reviews for: listing #98764 - Santa Barbara, California House rental

Fully Remodeled Spanish Beach Casa ** Steps from the Beach"
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $460 - $600 /nt
    $3,000 - $3,800 /wk
    $10,000 - $15,000 /mth

sort by:

PERFECTION

Review submitted: February 21, 2014   Date of arrival: February 16, 2014

Perfect. This house is just perfect. Cheerful. Comfortable. Spacious. What a sweet location too! It was hard to say goodbye - we can't wait to come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Tracey, thank you for taking such good care of our place and it is always great to hear when the renters have such a good time. All the nice things about our place is a compliment to my wife and decorator, Heather. I am glad you want to come back, we can't wait to get back down their ourselves. Talk to you soon. Jeff.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect gem home away from home.

Review submitted: February 14, 2014   Date of arrival: February 5, 2014

Pictures don't do it justice. The home is well planned out with common area & kitchen at the heart.
The decore beautiful and comfortable.
We came out for some R & R with our three sons ages...18,19 &20.
On our first day it rained so we found ourselves enjoying quiet family time.
The kitchen was well equiped so much so that we decided to shop and cook all our meals.
The beds were very comfortable. The hot tub and back yard perfectly accentuate the home.
All in alll it was a very posetive experience We plan on doing it again.
Jeff the owner very easy to deal with from the start. Recieved security deposit back five days
after departure.
Finally I have to mention the bikes......They were the cherry ont top!!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Keren, awesome, I am glad you loved the bikes, aren't they fun!!! We went back and forth if we should get bikes and leave them in the renters garage or our personal garage, and I am so glad they are available to the renters. Heather said you left our place really clean and treated it well and we really appreciate it. It makes us want to keep renting when people treat it so well like yourself and that you enjoy it. Thanks again and we would love to have you back. Jeff. rselves) and

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

**GIRLS WEEKEND GETAWAY**

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: January 16, 2014

What a wonderful weekend getaway and retreat the house on Yanonli was for 5 childhood girlfriends. The place is immaculate and charming. No detail spared, from the decor to the outdoor furnishings and the 5 beach cruisers which allowed us to hit the beach and state street with great ease and without concern about parking. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen fantastic to cook meals and the neighborhood overall quiet and peaceful. Highly recommend this rental and will be back!

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Melissa, very cool. I am glad you had such a nice time. When we bought the place you stayed in, girlfriend get away's was exactly what we imagined and we are so thrilled you had such a nice time. I hope you were able to spoil yourself with a spa when you were there. Also, thank you for taking such great care of our place and making it really nice for the next renters that come in. Enjoy and we would love to have you back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house, great location.

Review submitted: January 12, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this house, which is very well equipped. We have stayed in several vacations rentals in the US over the years (we are from the UK), including others in Santa Barbara, and this one is our clear favorite. It is a very comfortable place to relax in, a great location close to both the beach and State Street, and we had no problem cooking and baking for our Christmas meals with all the great facilities in the kitchen. There was even an electric kettle, something we usually ruefully note is lacking, essential for our morning cups of tea!! Other great small touches was discovering a bed guard in the room with the bunk beds, which set our minds at ease about our little boy falling out of bed, and decent wifi that didn't always fall over (another usual vacation rental bugbear). I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this property, and hope we are fortunate to visit again one day.

Owners response: Thank you for your nice response and thank you for taking such good care of our place during your extended stay. We have always wanted to stay their during Christmas, and I am glad you had such a nice time. It is really important to our family that the renters can create a memory for a life time and you are welcome back. I hope the American's in Santa Barbara treated you like special guests as the Britians do when we travel to your special country. Thanks again and Happy New Year. Kindly, Jeff (the owner).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place!

Review submitted: January 12, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this house, which is very well equipped. We have stayed in several vacations rentals in the US over the years (we are from the UK), including others in Santa Barbara, and this one is our clear favorite. It is a very comfortable place to relax in, a great location close to both the beach and State Street, and we had no problem cooking and baking for our Christmas meals with all the great facilities in the kitchen. There was even an electric kettle, something we usually ruefully note is lacking, essential for our morning cups of tea!! Other great small touches was discovering a bed guard in the room with the bunk beds, which set our minds at ease about our little boy falling out of bed, and decent wifi that didn't always fall over (another usual vacation rental bugbear). I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this property, and hope we are fortunate to visit again one day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: KP, it was great having you and I hope us Americans treated you well during your visit. You know, we can tend to be full of ourselves at times, well, most of the time (ha). Thank you for your nice comments and I am glad you were able to have such a nice stay and we are thrilled to hear our place has been your favorite in SB. We take great pride in making sure the renters get what they are paying for - thanks again and you are always welcome back. kindly, jeff.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely GEM In Paradise!

Review submitted: October 9, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2013

This is a fantastic little home near all of the best parts of Santa Barbara! It is walking distance from the Beach, Sterns Warf, The Yacht Club, and the wonderful Art and Craft Show on Cabrillo Blvd. However, why walk when the owners provided 5 Crusier bikes with the property! We loved riding the bikes all over town! We rode them to lunch, shopping, coffee and to watch te sunset. It was really fantastic! The property is impeccably clean,has beautiful appliances and is just darling. The owners did a lovely job designing an inviting and warm place to stay. Their attention to detail in providing and out door shower, a BBQ, and Hot Tub are just a few of the reasons why we loved it! There are 3 full bathrooms, the beds are very comfortable and the linens are first class. The owner's couldnt be nicer or more helpful. We really loved this home and are hoping to make this an annual event! Loved it!

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Pam, awesome, I am glad you had a good time and it sounds like your trip was a lot of fun. Thank you for taking such great care of our place, you left it perfect for our family and other renters. Also, thank you for signing the guest book - very cool. I am glad you noticed all the amenities, when we remodeled it, we wanted to make it special for the renters with quality stuff to help you have a nice time. We would love to have you back again. Thank you, Jeff and Leann.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Summer Vacation

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

The house was excellent. The neighborhood was very quiet, and very close to both the beach and State street. It was easy walking distance to both. By far this kitchen was the best stocked of all the places we have stayed with VRBO over the years. The furniture was very comfortable, and there were TVs in two of the bedrooms as well as the living room. The beds were super great. There were plenty of towels. The laundry room was state of the art. There was a water purification system for drinking water. One often overlooked convenience was the rinsing station outside if you brought a little sand back from the beach. The patio was extremely comfortable, and in the morning there was a small flock of hummingbirds that lived in the trees, and it was enjoyable to watch them every morning. Overall I highly recommend staying here, and we would definitely return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Joe, thank you for the kind comments. Our property manager said you get the award for leaving it immecably clean - THANK YOU!!!. Also, thank you for the nice comments about the kitchen. That was my wife and Project Manager who gets the credit for equiping it so well, plus my wife is a great cook and likes good appliances. Ah...you noticed the outside showere, I think you are the first renter to mention it but it was very inentional to put in for our renters. Thank you again and we are thrilled you and your family had a special vacation. Kindly, Jeff.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another HAPPY Vacationer

Review submitted: May 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 2, 2013

Gorgeous home conveniently located to reach all the fun parts of Santa Barbara. Not only is the rental site super responsive with very friendly people but the Owners were there in an instant if you had any questions.
Not only was this property impeccably clean but it was packed with beautiful high end eco-friendly appliances. The owners didn’t spare any cost to making this a very friendly and warm place to stay. Open floor plan, as you can see from the pictures and a very quiet neighborhood.
After having knee surgery I was concerned about the walking distance to the beach and my ability to be able to get back. There were wonderful cruisers in the garage to whisk you away quickly all over town. They supplied very sturdy bikes, which carried my large frame easily. The walk to the beach was very short and easy when I walked down with my sister to try and catch a Santa Barbara sunset.
Did I say this property was conveniently located! Location-Location-Location! I found this property perfectly placed. It was a short walk to a very small beautiful adobe Amtrak station that blended very well with the architecture of the area. You could easily hop a train to be whisked away to another location. The train whistle as if comes into the station brings back very romantic memories of days gone by when people weren’t in such a rush to get somewhere.
I loved this place and would definitely rent again when we vacation again in Santa Barbara. Jeff, thank you so much for opening up this home for others to enjoy.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Rene, thank you very much for your kind, thoughtful and detailed response. If I ever need a speech writer or Advertising executive, I am going to try and hire you :-). I am glad it met your expectations. Your experience is "exactly" what my wife and I were hoping for and what the renters (and our family) could experience. I am glad you liked the cruisers, we purchased them last year and as you found out, a lot of fun and convenient. Our house cleaner said you left the house immaculately spotless. THANK YOU. We would love to have you back any time. Thank you again, Kindly, Jeff.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

La Casa Bonita!

Review submitted: April 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 18, 2013

What a little slice of heaven in the heart of Santa Barbara!

The house was warm and inviting! A place you step into and feel totally at home! It was immaculately clean! The kitchen was well stocked, the couch was comfy, the beds were comfy, and the patio was a get away in and of itself!

The location was perfect! While you could get in the car and drive if you chose to, we chose to park the car and explore on foot and bike. State street is just a couple blocks away. And if you can't find it on State Street, it can't be found! Great restaurants, nightlife, and more shopping than dollars in the bank! We ate at Joe's cafe for breakfast and went back in the evening for the best cocktails in town! We tried Buccatini's, a little Italian restaurant where we could sit on the sidewalk and observe the goings on. We also tried Mexican food at Casa Blanca - Yum! Backyard Bowl was yum for breakfast as well for oatmeal, fruit and yogurt lovers! At the end of State Street is the Funk Zone - for wine enthusiasts who want to taste without the worry of having to drive home! Super fun little area with a number of tasting rooms, some with music - and of course there are always fun people tasting wine! To the south a couple of blocks was the beach and the boardwalk. Great for walking or riding bikes! Brophy's is a must - its where the locals hang. Awesome cocktails and clam chowder. The basil vinagrette salad dressing was to die for!

If you are going to SB, I would highly recommend a stay at this Casa Bonita! We travel frequently and have stayed at the best of the best. This is right in there!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Marie - Jeff, I am glad you had such a nice stay - wow, you really did it up in town. You just gave Leann and myself more places to go. Thanks. Also, thank you for taking such good care of our place as well. It was clean and tidy just like when you arrived. Also, I know you have stayed at many nice places around the world and we take it a as a big compliment that you enjoyed your time in SB and at our place and it was on par with other places. THANK YOU.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect stay-cation

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

This was the perfect vacation house for our multi-generational family. Truly a home-away-from-home, with all the amenities, plus the location. We barely used the car. Made full use of the bikes, the little market on the corner (Santa Cruz) with a real butcher! State Street, the beach, the fish market at the Harbor-- I could go on and on. Jeff was very responsive and helpful with our most trivial questions. No complaints- Highly recommend. Would return in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Patty. We are glad you had such a nice time. We are thrilled it worked out. We are selective who we rent it too and I am glad it was such a nice time for you and all of your family You have to love those Townie bikes - they are a lot of fun to toodle on the beach and around town. THANKS AGAIN. Jeff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Christmas Vacation

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

Our family of six adults had a wonderful stay here. The house is extremely comfortable, clean and well furnished. The layout and décor are fantastic! The kitchen is equipped with everything needed to cook a full Christnas dinner. The location is superb – close enough to walk to State Street, Stearns Wharf, the beach, and the harbor. The bicycles and the hot tub make the experience even better! Everyone was very impressed - thank you for providing such a great vacation spot.

Owners response: I am glad you had such a good stay and positive experience, that is awesome. Also, thank you for taking such good care of our place as well. We try and prescreen renters as much as we can and who will take good care of our place so - THANK YOU. Hopefully we will see you again. Blessings, Jeff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Experience!

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

We rented this house for our family Christmas vacation. It was cozy with lots of family space. The kitchen was filled with modern appliances, all the cooking gear we could want, and a large refrigerator. We were greeted with a nice welcome note and a bottle of wine. The hot tub was used every day and fresh limes from the tree were used for cooking. We took advantage of the bikes (5) and rode along the coast. They were great and even had a pump handy for filling up the tires. One person in our family had to work remotely a couple of days and took advantage of the desk and wired internet connection to make it convenient. All the rest of us connected through the wireless capability in the house. With 6 of us sharing the house it was easy to get laundry done with the great washer and dryer located in its own room. Lots and lots of towels - both beach towels and bath towels - were available. We did a fair amount of cooking at the house and the only thing I found lacking were extra dish towels. There were about six of them but we blew through them with all the dishwashing we did. The island with bar stools and an outlet at one end made it convenient for people to be around the kitchen while we were cooking. And because it was an open area with the family room connected to the kitchen area, it was easy to be together all the time. There was plenty of closet space. The showers and bathrooms were great with lots of storage space for toiletries. The location is in a quiet neighborhood within easy walking distance to the beach, pier, grocery store, liqueur store, and State Street. The train tracks are a block away and so you can hear trains at all hours. It was a bit startling the first night but we quickly got used to it.

I'd recommend this rental for anyone looking to vacation in Santa Barbara. And I'd go back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Keith, thank you for your nice comments and thank you for taking such good care of our place during your stay. It sounds like you had a full house and got full use of it. Congratulations. We look forward to spending a Christmas sometime there ourselves. Thank you for the input on the dish towels, we never new so it is helpful information. I am glad you got good use of the bikes, they are a lot of fun. Good luck on your new job, I hope it goes well. Kindly, Jeff

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

A Girls Getaway Weekend

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: November 29, 2012

My childhood friends and I went down for a weekend getaway to Santa Barbara. We found this house in a wonderful location, because it was within easy walking distance to the beach and to State Street. It was a wonderful property also for hanging out and catching up. The decor was beautiful, and the layout was great for a group of gals to have a wonderful time in Santa Barbara.

Recommended for: girls getaway

Owners response: Kelby, thank you for your nice comments and thank you for taking such good care of our place during your visit. I am glad it was what you expected. Your type of experience is what were hoping for and thank you for letting me know about the breaker that got tripped. We got it fixed. Thanks again and you are always welcome back. Jeff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Vacation!!

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

We felt completely spoiled during our stay at this property! The location was perfect and the attention to detail, unsurpassed!! You can tell that the owners take great pride in the property and want you to have the best experience possible. We felt like we stepped into the pages of a West Elm catalog with it's warm hues and comfy furnishings.The decor is very "Santa Barbara" and we loved the open floor plan. The cruisers in the garage are over the top~complete with baskets, locks, and helmets. There were even a couple of band-aids in one of the baskets which was a cute touch and thankfully not needed on this trip! We are alums of UCSB and loved being so close to the beach, State Street, the pier etc, so that we could visit our old stomping grounds with ease. We celebrated Thanksgiving at the house and enjoyed cooking in the well appointed kitchen. Thanks so much for for your beautiful home. We WILL be back!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Lea, that is fantastic you had such a great time. The Towny bikes were my wifes idea and I am glad you could use them, I think they are a lot of fun as well. Thank you for taking such great care of the house during your stay, it makes continue to want to rent it and makes it nice for the other renters. The house cleaner said you left it in great condition. Thanks again. We appreciated having you. Have a great Christmas. Jeff and Leann

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Angel

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

I highly recommend this beautiful and comfortable property. We felt at home as soon as we entered the house. We did not miss a thing, everything was there, bikes, , lovely beds, great kitchen and a hot tub in the relaxing garden .
A bottle of wine and a welcome card was a nice surprise.Thanks again for letting us share your lovely home !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House

Review submitted: September 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

Our stay was enjoyable and relaxing. The home was nice and clean. Appliances were up to date. Walking distance to the beach. The listing photos accurately relfect the rentals appearance. I certainly would recommend this home to a friend or relative. Having the bicycles in the garage for guest use was a special touch.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Luis, thank you for your nice note and I am glad you liked the Townie bikes they were my wifes idea. We will even be adding two more as well. It was a pleasure having you and thank you for treating our place so well, the house cleaner said you left it in great condition. We appreciate it very much. Kindly, Jeff.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Beach Casa

Review submitted: September 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

Jeffrey, I just wanted to take a moment and comment on how incredible our stay was at your Santa Barbara home this summer. Just 2 blocks from the beach and 2 blocks from lower State Street, it is the ideal location to enjoy the best of Santa Barbara. Your newly remodled home is tastefully done, very comfortable, and perfect for our family of 5. And the East Beach Grill was fabulous, as promised, and just a nice walk down the beach.

The home was very well furnished, spotless and there was even a nice welcome basket waiting for us when we arrived. We have stayed in many VRBO properties over the years and there are none better. We will be back for sure.

Again many thanks for making us feel so welcome and for allowing us to enjoy your cozy casa near the beach in Santa Barbara.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Steve, thank you for your nice note about our place. It was great having you and we take it as a big compliment delaying your trip up to Carmel so you could spend an extra day in SB - very cool. Also, thank you for your advise on Ironman Lake Placid, your pointers were very spot on, I just didn't have a big enough engine :-(. We hope you will join us again. Kindly, Jeff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Magical Beach Cottage

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 30, 2012

The "home" you created was just perfect for our family of five...plus Stella. We so appreciated your getting a beach umbrella, high chair and pac'n'play for our use. The layout of the house was pure genius. I have to admit, once I got the exact location of the home I of course googled it and was a bit skeptical about the location in terms of the Amtrak station. In years past, my husband and I stayed out on the beach near the old Miramar beach cottages. At that location, the train felt like it was heading directly through the house out there. I am pleased to report that the train and the station were a non-issue!! The location of the house could not have been any better and we had a wonderful four day vacation. Lots of bike rides, paddle boarding, walks on the beach path and wonderful morning coffees off State St.
Thank you so much for creating such a restful place.

Owners response: I am glad you had such a nice time with your family and felt that our place represented what you were looking for - we want our renters and their families thrilled with their experience. Thank you for taking such great care of our place and treating it like your home. It helps make it special for the next renters and our family. Kindly, Jeff

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Luxurious Comfortable Casa, Perfectly Located

Review submitted: September 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

I rented this property for my family (4 adults/1 child) for 4 nights at the end of August.

The pictures posted on VRBO very accurately depict this house. It is decorated in soothing tones, has very comfortable furniture and bedding, and is superbly located putting it walking distance to State St. and the beach. We easily walked from this house, to the wonderful market held on Sundays along the beach walk which exhibits art and craft vendors.

We loved spending time at this home...we would leave the doors and windows open letting the "feel" of Santa Barbara in. The back patio has super comfortable furniture and lush plants/trees. We enjoyed sitting out there listening to the sounds of nature and watching the birds that visited. It is very peaceful, very zen. There is a beautiful grapefruit tree in the backyard providing yummy fruit to juice. The kitchen is open so that you feel connected to whoever is in the living room. It has every thing you might need to make meals. I particularly loved the seating around the kitchen island. I stayed in the bottom bunk bed and was pleasantly surprised in that it was one of the best beds I've ever slept in away from home. There are 3 bikes that come with renting the property (we did not use them this trip but it is a great "extra" benefit as biking Santa Barbara is a blast).

The local contact, Heather, was very friendly and prompt in answering questions and suggesting restaurants. We felt very taken care of.

I can't wait to stay in this house again...it is comfortable in a luxurious way and has a beachy, nature friendly feel that beckons you to come in and stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Jennifer, thank you for taking such good care of our place during your visit -we appreciated it very much and you are
always welcome back. We are glad you had a such a nice experience and enjoyed SB and our little beach Casa like we were hoping. That is great. Also, a big shout out to your great effort in the SB triathlon – well done. I have done 13 Ironmans so I know it
takes a lot of work so, great job. Thank you again and we look forward to your hopeful, return visit. Kindly, Jeff.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House!

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 21, 2012

We absolutely loved your place......in fact we loved it so much we want to buy it off you and move right in....it was perfect for our family of 4:)....really it was a great location, the house was perfectly done with all the amenities and we even got to know your neighbors with the 2 darling kids.....we had a great time as a family and we can't wait to go back again......well done and thank you so much for creating such a great space to enjoy and create lasting memories! Catherine

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Catherine, thank you for taking such great care of our place during your visit. We would love to have you and your family
back again. We are glad you had such a good time and we appreciate the comment, “we want to buy it off of you.” Credits should all go to my wife, Heather (our designer and friend) and Todd (the Contractor, Heathers husband our friend) Thank you again and
we look forward to your hopeful, return visit. Kindly, Jeff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming and beach home!

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2012

We have stayed at other rental homes in Santa Barbara, and this is our favorite! The beautiful and meticulously maintained home was inviting, comfortable, and conveniently located. It is a very short walk to West Beach and Sterns Wharf and only a slightly longer walk to State Street shops and restaurants. Our five year old daughter loved the patio, outdoor shower and bunk beds. We loved the quiet neighborhood, thoughtful ameneties and great location. Jeff, the owner, is very responsive and friendly and was eager to make sure we had everything we needed for our stay. We would absolutely stay here again and hope to be back next summer!

Owners response: Kimberly, thank you for the great feedback. It is always a great compliment when somebody wants to return and thank you so much for treating it look it was your own home. The house cleaner said you left it in great condition. THANKS!! It is interesting to learn what people use and like (ie the outside shower for when you come home from the beach and the bunk beds). That is great. Thanks again and I apologize again about the intial mix up and thank you for your understanding. We would love to have you back. Jeff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Gem

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

A beautiful, newly renovated property, artfully decorated and nicely equipped. A perfect location close to the beach and within easy walking distance of the State St. downtown area full of shops and restaurants. The main living area of the house opens onto a lovely patio surrounded by lush plantings and flowers with a great seating area and a hot tub. We spent much of our at-home time out there. The linens were high end, the towels were plentiful and the kitchen had everything we needed and then some. All-in-all, a great experience and I'd recommend this property to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Sandra. You experienced what we were hoping for in your time in SB. I am glad you enjoyed the back yard, other than the great location of the Beach Casa, the back yard is what drew us to the property - I am glad you enjoyed it and want to come back. Also, on a side note, thank you for your suggestion on a ceiling fan in the second bedroom - we think that was a great idea and we are going to get one installed asap. Thanks again - we appreciate you treating our place like your home. Jeff.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved this house!

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

We had such a wonderful time in Santa Barbara! The house is stunning and the owner and his managers were so accommodating. We couldn't ask for a better location; two blocks to the right and you're at the beach and pier; two blocks to the left you're on State St. with fun restaurants, bars, and shops. We walked and rode bikes everywhere. It was a wonderful experience. Thank you Jeff for everything!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Victoria, awesome. I am glad you guys had such a good time. That was the goal. Also, I am glad you enjoyed the bikes so much. That was my wifes idea, they are a lot of fun. It is hard to describe how good of a location it is but you did a great job. Thanks again and I am glad we were able to find the apple tv device. Kindly, Jeff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Better than we could have imagined!

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 31, 2012

First of all the pictures cannot even begin to show you how amazing this place is! One of the best locations and perfect for spending our anniversary with our best friends! From bike rides to the beach, coffee on the patio over breakfast, to hot tub soaks with a glass of wine at night, it was the perfect house for us! Very spacious and provided us with every comfort we could have imagined far surpassing any hotel we were considering. AND we were provided with the quality of non toxic/eco-friendly soaps and cleaning products we use at home! If I lived in Santa Barbara it would be the kind of home I would want to own. Thank you so much for providing a memorable place to call home while on vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you John for your nice comments. We will give my wife and our house cleaner credit for the non toxic cleaning supplies. Your comments met our objective for your stay (memorable place to call home on vacation). Wow, perfect. Thank you again. We appreciate you taking such good care of our place. Kindly, Jeff and family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wish we had found this place sooner!!

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 5, 2012

We had to find a place to stay in Santa Barbara with minimal notice and we lucked out when we found this place!! The house was just wonderful - clean, nice furnishings, and very well stocked. They thought of everything! Anything you could need from cooking supplies to Ziploc bags - the kind of things you forget to pack but always end up needing! Any and ALL kitchen appliances (including a popcorn popper!), etc.
We were 2 separate families staying in this house (which seemed much larger than the pictures portrayed) and there was plenty of room for 5 adults to be hanging around comfortably. Every room has its own full bath so privacy was not an issue either.
The location was great as well, close to the beach and still close enough to walk downtown to enjoy the shopping and restaurants on State Street. We spent a fair amount of our evenings just relaxing in the backyard which was just wonderful.
Most importantly, the owner (Jeff) was extremely understanding with our unique situation of needing a place on such short notice, and he was easy to communicate with when we had questions, prompt to reply to emails. I know we will DEFINITELY chose this house for our next trip to Santa Barbara. Absolutely loved it!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Lindsey, we are thrilled you had such a nice time. It is a special place to me and my family and our goal is/was that it would be special to you. Thank you again for your nice and helpful comments. Also, thank you for taking such good care of it while you their - WE REALLY APPRECIATE IT!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming Home with an excellent Location in Santa Barbara.......steps from the beach!

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

This Charming home is just minutes from the beach in Santa Barbara and has all the ammenities one would want! Enjoy the beautifully appointed kitchen, three bedrooms and three bathrooms and a lovely private patio with hot tub. Walking distance to State Street and most all activities. It was delightful to find a home so well taken care of and also so comfortable. Totally enjoyed every moment of my stay........even in overcast weather!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Patty, I love your town of Tucson (especially biking Mt. Lemon) and I am thrilled you had a such a great stay in our town of Santa Barbara. I am glad the home felt so comfortable to you, that was the goal in the remodel. Thank you again and we would love to have you back, you were great to have. Jeff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Deanna

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

What a beautiful home away from home in which to explore Santa Barbara. This home is sooo close to everything you'd wish to do...beach, shopping and excellent restraunts. The decor is so welcoming and cheerful. The back yard patio retreat is a peaceful place to sit and relax. House is well stocked and ready for all you could need for a wonderful vacation.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Deanna, I am glad you had such a wonderful time. It is hard to appreciate on the website how close you actually are to State Street and the beach(a minute walk). We hope you will join us again, it was a pleasure having you and your girl friends stay at our little Ocean Oasis. Kindly, Jeff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Spanish Beach Casa!

Review submitted: May 12, 2012   Date of arrival: May 6, 2012

This quaint Spanish style casa more than exceeded my expectations. It is the ideal combination of a true tradiational Spanish style beach casa combined with state of the art updates. It exudes charm and comfort. You are steps away from the beach and State Street and all that Santa Barabara has to offer.I will be back again and would recommned it to anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Karen, we are thrilled you had a great time. We hope you come back. Thank you for being such caring and great renters.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Jen

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 6, 2012

Absolutely flawless!! next time I will stay longer, there is so much to do the location is perfect, one block off the beach and state street. Lots of beautiful places to bike, run, hike or just walk, shop and eat. This is a place for every age to enjoy. The house has been very well taken care of and the decor is fabulous you will feel very spoiled, we spent much of our time dinners etc. at the house it is beautiful and relaxing, so much better than a hotel.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jen, we are thrilled you had a such a great time. Your experience met our objectives. We want our little Ocean Oasis to feel like home away from home. We hope you come back, it was great having you. Jeff.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location. Perfect for family vacation!

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

We recently stayed in the home for an extended weekend getaway. The house has been newly renovated and is decorated so perfectly! The house is cozy, comfortable and had all the amenities. To say it is a great location is an understatement. It is in a PERFECT location! The house is one block away from the beach/boardwalk and one block away from State Street in the other direction. State Street is full of restaurants, wine tasting and shopping. The trip and house far exceeded my expectations and we had a lovely time!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jill, oh man, I am glad you such a great time despite not having the typical Santa Barbara weather. Thank you again for your nice words. It is very important that our guests (ie you the renter) have a wonderful stay and it sounds like you did. Thank you again and I hope you come back again and the first bottle of wine is on us for the weather not co-perating during your stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls Weekend

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

I just returned from a girls weekend stay at your lovely home. The house is so beautifully decorated and so comfortable... as well as ideally located for shopping on State Street and the beach. We spent many hours walking around charming Santa Barbara shopping and trying the local cuisine. We took long walks on the beach and ended the evenings with wine and a soak in the hot tub. Thank you for the perfect girls weekend.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Becky, thank you for staying at our place. I am happy that it was a great girls weekend. You gotta love how close the beach and boardwalk is to your stay. Thanks again and you are always welcome back. Enjoy!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Five Star Vacation Experience in Santa Barbara!

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: February 19, 2012

If you are looking for a beautiful stylish, comfortable home near the beach and shopping, this is it! Centrally located near Stearns Wharf, the Harbor, and State St., it also is within walking distance of great restaurants, bike rentals, the wine tasting dist., beach walk, art galleries and so much more. This classy three bedroom/three bath home is tastefully furnished with all the amenities of home - new kitchen, appliances, state of the art washer and dryer and an updated office space with wi-fi. Nothing was spared in regard to the high-end furnishings, linens, kitchen supplies etc. The secluded backyard is furnished with lovely patio furniture, lots of sunshine, overhanging grapefruit and lemon trees and a new hot tub for soaking and relaxing. The owners, property managers and gardeners were extremely helpful in making our stay very enjoyable and they asked us to give them feedback about anything that we might need. This great home helped make our four week rental experience in Santa Barbara fantastic! We highly recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a luxurious, immaculate, centrally located home for your dream vacation, the beautiful photos of the property are accurate, it looks this good...enjoy!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow, thank you so much Rick and Diane. We were a little nervous during your stay since you were the first renters since the remodel and we are thrilled you had such a good time and that every thing went well. It was great having you and I hope you can make it down every February.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review