reviews for: listing #98955 - Manhattan, New York Apartment rental

Upper East Side - 5th Floor Walk Up
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Upper East Side
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $220 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,540 /wk

sort by:

Perfect getaway

Review submitted: April 11, 2014   Date of arrival: March 31, 2014

I would go back to New York City just to stay at this place again,not disappointment here, everything was just as described plus very clean and relatively close to the train station and amenities were close by , I have not regrets about renting this place we had a good time there

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Small yet comfortable and well located

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

The apartment's location is excellent, and it was clean and nicely decorated. The kitchen was well equipped, and the amenities were just as described. The bathroom is tiny, but this is not uncommon in the city. We will check for availability here in our next trip. Lots of nice restaurants nearby, great bagel place on 86th, and grocery shopping easily available.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great neighbourhood, convient location, clean apt.

Review submitted: December 11, 2013   Date of arrival: December 2, 2013

This 2 bedroom apartment was exactly how it was described. Be prepared it is a five story walkup. It was very clean, great linen (which is important to me) and the decor made it feel very comfortable and inviting. The bathroom was very small but very clean, had a great shower with plenty of hot water. The kitchen was equipped with everything you needed. Plenty of small groceries stores walking distance that sell the basics and cold beer. There is a large grocery store on 86th with everything you need. We travel to NYC 4-6 times per year and this was our first time staying in a vacation rental. We will not go back to hotels after this stay. We felt like and were treated like fellow New Yorkers. A local recommended Gino's restaurant (345E 83rd st) just a block from the apt. They make the best pizza I have ever had (including Italy). Make sure to bring cash (the only form of payment they accept). There was also a Chinese/Japanese restaurant on 1st and 83rd just one block from the apt which was good as well. The subway is a short walk (5 blocks) and we think it is the best way to travel NY. We always purchase unlimited weekly metro passes (approx $25) most economical. The metro system in NYC is great and you can be at all the best NY attractions in 20min. You can walk to Central Park from the apartment and the Museum of Natural History.
I would like to share my experience with the property owner (Fiona). Since it was my first time booking an apt. with vacation rentals, I wasn't sure what to expect. I won't lie to you, I was a bit skeptical of the whole process. Fiona put me completely at ease. She was very prompt in responding to all my emails ( and there were several) and was very accommodating to our late arrival. Payment went very smooth once I set up a paypal account and damage deposit refunded within a few days of checkout. I had to call her from the airport and let her know that we were going to be even later for our checkin because the airline had lost my luggage. I told her I was going to have to find stores near the apartment to buy an outfit for court the following morning and I had a very small window to do it. Fiona went online and found the closest store locations to the apartment with their hours and sent me an email with all the info. She made it very easy for me. I would not hesitate to recommend this property to family and friends and would definitely stay there again on our next trip to NYC. Thanks so much Fiona!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great weekend suite

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

My stay at Fiona's apartment for a weekend was wonderful! The space was just enough for a family of 4. Everything we needed was within reach. If you have time to cook, you get free use of the kitchen - if not, there's a tonne of restaurants nearby. The space was clean and inviting. It doesn't feel like just a hotel room - it feels like you're right at home. She is also very easy to contact and deal with, so if you have any questions, just ask her. Would definitely come back here when I come by the city again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

tiny apartment exactly as advertised

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: September 28, 2013

Four of us stayed five nights in Fiona's apartment. It is small but perfectly functional. She has maximized storage using hooks, racks and shelving wherever possible. The convertible bed was reportedly very comfortable.

The stairwell is darkish, perhaps just as well you can't see it well. The neighborhood is wonderful, shops and restaurants abound nearby. Be sure to find Fairway on 86th for groceries. The bus stop is two blocks, subway five blocks.

We would happily recommend this to a group of 3 or 4 people.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect location

Review submitted: October 4, 2013   Date of arrival: September 17, 2013

fiona's apartment is small but comfortable and inviting. It's agreat location with an easy walk to the subway, Central Park and the museums. It is a 5 floor walk up but not a problem for us. Clean, neat and quiet. Lots of hot water . We look,forward to renting it again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect stay in Upper East Side

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 19, 2013

Spent one week in Fiona's apartment which is very well situated in the upper east side. Very functional and very clean, well decorated, the apartment is near buses and subway stations what allows to discover all the hidden recesses of NYC without any difficulty. The district where it is is well supplied by restaurants or supermarkets. In brief, it was an excellent base camp to stroll in this fabulous city. Fiona is great and she answers the slightest question as fast as possible returning stay so simple as reassuring. It was thus very well for the three of us !
Stephane

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Everything you need is within a block or two

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 5, 2013

We love the neighborhood of Yorkville. Very safe and clearly family and pet friendly. Within a block or two of this apartment you can find a fabulous grocery store (The Fairway Market on 86th), Starbucks (with lots of outdoor seating), pharmacies, and a laundry mat (Wash 84, right across 1st Ave from the apt, with self serve and drop off service). Not to mention the great local eateries. My favorite inexpensive spot to eat was Cafe D'Alsace (up on 2nd Ave and 88th St). The subway is a little bit of a hike (1/2 mile to 86th and Lex), but well worth the effort for the bargain price of staying in Yorkville. The 2nd St. station should be completed sometime soon(ish), which will make it that much easier.

The apartment was very comfortable for four people by NYC standards. The 2nd bedroom is a serious bonus for the price. The kitchen is small but easy to maneuver in, and served our needs well. The bathroom, which is seriously small, became a source of entertainment for us (no lingering possible, but serves its purpose). Having the large living room with movie channels allowed us some time off from the city to just "hang out" with each other. The 5 floors to walk up are not for the "out of shape", but are completely manageable for those with no physical limitations. New Yorkers are in shape for a reason...

Fiona is a easy to work with, and easy to contact when you need her. We did not have any major issues, just a question or two when we arrived, and she was avalable to answer questions via phone with only one call. Thanks, Fiona!

I would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fun in the big city!

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

We had a very good time and the apartment was great. The five flights of steps was the only downfall. Fiona was very easy to keep in contact with and was very prompt in the entire process. We would definitely stay here again. The location was good and safe.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great apartment in a central but quiet location.

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 29, 2013

The apartment is centrally located in he Upper East Side close to transit, the 5th Ave. Museum row and Central Park. The accommodations were very comfortable for the four of us as it provided ample space for all of us. Lots of great restaurants and within walking distance to the subway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

3 Day Weekend in the City

Review submitted: May 24, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this property!
We were two women away for a weekend of walking, shopping, eating and drinking -this place was perfect. Great location - fabulous neighbourhood to wander about and close to the subway for exploring the rest of the city. There were lots of great shops and restaurants nearby. We had dinner at Lusardi's and Beet - delicious!
The apartment was clean and had everything we needed. The space is accurately represented with the pictures and description. There was lots of space for us and all of our shopping bags, I can easily see how 4 people would be comfortable here. I will mention that the bathroom is just as small as it looks - completely fine and functional - but definitely cozy. There was a grocery store a few blocks away so we were easily able to pick up some staples for breakfasts and snacks. And there is a Starbucks around the corner which helped get us moving in the mornings.
I would happily recommend this property and will absolutely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

nice appartment well located

Review submitted: May 11, 2013   Date of arrival: April 30, 2013

This appartment is very well located, very quiet. Good for families. We recommend it.
L'appartement est très bien situé, dans un quartier calme. Idéal pour les familles. Nous le recommandons

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great apartment for our family

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

Great apartment! It was big enough for the 4 of us (2 adults and 2 teenagers). It was clean, and comfortable. We used the kitchen for breakfasts. It’s in a safe neighborhood, and is conveniently located near Central Park , restaurants, and subway access. Fiona was extremely accommodating and responsive when we had questions or needs. All in all this apartment was a great base for our explorations of the city. The only down side was the small size of the bathroom.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great apartment for our family

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

Great apartment! It was big enough for the 4 of us (2 adults and 2 teenagers). It was clean, and comfortable. We used the kitchen for breakfasts. It’s in a safe neighborhood, and is conveniently located near Central Park , restaurants, and subway access. Fiona was extremely accommodating and responsive when we had questions or needs. All in all this apartment was a great base for our explorations of the city. The only down side was the small size of the bathroom.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great apartment for families!

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

We stayed at this lovely apartment during our kids’ spring break. This apartment is really an unbelievable value; with its 2 bedrooms, separate living room, and kitchen, it was big enough for the 4 of us (2 adults and 2 teenagers) yet costs less than the typical hotel room. The apartment was just as described in the listing, so there were no unwelcome surprises when we arrived. It was clean, nicely decorated, and comfortable. It’s in a safe neighborhood, and is conveniently located near Central Park , restaurants, and subway access. Being a 5th floor walk-up in the UES, it also has the advantage of being relatively quiet, making it easier to get a good night’s sleep (a must after a busy day of sightseeing!). Fiona was accommodating and responsive when we had questions or needs. All in all this apartment was a great base for our explorations of the city, and we have already recommended it to several friends.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great apartment

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 3, 2013

We loved our little New York apartment. Our family of teens and pre-teens enjoyed "living" the NYC life for our Spring Break. We were able to do breakfast at the apartment, chill out with more space than a hotel and feel like we were really living the city life. The place was cute, clean and well located. The 84th Street location was a quick subway ride into the theatre district (Times Square) yet far enough away to have a neighborhood feel. We had a minor issue with the Wifi code but the owner responded immediately via email with the answer to the problem. The only other thing to note, which was told to us up front, is that the place is a 5th floor walk up so there is no elevator. This was fine for our family but may not be for others. Great trip! We'd consider renting the place again for future trips.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Apartment, Great Experience

Review submitted: March 21, 2013   Date of arrival: March 13, 2013

Fiona's apartment was a pleasant accomodation for my family and myself. The apartment was clean, spacious, and stylish. The surrounding neighborhood was safe and provided everything we could possibly need while on our vacation. There was always something to see and walking through the area gave us that "big city feel." The subway was a few short blocks away. My mother thoroughly enjoyed herself and she is one of the pickiest people on earth. My girlfriend loved the design of the apartment and will likely be decorating our house in a similar manner. I was very pleased that everything was as advertised and the price was very reasonable. Fiona went above and beyond to accomodate to us to ensure our vacation was a pleasant experience. All things considered, we were extremely happy with everything. My girlfriend and I have already agreed that if we were ever to return to New York, we would stay at Fiona's apartment.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Uppoer East Side Delight

Review submitted: March 3, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

This is a lovely apartment. Clean, bright and handsomely decorated with a flair that makes it both homey and chic. I stayed here with my family, and we all enjoyed it immensely and look forward to booking it again. There are a number of restaurants nearby to select from. We particularly enjoyed the Hummus Kitchen and Dorrian's Pub.

Don't be discouraged by the flights of stairs and darkish hallway (this is an older NYC apartment after all). You will find that the apartment is a perfect city getaway in a charming neighborhood and is removed from the traffic noise that you might get elsewhere.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice apartment on the Upper East Side

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: January 9, 2013

My family of four including two children aged 12 and 14 stayed at this apartment for 10 days in early January 2013. The apartment was absolutely as described and there were no nasty surprises. It was big enough and comfortable enough for the four of us and we were very happy there during our time in New York. For us, the best thing about the apartment was the location - it was close to seemingly hundreds of restaurants and we found some real gems nearby. It was within easy walking distance of the Guggenheim, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Central Park and the subway. There were a few hiccups during our stay and these were dealt with immediately by the very accommodating owner, Fiona. She was really lovely to deal with and I'd have no hesitation in staying at the apartment again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great place, great location

Review submitted: October 25, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

I stayed at this apartment with my family (wife and two kids, age 15 and 11) this Fall, and had a great time. The UES is a great neighborhood to stay in, clean and safe,and the apartment is an easy walk to both the subway and central park. Being on the 5th floor, it was quiet at night (no street noise), and very comfortable. The owner, Fiona, was available and quick to respond when we had a question.
As you might expect in NY, there are many great restraunts within walking distance of the apartment as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: September 14, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

I often rent an apartment when I visit NYC. I have had both good and bad experiences. The apartment that Fiona provided is nothing less than excellent. As soon as you walk in you feel transformed simply from the artistic designs throughout the apartment. There was adequate sleeping room and the queen size bed was very comfortable. If this apartment is available the next time I visit NYC, I will be sure to rent it again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

GREAT Renting Experience

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 30, 2012

A friend and I rented this apartment for the summer and it was perfect! The rooms were a good size and the futon was perfect for guests. The neighborhood was great. The area is very family oriented so we felt completely safe walking around during the day and at night (we are two female young adults). Very close to Duane Reade, grocery, laundromat, and delicious restaurants. The neighbors are really nice, but keep to themselves. The owner was very responsive to all of our questions and needs. I would definitely rent here again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great place + great area = great time

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 27, 2012

We've rented hotel rooms in the city before for more money but MUCH less space so having an apartment to come back to every night/day made a big difference and added a lot more to our experience. We definitely felt (somewhat) like real New Yorkers. There were 3 of us so it was the perfect size for us and we each had our own bed. The kitchen was stocked with all the essential utensils so we saved a lot of money by buying food to prepare rather than eating out for every meal (although one of the perks of NYC is the food). You can tell it's an older building (no elevator, marble stairs) but the apartment itself is very clean and well kept. The decor is very nice and it really made you feel at home. There are lots of windows, a ceiling fan in every room, and a window AC unit that works great so it always felt comfortable and cool, which is awesome after a long day of walking and being in the sun.

You can't beat being on the upper east side either. We felt very safe, even late at night. There is a subway station, 2 pizza joints, a diner, a few bars, and some general merchandise stores within walking distance.

Fiona is very professional and also easy to work with. You can tell she puts a lot of work into the apartment so I recommend it to anyone who wants to get more bang for your buck AND have a nice place to stay!

I will definitely be coming back to this apartment on future visits!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Comfortable Stay & Great Location

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2012

This apartment was a nice walk away from Central Park and the Met, which was a big selling point for us. Luckily it was also close to a couple of great supermarkets and a wine shop. And when we were too exhausted to cook, there were lots of nearby eating choices. To get around town, we could easily step over to 1st Ave. and hail a cab or walk a few blocks to the subway. We did a full tour of Manhattan, from Liberty to the UN to Times Square and the 9/11 Memorial and it was nice to have a home base that was far enough removed from the action yet not a hassle to get to-and-from.

The apartment itself is small, so any more than four will be cramped. It was comfortable, with an effective wall A/C unit, nice size TV with cable, and a decently stocked kitchen so we never struggled to make meals and unwind after a full day out. The master bed is snore-inducingly comfortable and sleeping in was not a problem. The floors, kitchen and linen were clean and the decor very nice.

The owner was attentive to our needs and responsive whenever I had questions or issues, which, having rented vacation properties before, is a big plus.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Awesome Apartment

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

We had a fantastic time in NYC - the apartment was perfect in every way! Very clean, spacious and bright! We loved the zen motif and clean aesthetics. The fully equipped kitchen is of decent size and is great for cooking and entertaining! The rooms are large and the high ceilings make them appear even bigger. Even the sofa - bed was comfortable :)

It's close to the subways and there's plenty of great shopping in the area. There's also awesome bars and restaurants just a block away.

We'll definitely be coming back in the Fall! Thanks again for making our stay so perfect!

-M

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great week in NY

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 21, 2012

My brother and I went to New York for a week of vacation. The city was awesome and the apartment was just what needed. Dark curtains for sleeping in, full kitchen for the extras we bought, nice tv and a comfy sofa. Not mention it's only a few blocks from the subway, which we walked to to daily, and pretty much not more than a 15 minute cab ride to everywhere we wanted to go. Great trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review