reviews for: listing #9831 - Tobago, Caribbean Villa rental

Luxury Villa Sans-Souci in Tobago Beach, Golf & SPA resort
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  5 * MAGNALENA GRAND
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $275 - $375 /nt

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Truly wonderful

Review submitted: March 11, 2013   Date of arrival: November 15, 2012

Good day, it was a really enjoyable experience. Everything at the villa was truly wonderful!
Regards
Sarah

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a nice place

Review submitted: March 11, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2012

Dear Paul,
I must say the place is very nice and relaxing,i did not want to leave wish i could have stayed longer.
You will be hearing from me in the future ,everyone had such a great time.
Thanking you once again.
Marsha

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wish it was longer

Review submitted: March 11, 2013   Date of arrival: December 5, 2012

Hi paul
Happy new year to you all,
Yes we all enjoyed our stay in villa sans souci and tobago, just wish it was for longer, one day I will have a house out there.
Again we thank you and we will contact you again and please thank your staff for us.
Regards
Neil and family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Villa

Review submitted: March 11, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

Hi Paul,
Happy New Year to you too.
I arrived at the villa and everything was great, unfortunately I had to leave one day early because of an issue at work. Thank you for a wonderful vacation.
Regards,
Amanda

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice place, Awful security

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2012

My family along with relatives and friends stayed here on September 3 (3 nights) and had a horrible and frightening experience. To summarize, a burglar broke into this villa at 2:45am (first night) which my wife discovered. We chased the robber away but he left with my wife's handbag containing several hundred dollars, credit cards and our passports.

We dialed the emergency number (their version of 911) and no one answered. The resort security took 1.5 hrs to arrive at our villa (we had to drive to the guard booth and found the guard asleep and both barriers up). The police took another 1 hr to arrive. My wife and I suffered cuts and bruises.

The property manager was unhelpful and pretty much useless. We felt like he didn't treat the situation with the urgency it deserved and was almost detached. Upon further checks of the villa security, we later discovered many other security vulnerabilities such as:
House alarm does not advise the villa guard when set off (prop mgr told us it did).
Numerous locks were not working.
Weak security on windows and other points of entrance.
No information on emergency numbers to call

We subsequently found out that this villa was a victim of a robbery in the past as well as other villas within the resort with some more violent than our experience. The prop mgr misled us on a number of pertinent information regarding the villa and the resort.

My wife, infant and I took the next available flight out of Tobago due to the security and personal violation. Our holiday became a nightmare as a result of this. We spent the rest of our vacation scrambling to get replacement passports to get home. We will never go back to this villa, resort, island and I personally wouldn't go back to the country.

The owner should personally visit this house of horror and overhaul its entire security system and process and fire the property manager.

My advice is DO NOT STAY HERE if you value your safety!

Owners response: This client is trying to destroy the reputation of the resort and the island due to his own negligence and apparently is objective is to be compensated. However we thank him for his
remark; Review #5567501 Nice place!

Be careful how he is distorting the facts... Please read below attentively. We are sorry for the incident but one must also admit that because of their comportment the incident could have been avoided.

1) They are trying to give the impression that the alarm systems did not function or does not work. THAT IS NOT TRUE. THEY DID NOT HAVE THE ALARM SYSTEMS ACTIVATED (ON). I my self would not stay im my own villa if the alarm systems did not function and I stay each year to renovate. I would be arriving as usual in Tobago on the 19th Oct 2012.
The alarm system in Villa Sans-Souci was put in during its construction in 2002 and is triggered off by any window or door being opened or tampered with when set. The alarm
is to be set when you go to bed or leaving the villa for obvious security reasons.

2) He is trying to give the impression that the thief inflected the cuts and bruises. NOT TRUE. His wife got cut while running through the driveway behind the thief on a stone.

3) His family his from TRINIDAD, ( citizens of Trinidad & Tobago ). Petty Crime exists worldwide. This apparently was a petty thief looking for cash. but this could have been avoided if they had put the alarm systems on which would have been heard by the security on the compound. This alarm system makes so much noise it would wake up a neighborhood.

4) The loss of money and passports could have been also avoided. Once again they did not use the safes. There are 2 safes in Villa Sans-Souci.

So I understand that he wants to inform the public. Yes I agreed inform but do not distort or mislead.

Unfortunate situations occur worldwide and we must always remember where ever we travel or even in my own home town, in my own home I try to keep alert to what can happen
and I live in Switzerland Europe which is considered safe but incidents as above do also occur unfortunately. I AM ALSO A CITIZEN OF TRINIDAD & TOBAGO.

We would definitely use this experience to continue to implement further security measures to ensure our guests safety.


Best Regards,

Paul Charbonné
OWNER

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tobago holiday, July 2008

Review submitted: February 5, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2008

Rating5 out of 5
Tobago holiday, July 2008
David1971 Brighton, UK
Review Submitted: December 4, 2008 Date of Stay: July 2008
I visited Villa Sans Souci in July with my family (wife, son 15 yrs, son 11 yrs, daughter 3 yrs and son 18 months) and a nanny. This was our first time to Tobago and we hired a car, also through Paul.
The villa is extremely pleasant, spacious and comfortable. The facilities are very good, the villa is clean and a maid attends regulalry. Although a reasonably large family we had plenty of room and were not squashed at all.
The pool/jacuzzi is excellent and we spent time in there every day.
Shops are a 10 minute drive away (you'll need a car), although the hotel is very close by and you can use their facilities.
Watch out for mosquitoes - well, take lots of repellant, and ideally pick up some groceries on the drive through from the airport.
We felt that the rate paid was extremely competitive and represented excellent value for money.
All in all, highly recommended - no complaints!
Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

deal Vacation Home - Excellent!

Review submitted: February 5, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

Rating5 out of 5
Ideal Vacation Home - Excellent!
Geni M. Trinidad
Review Submitted: December 11, 2009 Date of Stay: August 2009
This villa was above all my expectations. It completely catered for my entire family and is designed in an extremely child-friendly way. I did not have to worry about my kids as it was easy to monitor them from almost every room in the house, and they loved the place. My Husband and I truly loved Sans Souci. We were able to genuinely relax and lay back.


The location is ideal as you can access the most popular destinations easily, and the villa is very secure. Hourly patrols were noticed every night and we were there for eleven nights. The pool is very well maintained and the lawns also.

It is truly a home away from home as you are provided with almost all the amenities your home would have.


If you are looking for the perfect vacation spot for your family, this is the place for you. It's serene enough to just relax with your loved ones and enjoy yourselves, there is no hustle and bustle like the Store Bay area accommodations but close enough to Crown Point and Scarborough so that you can access everything you need.


We definitely plan to visit Sans Souci again.
Recommended for: Families with Young Children

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Holiday ever

Review submitted: February 5, 2010   Date of arrival: December 20, 2008

4 out of 5
Best Holiday ever
sea breeze Sweden
Review Submitted: January 14, 2009 Date of Stay: December 2008
We had a wonderful vaccation at the Villa and on Tobago overall. The only thing was that Hilton Resort was closed for renewal. This made the place rather deserted with no possibillitys to have a near place to eat and drink in the evnigs.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent for value and scenery

Review submitted: February 5, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2008

5 out of 5
EXCELLENT FOR VALVUE AND SCENERY
PAPIERRE Lausanne/Vaud/Switerland
Review Submitted: January 25, 2009 Date of Stay: October 2008
I stayed at Villa Sans-Souci in Oct 08 and enjoyed my stay. The Villa is spacious and well situated with its pool and jacuzzi overlooking the 12th Fairway of Tobago Plantations Golf Beach & SPA Resort. The sunsets are magnificent and the island is green and lush.

The villa is well maintained. The hotel is closed for renovations but that is understandable as it is on the sea coast. However to be at Villa Sans-Souci it is recommended to rent a car and there are several restaurants to enjoy. Villa Sans-Souci is situated in the only gated resort on the island. You feel safe.

The golf club, its restaurants and bars are open and functioning as normal. One can walk the fairways and enjoy the fauna, flora and wildlife of the resort.

I would recommend Villa Sans-Souci and the island of Tobago. For a Caribbean Villa Holiday it is honest in its pricing for the quality offered.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

All over fun!

Review submitted: February 5, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2008

Rating5 out of 5
All over fun!
surfinginthetropicswith friends Trinidad
Review Submitted: January 27, 2009 Date of Stay: July 2008
My family and I had a fabulous time at this villa and we'd recommend it to anyone if we didn't want to keep it to ourselves. :)

In all seriousness however, there were very few cons to this property, it was really well stocked in the kitchen and the staff was courteous...we had everything we could ask for, including our privacy.

The four en suite bathrooms really helped everyone in keeping their personal space so we never felt like we were crowding each other. And the pool was great, it wasn't too deep so everyone felt safe swimming there but it was big enough so that we were all comfortable.

I'd recommend a car as Tobago can be a bit of a hassle to get around without one but that's it. Can't wait to go back!!!
Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review