reviews for: listing #98639 - Port Clinton, Ohio House rental

Waterfront home on the Sandusky Bay, Great pictures!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $300 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,200 /wk
    $3,400 - $4,200 /mth

sort by:

Our Week on Sandusky Bay

Review submitted: July 15, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

We had an excellent week at this property.

Super clean and well-maintained, it had everything we needed (wanted). The smart TV was a big hit and the WIFI was appreciated too.

Oh, and the washer and dryer got a workout too. It was nice to be able to not pack so many clothes. We simply did a few loads of laundry as needed.

The screened-in patio was wonderful. So nice to feel the breeze and yet not be bothered by the bugs. It's a perfect place to chill out.

And, to find a place that welcomed our Weimaraner was probably the BEST thing. He does not do well at the kennel, so this was a godsend. And the big rope tie-out was a nice touch. Thank you.


The big gas grill was perfect for our cookouts. We used it several times!

The other big plus was the linens and paper products. Other rentals we've stayed in did not include those. And it's so nice not to have to worry about packing them in the car. Thank you for that!

Our two boys had fun fishing off the deck -- although the didn't catch anything! They still had a good time.

There's plenty of things to do in the area. We spend a day at Cedar Point. A few hours at Marblehead Lighthouse (love that place) and made a day-trip to Put-in-Bay Island (had to have some of that good food at the Chicken Patio again!)

Thanks to Christine and Rick for a great vacation week. We loved it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

We had a wonderful time here with our family. It was very clean and Christine went out of her way to assist us with anything. Kids (teenagers) had a ball fishing. They would tightline at night and the largest catfish they caught was 27". Lots to do in the area. Everyone was so kind!

Thanks again!

Owners response: It was great to see these teenage boys fishing non stop. This family truly enjoyed the area even experiencing an island. Glad you all enjoyed our home and the beautiful area. Thanks for the great review, hope to see you next year too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing get away not too far away

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: June 13, 2014

This is a beautiful home and Christine (homeowner) could not have been nicer or more pleasant to work with. My children and two grandchildren couldn't wait to get away for a fun weekend together.
If you want to just relax, this is a perfect rental. We felt this was not a kid friendly area. We could not swim off the dock (snakes in the water and the dock was way out of the water overlooking rocks) we went to the beach and it was really dirty. There were dead fish all over the beach and the water was gross. However, the Animal Safari was nice. We did not feel welcomed at all by the neighbors ( we had issues with docking our boat which was our fault for not communicating better with Christine) But if you don't have kids, don't have a boat and just need a get away this is a nice option.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Owners response: Appreciate their review and so glad they enjoyed our home.
Unfortunately there were some communication issues and misunderstanding of the amenities at our property. No where in our profile do we state that we have a "dock or beach". We have a DECK at water's edge. If you have questions about the difference please ask us to explain.
Without any prior discussion or permission this renter showed up with 5 vehicles (only 4 adults listed on contract), a boat and trailer. The neighbor's boat ramp was used to put the boat in and out without permission. Then the boat was tied to another neighbor's private dock without asking them. When the dock owner ask them to remove the boat they refused to remove until the next day. Boats on the Sandusky bay are kept in boat lifts to prevent damage to the dock.
In the 3 years we have been sharing our home, this is the first time someone has said the area was not kid friendly. All of the families with and without children have loved the area and neighbors. Most of our guests end up spending time on the water and sitting around the fire with our neighbors at night.
We were all a little taken back by the intrusion on others property and sense of entitlement.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lots to do, so little time!

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

We had a great stay at this home! The house seems closer to the water than in the pictures & some nights we could hear the waves during the night! The house is very clean and has everything to meet your needs. There are many things to do in the area. We enjoyed fishing, visiting the Islands, several area beaches (East Harbor park is great for small kids) and the African Safari. The owners were very accommodating and easy to work with. If we come back to vacation, we would stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kinds words. We are glad to hear you had a great stay, your boys are a perfect age to do everything around the area. We hope you come back next summer too and don't forget about Halloweekends at Cedar Point, the boys would love that!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hideaway on the Sandusky Bay

Review submitted: July 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Richard and Christine were very easy to work with. House was a very nice place to spend some time away. Enjoyed relaxing on the back screened rear sunroom with a view of the bay and fishing off the dock a short distance behind the house. The house was clean, very nice, and well stocked. I would definately recommend this to a friend. Close to many recreational facilities, Monsoon Lagoon, Cedar Point, ect... If I get a chance to go back up again they will be the first I contact.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mike & Victoria,
Thank you for your kind words. We both love this area and love to help others enjoy their time will visiting. Thank you for your thoughtful donation to the "candy store" Wishing you and your family the best, hope to see you again.

Christine & Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great weekend at the islands

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

Rick and Christine's home and hospitality was awesome! The home is clean, updated and had all the amenities we could hope for. They treated us like family, helping with directions, travel, places to eat, etc. We had a great time!

Thanks Rick and Christine, we will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hope to see you all this summer, we have made some upgrades and added some new items to the home and ready for the summer season. I hear the lake calling......

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great weekend at the islands

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

Rick and Christine's home and hospitality was awesome! The home is clean, updated and had all the amenities we could hope for. They treated us like family, helping with directions, travel, places to eat, etc. We had a great time!

Thanks Rick and Christine, we will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing, after a fun day of sightseeing!

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hideaway on the Sandusky Bay! The house is clean and well kept, the neighborhood was quiet, and the beds were cozy! This was the first time we ever stayed at someone's vacation rental, so we had no idea what we were getting ourselves into. We were so relieved when we arrived at this cute property! The s'mores supplies and Mon Ami wine that Christine got us were the touch that set us completely at ease! We wanted for nothing on our stay, they have thought of everything! Coming home from vacation with clean clothes was worth its weight in gold! We felt like local residents at the Hideaway, the neighbors were very friendly and quiet. Our only regret was that we didn't bring our dogs! Next time we sure will! We love Lake Erie and we loved staying at the Hideaway on the Sandusky Bay. Thanks for lending us your home Christine and Rick, we'll be back someday!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much, it was a pleasure sharing our home with you. Glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed some of our local goodies.Hope to see you again in 2014.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful experience

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

This house was wonderful. Very clean and just as described in the advertisement. The owner was extremely helpful, very nice, knowledgable about the area and welcoming. She even had a "welcome basket" for us when we got there. I would definately visit this house again or any house that the owner rented. Thanks for a fabulouse Port Clinton experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words. We are lifetime residents and love sharing our passion for the area with others. Look forward to hosting you for an entire week next summer!

Christine and Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review