reviews for: listing #98855 - US Virgin Islands, Caribbean Villa rental

New! Cruzan Sands Villa! 3-4 BR Right on the Beach!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Salt River Beach
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $4,800 - $8,500 /wk

sort by:

Perfect vacation home

Review submitted: February 22, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

What an amazing week. The house had a great location, with access to the beach at Columbus Landing and our own swimming pool. We did not have to go anywhere to have a great time- the kids loved the pool and splashing in the ocean and my husband could snorkel right behind the villa! Beach chairs were provided so that I could watch them splash and read a book. The ocean breeze kept the place perfectly cool (our trip was in February)and we used the air conditioning only for the rooms our kids slept in. The place was exceptionally clean, the beds were comfortable and we had everything we needed and more! For the couple of minor things we needed some attention on, Adele, the property manager had it taken care of in minutes. Incredible service! Make sure you visit La Reina's chicken shack and have some of their johnny cakes- Adele recommended them and our kids still can't quit talking about them! We also enjoyed a sail to Buck Island on the Jolly Roger, a fabulous dinner at Savant, and so much more!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cruzan Sands Villa

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: January 11, 2014

We had a great time. It was great for the grand children to swim in the pool and the ocean. The ocean was right there to swim, snorkel and collect sea shells. The kitchen accomodated all of us. The full moon scenes were picture perfect in the evening. I loved the privacy we had.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spent almost every moment in the sun and sand!

Review submitted: September 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

From our Guestbook: We had a wonderful time. Spent almost every moment in the sun and sand. Beached out and swam in the pool, too. Scarlett perfected her handstands and forward flips in the water, Gavin became a pro at swimming (with his swim vest) under the water and Cameron was our napping pro! Saw sting rays - big fish - little fish - surfers - fishermen and even a man on a horse swimming along! Beautiful house and view! We had a great family time! I think we created memories for a lifetime here. A lot of family bonding and those ocean winds seem to blow away any thoughts of home or OK routines. Happy to have spent a week at the Cruzan Sands Villa in St. Croix USVI!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a wonderful trip!

Review submitted: September 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 30, 2013

From our Guestbook: What a wonderful trip! Great location!
Recommend: EAT@ Cane Bay. Night kayak with Travis at Bush Tribe. Buck Island with Jolly Roger charter - tell Captain Mike the Tennessee crew sent ya! Snorkel here, Cane Bay and the pier. Buffet at the Palms (Mocko Jumbies). Drinks @ Pirate's Tavern (& Mexican food).
Hope to be back next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place!

Review submitted: September 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 30, 2013

From our Guestbook: Great Place! We had a wonderful time. The house is in a great location. It's easy to get to everything you want to do. The proximity to the beach is great for the kids. The pool is just the right size for adults and younger kids. The older kids enjoyed it, too. As a matter of fact, our 5 year old learned to swim in the pool. That is a memory made for a lifetime! We snorkeled just to the west of the house where the old piers are. We saw stingrays, spotted eagle rays, squid, barracuda and a multitude of other fish. For great coral gardens, snorkel Buck Island and Cane Bay. We also found good snorkeling just south of the pier at Frederiksted - maybe a mile or mile and a half south. Also, don't miss Point Udall. It's a nice drive and it's the Easternmost point in US Territory.
We are already talking about a return trip! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for sharing your beautiful home with us!

Review submitted: September 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

From our Guestbook: Thanks for sharing your beautiful home with our family. Anchor Dive took the boys out for 3 dives this week and Lori even came to the house to do their certification in our pool! We enjoyed Kayaking, paddle boarding, jet skiing, and golf - oh and Buck Island with Captain Mike - Rowdy Joes was everyone's favorite restaurant! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome week, no regrets whatsoever!

Review submitted: September 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

From our Guestbook: Awesome week, no regrets whatsoever. Like my Dad said, 2 MUSTS are having a meal at EAT. It is delicious and has a great atmosphere. If you scuba, go to Anchor Dive! They are great people to spend an afternoon with and they know the best spots. Enjoy your time at the beach and on this beautiful island. Make memories that you'll never forget as we did. Have fun in the sun but don't get burned!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Week with Family and Friends

Review submitted: September 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

From our Guestbook: Great week with family and friends.

Snorkel near the old pier posts to the west. Good coral and fish. Also abundant fish towards the public beach to the East. Scuba with Anchor Dive. Wiz and Laurie are the best! Don't miss the West Wall. Have at least one dinner at EAT. Great food and unbeatable view.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful home - Beautiful beach

Review submitted: September 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 19, 2013

From our Guestbook: Beautiful home - Beautiful beach - We had a wonderful family vacation this week! Diving and snorkeling are awesome here!! We made a "ton" of memories this week!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a wonderful time and loved the house!

Review submitted: September 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

From our Guestbook: We had a wonderful time and loved the house! Buck Island, ATVs in the rain forest, snorkeling, Mocko Jumbies, shrimp corn dogs at UR Here, shopping, and Dale at the beach bar on Cane Bay on a rainy day...We could go on. All made our trip unforgettable. Hope to come again sometime.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas Week 2012

Review submitted: September 13, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

From our Guestbook: The Philadelphia crew had a great visit - ocean swimming every day, finding an abundance of sea glass (much better than the Jersey Shore!), snorkeling at Buck Island off the Jolly Roger, horseback riding with Jill and Paul (a laugh a minute), meeting tons and tons of locals, men, women and dogs alike, and many, many good meals - Rowdy Joes and Eat - and, of course, Duggans Reef.
Dana and Scott - you have a beautiful home and we enjoyed every minute of our stay - Happy New Year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cruzan Sands Villa is AMAZING!

Review submitted: August 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 30, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. The villa is only steps from the beach. While not large, the rooms are fairly spacious and the property has everything you would want in a vacation rental. Each bedroom has an en suite bath. If you have very young children, be aware that there is no bathtub, all bathrooms are equipped with very nice showers. There are zoned air conditioning units for each space; very nice to have when the weather is humid. The kitchen is well equipped. There is covered outdoor space and a small swimming pool. (The pool is large enough and served our purposes very well. In fact, my 5 year old learned to swim in it!) The house was very clean and everything is new.

Cruzan Sands Villa is also in a great location. It is adjacent to Salt River Marina and Columbus Point (Columbus landed here in 1493). It is centrally located on the north shore where the surf is calm. It is an easy drive to go anywhere on the island. We drove all over the island during our stay. We went to Point Udall, the easternmost point in U.S. controlled territories and to the pier and beaches in Frederiksted where the water is flat calm and the snorkeling is excellent. Do NOT miss the bioluminescent kayak tour with Bush Tribe. Amazing!!! Captain Mike and the Jolly Roger is the way to go for a day trip to Buck Island for snorkeling the underwater trails and pristine white beaches. We would also highly recommend the beach and snorkeling at Cane Bay, a short drive from the house. While there, be sure to eat at 'Eat @ Cane Bay'. The food and drinks there will not disappoint. In fact, 'Eat' was my favorite restaurant that we visited during our short week on the island. While there are better snorkeling locations on the island, we enjoyed the snorkeling at Cruzan Sands as much as anywhere we went. It is very nice to be able to walk 50 feet from your back door and snorkel right off the beach. While snorkeling here, we saw three different types of stingrays, barracuda, and even an octopus; not to mention a multitude of colorful fishes.

Adele, the property manager, was wonderful. She was not intrusive, but attentive and available when we needed her. She is a wealth of information about island activities and will not steer you wrong. I would recommend this place to anyone. I am already starting to think about a return trip!

Lastly, my communications with Dana, the owner, were cordial and very professional. She made doing business a pleasure.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Oh My Goodness! This Villa is Wonderful!

Review submitted: April 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

Cruzan Sands Villa is the most wonderful place we have stayed in our travels throughout the Caribbean. On an island where everything is historic, it is so nice to stay in a brand new, well maintained villa. It is remarkable that the owners can offer this villa for so little! It is the best value we have experienced. It is truly luxurious. It is truly right on the beach. It is truly a vacation paradise. The rooms are spacious. The beds are so comfortable. The living room and outside living room are so well designed that every moment we spent at Cruzan Sands was effortless. The kitchen was nicer than ours at home! Because it is an island home, we understand that corrosion is a big issue. When the grill did not light up right away, the property managers came by in what seemed like an instant! We felt we were well cared for here. The beauty of this location cannot be understated. Each morning when we awoke to the perfect sunrise, we were refreshed and renewed. The quiet, winding road that leads to the villa is majestic. The location on the island is central and we had no problems getting anywhere. OH, I wish I were there now! We have already planned our return visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Beach Front Paradise

Review submitted: February 15, 2013   Date of arrival: December 31, 2012

We actually arrived in St. Croix on Saturday, 12/28 and discovered we were staying in a dump! After 2 nights we were desperate to find another place. We found Cruzan Sands Villa on the web. I called Dana immediately and she had us in paradise within 3 hours. It was New Years Eve! There were 5 of us and the house was perfect. It is brand new and includes all the amenties you could want. The ocean breeze comes right through the the patio doors.

The 3 bedrooms are like master suites with each having a private bath. The home is warmly decorated and all the furniture in the living area is very comfy. They even have rocker recliners which are very inviting for your afternoon nap after a long day at the beach. There is a big flat screen tv and dvd payer. They have ac and ceiling fans in all the rooms.

Oh, the beach, it is right outside. It is beautiful and serene, like having your own private beach. The sand is soft and and great for walking in the morning and evening. There are beach chairs and towels, a cooler and beach toys. Outside on the patio, there is a fresh water pool, large dining table, another smaller table and lounge chairs too. There is also a full size gas grill which we used to grill steaks and shrimp. There is plenty of room for everyone to relax and spread out.

The drive to this lovely home is quiet, secluded and gated. The home manager, Adele and her husband are very attentive to your every need. They were always available and and responded quickly to any question or request. You will be glad they are close, since we had an emergency room run while there. Did I say that it is perfectly located to everything on the island? Christianstead is to the west and Cane Bay is to the east. I highly recommend that you explore this island from end to end and be sure to go to Buck Island. Terero is the trip to book to go to Buck Island. It is a the best on the island. The island food is superb and a Pueblo grocery store is near by.

We had Julianna prepare us a feast one night. We had 8lb stuffed lobsters with the fixings and local treats. Her pasta with vodka sauce was divine. She even included some wonderful rum drinks. This is a definite must. Plan it early in your stay so you can be sure to eat it all up.

When we go back to St. Croix there will be no doubt in our minds where we will stay. It was true paradise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We thouroughly enjoyed our stay at Cruzan Sands!

Review submitted: December 27, 2012   Date of arrival: December 8, 2012

We rented the beach house as well as the guest home for my sister's wedding on 12/12/12. Our decision to come to St. Croix was based on two criteria: First we wanted to stay within the U.S., so we didn't have to mess with passports for extended family. Secondly, we wanted a home that was right on the beach since we had four children with us. That is how we ended up at Cruzan Sands! The photos accurately portray the home and the amenities. The location was great, and not far from amenities. We ended up touring the whole island, and I am not sure that I would've stayed anywhere else! The winds off of the beach were sufficient to keep you cool while hanging out on the deck. We were not aware of the "Christmas Winds" that begin at the first of December, but thankful they were there when we were outdoors. The pool was a big hit for the kids. It's not big, but just the right size for small ones. They spent more time in the pool than they did on the beach, which surprised us all! The beach has GREAT shells and reef "paraphernalia" if you enjoy seeing what washes up on the shore daily. We found tons of Conch Shells, and even made/decorated our own Conch Shell Christmas Tree! My father & husband went scuba diving with Salt River Marina and literally went right out in front of our beach house. They said it was a good reef with lots of fish and marine life. I am more of a "stay where I can touch" ocean person, so I never ventured out to the reef. I think if the winds were calmer (during different time of year), you could easily swim/ walk to the reef from the beach. We went to Christiansted for the Crab Races on Monday Night. It was fun, however there are so many hermit crabs right by the home, we ended up having our own crab races, much more fun in deed! The beach area by the home is very scenic, we ended up taking many family photos in front of the home & just down the bend by Salt River Bay.
To sum it up, I think this home offers something for everyone! Whether you want to relax and do NOTHING, or whether you tour the whole island & plan lots of excursions, you won't be disappointed with this home! We dined at the Salt River Marina Restaurant, down the street. Good food and drinks. We went to the grocery store daily it seemed, we found the best store to be Pueblo, which was closest to the home, perfect! Mocho Jumbies are a must see for children. The Fort/boardwalk/shopping all fun! Adele is great and super helpful! Great time, enjoy :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a GREAT time ...PERFECT location!

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

From an email: We had a GREAT time and you have a lovely house in a PERFECT location. We hooked up with Anchor Dive Center for some dives within a 5 minute boat ride! We have a friend who was an executive chef at a couple of restaurants in St. Croix (who now lives in Tampa), so he made recommendations on where to eat. The food in St. Croix is fantastic! We were really pleased that every meal was delicious. We were definitely not disappointed! Julianna delivered our meal the first day. The food was very good and she is a very pleasant and helpful woman, but it was way too much food!

We LOVED the villa, the decorations and location and would definitely stay there again! Thank you so much for welcoming us into your wonderful villa!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Elegant, Beautiful Living by the Sea

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

We are so grateful to share your gorgeous island home ON THE BEACH! The island breeze, the kind and ever-so-generous locals (esp. at the Chicken Shack), the beauty of your NEW home and its tropical decor and the island made for a one of a kind experience. The property is very well kept and beautiful with exceptional views of the ocean and Salt River Bay. Everyone with Cruzan Sands was very attentive to our introduction to the home and made themselves accessible to questions we had. Thanks for the valuable recommendations ranging from activities, dining, shopping, along with invitations to hang out at local spots nearby. It gave us an opportunity to meet and spend time with some of the residents in St. Croix and helped make our experience on the island the best.

Access to the beach couldn't be any better at the Villa making it so convenient to enjoy a walk on the beach whenever we wanted. We felt the location was perfect to get to Chistiansted in 15 minutes for sailing, shopping, and entertainment. We loved the crab races at Fort Christian Brew Pub, all natural sherbet and gelato at Jaccar's, and sailing on the Jolly Roger to Buck island for the best snorkeling adventure we have ever had. Jump Up was a special treat for us in Christiansted and it was a street party we will never forget with steel drum bands, Mocko Jumbies, great local cuisine, and wonderful island drinks .

We particularly loved the beach action and snorkeling at Cane Bay Beach, about 10 minutes away, and Rainbow and Sand Castle Beach in Frederiksted (20 minutes). The drive to these spots were spectacular in views of the ocean, old sugar mills, and rain forrest on the way to Frederiksted. At Cane Bay Beach we enjoyed a fun evening at the Off The Wall beach bar playing beach bingo with many of the local residents. The food and drinks there were great. We really enjoyed the snorkeling along Sand Castle Beach, just south of Frederiksted. It has calm waters and continuous rock outcroppings that are home to a wide variety of ocean species and corals.

Close by, the Pirates Tavern at the marina has really great Mexican food and drinks as well as live music. An unforgettable highlight of our trip was the bioluminescence kayaking tour at night. Your home and island are so relaxing and beautiful that we would recommend it to anyone and only look forward to when we might return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Perfect Island Vacation!

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

Cruzan Sands Villa was everything we expected in an island get-away, and more! The home was spacious, well-equipped, and beautifully maintained. The owners thought of everything when planning this vacation home. The beach is just a few steps away, and we enjoyed swimming, snorkeling, strolling, beach-combing, and even a game of football on the sand! The pool deck was perfect for lounging, eating, reading and enjoying the ocean view - plenty of sun and shade. Our kids loved the pool, and the landscaping is gorgeous! We could not have been more pleased with the home! We are already looking forward to a return trip to St. Croix and Cruzan Sands!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Remarkable Paradise! Breathtaking Beauty! Unbelievable Villa!

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

Cruzan Sands Villa far exceeded our expectation! The villa is immaculate! It is large and breezy, very modern, extremely comfortable and RIGHT on the beach! My family spent the majority of time outside on the deck. It is fabulous. There is sun and there is shade. Perfect! We really enjoyed being able to see the Caribbean Sea from every angle and to walk right onto the beach! The beach itself is sandy, with enough shells to thrill the beachcombers in our group. The water is crystal clear making the snorkeling fun for all! The surrounding area is very quiet, away from roads and traffic. The Owners were in the Guest House while we were there. They are friendly and helpful, but we had complete privacy. We have already scheduled a return trip. Having been to St Croix many times over the last 8 years, we would have to say this villa is far and away the best we have selected!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review