reviews for: listing #98869 - Kihei, Hawaii Condo rental

Luxury Memory Foam King Bed
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Maui Vista Resort
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $105 - $185 /nt
    $700 - $1,160 /wk
    $2,600 - $4,400 /mth

sort by:

Home away from home

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: April 2, 2014

My husband and I got married here on Maui one year ago and came back for our one year anniversary! Let's just say this condo was like home! This condo has everything! The king size bed was amazing and I had the best sleep ever! It also is walking distance to everything and right across the condo is the most beautiful beach Charlie Young! My husband and I had the most amazing time and highly recommend this condo to anyone! We will for sure be staying here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Audrey and Ben - kamloops

Review submitted: January 25, 2014   Date of arrival: November 15, 2013

We stayed at this unit for 2 months.When we arrived the ice maker did not work.(wasen't going to go without a ice maker , for 2 months)The patio door was a little hard to close, as well. A phone call to Don, and these item's were fixed the next day.The location of this unit is ideal for, walking to the beach,shopping, and sitting on the lanai., When the trade winds blow it is very windless , and sheltered here.

The bed is the most comfortable one we have ever slept in. We enjoyed feeding the feral cat, that had a tour of the hedge every evening.

This is a very well renovated unit, however , we felt that the furnishing's needed updating, for a so called" luxury unit"

We will stay here again.

Recommended for: people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Mahalo Ben for your review. You are correct, the sofa arm and drawer base of the murphy bed were damaged by a previous guest and need to be repaired or replaced. I am not happy with they way they look. The base has already been ordered for replacement. I am planning an upgrade this summer to fix the nits and just make it better. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to having you stay again using your returning guest discount.

Aloha
Don

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Wedding attendance in Maui

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

This place was awesome. My Girlfriend and I stayed in Don’s place for 12 days and came to Maui partly for a friends wedding. 90% of the wedding guest stayed in one of the 3 buildings at Maui Vista. All the guests that came down to our place for the week were very impressed with the way the unit appeared “Updated” compared to their unit. We further enjoyed that the unit was on the ground floor which allowed us to dry out and rise our diving gear on the lanai and didn’t have to haul it up stairs or in the elevator. Further the King size memory foam mattress was great and gave us deep sleeps to prepare us for an action packed day each morning. The unit was also close to the BBQ area making it an ease to prepare meals. Maui Vista Complex as a whole is a peaceful well maintained complex with a very short walk to Charlie Young Beach and some great places to eat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Honeymooners

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: April 11, 2013

Upon booking this condo, we were told that he does something special for honeymooners. Since there were so many rooms to choose from at Maui Vista, this was what made us pick this exact room. If the "something special" meant arriving to a dirty room, then I guess he came through on that one. After a long flight we were excited to get back to the condo to start our honeymoon. Coming in to an uncleaned room was very uninviting and stressful. We were told to go out to a nice dinner while the cleaners came but had already eaten while waiting for our 4pm check in. Luckily, Don was easy to get a hold of and had it handled immediately. The condo had EVERYTHING we could need and was in the perfect location. Our last trip we stayed at mana Kai. This room was way nicer for half the price. We understand that the cleaning mix up was not directly his fault. I do see that this has happened a few times in the past and he has reimbursed for a day. Hopefully he comes through with that for us since the details of the condo included a honeymoon special and not a dirty room. My next trip to Maui I will without a doubt be staying at Maui Vista again and most likely at this exact condo again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

2nd time

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

This was my second time at this condo and I look forward to using it again. It has everything you need, right down to beach chairs, it's very clean and modern and the beds are very comfortable. The location can't be beat!!

Brenda.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 7

 

Received Our Refund

Review submitted: March 31, 2012   Date of arrival: February 27, 2012

Just wanted everyone to know that the owner was true to his word. He did refund one night's stay because the unit was not cleaned upon our arrival. Obviously, there was a mix-up with the cleaning service.
If traveling back to Maui, we would definitely book this condo again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: I look forward to you coming back to stay with us.

Helpful votes: 3 / 7

 

don & fay alberta

Review submitted: March 24, 2012   Date of arrival: November 24, 2011

we rented this condo in nov,dec of 2011 and were very pleased. It was clean & looked after and remodeled a few yrs ago so was nicer. Good location for us. We really enjoyed the full cable as we had a paticular sporting event we were able to watch. The owner was very co-operative and easy to deal with. We love the location of Maui Vista and plan to stay there again. I think a vacum cleaner was the only thing we missed. We ate in most of the time but there were good restaurants within our walking distance, but it is the beautiful beach that is so close & so accessable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Canadian from BC wanting sun and fun

Review submitted: March 16, 2012   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

Exceptional condo - great electronic amenities, gorgeous decor, beautiful kitchen & bathroom, very comfortable, well stocked. Close to pool and sunny afternoons. Rented for my dtr, her partner and 11 yr old grddtr who liked the murphy bed, Wi-Fi and comfortably king size bed. All had a fabulous time and would return to the same unit. Some difficulty getting instant response from the owner but eventually replied by phone or email & the condo worth the wait! Noticed the unit is very popular with other vacationers. Have already recommended to friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 6

 

Lovely Condo

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 27, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this condo. All was as expected except when we arrived the unit was not ready. It had not been cleaned. The owner got right on it and sent over a cleaning lady and promised to refund the first night of our stay because of this inconvenience. Initially we were pretty upset about this. Certainly not the way to begin a vacation. If the owner follows through with the refund, we will look at it as mix-up.
The bed was extremely comfortable. The condo has lots of amenities, including a Keurig coffee maker.
Two things that were missing(or maybe we just could not find them)were an iron and a broom or vacuum. There was an ironing board.
The unit is on the ground floor and across the street from lovely Maui beaches.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: I did respond to the guest as soon as I was informed of the scheduling problem. I graciously offered a one day refund and made the refund soon after their return to the mainland. See their second comment confirming the refund.

I look forward to you coming back to stay with us.

Helpful votes: 3 / 6

 

Folks from rainy Washington State

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

Great condo in a great location within walking distance to almost everything you need. Ground floor made it easy to move into and great for coming and going. Charlie Young Beach is just across the street and the best sunset location on the Island. When you get too tired to do anything else the big screen TV is a plus!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Great condo near beach is shear luxury and comfort with best location to beach, shops & restaurants

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: November 12, 2011

What a vacation! We arrived to this rental condo and it was like arriving home! Everything we needed and then some(!) was there waiting for us - down to beach chairs, umbrellas and a cooler! It's evident that the owners take pride in the level of service they provide. The condo is spacious, super clean and beautifully decorated. Furniture is high quality, comfortable and the bed mattress a dream! Kitchen is well-stocked with all the bells and whistles. Patio doors open on the lanai and oh how I miss my morning coffee on the lanai in the oh so perfect weather! The unit is not noisy and I felt very safe. Best of all of course is the beach just 500 steps away! Having shops and a variety of restaurants walking distance away made it an extremely convenient location and we used the car very seldom. It was an excellent condo that made for an excellent vacation! I highly recommend it and look forward to booking my next vacation with these owners.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 6

 

maui vista condo

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: October 5, 2010

having stayed at other units at maui vista this is one we would return to again. Excellent bed and air cond in two rooms is a plus. This being a ground floor unit is close to parking area and packing in the groceries made easy. Location in bldg 2 gives you shade in the afternoon when sun the brightest, Kitchen fully equipt so no need to bring any items with you. Location of Maui Vista in Kihei is excellent and plenty of parking available which is important. Having a nice swimming area just across the street is convenient for those not wanting to drive all the time to the beaches and can watch the sunsets every evening.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 

Our stay in Maui

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: November 19, 2009

We stayed in this condo November 2009 and were very impressed.You can see that it had been totally renovated and they did a fantastic job.The bed was very comfortable,as well as the furniture in the livingroom.Everything is very well looked after and clean.It was nice to have extras such as beach chairs ect.This unit made our holiday all that much better, we hope to be able to stay here again some day soon

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 

Amazing Condo!!

Review submitted: May 31, 2010   Date of arrival: April 26, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at this condo for ten days in May and we loved it. It is extremely clean......the decor was very nice and it has absolutely everything you would need. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom is unique and well-designed......and we loved the Ipod docks. The location is great because it is very close to several beaches......our favourite being Makena which was only a 10min drive. We both felt very relaxed and 'at home' which is definitely what we were looking for. The property is super quiet......and you don't hear any street noise in this unit as its in a great location. I highly recommend this condo to anybody who is looking for a clean, comfortable and relaxed vacation. We would stay here again for sure!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 

Amazing Condo

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

Don, my sincere apologies. I completely forgot to contact you after our stay in your condo the week of March 1. I just wanted to tell what an amazing time we had. My wife and I both agreed that this was the most relaxing vacation either of us has ever had. The condo was unbelievable. You have done a great job renovating it. We just can't say enough about the time we spent in Maui, and I have no doubt we will be coming back. When we do return we would love to stay in your condo again, so I will keep your email and I hope to be contacting you in the near future. Thanks again for such a wonderful place to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 

Maui Vista

Review submitted: April 15, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

We stayed at Don’s condo for 10 days at the beginning of April. One of the nicest features of this unit is the ground floor location and large lanai which overlooks a nice green area – perfect for breakfast and late afternoon!

The condo has everything you will need for your vacation on Maui – Beach supplies, Washer/Dryer, very well equipped Kitchen and access to the Pool(s), Tennis Courts and BBQ area.

The memory foam bed is pure luxury and the extra TV and A/C in the master bedroom were a nice bonus. This VRBO property is recommended to anyone considering a vacation on Maui.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Review submitted: December 2, 2009   Date of arrival: December 2, 2009

Thank you so much for the beautiful experience. Maui Vista is the perfect place to stay. The Condo is absolutely beautiful and so close to everything. We walked to the beach every day. The whole experience has been great, right from the initial contact. I hope everyone else who stays at Maui vista loves it as much as we did! MAHALO

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Review submitted: October 8, 2009   Date of arrival: October 8, 2009

We stayed at Don’s condo for our honeymoon at the end of August. It was our first trip to Maui and we couldn’t have asked for more! We loved that the condo had everything we needed for the beach – beach towels, chairs, bamboo mats, a cooler, etc! Maui Vista is in a great location – close to shopping, restaurants, and the beach! Thanks Don!

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Review submitted: June 21, 2009   Date of arrival: June 21, 2009

Very good condo. The bed is very very comfortabel. very good equiptment. Whole kitchen set, two LCD TVs. Private washer and dryer. 5 mins walking distance to the beach.

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Review submitted: May 11, 2009   Date of arrival: May 11, 2009

We enjoyed our stay very much. Wish it could have been longer. You have everything there that is needed for a comfortable stay. It was quite there in bldg 2, but only a short walk to the beach. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Review submitted: April 14, 2009   Date of arrival: April 14, 2009

Don,

Your condo was wonderful - It was just what we needed and was great for the kids. I loved the hide-a-bed and will actually be purchasing one for my home. The location was ideal and Charlie Young was right across the street. It was quiet and we enjoyed playing tennis and Bar-B-Que'n 2 nights. Thanks you for all you attention to detail. Your wife and I have been bitten by the same decorating bug, as I have decorated my house w/ so many of the same things.

Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 16, 2009   Date of arrival: February 16, 2009

Thanks Don! We loved your condo, especially the quiet, high end appliances and electronics that made our stay so easy. The location across the street for the beach was perfect. Don even dropped off tennis racquets and tennis balls for us to use!
Highly recommended, and we hope to be back.
Thank you again Don for a great vacation.
Halim

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 23, 2009   Date of arrival: January 23, 2009

We really enjoyed our week long stay at Maui Vista.
The condo is better than your fabulous description!
You have thought of every detail to make our stay
comfortable. The whole condo. is upgraded and
super clean. We loved the beach chairs and cooler.
We enjoyed the barbeque and eating out on the
lanai. The kids had fun in the pool and loved the
Wii. The murphy bed was very comfortable for
them and your king size bed was luxury. Great
location. Great value and Don is very prompt at
returning your security deposit. Highly recommend.
Thanks Don.

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 7, 2009   Date of arrival: January 7, 2009

Thank you Don for sharing your beautifully renovated condo for our two week holiday. It had all the conveniences of home. We absolutely loved the location being right across the street from the best beach in Kehei, Charlie Young. And it was so conveniently located for so many of our daily road trips. We would certainly stay at your condo in future because we had such a great time we will be back. Mahalo! Gordy & Margaret

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 4, 2009   Date of arrival: January 4, 2009

Dear Don, Thanks so much for making your condo available to us. We have enjoyed all our stays on Maui and have found Maui Vista to be our favorite complex. Your unit is by far the nicest we have found there and the best value. We don't get this well treated at home. Everything is updated and upgraded and oh so comfortable: plush beds and the dual AC units plus fans were wonderful. Perhaps the most conveinient feature is the wash/dryer in the unit. You don't have to wait around to do your laundry and when your traveling and beaching it's not a once a week deal. You don't even have to be there while it's running.
The beaches accross the street are so nice and you can walk all the way down thru Wailea for a morning stroll if you like and/or walk a few blocks north to the Kihei Caffe for an open air breakfast that has "Island" flavor in their 20 dishes and all the coffee you can drink. Cove park on the way there is a great place to watch surfers or join them.
The grounds are nicely kept and we have found Kihei and Maui Vista a great starting off point for our various travels we like to do; Makena a few miles south, Lahaina less than 30 minutes away and the airport and North Shore beaches are less than 20.
Thanks for making our Maui vacation both elegant and affordable. Mahalo Tom T

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review