reviews for: listing #986 - Key West, Florida Cottage rental

A Touch of Bermuda in Key West
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Truman Annex
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,750 - $2,200 /wk
    $5,250 - $6,900 /mth

sort by:

Amazing Owner

Review submitted: May 19, 2014   Date of arrival: May 19, 2014

Whenever I book something through a website like this I always wonder if I am going to get what is advertised and if the owner is trustworthy. Unfortunately I cannot comment on the property since I had to cancel my trip but the owner of his property is absolutely amazing. From the very beginning he was responsive with email and phone calls and very helpful in the booking process. There were 4 of us who were going to be going on this trip but sadly we had to cancel to do one of the people going getting deployed during our dates. When I explained the situation to the owner he was more than happy to refund the full deposit and all the rent with no charge. Without having stayed at his property I would highly recommend his property purely on his customer service and kindness. As soon as we are ready for a trip to Key West he will be the first person I contact. Thank you again for being so kind, understanding, and trustworthy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet cottage, close to everything

Review submitted: December 6, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

Jack's "Touch of Bermuda" cottage in Truman Annex is great! It's just inside the entrance of Truman Annex near the guard shack. The home is clean and has all the amenities you need for a week-long stay, including washer/dryer. Jack goes above and beyond to make sure your stay is a memorable one, providing you with all kinds of information on things to do while in Key West. Secure wireless internet is provided, as well as cable TV. Jack provides a key to the community pool inside the Annex, as well as a pass to Ft. Zachary Taylor State Park, which is nearby.

The upstairs master "suite" is very large and has a king bed, flatscreen TV and a chair. There is also a pack-n-play for little ones. Our 2.5 year-old daughter slept in it all week!

On your first night, set the coffee pot to come on in the AM. Wake up the next morning to the smell of coffee and the sound of roosters crowing (chickens are everywhere in Key West). Sip your coffee on the front porch, enjoy the island breeze and watch the rest of the Annex come to life.

Truman Annex is 2.5 blocks away from Duval Street, so you're far enough away from the noise when you want to relax, but close enough to the action when you want to go out. You're also 2 blocks from Blue Heaven and La Creperie - our two favorite breakfast venues.

If you're physically able to ride a bike, rent bikes for your stay! You don't have to worry with parking your car, and you get to see so much more of Key West! By the way, Sunshine Bike Rental will take you to the airport at the end of the stay, free of charge.

You won't be disappointed with "A Touch of Bermuda". It has all the comforts of home - but it's located in KEY WEST!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: I thank this family for its positive comments. I am obviously humbled when my property receives such a terrific review. A property owner can never be perfect in anticipating every need of a guest but I "play" at being a guest myself and when friends visit I ask them how I can make my home truly "a home away from home" for couples, families, singles, anniversaries, birthdays, romantic get aways, an adventure week etc. Needless to say, I would love to have this family back. Our emails before and after their visit have been very enjoyable to me.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Our Key West vacation was GREAT! The cottage was adorable, and a great location to Duval Street and the Fort Zachery State Park. We did a lot of walking...swimming, jet ski, para-sail, snorkeling at the beach...beautiful fish. A lot of fun had by all...Grandparents, parents and teenagers.The owner had some great suggestions for places to go and things to do.

We hope to go again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you Kimberly. I welcome families to my home and yours was terrific. Do come again next year. Sincerely, Jack Agnew

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Our Key West vacation was GREAT! The cottage was adorable, and a great location to Duval Street and the Fort Zachery State Park. We did a lot of walking...swimming, jet ski, para-sail, snorkeling at the beach...beautiful fish. A lot of fun had by all...Grandparents, parents and teenagers.The owner had some great suggestions for places to go and things to do.

We hope to go again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

This isn't just a Touch of Bermuda in Key West, but a hug!! We loved our vacation in Key West. The weather was perfect, so many things to do and see. This cottage is a great place to stay because of it's location. Near Fort Zachary Taylor, short walk to Duval St. and nice bike ride(or walk) to Mallory Square as well as Schooner's Wharf. We loved Mallory Square and walked there everyday and night via Duval St., which is an experience as well!

The cottage was clean and well maintained. We loved sitting on the front porch and watching the people go by.......everyone is so friendly in KW. The back porch was wonderful. I sat out there every morning with a cup of coffee and my book. How relaxing is that??

The owner gave us terrific suggestions for places to see and eat. The place to go for breakfast is Blue Heaven! Great pancakes and yummy specials. We ate lunch at the Fort Taylor snack bar.......hamburgers were good! Dinner.......Conch Republic Seafood Company, Babalou's were good!

We went on the Tortuga IV fishing excursion. Great time had by all!! We loved our vacation in KW! Can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Shani for your kind words. I hope you and your family return next year. Sincerely, Jack

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best location, best amenities, great owner

Review submitted: September 13, 2010   Date of arrival: September 5, 2010

We certainly enjoyed renting A Touch of Bermuda and it was a pleasure doing business with Jack. Here are our top ten reasons for loving this house

TOP TEN REASONS TO RENT A TOUCH OF BERMUDA

1. Jack Agnew is a private owner who is genuinely interested in making sure that his guests get the best out of their Key West vacation.
2. A Touch of Bermuda is ideally located – in the private Truman Annex but just three blocks from Duval Street and very close to sunsets at Mallory Square, the Green Parrot Bar, Southernmost Point, and water attractions
3. Jack provides a seasonal pass to Fort Zachery State Park – the best beach in Key West, very close to the house, and FREE for his guests.
4. Jack provides a key to the Truman Annex pool – a “real sized” pool just down the block with landscaping, lounge chairs, and an outdoor shower.
5. Jack’s house comes with private, secure internet.
6. Jack has a small but fun collection of books, and dvds for your use.
7. There are tvs in the living room AND both bedrooms.
8. The house comes fully equipped with linens and kitchen utensils.
9. Jack provides a parking spot - if you need it.
10. It's Key West!

This house is ideally set up for families or 2 couples with a bedroom and separate bathroom on each floor. The upstairs "master suite" is awesome with a king bed and takes up the entire floor. The downstairs bedroom is reasonably sized and has two twins.

I would recommend this to anyone wanting a Key West adventure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Deb. I didn't know you were a female version of Letterman. I appreciate your creative way of reviewing my property. Thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Getaway

Review submitted: June 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 17, 2010

We had such a great time while down in the Keys. The house was so close to everything but so cozy and quiet when it was time to chill and relax. I can not wait to go back and we will be staying at this location again. The house was very cute and just lovley. We loved it and it had all the comforts of home no worries just relaxation and FUN FUN FUN...The state park was beautiful and so close you can walk the free pass was a money saver so we had more cash to spend on drinks....lol. Thanks Jack for everything....Krystal

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Krystal for your kind words. I do hope you come back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Touch of Perfect in Key West

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2009

I booked this townhome for my husband's 30th Birthday celebration for a week long getaway with friends. It was everything we needed it to be and more! This was our first visit to Key West, and Jack was wonderful to work with. He sent extra info as soon as he was asked, and included lots of tidbits about things not to miss while we were there. Location, location, location!! I could not have asked for better placing of the townhouse. 2 blocks from Duval St, and right in the middle of Duval St so nowhere that we needed to go was more than a 6-8 block walk. No need for a car here, but I highly recommend bike or scooter rental to save your feet. The unit was very clean, cozy and comfortable. We had 6 adults and all slept comfortably. You don't go to Key West to lounge indoors, you go to experience the lifestyle that is Key West and this place is the perfect starting off point! 2 pools in the neighborhood were a welcome relaxation if we didn't want to use the park pass provided by Jack, but I would highly recommend going at least once to the beach at Ft. Zachary Taylor State Park, especially since Jack is kind enough to provide a free pass during your stay. I will definitely be back to Key West, and the only place that I will stay will be at A Touch of Bermuda! It's perfect in every way! Thanks Jack for a wonderful place!!
Also - he keeps a guest book in the townhome so that you can see what other guests have enjoyed, and it gives you an even better idea of what a great person you are renting from. Jack has lots of repeat customers, and for good reason!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Kristi. I was honored to have you celebrate your birthday by staying at my home. Do come back.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review