reviews for: listing #97748 - Laguna Beach, California House rental

Gorgeous Oceanview/Catalina Islands View (3BR/4.5BA)
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  15
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $4,500 - $5,500 /wk
    $17,000 - $25,000 /mth

sort by:

The Merriest Christmas

Review submitted: January 17, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

If you could have one thing for Christmas, what would it be? I asked my wife and kids that very question and they had no idea what was in store for them! We all work so hard and sacrifice so much, I felt it was time to reap the rewards. Staying in this beauty of a home was much more than a reward! The pictures here don't do it justice. This is a rare beauty. The owner was gracious enough to let us decorate the home ourselves for Christmas, that was such a treat! How often can you say you decorated a mansion? Well this a 3 bedroom but the downstairs pool room is like having a downstairs condo! We loved spending time down there! I mean, we could fit 2 families there if we needed to. Celebrating Christmas in a mansion on the beach, talk about fascinating. Take my word for it, stay here, and have the time of your life. Life is too short to not experience new things. We got to know the owner very well and he is the kindest man. We are 100% returning to his home, without a doubt!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Merriest Christmas

Review submitted: January 17, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

If you could have one thing for Christmas, what would it be? I asked my wife and kids that very question and they had no idea what was in store for them! We all work so hard and sacrifice so much, I felt it was time to reap the rewards. Staying in this beauty of a home was much more than a reward! The pictures here don't do it justice. This is a rare beauty. The owner was gracious enough to let us decorate the home ourselves for Christmas, that was such a treat! How often can you say you decorated a mansion? Well this a 3 bedroom but the downstairs pool table room is like having a downstairs condo! We loved spending time down there! I mean, we could fit 2 families there if we needed to. Celebrating Christmas in a mansion on the beach, talk about fascinating. Take my word for it, stay here, and have the time of your life. Life is too short to not experience new things. We got to know the owner very well and he is the kindest man. We are 100% returning to his home, without a doubt!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Very Thankful Thanksgiving

Review submitted: January 17, 2014   Date of arrival: November 20, 2013

Our family has so much to be thankful for, especially this year! We do not have a large family by any means so we decided to travel for the holiday. We never thought this Canadian bunch would land on the beautiful beach of California. Vacation homes have become so poular among our friends so we gave it a try. This house was great. The floor plan itself is open and spacious, allowing every member of our family privacy and space. The weather was warm and bright and the house faces the ocean, making for a beautiful time. Every corner of this house is perfection and beauty. We felt right at home and had our best Thanksgiving, yet! To anyone considering this home, you will love it and it's an experience you will not regret. The people of the town were kind and we never had a moment of boredom. we would be so lucky to be able to come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

5 Star Summer

Review submitted: November 1, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Talk about a week of living like a star! This trip was the closest thing to what we see on TV regarding Hollywood types and their A-list lifestyles. This home was immaculate from the high vaulted ceilings to the floor. You walk in the front door to be instantly greeted by the ocean. The house itself is quite large. There is more than enough space for a large family to reside there. It has panormaic views of the ocean and they can be seen from the kitchen as well. Downtown is also nearby, with plenty of shops and dining spots, it is easy to fill a week up with things to do. My family and I felt like royalty, and for how hard we work, we deserved that. I loved that we took a chance and tried renting a home and we would gladly be back. Also, I wanted to mention that each room is fully furnished and restrooms are fully accomodated, this includes the kitchen. The owner, who is a Doctor, lives in the back of the home but it is completely private and we met him only once. It really is a fully stocked home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Summer Lovin'

Review submitted: November 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 27, 2013

My family and I are usually skeptical about vacation homes because we are 2 adults, 4 teens, and 2 children under 15! We are a big load and require our space. Well this house made us more than comfortable. The house sits on a big hill and over looks the ocean. Theres a huge living room and kitchen right when you enter the front door. Every room is a great size and fully furnished. The owner was such a nice man and we had total privacy during our stay. We loved the city of Laguna and of course the beach!This home really was a gem and we are grateful for all the memories we made there. I will tell all my friends/family to come here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Retirement fun

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 22, 2013

My wife and I have recently had the great pleasure of retiring from our jobs of over 26 years if service. Most people think that retiring means staying at home and waking up late, while that may be true, my wife and I were super interested in a house swap or even renting out a beach house, which os how we landed here, in Laguna Beach. We really couldn't have asked for a better first trip in our retirement journey. This house is incredibly beautiful and of course spacious, with up to date ammenities. The whole inside and outside is white, just like Greek/Roman style architecture. The owner actually lives onsite but on a different section than the whole house. We met him once and he was a really nice guy and gave us 100% privacy. The neighborhood was so quiet and calm. Every back window has a view of the ocean, and of course you can smell that sweet ocean smell. We did a lot of dining out and shopping, there is a fabulous downtown saw dust festival community that will keep you very busy. Apart from waking up at the beach and seing it from our house and eating delicious fods, what else could you ask for? I hope my review was helpful. I would recommend this home to anyone. Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Memorial Weekend

Review submitted: June 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

My girls and I just graduated from Nebraska State, so we decided to put our money together and rent out this bombshell house! This house is a dream, something we have never seen in Nebraska. It felt like we were living a dream for sure. the living room space is so big and open. The top level leads out to the backyard where we spent so much time tanning and enjoying the view of the ocean. Every room is fully furnished, and had themost comfortable bedding, not to mention neat and clean. We were never without something to do. Downtown was awesome, lots of restaurants and places to shop. We definitely got a taste of finer things and what some would call, "the good life". This was an experience none of us could ever forget. This is something all people need to do atleast once in their lifetime. We are extremely grateful!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Easter in Cali!

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 21, 2013

Manhattan meets Laguna! My husband, my sister, my brother in law, and all of our kids all came together and decided to experience Easter on the west coast. Never have we had such amazing weather in March! We are all so in love with Cali and not to mention, the most beautiful, fairy tale like mansion our families have ever stepped foot in. We are from Manhattan, New York so we have seen beautiful homes but you can't compare those homes to this one because we literally lived in the water. Guys, this house sits on a great big hill and overlooks the ocean. Every bedroom was so clean and furnished so nicely. We used every part of that house for our vacation, and had such a good Easter egg hunt! The kids loved this house and had more tha enough space to enjoy themselves. Laguna was such a cute city and has a great downtown area for people of all ages. The Dr. that owns this home lives onsite but we never saw him or where he stayed. We're telling all of our New Yorker friends and family that they must go to Laguna and stay in this mansion! Great experience, beautiful clean home, and a fun loving city. We are so looking forward to our return. If you plan on coming stay for no less than 2 weeks because you will be in heaven here. I hope this review helps you make a decision

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Unforgetable honeymoon

Review submitted: March 28, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

Let me begin by saying that the hospitality on this vacation home its out of this world. My wife and I felt like we were right at home the moment we stept in to the house the owner is verey courteous and supper nice, he greet us upon arival and show us the house which by the way its beautiful and that was the last time we saw him cause he gives us full privacy for hour honeymoon. He lives on the back of the house so we never get to see him because he also have his own separate entrance.
The house is big with planty of pace for up to four families and the views of the ocean... WOW, you can seat on the balcony which it has nice patio furniture to relax and enjoy the ocean views with a the perfect breeze that blows from the ocean, the weather is also spectacular.
We had the time of our life expending a lot of time going down to the beach and enjoying what we called the perfect climet.
We recomend this vacation home to anyone planing a vacation in southern california.
Thank you Dr. for your hospitality.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Valentine's Ever

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

I am so excited to write this review because my family and I had the best vacation experience of our lives staying in this fortress. My husband, my sister, my brother in law, and myself packed up and flew to California to stay in a house that you only see on tv or in a magazine. We knew we would love the house but we had no idea of the magnitude! We planned on staying for two weeks but the owner was so awesome and nice that he gave us an incredible offer on staying for a whole month. Every morning was like a dream waking up to an intense view of electric blue waters and of course, being in a mansion. The house is so well kept and extremely clean. Every room is so well stocked as well as the restrooms. The owner, which is a doctor, actually lives on site, but we never once saw or heard him. We maintained such privacy and peace. We spent a lot of time at the beach but we also spent great time in downtown at the city of art. We never ran out of places to eat or shop! It was truly an experience we never imagined having, but we were so blessed and fortunate to have had this vacation and that home. I would absolutely reccomend this home and city to anyone looking for a true getaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Valentine's getaway!

Review submitted: March 1, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

I am so excited to write this review because my family and I had the best vacation experience of our lives staying in this fortress. My husband, my sister, my brother in law, and myself packed up and flew to California to stay in a house that you only see on tv or in a magazine. We knew we would love the house but we had no idea of the magnitude! We planned on staying for two weeks but the owner was so awesome and nice that he gave us an incredible offer on staying for a whole month. Every morning was like a dream waking up to an intense view of electric blue waters and of course, being in a mansion. The house is so well kept and extremely clean. Every room is so well stocked as well as the restrooms. The owner, which is a doctor, actually lives on site, but we never once saw or heard him. We maintained such privacy and peace. We spent a lot of time at the beach but we also spent great time in downtown at the city of art. We never ran out of places to eat or shop! It was truly an experience we never imagined having, but we were so blessed and fortunate to have had this vacation and that home. I would absolutely reccomend this home and city to anyone looking for a true getaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: January 28, 2013   Date of arrival: December 31, 2012

My family has been urging me to consider staying in a bih home instead of a hotel for our family vacation. I didnt care much for the idea until I looked into it and started reading the reviews. My kids were ecstatic when we got there. None of us could believe that we were actually standing in a gorgeous home like that. We had a blast staying there. The beach was super close and we could always see it from the home. We would all recommend this home to anyone looking into staying in a house. We consider it our best family vacation for sure and cant wait to do something like this again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Wedding!

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

My fiance (at the time) and I always said that we wanted our wedding to be very different than the norm and that meant getting married outside of a church. We both love the beach but agreed not to get married directly on one. We browsed through beach rental homes and instantly fell in love with this house!The entire house is white on the outside and the backyard has the best gazebo. Not to mention that the entire backyard sets you right by the ocean. If you think this house is beautiful by itself, wait until you see it decorated for a wedding. This house looked like something out of a magazine. I realize not everyone reading this review is looking for a wedding venue so I will let you know that the inside of this home is immaculate and super spacious. Every room is well kept and great sizes. The bathrooms were beautifus and extremely clean. Every window in the house faces the bright blue ocean, and of course the backyard is grand and not something most of us folks are used to.If you go out to the backyard from the upstairs then there is a wrap around small porch that gives you the most breath taking view of the ocean! There was nothing about this house that did not steal our hearts. Beautiful home and location. We would be thrilled to come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Peaceful Rental

Review submitted: November 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

When i arrived at this rental home in laguna i couldnt believe how beautiful and spacious it was. The view was breath taking and the decor was very nicely chosen, the renter was very nice although he was not present for the majority of the stay, made me feel like i owned this gorgeous home.There are many activities to do the beach is near, there are many hills so the bike rides are a challenge, a must for a fitness freak like myself, not to mention the beautiful scenary during my morning run.There are also many restaurants to choose from all different types of food its hard to choose.I would recommend this rental to anyone who wants to feel on top of the world!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Bachelor Week

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 9, 2012

My best men brought me out here for a week to celebrate before I got married. Ive seen nice homes before but have never really been inside one before. This hoe was perfect. Wide open spaces with full upgrades everywhere. I almost wish I would have saved this trip for my honeymoon instead. You can smell the ocean from the backyard at all times. The owner, a dentist, lives on the property as well but we never saw him not once. It was very private the entire trip. The house was clean and had no damage that we could see. The backyard had like a full gazebo and the whole house is very white on the outside, very Greek looking. It was a blast and there is a lot to do there especially being so close to the beach. I would love to bring my new wife there after we are married. I would reccommend anyone to come here. I hope my review was helpful. Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bachelor week

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 30, 2012

My best men brought me out here for a week to celebrate before I got married. Ive seen nice homes before but have never really been inside one before. This hoe was perfect. Wide open spaces with full upgrades everywhere. I almost wish I would have saved this trip for my honeymoon instead. You can smell the ocean from the backyard at all times. The owner, a dentist, lives on the property as well but we never saw him not once. It was very private the entire trip. The house was clean and had no damage that we could see. The backyard had like a full gazebo and the whole house is very white on the outside, very Greek looking. It was a blast and there is a lot to do there especially being so close to the beach. I would love to bring my new wife there after we are married. I would reccommend anyone to come here. I hope my review was helpful. Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Women's Conference

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

Our annual Womens conference this year was held at this house. What a treat for us women to be put up in such an extravagant home. We were surrounded by beautiful waters and gteat views. Every room was kept so clean and well. We really felt like royalty in such a luxurious home. So many of the women were awestruck by the kitchen especially. It has marble counters and an island in the middle. The house also has huge skylights all throughout the living room. It was a treat to be here and I would definetely advise other to do the same. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sister Vacation

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

My sister and me have been anxious to take a trip and stay in a beach home since they are so popular now. We werent sure if we would feel weird being in such a huge house but it was far from weird, it was awesome! The house is beautiful from top to bottom and so clean. There is an ocean view from almost all the windows. The backyard is very Greek styled and you can smell the ocean! We dined at some awesome restaurants and really enjoyed the small town of Laguna.For us this was truly a once in a lifetime experience to enjoy such a glamorous home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bachelorette Party Week

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

Well instead of a Vegas trip or some typical crazy bachelorette party, me and my girls decided to pitch in and rent out a gorgeous beach home and live it up for a week. We got there on a Friday night and hit some local restaurants for a nice dinner and spent the rest of the week living it up on the beach and living like queens in this amazing palace. The house is seriously out of this world. Every inch of it is beautiful and so well up to date. The rooms had everything we needed and the house was super clean. Theres a view of the ocean from practically every window.The house is very spacious and the kitchen is like something out of a magazine. This was the best way to celebrate my bachelorette week. I loved it!!! 5 stars all the way

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation in Years!

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: September 17, 2012

My kids have always wanted to learn to surf and my husband found a beautiful house right off of the ocean for our annual vacation. This house is immaculate! The kids had so much fun exploring and my husband and I loved the elegance and peacefulness of hearing the ocean at night putting us to bed. There is a beautiful marble gazebo in the back perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine! We are definetely going to come back and were even thinking about making it next years vacation!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect honeymoon house

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

Me and finance we stayed this beautiful vacation home for our honeymoon we have our full privacy. The owner is a Doctor and lives at the side of the house he was so nice and quite we never saw him. This house is like a dream come true for us. The ocean side balcony is so big and beautiful and the stars look amazing at night. You can hear the oceans waves at night. The ocean breeze was so refreshing we love to go back next year. The whole house is white like you are in the Greek and the gazebo in the backyard is amazing made from white Italian marble me and my finance love to get married in that gazebo

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice house with ocean view

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Its nice,quiet & spacious house for a family. Beautiful ocean view from top of hill. Owner is nice and helpful. Good coastal town for getaway.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Magnificent Villa

Review submitted: July 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

This Laguna Beach House is a delightful escape just a few miles up the hill from Main beach boardwalk. Despite its proximity to the beach, it is a quiet oasis, full of entirely charming detail. Each bedroom room has a modern theme and our room had a broad balcony that overlooked the ocean...
Weather was beyond perfect in early summer when we stayed here. Hot during the day and cold breeze at night. Our kids loved it and begged to stay longer and were sorry to leave. Plenty of space for the money inside this home, very clean and like new interior, back yard full of tropical trees and blue ocean in the distant.
We will definitely come back next summer.
We met the owner only once and he was very kind.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank You for your review . I'm glad to know that everything went well and you enjoyed your vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

All in one House - comfort, nature, beauty !!!

Review submitted: April 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

I stayed at this property over the Independence Day weekend. The place is beautiful inside-out. It is serene & tranquil on the patio when you step out of the living room to enjoy the ocean view and the Catalina Islands view. This house is on the top of a mountain. We enjoyed sipping our wine while basking in the beauty of beautiful evening sky (and the oceanview). A cherry on top of your favoriate ice-cream - we watched the fireworks from the patio.. accross the waters. The entire view was Priceless !!!! All the rooms on the main floor have an oceanview. On our early morning walk, we discovered a nearby cliff (5 mins walk from the house) that gave a unique picture of mountain and ocean meeting in far place. I would never look for any other house since this is a all in one house offering comfort, nature & beauty !!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

vacation

Review submitted: April 6, 2012   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

Wow! What an amazing gorgeous house!It was a great vacation get away. It was very relaxing and quite just what we wanted in our get away.Nobody bothered us and everything was perfect and clean. We would definetly come back.....

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review