reviews for: listing #97781 - Acadia, Maine House rental

Charming,Lakefront Cottage - Beautiful ChemoPond Near Acadia
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,100 - $1,900 /wk

sort by:

Comfortable cottage, beautiful view in upstate Maine

Review submitted: September 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

The house was as it is described in the ad, and much more.... very comfortable, very clean, well equipped kitchen, lots of towels! Gorgeous view of the Chemo Pond, we rowed, kayaked even swam! We had a great time! Going back next year!

Recommended for: people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful vacation house on the lake!

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

Nice clean house for our party of 9. Loved playing on the lake with the canoes, kayaks, paddle boats and really enjoyed the floating island for catching the sun's rays and for swimming. The kids caught a lot of different kinds of fish (that were released back). We watched loons, ducks and saw bald eagles, too. We enjoyed the fire pit every night and the amazing stars. We only left the house 3 days to see Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor. We plan to return to Maine and will stay here again. This was probably the most relaxing vacation we have ever had.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful place and Great Vacation

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

Very nice home plenty big enough for the 9 of us. We loved the lake, and all of the canoes, kayaks, paddle boats during the day and we enjoyed the fire pit at night under the amazing stars! The kids caught all kinds of fish. It was a very relaxing vacation. We only left the house 3 times to visit Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor, which are a MUST SEE. We hope to stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A relaxing wedding week in June

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

With my daughters wedding planned for Bangor, in June, I decided to try to find a place on a nearby lake to stay with friends and/or family. After much online research, this is the place i chose. And i could not be happier with the results. We had five people in the house for the better part of a week and we could have easily managed with more guests. The place is very spacious, well-kept, and has all of the amenities. Josh and his wife checked in on us immediately upon our arrival and even provided a welcome basket of sweet treats. We were right on the lake---which was very quiet, by the way---but unfortunately the weather turned before we were able to take advantage of all the boats, canoe, etc... And i was happy to find that it was only a 40 minute drive to the wedding on the opposite side of Bangor. Don't know if anything will ever bring me back to this part of the country, but i would not hesitate to stay there.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A relaxing wedding week in June

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

With my daughters wedding planned for Bangor, in June, I decided to try to find a place on a nearby lake to stay with friends and/or family. After much online research, this is the place i chose. And i could not be happier with the results. We had five people in the house for the better part of a week and we could have easily managed with more guests. The place is very spacious, well-kept, and has all of the amenities. Josh and his wife checked in on us immediately upon our arrival and even provided a welcome basket of sweet treats. We were right on the lake---which was very quiet, by the way---but unfortunately the weather turned before we were able to take advantage of all the boats, canoe, etc... And i was happy to find that it was only a 40 minute drive to the wedding on the opposite side of Bangor. Don't know if anything will ever bring me back to this part of the country, but i would not hesitate to stay there.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic multi-family graduation weekend

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: May 9, 2013

We booked this home during the weekend of our son's graduation from UMaine. With 5 couples coming in, the cost of 5 hotel rooms over several nights was outrageous so we booked this home, and another that Josh owns just down the road.
Walk in the front door into the kitchen area (that had a basket with S'mores ingredients waiting!) To the right is a door to the downstairs. Ahead to the left is the dining area, and to the right is the living area. Straight ahead is the back deck overlooking the pond. This whole section is wide open. We were able to have 6 people up in this area all doing different things (2 working in the kitchen, 2 reading in the dining area, 2 watching tv in the living area) yet feeling together without being crowded! Down the hall to the right is the bathroom with washer/dryer, and a bedroom with a queen bed, both street-side. Down the hall on the left is a bedroom with a queen bed overlooking the lake. (Thank you for the room darkening curtains. The one day it wasn't cloudy would've been a very early and bright sunrise!) When you go downstairs, there is a large open area. To the left is a wood stove and a table, to the right is a large sitting area and tv. The windows all overlook the lake. And then in a room off to the right is a bedroom with two sets of bunks and a full-size bed.
The property was clean and well-maintained and had just been landscaped. I believe we were the first guests of the summer. There was an ample amount of firewood - and we had a fire in the pit every night we were there. The weather was cool and damp, not unexpected in Maine in May, but we went out for a quick paddle in the kayaks anyway. Loved the loons!
We were able to host a BBQ for the graduate and have all the food there. SO much better than making reservations for 15 or 20 at some restaurant in Bangor with every other graduating family! We didn't go out to eat once our entire trip. Hannafords and Walmart in Brewer were a short trip when we realized the items we forgot to pack.
Graduation morning brought us NO stress and NO hour-long traffic mess in Orono! We came in the back way (up 178, cross the river & down 2 from Old Town). Zero traffic going in, maybe 5 minutes coming out. That in itself made this home worth it!
Josh was a great host, checking on us within an hour of arrival!
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to a friend or relative but would strongly recommend for UMaine familes on graduation weekend!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic house right on the water!

Review submitted: December 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 9, 2012

LOVE THIS HOUSE, just what we needed. This a very relaxing house that is right on the water. Everything we needed was right there and if something was missing the owners live right down the road and they were very quick to respond to our requests, big or small.

Great place to relax and recharge.

Hated to leave, everyone was super nice and made us feel right at home.

I would recommend this rental to anyone.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Week on Chemo Pond

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

The 722 mile drive from Baltimore was well worth the backups and tolls; our vacation house on Chemo Pond was just the antidote to that and stress-filled modern living. The house was very clean, very comfortable, well-equipped, and situated on that beautiful pond with Acadia National Park a short drive south, and Baxter State Park an hour and some north. The kids lived on the water, in the kayaks, on the raft; we adults thought they'd sprout scales. Beautiful sunsets and sunrises, the big dipper and milky way at night, marshmallows at the fire ring, loons crying out and fishing, chasing after bald eagles in the canoe, it all made for a perfect vacation. And Josh Greer, our amiable and very attentive host, was always close by, welcomed us like family, and offered helpful suggestions about shopping, hiking Mt. Katahdin, etc. As the senior member of our traveling group, this vacation was most memorable for me, and I heartily recommend this vacation house and Josh Greer as host.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice Vacation Home

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

This home is very comfortable. We had our family reunion here and it accommodated us all very well (7 adults, 3 kids under 8 and a dog). We all enjoyed swimming - even the dog. There is a nice canoe, 2 kayaks and a pedal boat. The lake is very nice and peaceful, especially early in the morning. There is a fire pit and the owner provides plenty of dry wood for easy fire making. We cooked most of our meals there and used the gas grill that is on the front deck. Grocery stores are not far away. We didn't visit Acadia, but it would be an easy drive. We hiked up Chick Hill and Eagle Bluff. I really liked the Eagle Bluff trail and the views on top are amazing.

The kitchen could be equipped with better pots and pans. Some of the pans there should be thrown out in my opinion. I think we were the second family to rent this, so this will probably be remedied soon.

I would recommend this property. It was a great week!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Escape

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

We really enjoyed our vacation to Maine. This cottage is on a beautiful lake (although they call it a pond). The house has kayaks, a paddle boat, a canoe, and a wonderful deck. It is perfect for 2 families with sleeping spaces upstairs and down. It is about an hour from Acadia and Bar Harbor which allows for great day trips although we could have spent the entire time at the cottage and on the lake. The owners live nearby which is great if you need tips or anything.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Home away from home...even better

Review submitted: June 30, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

We loved our stay here, it was so peaceful and quiet. Anyone who stays here will appreciate the open floor plan of the kitchen, dining room, and living room, it was just what we needed to do our own thing, whether it was cooking or watching tv, meanwhile still staying connected. The homeowners were very friendly and accommodating. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything that you would need. It was also nice, not to have to pack linens for the beds as they were already provided for us. The home came with wireless internet access, which was a huge plus, so we could check our e-mails daily. We enjoyed relaxing around the campfire and cooking dinner on the gas grill. The memories of the sunrises and sunsets along with the sound of the loons were priceless and are ones we will cherish. We can't wait to return again! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review