reviews for: listing #97809 - Makaha, Hawaii Condo rental

Peaceful Makaha Get A-Way!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Makaha/Waianae
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $89 - $95 /nt
    $625 - $675 /wk
    $2,100 - $2,300 /mth

sort by:

Amazing and relaxing stay

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

My husband, son and I stayed here for 2 weeks. It was the most beautiful area I'd ever seen.Very peaceful and the peacocks, roaming the grounds, were beautiful. We were glad to be away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Janie was very helpful and easy to work with. She had everything from beaches and places to go see and eat all written down. Also maps to get there.We had a car but the bus system was very good and goes all over the area. The beds were very comfortable and very clean. We had the most amazing 2 weeks and would come back again, hopefully soon!! Do go to the Tacos and More for dinner and drinks. If Janie hadn't put this down as a good place to eat we wouldn't have gone. It's outside looked run down but the people and food was amazing.Also the BBQ Kai in Waianae looked sad from the outside but their food was also very good. Thank you Janie for making our 30 year Wedding Anniversary a memorable one. I would recommend this place for anyone wanting a glorious vacation.
Very satisfied from Missoula Montana

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Value Stay

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: February 12, 2014

What a great value stay! Compared to similar places in Fla., it was less expensive for us to go to Oahu! (We used ff miles for our flight) Janie and Sonny were exceptionally friendly and helpful, always ready to answer any questions we had. Janie was up very late and called us to make sure we got in okay and found our way to the condo. Their home was just perfect for us, with exception of our elderly parents that traveled with us. It was difficult for them to climb the stairs, but managed. However, we did know going into this that there was no elevator. Their home was very clean, well equipped, including many unexpected extras! Like lots of towels, boogie boards, snorkel equipment, ironing board, iron, a misc. drawer with odds and ends...the list just goes on and on. The pool and hot tub area was very nice. It is a nice area to take walks, just beware of some big dogs, but I didn't have a problem with them. We rented a car and drove all over the island (952 miles). Perhaps a downside to the location of the condo is that it takes a minimum of 45-60 minutes to drive to Honolulu, so driving that whenever you wanted to go that way and back kind of cut into the space of the day. We loved Makaha Beach for the closeness and loved watching the surfers. We drove to the North Shore twice, watched surfers and the amazing surf and beaches. The best day we had was when my husband and I hiked to the top of Diamond Head in the mid morning (we advise you to do this in the early morning when it's not so hot) and then drove over to Hanauma Bay to snorkel for the afternoon. If there is one thing you should do when on Oahu, it is to snorkel in Hanauma Bay! Most spectacular snorkeling we've ever experienced! A little further east of that is Halona Blowhole and Sandy Beach, we watched a couple turtle frolic between some rocks in the water. Further east from there is Makapu'u Point, where we watched hang gliders and whales. Ko'Olina Resort cove #4 is the perfect spot for a family beach picnic. The cove is open to the public there, free parking, nice sandy beach, grassy area and protected cove, perfect for swimming and playing with little kids. We ate mostly in the condo and shopped for groceries at Sack N Save, very nice store and they give you a discount card that saves $$ throughout your stay and shopping there. We would highly recommend this condo to anyone asking us where to stay on Oahu.
Thank You Janie and Sonny for showing us your Aloha spirit. Mahalo, Keith and Bonnie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha, Keith & Bonnie,
Mahalo for taking the time to write so many great suggestions. I'm so glad you enjoyed Hiking Diamond Head, enjoyed the fantastic Snorkeling adventure at Hanauma Bay, the island's ocean views at the Blowhole and the stunning view's from Makapu'u Lighthouse (also a nice hike here as well.) This makes for a great day.
Keeping your activities to a different part of the island each day is the best
way to get in all the sights that are important to you. Great job.
You never get tired of the glimmering water from the ocean waves, as you head back home to the Makaha Get Away at sunset. Stopping at Ko'Olina beach cove #4
is the perfect Sunset Dinner Picnic spot to finish up the day. The uncrowded beaches, sand, and warm sunshine you can expect almost all year round, on the West side is why, .... it's our #1 beach side haven for our guests to come home to. We hope to be your hosts once again on your future trips.
Aloha from Sonny & Janie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

clean, beautiful, and peaceful

Review submitted: February 12, 2014   Date of arrival: February 5, 2014

This was by far the best condo that I have ever stayed in and reasonably priced. The condo was stocked with food, snorkeling gear, and had every amenity available for use that you could think of. It was like our home away from home. The condo was immaculate, peaceful, and located in a beautiful gated community. Janie Jo our landlord made sure that our stay was memorable. She provided us with lists of grocery stores, restaurants, and the best beaches to visit. Janie Jo is super sweet and truly cares about cares about her guests and their stay making them feel as if they were in their own home. I would rate this stay a 10/10 scale. Thanks Janie Jo. We are already planning our next trip and look forward to staying at the "Peaceful Makaha Getaway" in the next 6 months.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's a challenge to fit all those great Hawaiian activities into one 5 day, 7 day or even two weeks vacation.
We provide each guest with as much information possible, to help maximize what ever time you have.
Our goal and yours, is to enjoy every moment of your time. We're blessed to offer an affordable Get-Away.
We truly appreciate you, (our guests.) You make our job just so much fun!
Aloha ~ Janie Jo

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Makaha is su casa!

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: May 28, 2013

It was a safe and quiet area to stay in. Security always greeted us at the entrance, and laundry machines, outdoor pool, and grill were available within the condo's premises. We went to most areas of Oahu, and in our opinion, have found that Makaha beach and other close by beaches, were the most family friendly and quietest of them all. The Makaha Condos are in an ideal location, nestled between the mountain range and the beaches. Janie Jo was very helpful(from informative emails prior to our vacation to our return home making sure we arrived home safely). She made the whole experience feel like we were staying at a family's place and not that of a stranger. Whenever we needed to get a hold of her, she either answered on the first call, or responded immediately back to us. We vacationed with our kids, ranging from 3,12,14, and the location entertained them well. We do recommend a car rental to those who plan on visiting, but if not wanting to rent, The Bus makes frequent stops close by the condo. P.S. If you want to see dolphins frolicking and other sea creatures, wake up early(between 7-9am is when we saw about 30 dolphins and a seal!), and head to beach a little north of Makaha beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Fantastic! We Love hearing about the great time your family enjoyed here.
The spinner dolphins are always playful and willing to entertain. Makaha beach,
on Oahu's west side is simply pristine! The soft, white sands beaches are warm
and inviting after a cool dip in the ocean. One of our favorite places to chill,
relax and enjoy the beauty of the island. Mahalo for sharing with us!
~ Makaha is su casa !!! I Love It! Aloha to da family, Sonny & Janie

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

West-side Paradise

Review submitted: May 26, 2013   Date of arrival: May 8, 2013

Thank you for two weeks in Paradise. We absolutely loved the spacious condo and all the amenities especially the swimming pools and BBQ's. Affordable, well maintained, and clean - just as listed! Peacocks were not as noisy as indicated in some reviews. Traffic can be bad in the morning (7-9 am) and afternoon (4-6 pm) if heading East. Check out Tamura's for local seafood and the Safeway for your grocery needs. Beautiful Makaha Beach is 5 minutes drive away. Locals are friendly and the west side of the island is less crowded than busy Waikiki. Would definitely recommend the property to everyone! Thank you Janie for making us feel at home and for being so friendly, approachable and helpful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're proud to offer a spacious Get-Away, with great amenities. We love our Waianae coast with uncrowded beaches and sunshine. It's clear that our guests don't mind the drive.
Peacocks roam free at the Plantation. Most of the year you hardly know they're there, except in the spring. We want all our guests to find exactly what your looking for on vacation. Waikiki has nightlife, exceptional dining, hula and shows. When you've enjoyed the excitement, come on home to Makaha to
relax to da max. Enjoy a swim in the ocean, the breeze,and warm walks on the beach. End the day with great food, relax in the jacuzzi/hot tub, a good movie and a beer. You'll experience a local life-style that is all about the beach, BBQ's and enjoying quality family time. Mahalo, Ailin from Toronto, we're so glad
you had a great time in Paradise. A Hui Hou ~ Janie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Stay

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

Everything was exactly as described. The condo was great and the complex has amazing views of the incredible mountains that surround it. The pool area was clean and our kids loved playing in the kiddie pool.

Everything that you can think of was provided in the condo for a great day at the beach. The local Makaha beaches were great and rarely had many people on them. We also spent plenty of time at the lagoons in Ko' Olina which were about 20 minutes away since our two kids are small and it was better for them to swim there.

If you are looking for crowded beaches and the craziness of Waikiki, then look someplace else, but if you want a relaxing vacation away from crowds, this is the place. The only small drawback of being away from it all is that if you want to check out other more "touristy" parts of the island it was a bit of a drive, but it was never a problem for us as we tried to avoid those most of the time.

We had read some bad things about the "West Side" of Oahu, but everyone we met in that area was super friendly and we never had any problems at all.

Janie was easy to get a hold of when we needed and made sure everything went smoothly with check-in and getting to the condo.

I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone, we will surely be back sometime.

Mahalo for the perfect vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We totally agree! A get away location with everything you want; warm white sand beaches,
With no crowds and plenty of easy access, parking. The coves at Ko'Olina are beautiful and a safe
Location for families with small children.
Our local residents know how to show their aloha spirit. You'll enjoy gorgeous sunsets, have a picnic dinner,
or treat yourself to a dinner cruise on the ocean! Spend the afternoon at the pool relaxing.
We are so happy knowing we have been a small part of such a perfect vacation. Blessings to
our new friends from Utah. A Hui Hou ~ Janie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Delightful!

Review submitted: March 21, 2013   Date of arrival: January 28, 2013

The majestic Makaha Valley backdrop of this Makaha get-a-way is incredible. The description of this rental is perfect. It was clean and all cooking pans and utensils were provided. I appreciated the excellent communication with the owner. The welcome surprise was an extra treat that was above and beyond what we have experienced before. We were fortunate to stay for three weeks so we had time to experience the bus that goes right past the condo unit. We had a rental car for a week so we could see all we needed around the island. Then we managed by using the bus. I am a light sleeper, so I heard the peacocks squawking the first few nights. However, I got used to them fast. We had a wonderful stay and hated to leave.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We're so happy you found everything you needed and more to make for a memorable vacation at the Peaceful Makaha Get-Away. Majestic, describes this beautiful Makaha Valley, and just minutes to the west you're walking bare feet in the warm sand next to crystal blue ocean. It doesn't get much better than this, when all you need is place to relax and experience the natural beauty that surrounds you. Aloha to our guests from MI, and we truly thank you for sharing your experience. A Hui Hou! Janie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Makaha Paradise - Izzy Would Be Proud!

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: January 20, 2013

Makaha was so peaceful, so fun, so comfortable, so relaxing, so beautiful, so..... wish I was back right now. The home of Izzy, we played his music lots, it is a wonderful side of Oahu. Our hosts Janie and Sonny were perfect in every aspect of the rental experience! The condo had everything advertised and more. The staff was great, neighbors were nice, facilities perfect and the setting dramatic and beautiful. We truly enjoyed the beaches, roads end, Mt. Ka'ala, the organic farm/restaurant, L & L, the markets, the bakeries, Monky Pod at Ko Olina, the sunsets at every beach, the surf, the white sad.... OK, now I'm getting sad I'm not there. Long story short, Makaha and the Peaceful Hideaway are the best!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Don, you've captured the pure essence that is Makaha. Serenity!
Brother IZ, captures a simply lifestyle in heartfelt song.
A picture speaks a thousand words.
Live life to its fullest.
Create memories with those you love.
Everyone needs to experience a Peaceful Get-Away from time to time.
Truly, it's our pleasure to help a dream vacation become a reality.
With Aloha to you, from the Peaceful Makaha Get-Away to Las Vegas!
~A Hui Hou
Sonny & Janie

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Oahu's Best

Review submitted: January 25, 2013   Date of arrival: January 15, 2013

If you are looking for peace and quite, security both at the gated entry and walking patrols. If you are looking for easy access the the best beaches, places to eat and shop, and shop some more. You have found it at this home. It had been 30 years ago since stationed here with the Army and I will give it to you straight. This property is the best stay on the island. First due diligence; Men start off things on the right foot with a Lei Greeting (Oahu Lei Greeters)at the airport. My wife and I were placed on a later flight due to weather and our greeter had checked and knew our correct flight. Those fresh flowers lasted our entire stay. Waikiki is crowded, over-rated, expensive, busy and traffic is a nightmare. Eats: Great prices and service, walk right into Niko's around 5 or 7pm for seafood at pier 38. Luau at the Hale Koa Hotel has been voted number 1 for years and lasts some 4 hours. Places: Dole Plantation and take the 1 hour horseback ride at Kualoa Ranch. Arizona Memorial is a must and it's free to all. Be at Hunauma Bay early. Shop for your island gifts at Wal-Mart or K-Mart first. If you can, try the military exchanges.
This 5 day vacation was a dream come true. The property made the largest impact. Having this home to relax in during the day or evenings with the pool, hot tub, trails and all the nice people living there, I just can't say enough. The staff and owners have our heart felt thank you. We will be back !!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for all the awesome tips you shared about your trip. Oh, and...
Oahu Lei Greeters, was a fabulous way to start off! Military families
can shop the commissary, and check out KMCBH, rent a party boat, and enjoy beautiful Kaneohe Bay at the Sandbar. Fresh flowers, a Beach Luau,
horse back riding, Hanauma Bay(snorkeling), gift shopping, hiking, and
Relaxing at the Hot tub! A 5-Day dream vacation, for sure.
We can't wait to check out Niko's at Pier 38 for that great seafood!!
Thank's for choosing the Peaceful Makaha Get Away - see you next time.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely getaway

Review submitted: January 17, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

Very comfortable nicely appointed condo in a gated community. All the amenities and great beaches close by. The leeward side of the island had by far the best weather the week we were there, rainy on most of the rest of the island. our hostess went out of her way to be sure we had anything we needed for a great vacation. Makaha and the west coast are not the typical tourist areas, but rather may provide a more authentc hawaaian experience, and all the tourist sites are an easy drive away. I can highly recommend this as an affordable alternative to the island resorts, and a comfy hideaway for the more self directed traveler.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're so glad you had the best weather possible. The rain brings with it beautiful waterfalls, yet, the sunshine on the west side is much more consistent. Thank you for choosing the Peaceful Makaha Get Away. We're so pleased you enjoyed the amenities, the beaches and our comfy hide-away.
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Mahalo!
Aloha, Janie Joaquin

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Outstanding Vacation

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 14, 2012

Cannot say enough how this exceeded our expectations. Janie was pleasant in working out the initial arrangements and helpful with questions. The place was great for a family of four. Clean and well-equipped. Didn't need anything additional which was great! We chose to stay away from the hustle of the tourist area and it was an excellent decision. A beach was very close and not packed. The drive to our chosen activities was fine and as expected. The traffic is what it is. Always felt safe. It was nice to be able to view more of the island. We had an unimproved trail close that we ventured on and it was a highlight. No problems shopping for supplies. We definitely would recommend this rental and will use again. Our whole vacation was relaxing and enjoyed by all :))

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our Get a-way. We are so happy to hear that this was relaxing and certainly that we have exceeded your expectations! That is certainly what we are aiming for. Our goal is to provide you the means to enjoy our beautiful island for all it has to offer. Families who work hard all year, really deserve to have a quiet resting place on vacation. Getting away from the cold weather and enjoying the sun is just what you need. Blessing to our Michigan Ohana! Sonny & Janie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Very Well Managed Unit

Review submitted: November 30, 2012   Date of arrival: November 14, 2012

Since we lived on the property at one time, there were no surprises for us about location, property amenities, and distance to the rest of the island. We love the property and the area. The fact that Makaha is more "real" Hawaiian attracts us back time and again. We love playing tennis with the "locals" at the Waianae courts.

The owners, Janie and Sonny, are exceptionally great hosts and know how to provide for every possible need for their guests. The unit is sparkling clean, well decorated and also well-provisioned with all the basic supplies and then some. The furniture is not only attractive but comfy, too. The information provided about things to do and places to see is helpful - and the owner's specific suggestions about restaurants and entertainment were spot on!

Recommended for people who want to get away from Waikiki and other more touristy spots and who enjoy excellent beaches, hiking trails and a more laid-back life style. A car is an absolute necessity even though the buses do run frequently. A

We will definitely come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: You said it, Makahamary! We're so glad you felt right at home again, this trip. We are truly looking forward to your next visit!
Makaha is a great choice for a retreat from busy schedules, crowds and routines. We never get tired of looking out over the sparkling, blue-green, ocean tides, as the sun paints it's masterpiece on the horizon.
Once you've seen the sights, circled the island, and enjoyed all the attractions; it's time to lay back. Find your favorite beach park to picnic. Relax and "talk story" with your family & friends. This is our island-style living.
Les & Mary, thank you for being two of our most treasured guests.
~ A Hui Hou
Sonny & Janie :D

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Much Better Deal Than Hotel

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: October 30, 2012

What a really fantastic place to rent. The Makaha Valley Plantation (MVP) has so much to offer. Gated-secured parking, multiple pools/hot tubs, tennis courts, bbq grilling areas, kidde pool areas, ect are some of the best features this condo offers.
I have rented houses/homes, condos, townhouses, ect ALL OVER the country, and this was truly the most furnished place we have stayed at. It had literally everything you could ever want or need from a rental. ALL beach stuff, ALL linens/towels, ALL kitchen utensils, and a whole bunch of stuff you would never think you would need (like Superglue, which we needed and found in a junk drawer...thanks Janie!!)
Janie was real easy to deal with, real nice to communicate with, and was available if we needed her. The price is SO much better than a one bedroom hotel room for a week. Here you have a whole house to stretch out in and a whole kitchen to prepare family meals in. (we had a fish feast, from our charter, and felt like we were dining in a fancy restaurant), plus a full-sized living room to relax and watch Netflixs/DVD/Pandora ect.
Overall, you really can't ask for a better deal on the unit itself. The only real downside is the physical location--Makaha. It is West Side of Oahu, and travelling anywhere else pretty much takes you an hour by car. We went to the North Shore 5 times, and it took us an hour each way, each time. Honolulu/Waikiki also took an hour or more (traffic on the H1 can be truly nightmarish), so temper your travelling expectations, and leave at least 30 minutes earlier than you normally would. (we almost missed our shark dive in Haliewa)
I would rent this unit again, in a heartbeat. Period.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Daryl from MI. You are so right! So that's where I put that "Superglue"... ha ha. For a first visit or you've seen the sights and want to enjoy the warm, sandy beaches and sunsets; our home away(Get Away)..is spacious and comfortable with great amenities! Excursions at the Waianae Harbor are closer: dolphin and Whale Watching are sure to be a highlight. Daryl is correct on the only downside as well. Winter is our peak season, so we do recommend planning around traffic no matter where you are staying. The Shark Adventure is very popular, in Haleiwa, and usually early in the morning is better. So glad you didn't miss it! Enjoying the island with a circle island trip first is a great idea. Make reservations for those favorite activities; spend the rest of your vacation enjoying your favorite beaches with a picnic and one more sunset on the west side. Good fun, family & fun in the sun. It's our Island-style, recipe for a fantastic vacation! Aloha ~ Janie :)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to Stay!!!!

Review submitted: September 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

This condo is FOR REAL!!! The owners were wonderful, accomodating and helpful. This Makaha Gettaway is HUGE for a condo in Hawaii and it has air-conditioning. The furniture is very cute and "Hawaiian". This is NOT a time share, it is SOOO much better! This charming condo has everything one would need from coffee pot to toaster to scissors, saran wrap and spices! The scenery is gorgeous and nature abounds – peacocks galore! The area is very secluded and the pristine beaches nearby are not crowded. There are some really cool parks and Dolphin Excursions within a few miles. If you want to stay in the Makaha/Waianae Coast Area, this is a great choice; you will not be disappointed. Don’t stay too long, I will be back someday!

Owners response: Thank you so much for remembering us. We'll hold your spot for the next trip, no problem! Our Peaceful Little Get Away in Makaha ~ can be your Get-a-way anytime.
From Kona coffee, toast or chocolates for breakfast, off to the sounds of tranquility for your morning walk on the beach; it is our aim to provide our guests with a more affordable option while in Hawaii.. so they can enjoy themselves as long as possible!
"A Hui Hou Kakou malama pono" meaning... Take care, until we meet again.
Aloha ~ to our new friends from Chula Vista.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Two Weeks of Rest and Relaxation in Paradise

Review submitted: September 21, 2012   Date of arrival: September 5, 2012

What a great condo to spend relaxing time away from home. We arrived late afternoon stopped by Costco on the way for some supplies. We were happy to see the comfortable surroundings and met several of the neighbors who were warm and welcoming. We stayed 14 days, enjoyed the complexes hot tub and pool just a few steps from the condo. There was everything we needed at the unit and more. I was able to connect my laptop with ease, we watched netflix and even rented a few movies from REDBOX. Janie was very helpful when I had any questions and answered immediately. There is exceptional bus service to the area. I was pleasantly suprized. However we rented a car because we wanted to see every area of the island and circled it twice, putting approx. 1000 miles on the car. We went to Ko Olina to 2 differnt lagoons several times, North Shore several times for Shave Ice at Matsumotos and swimming, Polynesian Cultrual Center, Sea Life Park, Ali'i Catamaran Cruise and Dinner (Fridays there are Fireworks in Honolulu),Visited Scholfield Barracks for tickets(if you are military) take advantage of all the discounts offered. We spent time driving the Waianae Coast and seeing all that the area had to offer. We shopped the local Sack and Save too as well as Wal Mart and Longs Drugs. We had lunch at the Pho Thai Restrurant in Maili, pretty good food, Chili's and Josh's Grill( you get a lot of food for the money here)in Kapolei, They were both busy and the food great! The price was right for this unit and the owners are really nice people. We found gas prices to be cheaper in Waianae, but if you are a member of Costco it is even a better price. The Peacocks at Makaha Plantation are beautiful, the flowering plants along the Makaha Valley Road are breathtaking and the view from the Balcony is wonderful...We are very please d with our experience. We will surely return on our next visit to Oahu. It is worth the drive and the distance to have peace and quiet amongst the residents of Oahu. Thanks Janie Jo for everything.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's our pleasure to provide our home away from home to visitors. We realize there are many guests that enjoy doing their own cooking. With a two bedroom, fully equipped kitchen, living room, and dining area... we offer a truly affordable deal for a family of 5 to feel at home while paying 50% less on what a hotel would cost them. Our guests are the nicest people. People like you make our job an honor to serve others.
Blessings to you and yours, Pam. We hope we'll meet you next time around.
~ Aloha, Janie Jo

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful Makaha Guestbook

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 26, 2012

First visit was in 2007
Thank you so Much!

Second visit was March 2012
~Janie, Thank you. Thank you for letting us stay on such short notice!
Heart Hugs Ivy!

~ Ivy from Utah

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful Makaha Guestbook

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2008

Really enjoyed condo, -weather, pool-, jacuzzi. Can't say what really was our favorite activity. We did it all in the time our daughters were here - submarine
-Luau, water world fishing trip 5 hrs - Pearl Harbor - climbed Diamond Head.
I only got past level 6 - 74 steps + tunnel. Saw lots whales; enjoyed Pokai Beach.
Bus is really great leaving here but returning is ? Ha Ha. Girls drove us around while they were here. Made good use of Bus Pass + Phone Card. Girls really glad they were able to keep in touch by phone.
Thanks again Janie + daughter Casey? for picking us up at the airport + getting us settled in. Who knows maybe we will meet again.
All the very best to you all. Mahalo

Dale and Tony from Ontario, CANADA

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful Makaha Guestbook

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

We had a wonderful time. We enjoyed snorkeling, surfing at Waikiki, the Arizona Memorial, Hanauma Bay, and the Polynesian Cultural Center.
Your condo provided a clean and convenient venue to allow us to enjoy Oahu.
We would do it again if the opportunity allows, of course.
~ Norene from Yucaipa, CA

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful Makaha Guestbook

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2006

Hey Janie - we really enjoyed our stay at your condo-
It was very nice to meet you and your daughter and in case we
ever get a chance to travel and stop on Oahu, we will let you
know some weeks before... kisses from me, viola and little kris
~ Kris from Spain

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful Makaha Guestbook

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2006

We have really enjoyed staying in your apartment, it is very comfortable & spacious. The location was beautiful, the beaches were stunning and we had
a great time staying here. Thank-you for your gifts on arrival :)
Carey from New Zealand

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful Makaha Guestbook

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2006

Beautiful Condo. Beautiful location. People are very friendly.
We had a wonderful time in Paradise, and we don't want to go back
home. We hope to visit again! Mahalo!!!
Susan from San Antonio, TX

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful Makaha Guestbook

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: January 12, 2006

We found the condo to be very comfortable & cozy. We definitely needed a car over here since it was so far from Waikiki. We put 1000 miles on the rental car for 7 days! We ha a great time.
Thanks again for a wonderful stay! ~ Anita from Thousand Oaks, CA

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Getaway

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

For the price that was offered.....we could not have gotten a better vacation....No crowds no drama !.....paradise to be taken !....A Breath of fresh air....A sigh of relaxation.....Thank You !!....Thank you !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're so happy enjoyed your stay. It was our pleasure to provide a little piece of paradise, and to make it affordable. We hope to see you relaxing more often! Many blessings to you and your family.
~ Aloha from Janie Joaquin

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review