reviews for: listing #9845 - Marne, France House rental

Charming restored farmhouse in middle of Champagne vineyards
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  11
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (EUR) €450 - €1,200 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful, Peaceful Country Home

Review submitted: September 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

This is a wonderful place to spend a vacation. It is surrounded by vineyards and we were surprised to find that it was even better than described. The surrounding villages are lovely and it is a great base from which to travel to Epernay, Reims and many other areas of interest. It is well-equipped with everything you need. We enjoyed our nights outside, sipping champagne and enjoying the scenery. Communication with the owner was perfect and our stay couldn't have been better. It is also a photographer's dream. Thank you so very much for offering this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house!

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 24, 2011

We had a fabulous time in this outstanding house. We were five adults, two couples, who wanted to experience the champagne region of France. This was the perfect house for us. It was large enough to sleep twelve easily and probably more. The house is in a beautiful setting on a hill surrounded by vineyards. The little village of La Bruil is about a half mile away. Champagne growers and bottlers are all around. The nearby town of Dormans has the markets and restaurants, but Epernay and Reims are where the larger champagne houses are located. Both these towns are easy drives, but you will have to have a car to stay here. However, the directions were clear and driving was simple. We loved sitting on the patio, drinking the champagne we found that day and just relaxing in the French countryside. I almost hate to give this house a fabulous rating because it may make it more difficult to book in the future. We have already recommended "La Ravenne" to everyone we have talked to. One caution is that very few people near the house speak English. None of us spoke French, but we got along fine. Certainly in the larger towns we had no difficulty. Even in the small village of La Bruil though, smiling and gesturing were all we needed to communicate. We had cell phone service but no Internet. The house was very clean and comfortable. The owner's representations were fully accurate and he was a pleasure to deal with. This is the place to stay if you have several friends or family visiting the champagne region.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We are coming back!

Review submitted: December 14, 2010   Date of arrival: April 28, 2004

We first stayed at La Ravenne 6 years ago, we are returning in April of 2011.
The listing says only 5bdrm, 3.5 bath (which IS accurate), it breaks down as follows:
Master bdrm 1: king bed, fireplace and balcony, private ensuite bathroom, second floor
Bdrm 2: queen bed, shared bathroom with tub/shower accessed in hallway with other 2 bedrooms, second floor
Bdrm 3: queen bed, same shared bathroom as above, second floor
Bdrm 4: two twin beds, same shared bathroom as above, second floor
Bdrm 5: queen bed with extra mattresses on floor as needed (large room), ensuite bathroom, 3rd floor

We are returning with many, many friends and this is likely to be an every-other-year stay for us.

The owners are English-speaking, and are very easy to communicate with.
The property-manager is French speaking only...

Anne Marie Mignon is a vigneron based nearly at the foot of the driveway to La Ravenne and her
Champagne is brilliant!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Our Week in La Ravenne

Review submitted: November 11, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

We stayed at La Ravenne with two other couples for a week in October 2010. The property far exceeded our expectations. We used it as a base to explore the Champagne region. Our stay at La Ravenne was a high point of our three week France vacation. It is well-appointed and well-stocked. It sits in the middle of a vineyard that's quite scenic. The town of Le breuil is quite small and has no stores. It's a 20 minutes drive to Dormans where you can stock up on food at its supermarket. All in all, we'd go back in a minute. BTW, you definitely need a car.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Most beautiful paradise!

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 23, 2009

My husband and I have been renting this house for 6 years and it is one of our favorite places on earth. I almost don't want to write a good review for fear that it will be filled and we won't be able to find an unoccupied date for ourselves:-)! We have been in all season except for the heart of winter (October 3 times, March, June/July) and all seasons are beautiful. The house is next to a super quaint town of 300. In that small town there are at least 6 Champagne houses with very friendly proprietors- we have made friends over the years.

This house has the most gorgeous view of vineyards- it is surrounded on all sides. It has 2 levels of yard- one of which we use for playing nighttime badmitten while drinking Champagne. We sit outside in the summertime and eat and drink until it gets dark at 10:30 pm. The house is just a short drive away from Reims, a short train ride from Paris, and has access to some of the most delicious restaurants. You can bring a group of friends as the house has 5 bedrooms.

I cannot say enough good things about this rental property. It is paradise on earth!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review