reviews for: listing #9798 - Palm Island, Florida Villa rental

"Incommunicado" Florida beach villa
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Colony Don Pedro
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $250 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,500 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Our second year in paradise

Review submitted: November 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

Another wonderful week on Palm Island! Lots of relaxing. Next year we hope to come back for 2 weeks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It's like coming home

Review submitted: November 25, 2010   Date of arrival: May 14, 2010

Another wonderful vacation at your island house! It's like coming home. We love the improvements! Weather was perfect and beautiful sunsets. Thank you for having everything we need to make our stay super comfortable!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Caught lots of fish this year

Review submitted: November 25, 2010   Date of arrival: April 26, 2010

Dear Tracy, Another wonderful visit! What is this our 6th visit to your house? I lose track.... We went out with Captain Steve Hogan again this year for a half day trip and caught our limit of trout , one keeper redfish (dinner-yum!) and about 20 snook. He's a wonderful guide, always finds the fish plus he points out all the local floral and fauna along the way. We enjoyed watching all the island animals and found lots of "treasures" on the beach. Thanks and have a good year! We'll see you next time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dolphins, sharks teeth and a big trout for dinner

Review submitted: November 25, 2010   Date of arrival: April 18, 2010

Dear Tony and Tracy, Our 5th year here!! We had a truly amazing time. The weather was perfect and we went to the beach and pool everyday. Our charter with Capt. Todd was wonderful, dolphins followed our boat and we saw several manatees. My brother and I caught 2 trout and the captain said Blake's was the biggest this year! It made a yummy dinner. Blake enjoyed the Red Beard show and we went to his concert. I found 29 sharks teeth and 2 jellyfish washed up on shore. Thank youy soooo much and we can't wait to come back next year! P.S. We saw 5 gopher tortoises!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hammocks and Kayaking

Review submitted: November 25, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

Dear Tracy and Tony, We had a wonderful time. Just like last time, The beach was great! We loved the swinging chair and the hammock. We loved the kayaking! The best part was the Dvd's, the beach and the wonderful vacation! P.S. I, Natalie LOVE this place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great to be back again

Review submitted: November 25, 2010   Date of arrival: March 12, 2010

Dear Tracy, It was great to be back to your place again and we like all that you have done to the house. We enjoyed the pool, beach time-the girls even got to surf a couple times. Shelling was great. Meghan found an alphabet shell and a hand full of sand dollars. Thank you again for sharing your wonderful home with us. We hope to be back next year for our third vacation at Palm Island.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Second vacation here, can't wait to come back

Review submitted: November 25, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

Tracy, Thank you AGAIN for the best vacation. The weather was warm and sunny and we got our Florida tan. It's sad to be leaving, time flies by here in heaven. We found our fair share of sharks teeth and pretty shells. Hope to visit again next year. Thanks again for opening your home to us. Til next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Warm and cozy home

Review submitted: November 25, 2010   Date of arrival: February 20, 2010

We had a great relaxing time! Loved your house, very clean and well equipped. You had everything we needed. We found lots of beach treasures to take home for the grandkids. We thought your home was warm and cozy and well cared for. Thank you for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fishin, shells, sharks teeth and turtles

Review submitted: November 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

Tracy and Tony, What an incredibly relaxing week for all of us! We love island time..The kids had fun - Sarah caught 2 mangrove snapper on our second evening and we grilled them right up-can't get any fresher than that! Howard caught a 30" snook - very exciting. We'd sit on the dock every evening waiting for the fish to bite and watching the summer storms blow by, this became our evening ritual. We found lots of amazing shells and over 500 sharks teeth! (we became alittle obbsessed with the sharks teeth, but it's very meditative, walking the beach looking for those shiney black teeth. The kids loved keeping tabs on "Stan's" whereabouts and even found two baby tortioses. Howard and I saw two baby sea turtles as well. A manatee swam by and Howard got to swim with it a bit. Overall a wonderfully relaxing week spent interacting with nature!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Visiting manatees at the beach

Review submitted: November 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2009

Dear Decembers, After 25 years of Sanibel Island, we decided to try Palm Island. What a pleasant surprise! Shelling was like Sanibel, but the island atmosphere was completely different. The kids loved exploring the island on golf cart and they were so happy that everyone waves as you go by! The weather was awesome and your place is very comfy. My daughter was thrilled that a manatee came up to her at the beach...what an awesome experience! Thank you for sharing your wonderful island home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Heaven on earth

Review submitted: November 25, 2010   Date of arrival: March 15, 2009

Dear Tracy and Tony, What a terrific week! Perfect , lovely weather. Thank you so very, very much for the use of your perfect beach house. We have fallen in love with Palm Island. Everything was impeccable when we arrived and we found everything we could possibly need in your well equipped place. our toughest decision each day was "should we go to the beach or the pool first?" We would love nothing more than to return year after year, as we can't imagine a nicer, more relaxing vacation anywhere else.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Winter on the Island

Review submitted: November 25, 2010   Date of arrival: December 29, 2008

Tony and Tracy, You truely have a glorious place! Your home is so inviting and every view is spectacular! We kayaked and caught several fish - one very large redfish, Saw the turtles and took lots of photos (hope to do a painting of him) Played lots of tennis, picked up wonderful shells. We loved your book and video collection.We can tell you love the place - your shell collections, art and the cleanliness! We had a Great, Relaxing Time! Thank you for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So happy to have discovered "Incommunicado'

Review submitted: November 25, 2010   Date of arrival: March 26, 2008

Tracy, Of all the places that we have stayed, yours is the first that I ever have sent an email to after our trip.Your villa is beautiful and you have everything there to make anyones stay wonderful. My daughter loved fishing off the dock and catching little fish to feed to the blue heron. We met a nice couple that was staying in the house a few houses down from you. They invited us over for shortcake the night before we left.The pool was very nice and never crowded. Your whole setup is just perfect - with the docks right behind the house for fishing and then the beach and pool just across the road. We have been spoiled now by Don Pedro, Sanibel doesn't even compare to the beauty of the island. I am so happy that we discovered your place and am looking forward to our next trip there. Thanks again for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

November on the island

Review submitted: November 25, 2010   Date of arrival: November 16, 2007

Tracy and Tony, What a wonderful place for R & R. We now know why this is your favorite time of year on the island. We rented a golf cart from Jim as suggested and had a blast!(although Fred is still partial to his Harley) Your home is so--o comfortable and inviting. We spent several mornings at Stump Pass, my carry-on bag is full of shells. We saw dolphins, ospreys and turtles. It was so much fun. I have a feeling we'll be calling back for next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Manatees

Review submitted: November 25, 2010   Date of arrival: June 11, 2007

our stay here was perfect. Your Villa couldn’t be better, you thought of everything. Fishing good, shelling too. Our son got to swim with a manatee in the lagoon. My husband saw an iguana next door, that was a first for us. Sunrise from the dock or porch was a joy and the deck under house was very pleasant. Thanks for sharing your bit of paradise, we'll be staying again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Golf cart rides for ice cream

Review submitted: November 25, 2010   Date of arrival: June 7, 2007

We have truly enjoyed our 3rd trip to your home. Our 4 year old has been looking forward to this trip for months and has enjoyed every minute of it. Our 2 year old has had fun in the pool & especially loved the golf cart rides for ice cream. We may have to book a longer stay next time. The relaxing moments are few and far between with a 4 & 2 year old. We had a blast!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Baby Dolphin

Review submitted: November 25, 2010   Date of arrival: August 12, 2006

My family agrees that this is the best vacation we have taken.My favorite part was going on a cruising tour and seeing the dolphins follow the boat! We even saw a brand new baby dolphin that the guide said was only a few months old! We had fun swimming in the ocean as the sun went down and sitting on the dock as it came up. The kayaks were fun,we got a chance to see many birds and critters you wouldn't find on land, we even saw a manatee in the canal while we were paddling! Thank you

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best in Florida

Review submitted: November 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 22, 2006

We enjoyed our stay at your island retreat very much. We have been to Florida several times over the past 28 years and have stayed at different places all along the gulf coast, this is by far the best place! Better than Sanibel, Key West, Naples, etc. You have thought of everything, could not ask for more. We will be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Fun

Review submitted: November 25, 2010   Date of arrival: March 25, 2006

Many thanks again for the use of your absolutely perfect beach house. Our younger girls (ages 4 & 6) loved their room with the twin beds; our bigger kids (ages 7 & 10) thought their "pad" downstairs was way cool! Renting a golf cart was a great idea and we loved exploring this beautiful island. We spent our days collecting seashells and sharks teeth, swimming, and fishing. We rode to the resort a few times for ice cream and the kids loved the Red Beard Pirate's show. We loved the downstairs deck and grilled overnight. We hope to come back next year! Thanks, again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Fun

Review submitted: November 25, 2010   Date of arrival: March 25, 2006

Many thanks again for the use of your absolutely perfect beach house. Our younger girls (ages 4 & 6) loved their room with the twin beds; our bigger kids (ages 7 & 10) thought their "pad" downstairs was way cool! Renting a golf cart was a great idea and we loved exploring this beautiful island. We spent our days collecting seashells and sharks teeth, swimming, and fishing. We rode to the resort a few times for ice cream and the kids loved the Red Beard Pirate's show. We loved the downstairs deck and grilled overnight. We hope to come back next year! Thanks, again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Fun

Review submitted: November 25, 2010   Date of arrival: March 25, 2006

Many thanks again for the use of your absolutely perfect beach house. Our younger girls (ages 4 & 6) loved their room with the twin beds; our bigger kids (ages 7 & 10) thought their "pad" downstairs was way cool! Renting a golf cart was a great idea and we loved exploring this beautiful island. We spent our days collecting seashells and sharks teeth, swimming, and fishing. We rode to the resort a few times for ice cream and the kids loved the Red Beard Pirate's show. We loved the downstairs deck and grilled overnight. We hope to come back next year! Thanks, again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Felt like kids again

Review submitted: November 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2008

We finally found it! Paradise and more. Our first day here we grilled fish and shrimp, went fishing, went to the beach (found plenty of sharks teeth) swam in the pool and laughed and giggled like two little kids riding around in the golfcart in a rain storm!
Everyone on the island is friendly and a pleasure to meet. We appreciate your lovely villa and all the memories! Relaxed and reconnected with nature!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful, serene island for family time

Review submitted: November 23, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2008

Dear Tony and Tracy,
Thank you both for sharing your awesome home with us.This was our first true vacation as a family of four since our youngest was boarn,We feel so blessed to have spent a whole week on this beautiful, serene and slow-paced island. My husband realized he was on his "heaven on earth" on our first morning here when pods of tarpon were rolling right off the beach and the snook were swimming right by our feet.
We loved playing on the beach, hunting for shells and sharks teeth, swimming in the pool, golfcarts rides for ice cream, grilling and lots of family meals together.
We weren't in need of one thing during our stay, you have everything here.
We leave gere with grateful hearts and lots of joyful memories. We hope to be back next year. Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review