reviews for: listing #98507 - Cape San Blas, Florida House rental

A Rendezvous (Beachfront) (Gulf of Mexico) (New in 2009)
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,805 - $3,010 /wk
    $2,905 - $3,805 /mth

sort by:

Fabulous

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

This is a beautiful home with all the amenities needed to stay for several days. It has a perfect location right on the beautiful beach of Cape San Blas. I would definitely recommend this home to anybody looking for a relaxing remote escape. The only drawback is that there was no grill provided. However, the owner did state there was not a grill provided. Everything else was PERFECT! It also had plenty of room for a family + more to sleep. I highly recommend this home to enjoy a fabulous retreat!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We'll be back

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the house for a long weekend in September. We were pleasantly surprised with the condition of the house. It was very clean and well maintained. The master shower is really nice, it's all tile with a nice sized tiled seat. The house was very nicely decorated and the furnishings show no signs of wear. The views of the gulf from both of the decks was great, and it's a very short walk to the beach. The beach was also beautiful, you almost feel as though you have the whole beach to yourself. The Trading Post is just at the end of the driveway, a short walk, or very short drive away. They have all sorts of convenience store items as well as sandwiches, subs, cheeseburgers, pizza, etc. They also sell wine/beer. We went in to Apalachicola & Port St. Joe to eat, they are both 1/2 hr. easy drives away, and there are several good places to eat at both. What makes this house a great place to stay is the fact that it is so new(no wear), with new furnishings, great views of the Gulf, a great location close to conveniences, and a great floor plan. I would definintely recommend this house if your coming to the Cape.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Rich glad you and your wife loved our place and found it a great get away from OHIO. It is how you see it on our web page and we try and ensure a great stay for all our guests. Hope you stay again soon.

D

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely escape

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a quiet, relaxing vacation to help us recharge and we wanted to stay on the beachfront. This house was perfect. It is built with windows everywhere so that even when you are inside, the sights and sounds of the beach are ever present. The sunsets were beautiful!

The furnishings are comfortable and allowed us to feel right at home. The home was spotless and seemed all new. Since we knew we would have to leave the peninsula for groceries or restaurants, we brought our own supplies and the kitchen was well-equipped for cooking and dining. The table on the outside beach level was an extra bonus for eating outside and there was an incredible breeze there which helped as the temperatures were high. We grilled fish there one night.

Beach access was relatively easy and we had lots of beach to choose from. Everything felt private and relaxing.

The house does have 3 levels which we had read about. We are both over 60 and my husband is recovering from recent knee surgery. We had no trouble managing the stairs and felt the extra bonus of getting our exercise in without leaving the house!

This is a spacious home and we both commented several times that we wished family was there with us as it would have been a great place to gather.

This is a retreat and a totally non-commercial area. We did leave and take a shark fishing trip one night, found a wonderful restaurant about 20 minutes a way and enjoyed the state park just down the road.

A Rendezvous met our needs in all areas. We would have no trouble recommending this to friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: Peggy..one of the best parts of our house is its position for sunset...could not be any better! Just pull up a chair on the deck and enjoy the view. WE are thrilled you had a great time at our place and that you enjoyed the area and all the fun things it has to offer. It is truly a nature lovers paradise.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Little bit of bliss

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

The listing was way off...there is no way one can put into words how fabulous A Rendezvous is! It was clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. The kitchen was well stocked and easy to navigate. Most importantly the beds were comfortable I have a bad back and had no soreness in the morning. We arrived around early evening and the house was ready to go. Clean and fresh! When we were searching for a place to vacation we did contact the owner. She was easy to talk to and was eager to answer all our questions. The beach is wonderful! I like the fact that it was not at all crowded, it was clean and there were plenty of shells. We also found some kick boards and a boat at the back of the house that we enjoyed using. At dinner we enjoyed eating at several places in Port St. Joe, Sunset grill and Peppers. When you visit you need to explore the park at the end of the Cape. We had a positive experience and will come back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Fantastic...so glad you made it up to the State Park and all the neat places in Port St joe and of course the best of all ..the beach!! There are so many things to do in the area for the active nature lover ..biking,kayaking,fishing,shelling..and all water sports.
Hope to see you soon and I am delighted you found our home as wonderful as we do!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just Heavenly

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

The house is FABULOUS !!! It is everything you see/read and MUCH more. The most important to me with small children was the private drive, only steps to the beach, beach area wasn't crowded, view of the beach from anywhere on the property, and a short walk to the Trading Post. Also, the family area is very spacious with an awesome kitchen which is well stocked for a rental. The closets and storage space is HUGE...

This house was found very clean, well maintained and organized. Our family will return to this rental for years to come!!

And the owner, Denise is very informative and helpful when trying to make our 2012 rental decision. Thanks again Denise for making our stay so pleasurable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Regina...Thank you so much and I look forward to you coming again next year or maybe sooner!!
Denise

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Rendezvous

Review submitted: April 27, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

The "Cape" is probably my and my family's favorite beach in the States. It is peaceful and the best attribute is that it's not crowded. the house was wonderful. The views off the balconies were beautiful. My family of 5 stayed there for a week during spring break. the house was all we wanted and more. I would highly recommend the house. Can't wait to return, and we WILL!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wishing we were back almost every week!

Review submitted: April 6, 2012   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

My wife and I love vacationing on the beach. We have been many places. We still think that this was one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed. The views - unbelievable!!!! The wonderfully quiet and peaceful setting - perfect!!!! The house - the best!!!

We wish we were back almost every week.

Cannot wait until we get back!!!!!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome

Review submitted: April 6, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

A really wonderful place to stay. Many places bill themselves as quality rentals, but few live up to the hypoe. This, however, is the real deal. From the sunset views from the balcony, the furnishings, the climate control, to the location and proximity to neighbors, this is it. Two minute walk to the general store. The furnishings are modern, clean, and functional. No chintzy appliances, no plastic flamingos. Pottery barn decor. Plenty of space. A class act, and our future go-to place at Cape St. Blas.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks ..so glad you enjoyed your stay.. and our place . It took alot of time to pull things together that looked great and did the job and it is nice to hear that people notice!
The location is quite convienent and now that most of the biking/walking lane is complete it is spectacular!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay!

Review submitted: April 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at A Rendezvous. The beach was great and we were very close to the ocean The views from all of the windows were great. We had a deck for morning sun and one for evening sunsets. The house was very nice and clean. This was one of the cleaner houses we have stayed at on the cape.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed our beautiful home as much as we do and the views are stunning from the deck especially at sunset!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful escape

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2011

After visiting the Destin area year after year, our family decided we were ready for a change. I wanted my 14 yr old daughter to experience a real beach. We had a wonderful time on fall break.We spent hours strolling the beach, finding shells, sand dollars and even a starfish! She was just like a little kid again which was priceless to me! A Rendezvous was exactly what we had hoped for! The house was extremely clean, very spacious, and contained everything we needed. The evening sunsets from the balcony were the most beautiful I have ever seen. Cape San Blas is the perfect place to escape the hectic everyday life! We look forward to returning again soon!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love that beach too...morning , evening ..anytime there is always something new to find. And its great place for everyone of all ages!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Georgia visitors

Review submitted: April 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 26, 2012

The house was dirty when we arrived and checked in. They had to bring the cleaning lady back to do the floors. The porch furniture was filthy and couldn't be used until we washed it. The trash disposal was very confusing, you had to take it about one half mile up the road to the main highway to dispose of it. There are 74 steps from the car and back to the living room in the house. The house is forsale and it didn't seem like anyone cared about it. There was no hairdryer as promised. The amenities were VERY SPARSE!! The beach was lovely!!

Owners response: I am so sorry you feel that our beach house had too many stairs. As you can see from our pictures there are two levels to the house. There are not however 74 steps one way The trash cans are kept at the main road which is a very SHORT walk up our beach road. Our road has a total of 3 houses on it ,ours being the gulf front.
After talking to you when I received this posting you said it was the floor that felt like it had some sand on it NOT that the house was dirty and I wish you had clarified that in your posting. I did speak with my property managers who do an excellent job and they addressed the floor issue.and they said that there was some sand in the foyer that may have been tracked in.As for the furniture on the porch, I was down there 2 weeks before and did not have an issue but I have had that addressed as well. Unfortunately outdoor furniture has to take the elements and its not the same as being inside.
Our unit does not come with a hair dryer or beauty products and it is NOT posted on our website that it comes with a hair dryer.
Lastly, I realize after talking with you that you had hoped for a house that had more things (amenities)that were added like milk, cereal, juice and tin foil. But as a rental home we cannot have those things stocked continuously at the house. There is however soap for the dishwasher and laundry soap and bath soap provided.
Thank you for your input.
D

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can't Wait to Return

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: December 1, 2010

To vacation in the newly-built Gulf-front home A Rendezvous is truly to experience a “rendezvous” with nature. Sets of windows on three sides of the house offer a panoramic view of the sky and ocean in their many moods, the beach in its whiteness and changing sand patterns, and the birds whether feeding on shore or taking refuge on neighboring rooftops. An outdoor “rendezvous” with nature is possible from third and second floor balconies located at both the front and the back of the house, where, in the morning, one can bask in the sunshine while birds serenade, and, in the afternoon, watch for cavorting dolphins and take in the evening sunset. For those of more active lifestyle, easy access from the house both to the beach and to a nearby paved walkway offers opportunity for walking, running, biking, and roller-blading. As for the interior of the house itself, A Rendezvous offers spacious accommodation with the amenities of recent construction—a large open-concept kitchen-living room on the third floor, generous en suite bedrooms on the second floor, tiled floors, and stainless steel appliances. We endorse A Rendezvous as the ideal vacation home to enjoy the natural attractions of Cape San Blas.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you loved staying at our home and that you are coming again this next winter!!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Vacation!

Review submitted: August 26, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

We visited A Rendezvous at the end of July. Denise was a pleasure to work with from the start.The home was immaculate. It is beautifully decorated with gorgeous views from the living area and the master bedroom. Very open floor plan that makes this great for a family. The kitchen was perfect and had everything we needed.We spent our days with our boys playing at the beach from morning until night. Many people built bonfires on the beach. The shells are everywhere and the water was calm and clear. Did I mention the sunsets? Amazing! If you feel like eating out make sure you visit Indian Pass Raw Bar and Apalachicola for more great places to eat. If you are looking for rest and relaxation this is the place to do it. Our boys really enjoyed getting back to nature and just enjoying family time. We cannot recommend this home enough and cannot wait to come back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Bellissimo!!!!

Review submitted: June 24, 2010   Date of arrival: June 17, 2010

denise the owner is a pleasure to work with, the home is very nice very clean very comfortable we had a blast in cape san blas ........ thankyou denise we will be back often!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review