reviews for: listing #98733 - Volcano, Hawaii House rental

Volcanoes Hidden Gem ~Halias Hideaway~NO FEES!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $130 - $170 /nt

sort by:

Excellent stay in Volcano

Review submitted: May 19, 2014   Date of arrival: May 6, 2014

This picture does not do justice to this house. Very cute, comfortable, in good condition, a nice kitchen, and a wonderful gift basket. A very good location for exploring the volcano area. Set up well for the cooler weather up there as well. The rating would have been a 5 except for 1 twin bed that was uncomfortable. This 1 issue is not enough of a reason to not recommend a stay, meaning I do recommend staying here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful home base for Volcano National Park

Review submitted: May 16, 2014   Date of arrival: April 18, 2014

Beautiful cottage with a very convenient location. Just minutes from Volcano National Park, but quiet and secluded. Very well maintained and decorated. Even provided a very nice fruit/chocolate basket on our arrival. We very much enjoyed our stay at Halias Hideaway.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great home!

Review submitted: January 25, 2014   Date of arrival: January 8, 2014

We loved this rental. The house was clean, comfortable spacious and well furnished. This was the most well equipped rental we have ever had. Kris has thought of everything and the welcome basket was very thoughtful. The beds were super comfortable as well as the livingroom furniture. We would have loved to stay longer. Recommend staying her for several days to explore the volcano and area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean, spacious, welcoming.

Review submitted: November 1, 2013   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

When we first walked in we were impressed of the size of this property, it was huge. It was 5 of us and we had plenty of room, everyone had their own room and no problems with waiting lines for the bathroom. The place was spotless, the fruit basket, waters and complimentary soap and goodies were great!!!. The only small tiny hick up was the fact that we all noticed that there was a distinct old furniture smell (you get used to it). Everything else was great, we loved it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This house and Volcano are winning combination!

Review submitted: September 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 19, 2013

Our family of four had an excellent stay at this wonderful home from start to finish. This owner is SO easy to work with, quick to respond to ANY question you have about the house or the area or the Big Island in general. DO NOT come to the Big Island without spending at least a night in the Volcanoe area and DO NOT think of staying elsewhere. Every other VRBO property I contacted added on so much extra money for our 2 extra people and then added on a huge cleaning fee. Staying only one night the original rate was often more than doubled. NOT here. The house is centrally located and their next door neighbour is a rain forest. You would be happy to spend more than one night here with so much to do AND the house is so comfortable and spacious. Kris thoughtfully leaves you a goody basket, binder with local information and activities, and responds immediately to any question. The internet was simple and strong, the couch cozy, and we could have enjoyed the BBQ grill if we stayed longer. After you drop your bags, head over to the Visitor Center and have a ranger help you plan your visit for the time you will be there. See the volcano glow at night, enjoy a meal at the Volcano Lodge. There are wonderful hikes-do as many as you can, especially the ones through a Lava Tube and the one that takes you down to the valley floor. Enjoy! Kris does all she can to ensure your stay is special and easy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great house

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

When we walked in there's a fruits basket and welcome basket were waiting, shown how owner of the house care about us guests. The house was very clean, quiet and cozy.If you want to cook or do your laundry everything you need is there including laundry detergent. Just internet connection was very slow so don't expect bringing loads of work! It was a best house we stayed during our trip, wished we could stay longer.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place to stay in Volcano!

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 3, 2013

Halias Hideaway was super clean and comfortable, with everything we needed for a great stay in Volcano. There was plenty of room for our party of five adults and one toddler, and we were thankful for all of the extras -- flashlights to take to the national park, lots of tourist information, welcome basket, etc. One note for people from warm climates -- the nights can be cool, and the heater/fireplace is only in the living room. In hindsight, we would have packed warmer pjs. There were lots of blankets though, so we stayed cozy. We definitely recommend this rental.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

perfect place near the Volcano National Park

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

The quality of the place and the hospitality of the owners are unsurpassed. Everything was ready for our arrival. The outside light and the detailed directions emailed to us with our reservation helped us to find the place easily even when it was dark. The covered patio with a bbq is a huge convenience. The surrounding area was very nice. The welcome fruit basket and breakfast items were delicious and very much appreciated by my hungry family. Can't think of what else to wish for for a perfect vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect place

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

My friends and I spent just one day there but it was great. Everything is perfect. Thank you Kris!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Very convenient and nice place to stay while visi

Review submitted: May 14, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at Kristen's place. It had everything we needed for a great visit to Volcano. Comfortable and clean, plus nice touches such as a welcoming fruit basket. We would stay here again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

a welcoming hale!

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 7, 2013

Truly a gem! Quiet, comfortable and beautiful. Kristin gave great directions...The hale is clean, well cared for, and everything is easy to find. We really enjoyed the fruit basket...yummmy! Mahalo for sharing your hale with us. So wonderfully close to the park entrance. Hope to return

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Halias Hideaway is the best!!!

Review submitted: March 14, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

The owner has thought of everything and has made this house a home for the visitors. Well located for Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Hilo, or any activities on the east side of the Big Island. The house and grounds are immaculate and the care and thoughtfulness of the owner are immediately apparent. I recommend this property without reservation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place in Volcano

Review submitted: March 14, 2013   Date of arrival: January 31, 2013

This is a real gem in volcano. Very close to the park, excellent accommodations, and a great welcome. I will recommend to my friends when they go to volcano. I couldn't get the gas fire place started which is why I gave only 4-stars. Otherwise, it's definitely 5-star.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Volcanoes hidden gem!

Review submitted: March 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

Comfortable, convenient and better than photos. The owner was so accomodating and friendly, e-mailing check in info promptly, providing a goody basket and welcoming note re house. It is very quiet, and a great base for exploring the area around Volcano. Great restaurants are nearby and of course the National Park. I will tell friends and return. Thanks, Kris. P.S. Impressed with real flowers.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Beautiful home, right next to entrance of Volcano

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 29, 2013

We loved our stay in this home. It was super clean and new. The owners provided some nice treats and fruit which was well appreciated.
We went at sunset and sunrise to see the glow of the volcano. Beautiful grounds and an enclosed patio with bbq. Suggest you buy food before coming to volcano, as the only store in town doesn't offer much.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Great place for a family!"

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 28, 2013

We were sorry we were only able to stay one night. The lovely accommodations have been recently updated and were very nice. All the extra provided really put the experience over the top for us--welcome basket, fresh fruit and a bouquet of fresh flowers. We were pleased with the experience and kept the information to hopefully be able to stay there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"amazing"

Review submitted: December 20, 2012   Date of arrival: December 16, 2012

the place was clean, well-decorated with granite counter tops, hardwood flooring and all amenities such as washer, dryer. Obviously well kept. the fruit basket was a welcome surprise after a long trip. family enjoyed it. It was also very close to the volcano national park.

Kristin was very helpful before the booking process and during the stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Great Place to Stay with Family"

Review submitted: December 20, 2012   Date of arrival: December 11, 2012

We stayed at Halias Hideaway with another couple who were visiting with us in Kona from overseas. We decided to stay over night in Volcano to show our friends the lava. What I liked about staying in a guest house was that we had separate bedrooms but had a living room and a kitchen where we could all hang out and cook together. Halias place was perfect for just what we needed! Very clean and comfortable and affordable to stay, too. Kris was very friendly on the phone, very easy to talk to and flexible to accommodate us last minute. We did not meet her in person but she sure made us feel very welcome by leaving welcome basket of goodies in the house, beautiful flowers and fruits which we all enjoyed! We recommend Halias Hideaway to any one who's traveling in a group who wants a cozy home to stay :)
We'll definitely contact Kris again when we need a place over in Volcano!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Comfortable Inviting Home"

Review submitted: December 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

We were so glad we chose this home for our stay on the Big Island. Upon our arrival we were greeted with a welcome basket filled with waters, chocolates and coffee. There was also a dish filled with island fruit. Couldn't of asked for a more hospitable owner. It was only a 5 minute drive to the Volcano National Park. The owner thought of everything - we even had flashlights to view the Volcano at night. What an experience - a must see if you stay in Volcano. There is also a Glass Blowing shop near by - amazing work - and Volcano Village where there are restaurants. I would highly recommend this home for your stay on the Big Island. Very accommodating.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Halias Hideaway Perfect Volcano Proximity"

Review submitted: December 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

Halias Hideaway was the perfect location for exploring the Volcano region of the Big Island during our recent girls'getaway. We had two nights at this secluded, peaceful cottage and are so pleased we chose to stay here. The property is scrupulously clean, with all modern conveniences and the lovely fruit basket and goodies waiting for us upon arrival were a wonderful surprise. The beds and pillows were the best of anywhere we stayed during our 15 nights across 3 islands, (always a good indication of the care taken by the owners to look after guests). Kristin made everything so easy for us, from the moment I inquired, through booking to final checkout.
My two friends and I highly recommend this as the perfect location for Volcano exploring and trekking!
We were thrilled to be only 5 minutes drive from the Volcanoes National Park - fantastic for the night viewing and a last minute Kilauea Iki crater floor crossing the morning that we checked out (before we had to depart Hilo, which is only 30 mins away as Kristin advised, despite conflicting things we had been told by others)! We didn't even venture around Hilo (apart from flying over by Helicopter), 'cause there was too much to see around Volcano. We really needed another full day or two...
Thank you Kristin and Mike for your hospitality! It helped to make our experience of the beautiful, unique Big island even better than we had hoped (and we appreciated having a heater for the cool nights!)
We even had the local neighborhood watch check in on us while we were there (good to know they are looking out for your place).
To the reader of this - you cannot go wrong staying here. It is the best location, away from hustle and bustle, comfortable and clean, and will maximize your time spent around the Volcano area. Don't waste precious time driving to/from Hilo - there's so much to see here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Great Place to stay!"

Review submitted: December 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 24, 2012

We stayed at the house for one night and it was great. We got such a nice Welcome gift and everything was really clean and nicely prepared for us.
I'd definitely recommend the place, probably one of the best vacation homes I ever stayed at. I would definitely return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Wonderful time!"

Review submitted: December 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

Terrific rental home. Kristen was easy to work with. The home was very nice, clean, well stocked of basics (soap, detergent, cooking supplies, etc.). We were even greeted with a fruit basket, coffee, water, papayas, etc.

This place is a gem.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Wonderful stay, great owner and beautiful house!!

Review submitted: December 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 28, 2012

If you are looking for the great accommodation- you have found it. Amazing house, great facilities, wonderful owner. We stayed in this place for 1 night in august 2012. We couldn't hope for anything better. Great location, quite with all the amenities you could only wish while traveling: washer/dryer, fully equipped kitchen. The house was very clean, comfortable, and inviting. It was a great pleasure for us coming in after traveling and feeling like we were home. There is a big lot around the house and a covered porch we could lounge in the morning before heading visiting and exploring beautiful Volcano. What can I say more. The owner, Kristen, is a very attentive and accommodating person, she gave our experience the aloha feel even before we arrived to her place. I would recommend this place without any hesitation to all my friends. It's a truly aloha experience

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Too Cool"

Review submitted: December 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 21, 2012

cool place to stay, owned by 2 cool people! clean, relaxing, easy to find, easy to deal with. close to shops and food. close to the volcano.we will stay longer next time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days in early July with our 3 kids. Everyone loved the house. It was beautiful and beds were comfortable. The area is quite beautiful. The kitchen had all the needed amenities. wireless worked without any problem. The heater had issues the first day but it was promptly fixed. We also took advantage of Mike's referral for Blue Hawaiian helicopter rides and got a 15% discount. The gift basket was a pleasant surprise and Kris also took the time to get some guavas when my wife expressed an interest. In short, a wonderful stay. Thanks Mike and Kris!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Clean Great Place

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

My wife enjoyed how clean the house was and how beautiful the entire location is. I thought it was nicely located to the local site seeing. We enjoy going to local spots and the owners were right up the road and so very helpful in directing us. They knew many other local folks and we met several of them. We both enjoyed a very romantic quiet time here, along with our travels. I would recomend this spot and it's owners to whom ever and for what ever they are looking for in Hawaii. (We already have)
Ronnie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Time for The Adults and Our Kids

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

The kids truely enjoyed the lawn and had so much room for playing and exploring. We adults enjoyed the comfort and ease of getting to and from this location along with the pease we had. Such a wonderful location with all it's beauty and it was so very clean. We will return here for a longer stay without the kids on our next visit.
Suzanne T.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review