reviews for: listing #98336 - Lake Livingston, Texas House rental

Kalita Point Waterfront Upscale Retreat
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Kalita Point
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $450 /nt
    $1,500 - $3,200 /wk
    $11,111 - $11,111 /mth

sort by:

Quiet Lake

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 29, 2013

The location of the house was great. The area is secluded and quiet, which we loved. The lake was very quiet as well, making it a very safe place to boat and tube. The house itself was very clean and well stocked with basic necessities. The backyard was a great place to bbq and hangout after a day in the water. We did take a boat, 22 ft. vee hull, we were able to pull up and tie up on the bulkhead.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Well thank you so much for making the experience so wonderful. The house was perfect including the towels you washed and the kitchen and baths were spotless. I have posted your pic of the 22 ft. boat parked in my cove. I really like the boat and wish I could have met you in person. You were such a pleasure to work with and I would love to have you all back again. Thank YOU!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Had a great time in spite of rain and mosquitos

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at your house. The kitchen was well stocked and the beds were really comfortable. If it was another time of year, without the flies and mosquitoes, it would have been really great on your deck. Maybe if we didn't have all that rain things would have been different. Anyway, I was pleased with your house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the review. Yes, unfortunately the middle of summer, July and August there can be a considerable amount of mosquitos especially during the rainy days. I do leave several bottles of fogger for your use on the deck and in the backyard. I can do many things to improve your stay but controlling Mother Nature is a bit out of my scope. Glad otherwise you enjoyed.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fully stocked kitchen and Comfy beds

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 18, 2013

Teresa, your house was wonderful. It was so nicely furnished and decorated. Beds were very comfy ane were great after a day of fishing and swimming! Also all of the items that you provided (condiments/spices, coffee/sugar, mustard/mayo, etc.) were great! Kept us from having to buy items especially for the trip. We used the fire pit to roast weiners and make S'mores for the kids and they loved it! Thank you for sharing your home with us. Kathey

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I just want to thank you for choosing my home and treating it so well. You left everything so clean and it made me feel good that you took such good care.

You were a pleasure to do business with and please come back. I love guests such as you and your group. You all make it a pleasure to extend my home.

Also thank you for doing the towels. With 9 people including babies just cleaning the towels alone would have probably put me back a few hours on the cleaning. Hope the bit of a refund on cleaning fee was ok.

Thank you again!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

July 4th week - Great Family vacation

Review submitted: July 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We had a great time! Loved the house and yard. My grandchildren wanted to stay forever!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for choosing to stay at my home. You were great guests and left the house super clean.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We want s'mores

Review submitted: July 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

My family and I spent a wonderful weekend at the house, everything was clean and easy to find with a beautiful backyard that encouraged us to spend a lazy afternoon followed by a bbq and s'mores by the fire.We will most certainly be renting again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Well I can't say how much I enjoyed having you as guests. I hope to meet you all again soon. The house was left in excellent condition. Thank you so much for choosing my place.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

We want s'mores

Review submitted: July 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

My family and I spent a wonderful weekend at the house, everything was clean and easy to find with a beautiful backyard that encouraged us to spend a lazy afternoon followed by a bbq and s'mores by the fire.We will most certainly be renting again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Time!

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 13, 2013

Great house with a great place for our boat. We had plenty of room for 3 couples. Everything was as Teresa described in the description, all you need to bring is food, everything else is provided. We were all very comfortable. Also found some great Mexican food a couple of miles away at Pueblo Viejo.

Shelley and Gary

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you. You all were so good about the low freon that we got taken care of immediately. I love guests such as you and Gary because you took such great care of my place and were super friendly when we drove up from Houston. Thanks again for the recommendation and have a great summer.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent spot for biking through East Texas

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

-Our stay @ Property #98336 in Lake Livingston, Texas was tremendous.
-The Property #98336 was a great size for us (three adult males with motorcycles), having three large bedrooms, a great living room & sitting room, super kitchen and two decent bathrooms.
-The Property #98336 had a great double car garage (for our motorcycles) and the grounds had parking for the truck and trailer.
-The backyard had everything you could want (deck, furniture & bar-b-que) for relaxing after a great day of riding. There is an access to the lake (cove) for your boating & swimming needs.
-The location (Lake Livingston, TX) was central to our biking needs (motorcycling in the area of Houston & beyond).
-The owner was fantastic and went above & beyond to make our stay very enjoyable. Thank you T.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Awww... Thank you Grant for your constant communication . I wanted to host my Canadian friends with all that Texas has to offer. You all left the place so spotless upon checkout. Maybe next time we can all meet up. All my thanks for your stay at my home.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very nice and perfect for a relaxing get away

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. The home is very nice and perfect for a relaxing get away. All the creature comforts, close to everything but far away enough to offer peace an quite. A really nice home and we would recommend to future renters. Thanks for making your home available, we will be back. Please feel free to have any future renters contact us for reference.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for leaving the place so immaculate with washed linens/sheets, floors, bathrooms etc. I love that you and your wife had such an excellent stay. It was an honor to have such wonderful guests as yourselves. I hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

All the creature comforts...

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. The home is very nice and perfect for a relaxing get away. All the creature comforts, close to everything but far away enough to offer peace an quiet. A really nice home and we would recommend to future renters. Thanks for making your home available, we will be back. Please feel free to have any future renters contact us for reference.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Perfect place for Fishing tournament stay

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

My fishing partner and I chose this place because our Bass Tournament event meant very early morning starts and evenings required time for unwinding and preparing for the next day's events.

Teresa's home proved to be the perfect place for restful sleep, relaxing evenings for grilling on the deck and she even purchased "bubba cups" (large stainless steel thermos cups) for us to use and keep with a 12 cup coffee maker, coffee and all the requirements for a great start to our fishing days. Her garage housed our bass tournament boat perfectly.

We could preload the boat the evening before and have the boat locked up over night and ready to go in the am as well. We couldn't have asked for a more comfortable stay and better setup for our tournament week.

Thank you Teresa and you will see us again next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You two were hardly on a vacation. Never realized how much work goes into professional tournaments. Very happy you were happy with my home. You were very easy to work with. Please do come back next year and tell your fishing buddies about my humble abode. :-)

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Your house was everything we had hoped for...

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

Teresa, thanks for arranging your home on such short notice. Your house was everything we had hoped for...clean, nicely decorated, well equipped, quiet, easy drive and best of all peaceful. Two thumbs up!

Merci Beaucoup

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You made it so easy to rent last minute with your super prompt payment (wire transfer) and agreement to terms and conditions. The housekeeper just called and said that she couldn't tell that anyone was there except for the bedding of course. I can't thank you enough for making it such a pleasure to be a landlord. Please come back anytime!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Thank you for the wonderful stay

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

I just wanted to take a moment to thank you for renting us your wonderful lake house. My party and I truly enjoyed our weekend. We especially enjoyed your decorating touch and the quiet neighborhood setting. We will definitely be back and have already recommended to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: I so enjoyed having your wonderful group of 10 adults. The place was left in such a clean condition that had I not met your group and seen all of you myself I would not have believed you really had 10 people staying there. I'm so glad the marina in our cove could accomodate your boat and the rented pontoon boat fit nicely at my bulkhead. I look forward to welcoming your group again.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Perfect retreat for couples wanting to unwind

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

We stayed five nights at Teresa’s charming home on Lake Livingston. The home is located minutes from Highway 59 north of Houston and we found the home immaculately clean and comfortable. She left a super nice gift of some awesome boxed wine which was the equivalent of 4 bottles of Malbec. There were two couples staying in the home and the house design provides for private bedroom/bathroom locations (for two couples) on opposite sides of the house with a common living/dining area. The kitchen was fully equipped to the hilt and made meal preparation very simple on the long island countertop. The view out to the deck and lake were amazing. We were able to park out 23 foot boat in the cove, attached to her bulkhead for easy in and out access. The area is so quiet and peaceful. And there is a great two car garage for storing our fishing and lake equipment.

Teresa was very accommodating and welcoming. We will definitely stay in this lovely home again on our next trip to Lake Livingston.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: There is nothing better sounding than someone commenting that the house was immaculately clean. I welcome your group again. Was a pleasure having renters like you.

**There were two couples from the same party, not two separate parties staying at the house at once. :-) Actual Date of arrival was August 3

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Did not want to leave this Oasis

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 16, 2012

We had a wonderful stay and could have easily stayed longer. The home was just breathtaking upon enterring the house. The color scheme and decorations made you feel warm and relaxed.

The island kitchen was open and spacious and had everything you would need for entertaining and cooking. There were bar stools and seating all around the island so we spent much of our time gathering there and out the sliding glass doors onto the patio/deck. The view from the deck where we grilled every night was very relaxing.

The master bedroom suite is decorated so nicely providing an ambience for long sleeps and beautiful awakenings looking out the french doors to the lake and the bed so comfortable we felt like we were sleeping on clouds.

5 days was just not enough but we had to leave to go back to the real world.

Kudos to the owner who asked if we needed anything and was available when we had questions about the internet access.

We will definitely be returning.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You were a lovely group and left everything so neat and picked up.

Thank you and I welcome your group anytime.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review