reviews for: listing #98904 - Chautauqua Lake, New York House rental

Recently Renovated Waterfront Home
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Residential
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,250 - $1,250 /wk

sort by:

Great family unit

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We had a marvelous time . We stayed in the owners unit since we had a bigger family. The kids had a good time and loved the kayak. We also brought our jet skis . The kids loved the lake. Our friends a few houses down let us borrow their paddle boat . This was so much fun and we were able to see the beautiful scenery. We also spent the day in Niagra falls which was about 1 1/2 hours away. I suggest you get the Chatauqua lake vacation brochure which shows a lot of things to do . The Gorge was beautiful and the kids loved to swim there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: So glad everyone had a great time! You were the perfect guests!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great for a girls' weekend

Review submitted: March 7, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

My girlfriends and I rented this unit for a getaway weekend. There were six of us and we had plenty of room, though some of us shared the larger beds. This is a very clean and comfortable rental! The kitchen is well-equipped and there's a shopping district not far away, so we were able to cook when we wanted to and could find a variety of restaurants to choose from when we didn't want to cook. Unfortunately, it was a cool and rainy weekend, but we still spent a lot of time outside on the big covered decks and kayaked when the weather broke. The location is very quiet and you can easily walk over to the lake. We hit the Chautauqua Institution and Southern Tier Brewery, both of which are a short drive away.

We loved and plan to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

My family rented this property for a week this past summer. It was a great spot in many ways. Right on the water leading out to the lake, large outdoor patio and porch, side yard for games, ample parking, and great sleeping arrangements. The rental was very well stocked – we literally just needed to bring ourselves and our food.



It is located very close to a lot of amenities and shopping (perfect, since I have two daughters), and just a short drive to Bemus Point and the Institution. We ventured out on the lake a few times – it was ideal having the boat docked right outside our front door. My extended family came down for a night, but ended up staying for two nights because they enjoyed the place so much.



When we first got there we worried that it might be a “busy” area with lots of vacationers, but in reality, as soon as we were on our patio it was obvious we were in for a quiet treat for the week. The owner had a kayak we used quite often – it would have been nice if there was a pair of kayaks rather than just the one.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Water lover's delight!

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

My husband and I spent Memorial Day weekend here with our four children (ages 2 to 11). We loved it! We docked our WaveRunner at the property and had easy access to the lake via the canal. We grilled out and ate our meals outside on the breezy, shaded lower porch and when we weren't out on the lake, we relaxed outside on the upper balcony and watched people paddling kayaks and paddle boats through the canal. There is a really nice park a short walk away with excellent basketball and tennis courts along with a playground and wide open fields where the kids played frisbee. A movie theatre, an ice cream shop and mini golf are all very near the house.

The inside of the house is super clean, well furnished and well cared for. We had plenty of room to sleep in the three bedrooms. The main living area on the first floor is not enormous and so this probably isn't the kind of place you'd want to stay if you plan to hang out inside for extended periods of time with a bunch of kids. But between the large porches, spacious upstairs, the park, and our love of water sports, it was never an issue for us.

Oh, and the owner is terrific! She is very friendly and totally accommodating! We plan to stay here again and we would highly recommend it to others, as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Getaway on the Lake!

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

We stayed at this location in what most would consider the 'off season' for the lake but we enjoyed it very much! We had our three children who had plenty of their own space- yet felt right at home in the cozy atmosphere along with a nicely equipped kitchen where I felt more at home! There were a few tiny shops in walking distance along with town activities we were able to enjoy even in the slightly chilly months with out having to travel very far. The overall accomodations were wonderful and I do plan on returning- hopefully sometime in the summer to enjoy the lake! Thank you for a wonderful family experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great time with family at this house!

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: June 26, 2011

So excited! Our family just booked another summer week at this great house. Every year we rent on the lake. We stayed here last summer for the first time and our family had such a great time that we are coming back again this year to the same house.
It is a beautiful, clean, well-kept, spacious home. There are 8 of us, but with the two full-sized bathrooms, extra sitting area upstairs, upper deck and patio, it never felt crowded or noisy. We were surprised to arrive and find a fully-equipped, clean, kitchen. Usually rental kitchens are sub par and we end up schlepping everyone out to a restaurant for dinner. Not last year! We ended up going grocery shopping and cooking at the house so we could enjoy the beautiful, quiet of the dockside patio. We ended each night with s'mores by the fire pit. LOVELY!
Our family enjoys the Chautauqua area and we come every year to enjoy the Institute, Panama Rocks, wineries and brewery, beaches, and so much more. It's close enough that friends can take a day trip to visit us. This is a clean, pleasant home with bonus of linens provided by homeowner, usable kitchen, nice view off the dock patio and upper deck, and great customer service. For the first time in years, our vacation week went off without a hitch last year. Each year we choose a different house to rent, but since our experience with this house, we decided that if we are at the lake, then this is the house for us.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just like home

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

This property was like home. Clean with all the touches of home. The decor is simple and tasteful. Fully furnished with all the extras. Just pack your clothes and swimsuit and you are all set. Nice patio for outdoor dining and enjoying a glass of wine with fiends. It feeslike you are the owner when you are here. Great for families, or for couples wanting a get-away. I can't wait to stay again. Kudos to the property owner.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Winter Ice Fishing Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: December 29, 2011

We had a great time ice fishing .. snowmobiling.. campfire in front of house on canal.. hikes on the lake and canal. TRULY A WINTER WONDERLAND.. fast access to the lake... GREAT PLACE TO STAY.. house was very clean.. everything you needed..... everything as described.......PLENTY OF ROOM.. kids hung out upstairs .. adults downstairs..... we never felt crowded plenty of room..the kids had a great time ice skating on the canal..... HOPE TO DO IT AGAIN EVERY WINTER....CAUGHT LOTS OF FISH!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bad Rental Experience

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

My family and I rented half of this home. I was disappointed to arrive and realize that we did not rent the whole house; that it was a duplex and the owner would be hosting her friends and family on the other side. She was a nice lady, but we had no private space as she and her family and friends would have to walk across our patio to get to her unit. It was not what we had in mind. In addition, yellow jackets have nested in the outside walls of their home. After each of my children were stung we informed the owner who promptly had an exterminator come out, but the problem was not fixed even after 3 separate trips to the house (we could see where the bees were coming in and out through the deck boards) so the upper deck was essentially unusable. We were so disappointed by the whole experience that we left a week early. And now, more than 6 months later, we still have not received our deposit back. Based upon our poor experience, I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Owners response: Sue, from the review posted above, rented our home through a broker. I no longer work with that broker, and had no idea that she had not received her deposit back. (I have reached out to the broker on her behalf after reading this review).

I cannot say enough about the exterminator. He did indeed come to the house four times within one week to take care of the bee issue. As last summer was my first summer owning the home, I had no idea the bee issue existed. It has since been completely taken care of.

Please ask any questions you may have about this rental. While this family has not had a positive experience, I can certainly put you in touch with many people who have had wonderful experiences.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review