air mattress) and allowed us to extend our stay for two extra days when our flight was cancelled due to Hurricane Sandy- thank you Mark! On that note, other than rain driven through the window seals and a large banner ripped off and sent down the street, the building weathered the storm very well. We never lost power, cable or internet, which was a big blessing when we were "trapped" inside for two days. Overall, we had a wonderful and memorable vacation and our stay at this apartment was a big part of it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Position

Review submitted: November 17, 2012   Date of arrival: November 7, 2012

This apartment @ 450 Massachusetts Ave, DC was lovely. it was 2 bedroom/2 bathroom and very modern. We were 2 couples staying for one week. We were close to everywhere and walked wherever we wanted to go.
Mark was very easy to deal with and i requested an early check in as we arrived @ 10am and could access the apartment straight away. We requested a late check out to fit in with our flight and although the apartment was book for the day we departed, Mark was accommodating.
The only minus about the apartment was that it was a little noisy, traffic.
I would give this apartment a 10 out of 10.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice clean condo

Review submitted: September 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

The condo is well kept and in a building with lots of amenities. The location was close to convention center and Chinatown.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great Two Bedroom Property

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

The apartment was clean, had appropriate amenities, closet space and was in a secure building in a convenient location. Safeway Supermarket located one block away. Walking distance to Convention Center, Chinatown and other points of interest. The listing and photos accurately reflected the apartment and I would, and have recommended the property to friends and business acquaintances. We had two adults at the unit for one week during a business trip to the City. The layout provided a nice balance of privacy and shared space for socializing and relaxing.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Good Experience, Responsive Owner

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

The apartment was very clean, well-maintained, and things were even better than pictured in the ad with upgrades to some of the furniture and decor. Mark was quick and responsive in his communications about all pre-rental questions, and dealings were very professional. We had a brief difficulty connecting to Wifi at one point, but he returned our call within minutes and walked us through the reset procedure over the phone. All went smoothly, and we were very satisfied overall. Would stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Astounding Experience

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 18, 2012

My experience with this apartment was so good I am tempted to keep quiet and have it as my own secret.

But I won't do that. Can I give it 6 stars?

I visited for a 3-night, 3-day stay with my wife and 2 kids (2nd grade K) to do the typical monument/museum stuff.

The location is amazing. Riding Metro was a major thrill for the kids, so walking to Gallery Place station in 5 minutes was great; also in walking distance: the convention center, the Verizon Center, and dozens of restaurants. The store on the first floor had some groceries and delicious breakfast sandwiches.

(I think you could walk to the Mall if you want to, but borderline for young kids at the start or end of a long day.)

The apartment was delightful. It is a corner unit with views in two directions, including a view of the Washington Monument. We arrived late, with no activity planned, so the view provided entertainment on arrival. The rooms are large and well furnished with very impressive closet space (more important for longer stays.) We also thought that the beds were comfortable—I slept very well; I did not even suffer from typical "can't sleep in a new place the first night" issues. The bathrooms were very clean. There is a washer/dryer in the master bath which we used for bathing suits and towels—nothing major, but so much easier in this situation than in a hotel.

The kitchen was very well equipped, although we only ate breakfast and late-night snacks in the apartment, it was so nice to have real plates and silverware. I would say that the kitchen is easily as well equipped (or better equipped) than I have seen in some beach condos where visitors typically expect to do more cooking.

We used the pool on the roof 2 nights (the kids insisted we stay somewhere with a pool) and we had a lot of fun, but we were rather obviously not regular tenants. No one else appeared to be over 30. Nothing wrong with that, but if sticking out makes you uncomfortable (doesn't bother me) just be aware.

A cost comparison: I spent 3 days/nights in DC in April for work (convention center event) at a chain hotel less than 1.5 miles from this apartment. When planning this trip, I looked at the same hotel because it was okay. Their rate for a single 2-Queen room was barely less than what we paid for 2-Bedroom apartment. But get this… after parking—their room would have been MORE.

Will I be back? Definitely. Next time I am headed to DC (for fun or work) I would be delighted to come back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Vacation Visit - July 2012

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

We found this location to be great since the purpose for our trip was to do sightseeing and wanted to skip the car rental. The apartment itself was close enough to some attractions for walking and for others we took Metro. To the closest stop it was only about 2.5 blocks. The Circulator also had a stop just outside and across the street, so that was a quick way to move around as well.

There were many restaurants within a 3-5 block range, some local and some chain. Safeway was about 2-3 blocks as well and a smaller convenience store/deli was located in the same building. A CVS was also within the same block as the apartment. The building staff was very friendly and made you feel like you lived there year-round. We have a 7 year-old, so a swimming pool was a must for summer and it was a pleasant experience. Only once was it truly busy, but most times there were only a couple of other people there.

The apartment itself was clean and comfortable and felt like a home away from home. It had the amenities we expect and more. It had everything we needed for our stay We utilized the internet for a tablet and configuration was a snap. There was some city noise to contend with, but we adjusted quickly. As with most cities there were things to be aware of while out walking, but we certainly had no immediate safety concerns when walking as a family day or night.

Finally, working with the owner was a pleasure. In our exchanges pre- and post-trip he was very helpful and professional. We would definitely recommend this property to others who might be traveling to DC.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Highly recommend

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

Wow1 My family of 6 stayed in this condo very comfortably for our vacation. It has all the amenities you could ask for. Very clean and well equiped. It is very close to the metro which is the best way to get around DC to see all the sites. It has great restaurants close by and even a major grocery store within a few blocks. The concierge was very helpful and friendly. The owner made me feel like we were long lost friends and I knew that he would do anything he could to make our stay memorable and comfortable. We were not disappointed. If I ever have the chance to visit DC again, I know where I'll be staying.
Thank you for a great stay,
From Tucson, AZ.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Zen Hospitality is Great!!

Review submitted: July 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

We didn't stay at this particular property because it was unavailable the week we were in DC. Mark recommended another property he had in Ballstone Apartments and it worked out perfectly for our family of five. He was very responsive and accomodating. We had plenty of space and the apartment was clean and well-maintained. The view of DC was beautiful and our kids loved the great pool for cooling off after a busy day of sight-seeing. I would recommend this owner to family and friends!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hotel or this place....

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

This was a great experience! Everything you need to live a normal life and feel comfortable but on vacation. The grocery store, the Metro, everything was in walking distance. There was enough space for everyone. We had family from age 2 to age 72 and everyone had a great time. The pool was fun and the roof top views were spectacular. I will definitely be returning and staying there again. I would recommend this place for any and everyone. The owner was nice, friendly and very helpful which made the experience that much better!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Place to Stay!

Review submitted: July 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

We (8 children, 2 adults) stayed for 8 days on a school trip from California. Location and the apartment were perfect for our group. Mark was easy to reach. Housekeeping staff was wonderful, as were the concierge and life guard at the pool. Everyone was helpful and accommodating and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Highly recommend this place-you won't be disappointed!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family of 4 birthday getaway

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: April 18, 2012

This property was exactly as described with a view of the Washington monument and the National Cathedral from the living room and Master bedroom. The beds were very comfortable and after walking all day in DC that was important to us! Although there were several restaurants close by we utilized the fully equipped kitchen for both breakfast and dinner. This apartment truly was a home away from home. Mark was very easy to work with from making reservations to contacting us upon arrival to ask if anything was needed. We look forward to staying here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place for a great price

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

We stayed here when my in-laws came to town and there was plenty of room for all of us. It helped having a full kitchen so we could cook some meals at the apartment instead of eating out for every meal. It was a quick walk to shops and sight seeing locations. We will stay at this apartment the next time we go to DC! Clean, comfortable, management was friendly and helpful.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Overall GREAT experience and place; Wonderful communication

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

Super clean, easy, great location, great customer service, great electronic communication with owner. Just an overall delightful and easy arrangement. Everything you would need for a comfortable stay exists. Walking distance from the conference center. Great to have a convenience store in the same building. Rooms, beds, bathrooms all comfortable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Experience

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

The properties leased by Zen Hospitality are well managed and exceed expectations. The property was spotless and well stocked with high end furniture, linens and bedding. Booking was a breeze and check in easy. It was everything as promised and more. I will definitely book with them in the near future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Super vacation location

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

The condo was great! It lived up up to its photos on line and much more. The arrangement and location worked out very well for our family of four. From this location you can make you way easily to the metro or walk to the mall, Capitol, White House, Smithsonian, etc. It is close to many restaurants, cafes and coffee shops. Also, only 3 blocks away is a grocery store and the drug store is across the street. The kitchen came equipped with most everything you could desire. There is a 24 attendant on duty downstairs and building has great security. We really enjoyed our stay in DC and this condo made the trip perfect. We will be recommending it to family and friends. Mark the manager is very easy to work with, responds to questions and needs extremely well. The condo is perfect for all travel groups.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wow....Great apartment!

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 5, 2012

This property is just as advertised...no surprises/no let downs! We really enjoyed our stay in DC and coming homing to such a nice and clean place with comfortable beds was a definate plus.

This apartment is in the perfect location, has a great pool, great ambiance, great staff!

Thank you Mark for completing our stay in DC, this will be our spot for all future trips.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family of Five

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Our family (2 adults and 3 kids) stayed in this unit for a week and it was absolutely fantastic. Exactly as advertised - clean, modern, safe building w/ 24 hour doorman (who was super helpful and friendly). Mark (the manager) was exceptionally responsive and accomodating. Location was great. We were able to walk to the Metro, grocery store, many restaurants, etc. Also a short walk to the Mall and everything you'd want to see. The kids loved the pool on the rooftop. It was great having a complete kitchen (fully stocked) to eat-in. Also, the unit had a full sized washer/dryer which was a huge help!! We will definitely stay here again - couldn't have been better!!!! Highly recommend!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

family vacation

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

Great location. It was a five minute walk to the Verizon Center, to Chinatown, and the Metro at Gallery Place, and less than a mile from the Capital, the White House and all the Museums on the Mall. The grocery store was a five minute walk. There is a gas grill on the roof if you want to cook out. The full kitchen was wonderful. The washer and dryer were useful and having two bathrooms for our family of 5 was perfect. It seemed like anything you needed to do was within 10 minutes of the place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A great stay in DC

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 16, 2012

We stayed in this property at 450 Massachusetts Avenue last week and it was a wonderful location. We were 4 adults and 2 children. We could walk to all the museums and monuments. The grocery store (Safeway) was two blocks away and there were numerous restaurants in the area in all different price ranges. The condo was very clean and comfortable and much more spacious than a hotel room and the kitchen was well stocked for simple meal preparation for breakfast and lunch. The price was very reasonable - less than one room at nearby hotels. We parked the car in the underground garage and didn't move it until we were leaving on Sunday. The property manager and the concierge at the building were very pleasant and easy to work with. We would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to friends and family visiting DC.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great apartment

Review submitted: May 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 17, 2012

The apartment was great. Everything was clean and new and exactly as advertised. Everybody was extremely helpful including the building concierge. The location is good, between two metro stations and close to grocery store, coffee shops etc. We will definitely try to stay there again when we come down to DC next.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Excellent Property in DC

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 15, 2012

I highly recommend this property to anyone in need of accommodation in DC. I needed to make a three day last minute trip to DC at a time when there were few available hotel rooms which greatly increased prices of those with availability. I turned to VRBO late Saturday night and found this listing. The owner could not have been more helpful and accommodating. Even though it was late at night and I needed to arrive the next day, he responded immediately and arranged everything very well. The apartment is secure, spacious, very clean, fully equipped for a family or group and in a great location. No car is needed. Everything you need is within walking distance or there is a major metro stop nearby. The apartment building staff were extremely helpful and courteous. Even the tenants in the building were very friendly and helpful even though I was a stranger. The listing description and photos accurately describe the property. All in all it was an excellent experience and I would not hesitate to recommend the property to anyone, whether alone, a couple or family. We will certainly return again when visiting DC in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great family vacation in DC

Review submitted: April 14, 2012   Date of arrival: March 25, 2012

We had a great family vacation in DC and this apartment was a great choice. It is conveniently located, walking distance to the Smithsonian Art Museum, Spy Museum, Verizon (great for basketball and hockey if you have time) and Chinatown. Also walking distance to some really good restaurants. Highly recommend Nandos chicken Peri Peri.

Apartment was clean and modern. It had plenty of room for a family of 5. It's location was really ideal to get to all of the tourist places. Simple bus ride got us to the museums and monuments. We drove to the National Zoo instead of taking the metro even though the train station was within walking distance from the apartment.

Owner was responsive and helpful. Concierge was helpful as well, especially with the indoor garage situation. There was some confusion with the garage door opener, but it all worked out.

I would highly recommend the apartment. Great rooftop deck and tenant amenities. Google 400 Masschusetts DC for more pictures and information.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location, great apartment, great owner

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

I just returned from a nine-night stay at this apartment, and it was wonderful. My wife and I took our 4 kids, and two slept in the second bedroom on a queen bed, and the other two slept on the hide-a-bed in the living room. There was plenty of room for all of us, and the whole experience was outstanding - just as advertised. Mark (the owner) was easily accessible, very friendly, and quick to respond to the few questions we did have. The neighborhood is a short walk to the Chinatown metro stop. We actually rode in on Amtrak just for fun, and although it was a bit longer walk to the Union Station, it was a pretty easy walk from there to the apartment rolling our luggage. We had a great vacation, and having this apartment was a big part of that. I highly recommend both the apartment and the owner.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

My Stay

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

My vacation stay at the DC Mass Ave apartment was wonderful. The apartment was all it was represented to be, and more. We were very comfortable. The owner of the company managed everything and he was wonderful to deal with. The location was extremely convenient and all DC sites were easy to get to. I would definately stay in this DC apartment again. JL

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review