reviews for: listing #98765 - White Mountains, New Hampshire House rental

Rustic Elegance Log Home
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  White Mountains NH
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $209 - $209 /nt
    $1,300 - $1,300 /wk
    $3,000 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

Relaxing and charming

Review submitted: March 17, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

We loved our family vacation in Littleton,NH.
The house is quite big and inviting, clear and very well appointed.

We have already recommanded this house to friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Patient and kind owner! Lovely home. :)

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: February 3, 2014

The best part of my review has to be saved for the owner. You see, we were problem guests. My dog got food poisoning. In a single night, my dog vomited 20 times and had diarrhea. I ended up completely replacing anything that she damaged, but what was amazing was how incredibly kind the owner, Susan, was about it. I was losing my mind, because I seriously thought my dog was dying. As a single person with no kids, my dog is my life. Susan could have gotten angry or nasty about the damage, but her primary concern was for my dog and me. Her first words in any form of contact were always about the dog. That kindness goes an incredibly long way. What was a wretched experience was made better for the fact that we were so incredibly well cared for by someone who had every right to be angry with us. While I took responsibility for replacing the carpet, she nonetheless assisted me with that by sending her property manager to help me move furniture, measure the room, etc. In the end, we bought a new carpet, two new quilts, and a comforter. What was also incredible is that Susan did not take that opportunity to avail herself of any sort of upgrade. While other owners might have requested 1,000 thread count Egyptian cotton, Susan let us replace everything with the exact same quality that was already there.

Another instance in which Susan was just amazing was that I had accidentally not closed the door all the way at night. In the morning, the house was cold. The Nest heating system alerted Susan of that fact. Rather than get mad at me, Susan called a heating repairman to service the house just to make sure that the heat was working properly!!!

Those experiences aside, I must also say that the home really is lovely. We were quite comfortable there. The house has a simple elegance. It's down to earth and carefully decorated with sweet touches. It's also supremely comfortable; I loved the downstairs master bed! There were also subtle things that I liked—in a lot of rental homes, the owner's stuff fills every available space. However, in this one, there was an entire cabinet taller than I am in which to put all of my groceries. That may seem like a silly thing to credit, but when you've got 50 cans of dog food and your own food, it's nice to open the freezer and not find someone else's half-eaten ice cream. The home was also clean and well cared for.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Family Retreat

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

My family needed a place to stay while visiting family in VT. After previous experiences with VRBO and comparing with local hotel prices, renting a house for a few days was the best choice. It costs less to rent an entire house in many cases, per night, then it does to stay in a hotel room. This home was beautiful and very spacious, plenty for the wife, myself, our two kids, and Shih Tzu dog. And with Internet access, I was able to maintain contact with work and the kids didn't go into net withdrawals. We will definitely be bookmarking this listing for future visits up to VT.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nov 2012

Review submitted: November 19, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

We had a wonderful time in this beautiful house! The house was exactly and described. It was very clean and had all the things we needed for our stay.
The house was at a perfect location for the hiking and site seeing we had planned.
Chris and Sue sent a very nice list of things to see and do in the area - Dog Mountain was a huge hit, the local trails were perfect for our little dog.
Would definitely stay here again and would recommend this place to anyone!
Thank you Chris and Sue!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Just Lovely

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 13, 2012

My husband and I and two adult friends stayed in this home for a 5 day stay. The house is well appointed, with an especially nice kitchen. The location of the bedrooms (separated) make it a great place for adult couples. The house is just about 10 minutes from downtown Littleton (cute shops, restaurants) and a close drive to many wonderful hiking venues...which was a big plus. I like that many things were supplied by the owners, so even if you forgot something small, you could probably find it already in the house (razor, shampoo). Only issues: a little damp in the lower level (but it rained everyday of our stay), and they do provide a dehumitifier..and the griddle unit on the stove is not really usuable....did not get hot enough to cook a pancake :)
Overall, I love this place....nice house, great local :)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

so much better than a hotel!

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

Dear Susan and Chris,

Thank you for sharing your home with us. It was perfect! We enjoyed the
beautiful setting, and your decor just made it so warm and relaxing. We
actually looked forward to getting back to the house at the end of our daily
activities...so much better than a hotel!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Good Place to stay!

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

It's a good place ! you never know how wonderful it is until you open the door. Go ahead to make it

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review