reviews for: listing #98280 - Wintergreen, Virginia House rental

Luxury House on Wintergreen Golf Course w/ Resort Pass
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  1
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $395 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,800 /wk
    $3,500 - $4,500 /mth

sort by:

Awesome House!

Review submitted: April 11, 2014   Date of arrival: March 19, 2014

We were lucky enough to book this house in mid-March for a last minute spring break getaway. Even though Wintergreen had said they would be closed for the week - they were actually open and we were able to ski which was a definite bonus! This house is really fantastic. Large and spacious with lots of privacy for everyone. It is clean and very well equipped with kitchen supplies, movies, board games, and even wine (for a small fee) if you didn't bring your own. The owners were incredibly responsive and made sure we had everything we needed - even whey they were travelling overseas themselves! They called the first day we were there just to check in. We will definitely go again - and recommend it for anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mountain Retreat in VA

Review submitted: February 13, 2014   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

Cozy ski getaway or family retreat. Soaring wood ceilings and stone fireplace; huge windows. Lovely views of lush green lawn and several tall trees. Peaceful and quiet. Huge kitchen and dining area, full amenites, and very clean. You will love it! It is also perfect for 2-3 couples with 3 1/2 baths and 3 private bedrooms. The master suite is gorgeous!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A True Gem of a House

Review submitted: February 11, 2014   Date of arrival: February 17, 2013

Amazingly furnished and spacious! Room for the whole family and then some. I would recommend this house any time of the year. We first went for a family ski trip with friends, and it is also close to the hiking trails and golf course - which makes it great in the late spring, summer and fall! I will look forward to our next visit to Wintergreen, and will definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfectly Charming Home

Review submitted: January 23, 2014   Date of arrival: January 15, 2014

Outstanding home! Fully outfitted and extremely comfortable --- a true home away from home. We lacked for nothing !
Thanks to the owners for making their home available to others and extremely easy to rent. Info and suggestions galore were given. The description of the home is spot-on !!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome fall/winter retreat!

Review submitted: November 15, 2013   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

We had a great visit last weekend! The house, location, amenities, etc were all exceptional! In addition, the owners were wonderful to work with and completely accommodating! They thought of virtually everything and provide for almost everything you need upon arrival. Just bring a desire to explore the mountains and valleys of this hidden treasure in the Blue Ridge and you'll wish you had done this trip years ago. If you're looking for the perfect weekend or weeklong getaway, this is it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Experience

Review submitted: September 20, 2013   Date of arrival: August 25, 2013

We have stayed at this location for the past three years and it just keeps getting better. The house is beautiful and the location is fantastic. Everything you need to have a wonderful time is in the house already. If you like to play golf you can walk 15 yards out the back door and make the par 4 into a par 3. Then go onto the next hole which is a par 3 and play it as well. The owners of the house have gone the extra mile to make sure the house is comfortable and accommodating. If you want to eat in everything is there to prepare meals and if you want to go out to eat you are only minutes from some great eateries on top of the mountain. You can't go wrong with this wonderful vacation home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic home for a week or weekend!

Review submitted: September 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

We have stayed at this lovely home twice now, and think of it as "our" vacation home now, in a way. The owner has been fantastic to work with and is very gracious, accommodating and flexible (eg, allows late check out if no one coming in the next day). The care taken of this home is amazing--they have thought of so many details that makes the house great. The kitchen is wonderful, with a very large island that makes meal prep with friends or family a fun affair. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and the house is large enough so groups of people can spread out. We spent a lot of time last month on the beautiful new deck, watching the golfers (including my sons). Saw lots of wildlife and watched the stars. Wintergreen is a beautiful resort, well maintained, with lots of amenities. We plan to come back to our "home" again this winter, when we will see snow instead of a fairway. But no matter the season, this house is a wonderful place to rest, socialize and enjoy the peaceful surroundings in between all the great activities!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Linda

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

Five of us enjoyed this house for a week; its large, open floor plan is ideal for getting together, conversation, and relaxing. The house had everything we needed and the owner is very accommodating. Especially nice were the separate storage room at the garage, the laundry area and bathrooms for each bedroom area, but the best of all was the beautiful deck--we sat out in the early mornings and enjoyed dinner there in the evenings. The nearby pool is perfect. It could not have been a more lovely home for long distance friends to spend the week together.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Cut above the Rest

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 21, 2012

5 Years ago my husband and I were married at Wintergreen and shared a great weekend with friends and family. In June of 2012 we planned an event to bring those family and friends and new friends back together for a weekend of fun. Over the last 7 years we have rented a lot of places at Wintergreen. Condos, townhouses, and houses. We really love being at Wintergreen. This house definitely goes to the top of the list! It is a perfect house for entertaining. The large kitchen/living room spilling out onto the great deck worked perfectly for us. Having the golf course as the back drop was icing on the cake!

The owners were great- and it was nice to have some great extras- bathroom amenities, coffee in the kitchen and extra linen! I highly recommend this house for all your wintergreen needs. The double master makes it perfect for (2) families.

Enjoy-

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely trip to WIntergreen!

Review submitted: October 26, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

We just returned from a getaway to Wintergreen and had a fabulous time staying in this house. The views were beautiful and the house was stocked with all the essentials. There were 8 adults staying in the house and we had plenty of space to be together and separate. We enjoyed all that the area had to offer including golf, wineries and a local farmer's market.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house in a great place!

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 26, 2010

My family just got back from a wonderful week at the house. We had young children and the house was well equipped for just about eveything we could think of for kids and adults. It's a beautiful home with all the amenities you would need. The library is full of children's books and videos, the bar had a variety of both board games and video games. Great access to hiking trails and the Blue Ridge Parkway. We didn't golf, but it was great to step out the back door and take a hike on the course late day. House was clean and well maintained. Wi-fi was an added bonus! We would definately stay there again - great experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this beautiful property. It was nice to have the view of the golf course in the backyard. House was HUGE and well-equipped.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful for family gatherings

Review submitted: December 23, 2010   Date of arrival: December 17, 2010

This was our second stay at the property and it exceeded our previous wonderful stay. The house has plenty of room and yet a cozy feel for our two family vacation. The kids had enough room for their own activities and the adults can still monitor the actions of the children.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Feels like Home

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

This was our second stay at this home and after our first stay we couldn't wait to come back. The location is ideal, you are nestled in the woods in this beautiful spacious home with everything you need provided. The family room/kitchen is huge and the back has a deck with table and chairs for dining. Our boys loved kicking acorns around and aspiring golfers, they loved "playing" on the golf course. The master bedroom has a comfortable king size bed, which is sometimes hard to find in a rental. The boys loved their bedroom upstairs. There are board games and movies. You truly feel like you are welcome and able to relax and enjoy. The owners are a joy to work with and make it so easy to arrange. You just have to pack your bags and see for yourself! We hope to come back soon and stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Mother/Daughter weekend away!

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 24, 2010

My mother and I stayed here for a weekend away, and we had an amazing time. The house is gorgeous with a huge spacious living room for sitting and relaxing. The backyard deck is also a good place to relax with a glass of wine and a good book. The backyard backs right up to the golf course which provides a good view. The house was very neat and clean when we arrived and almost everything we need was provided for us. There were plenty of towels, and all the showers had shampoo, conditioner, and bath gel. The close proximity to all the hiking trails were really what did it for me. Not to mention the amazing views. I can't wait to come back for ski season! We had an great and enjoyable experience here and encourage others to do the same! I highly recommend this rental to everyone. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

our family had a wonderful time

Review submitted: July 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2010

this is our second time vacationing in wintergreen with both our grown children. this house was the perfect size for our whole family. our little 2 1/2 year old twin grandchildren were very comfortable and enjoyed themselves also. the house had everything that you could imagine. i couldn't believe all of the light fixtures and the sockets for our use. there were so many, that they were conveniently labeled. every room was decorated very nicely and had all the amenities. on top of all the great time we had playing in the house, the outside of the house was perfect too - with the grill, outside eating area, and gazebo to sit out of the rain. the house is also very close to all the other areas, such as the pools, the nature center, trails, and the little grocery store. all in all, we had a great time and my daughter would love to go back to stay a month next year!!! thanks so much to the wonderful hosts.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great mountain get-away.........

Review submitted: March 22, 2010   Date of arrival: March 10, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay in this open, airy home. It was a very comfortable home, and well appointed. The owner was most pleasant to work with, and provided great "extra" amenities - it was wonderful not to have to pack these essentials.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: February 3, 2010

Beyond amazing..and beyond our expectations as well. We had an amazing time at Wintergreen and staying in this house put the icing on the cake. We looked around at several listings but this house came with everything. It very nice because it is on the mountain and you could be picked up by the shuttle or you can drive. It's not to close where you can see all the condo's and the scenary was so great. All the movies we needed, and the spa tub was nice for my husband and I after the kids went to bed and a long day of skiing. You will be greatful that you picked this house for your stay! We paln to be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 26, 2010   Date of arrival: January 26, 2010

Our extended family (in-laws and sister in law) spent a four day weekend during January 2010 at this Wintergreen residence. The experience was fantastic. From the first contact, the owners were very helpful and try to accommodate our needs. Access to the resort community was easy and well maintained. The house was a dream, located in a wooded area with easy access to the main road. The residence was outfitted with everything we needed, all the rooms of the house were spacious, the kitchen was well equipped and the linen was first class and plentiful. The living space in the house was big enough to hold 6 adults and 3 kids without feeling claustrophobic. The kids have movies and games to keep them amused while in the house. The resort has everything to entertain the young as well as the adults with pools, game rooms, restaurants, golf, hiking and of course skiing and tubing. Without discounting the facilities of the resort, what we most enjoy during our stay was the home atmosphere. I recommend this resort residence without hesitation to any person looking for a relaxing retreat

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 9, 2009   Date of arrival: August 9, 2009

Following comment is from one of our rental guests named Diane from Culpepper, VA.
"Outstanding Experience. This property was everything that the description said and it was definitely more beautiful than the pictures. We had an excellent experience in dealing with the home owners, they were easy to work with and made the entire experience pleasant. There is always a fear factor when renting for the first time, but I have recommended using the Home Away Rental website to several people. We had a party that ranged from 20 months to adults and everyone enjoyed this property and the amenities of the resort. We would definitely recommend this property to friends and actually hope to return again ourselves.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding Experience

Review submitted: August 4, 2009   Date of arrival: July 26, 2009

This property was everything that the description said and it was definitely more beautiful than the pictures. We had an excellent experience in dealing with the home owners, they were easy to work with and made the entire experience pleasant. There is always a fear factor when renting for the first time, but I have recommended using the Home Away Rental website to several people. We had a party that ranged from 20 months to adults and everyone enjoyed this property and the amenities of the resort. We would definitely recommend this property to friends and actually hope to return again ourselves.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review