reviews for: listing #98975 - Cambria, California House rental

White Water Ocean View - Most Romantic House in Cambria!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $195 - $300 /nt
    $1,400 - $2,000 /wk
    $3,000 - $5,000 /mth

sort by:

Perfect Unwind Get Away House

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: June 13, 2014

Our only wish was that we had the time to stay longer! The house has the feel of a serene tree house....complete with the serenade of the song birds. The master bedroom is very special, the second bedroom has a huge window to a lush zen garden. A beautiful sight to wake to. Each room has it's own inviting draw, I especially enjoyed the sun room with the beautiful view. We changed our plans for a day of touring local wineries to going into town, buying bottles of local wines, and having our tasting and nibbles out on the deck of the house. Best ever wine tasting! Hope to have another stay in the future.

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review - those are all the things we love most about the house as well. Hope you can come back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Surprising Cambria

Review submitted: June 16, 2014   Date of arrival: June 3, 2014

We had a wonderful week in Cambria while staying at the Architect's Ocean View house. What a delightful community! We hope it stays as is - not too crowded or "touristy." We do feel the house needs some general maintenance - there were a few flickering lights, loose boards on the steps, and there is definitely a need to replace the old carpet. This is a very fun house, and our granddaughters were having so much fun setting up their special place in the loft library. They had never seen pine cones, so they left a collection on the deck railings. A deer and her two fawns wandered through the yard on a couple of occasions, and we loved watching the turkey vultures and hawks as they soared above and perched in the trees in the evenings. We loved Moonstone Beach and the boardwalk and other paths. Wonderful restaurants: Sea Chest, Linn's, West End Grill, Medusa, Lombardi's and Robin's. We will definitely return to Cambria!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: April 12, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

This property was in an ideal location, just a stone's throw away from Cambria Village & minutes to the ocean. A beautifully crafted and unique home with rich wood and wonderful windows throughout. Had plenty of room and was spacious - - and yet felt very, very cozy at the same time! The outside patio & hot tub were fantastic & the kitchen very well stocked. The house was as described and was very clean. It was obvious that this property is well taken care of. The owner has done a great job of providing everything one would want. Both myself and my travel partner felt comfortable the minute we stepped in through the front door. So many great nooks and crannies, too - - and a magical fireplace that warmed the entire house so quickly. The owner was very responsive when I asked any questions (prior to arrival and after departure). This is a lovely property and one I will absolutely recommend to friends!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review - its nice to hear that our efforts to make the house welcoming are appreciated!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cool house, perfect location.

Review submitted: February 27, 2014   Date of arrival: February 21, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a four day weekend. This house could not be more perfectly located. Up on a hill above Northern Cambria, a short walk downhill to the shops, restaurants and Moonstone Beach. It's about 20 minutes to Morro Bay, 30 to Paso Robles and 10 to San Simeon and Hurst Castle.

The house has an extremely unique design – lots of cozy corners to curl up in. It's very clean and well appointed, but maybe not the most modern decor (if that's what you're shooting for).

For a nice dinner, I recommend Madeline's and the Cambria Brewing Co's tasting room is a fun stop-off on the way back from a day at the beach. (both are a 5 minute walk from the house)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Weekend Getaway!

Review submitted: February 10, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

We had the most relaxing weekend in memory staying at this beautiful home. The house has endless character and is very romantic. The hot tub is very relaxing, and the views from the house are great. Highly recommended for your Cambria trip!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for posting - we hope you remember us for future visits!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Romantic Treehouse Getaway

Review submitted: September 7, 2013   Date of arrival: August 9, 2013

The owners were terrific to deal with. Their incredibly unique home exceeded expectations. The location was a short walk to main street and a beautiful and easy stroll to Moonstone Beach. Every living space in this home inside and out featured woodsy or ocean views and exuded cozy. We loved the privacy and serenity of this home. The private outside hot tub was a treat as was the jacuzzi tub in the master bath-by the way as you lie in this tub you gaze out to the ocean. I would certainly recommend this property to a friend or relative and I guess the ultimate statement as to our experience-We hated to leave and intend to return!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the great review Mark - it's extra nice to know that our guests have enjoyed their time in our special little place!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing house!

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: August 26, 2013

We had a very nice visit to Cambria, and we loved this house! It was hard to know what to expect when we arrived, since most of the building isn't visible to the road. We parked in the driveway in front of the garage, and decended the stairs to the front door. The deck looks rustic and a bit weathered, but inside we found one of the most charming and architecturally unique homes I've ever entered. The buildng hugs the side of a hill, so there are stairs that go down to the living and dining areas, and up to the bedrooms. There's a lot of exposed wood beams but tons of skylights, so the rooms are never too dark. The dining room opens out to a patio, so we could eat inside with the doors open, and get lots of fresh air. There's a little sun room off the kitchen area. Most of the windows have views, and you can see the ocean from the kitchen window! I almost missed the little balcony in the master bedroom. And the master bath has both a Jacuzzi tub and a large shower stall. We enjoyed the house so much that we probably spent more time inside than we had planned! I made good use of the upright piano near the foyer, and we appreciated having a well-appointed kitchen for cooking meals. I really can't fault any part of our experience with this vacation rental. It met my expectations and then some!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Daniel for describing the house so well - we are glad you enjoyed it - happy times in the house seem to add to the ambiance!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing House

Review submitted: June 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 5, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this wonderful, whimsical, cozy and comfortable home situated on the hillside above Cambria. We enjoyed the hottub at night, cooked a couple of meals in the well equipped kitchen, watched DVD's from the local video shop in the TV room and we just loved the views through wall sized windows. We had a terrific time visiting the Hearst Castle, walking the boardwalk at Moonstone and owners restaurant recommendations really hit the spot. Robins! yum! thank you, thank you, thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review - so glad the house met your expectations and that you enjoyed our recommendations - we hope you will be able to return often!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome Weekend

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

Beautiful experience!!!! So many activities:
Stopped at fish market in Morro Bay, cooked fish on Fri eve, followed by attending the local Playhouse performance, then on Saturday out for great dinner at Black Cat Bistro...walks on boardwalk at Moonstone Beach..each morning...heavenly.
This is our second stay and won't be our last...so easy to settle in and enjoy all the ambiance..views, hot tub, birds singing, comfortable bedding, oh and yes my favorite is the skylight window in the master bedroom with scads of stars to gaze upon while falling asleep each night.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Joan - just realized there is a section on VRBO for responses to reviews and I wanted to thank you for posting such a nice one - we are always so happy to hear people have enjoyed the house and all the wonderful things the central coast has to offer - we love it up there & love sharing it - hope to have you back next year!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Perfect Weekend

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

This is our second stay and won't be our last...so easy to settle in and enjoy all the ambiance..views, hot tub, birds singing, comfortable bedding, oh and yes my favorite is the skylight window in the master bedroom with scads of stars to gaze upon while falling asleep each night. Beautiful experience!!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

beauiful spot

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

We stayed here last October.
it had that perfect cabin vibe, but mixed with beautiful ocean views and beach influence.

there were 4 adults and 1 baby and we had plenty of room.
there are a lot of stairs for a baby, but was very easy to manage.

the kitchen seemed new and modern.
sun deck was a nice bonus while cooking, panoramic views!
you can walk to the Cambria strip in about 5 mins, and the beach in 10.

the master bedroom and bathroom was awesome!
my wife took a bath, which has a view overlooking the town and ocean. she was in heaven.

But if you need some fresh air, the hot tub was a pretty sweet alternative.
we also bbq'd some ribs on the grill. tasty.

It’s a nice quiet neighborhood. We took a walk and saw some wild turkeys!
At night, I’m pretty sure I saw every star in the galaxy.

In all the house and location contributed to a very successful weekend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect getaway!

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

My wife and I went with a couple friends to this house, and we all could not have been happier. It's nestled near the top of the hill with a great view of the ocean. There is a terrific nook with all windows just off the kitchen for watching the sunset, which we did nightly.

The entire house is incredibly cozy, with a spectacular master bedroom and bath. The master bath was ENORMOUS with terrific fixtures and a huge jacuzzi tub (there is also a terrific hot tub outside). Dual sinks in the master bath and a rain shower with a view. I never wanted to leave the bathroom!

That said, we did :)

Down the hill (we walked - 10 minutes tops, but walking back up might be harder if you're older) was a fantastic little town. The house is a two minute drive to main street Cambria. We went to three different wine tasting rooms (all 30 second walks from each other) and actually had GREAT wine. We are big wine tasters, and were more than pleasantly surprised at the quality of the wine we tried. The rest of the town has great restaurants, an EXCELLENT coffee shop, and you can walk to the beach.

There were wild turkeys and turkey vultures, which are Central California fixtures, hanging out, which added to the whole rustic feel.

Overall, I loved the house, loved the location, loved the town. It is a perfect marriage of mountain getaway and coastal beach town. The house itself was perfect for reading a good book or making dinner. The open kitchen made it easy to cook while still hanging out and talking with everyone in the dining room. Guest bedroom was still spacious and the bathroom was also clean with new fixtures and instantly warm water. Great water pressure, which is a big factor for me.

We stay in a lot of houses up and down the central coast, and this one is absolutely on our short list of ones to return to!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

heaven

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

My boyfriend and our pups and I spent last weekend here. I had never spent time in Cambria and I am so glad we found this town and this home. The house is incredibly unique and private and charming. We spent our nights cooking and sitting by the fire and enjoying the quiet. There are two ipod docks with speakers which was a plus for us as well as all the kitchen supplies you need. Bed was cozy and taking a bath at sunset is quite possibly the begin the night. This house is a gem. Only drawback was the jacuzzi was dirty so we didn't get to use that. So, all in all, try this place out. It is rustic heaven.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Just saw that I can send responses to reviews on VRBO - so I'm a little late with this but wanted to thank you for taking the time to post - we are so sorry that the outdoor spa was dirty and wish we had heard from you so we could have corrected it for you - upon checking we discovered out spa service man had been hospitalized and no one had contacted us for a replacement. We have a new service and the spa has been kept spotless with no complaints. Have a Happy New Year and hope you find time to return!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wow

Review submitted: November 5, 2011   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

Stayed last weekend. Amazing experience. Skylight in master bedroom "heavenly." Romantic. Lots of steps but GREAT exercise! Can't wait to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved it

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: August 2, 2009

I've been here twice on a composing retreat (it's hard to find vacation rentals with pianos!), and have found it so relaxing and energizing, I'll be back in August! The views are wonderful, lots of places to hang out, both in and outside. Brought my bike the first year, which was a mistake, unless you REALLY like hills. (The hill directly up from town is too steep for me to ride on a bike.) Lots of stairs, if you have problems with them. But if you are OK with that, I don't think you'll find a better spot. The views of the fog rolling in the morning, ocean in the midday sun, and the beautiful sunsets are all fabulous.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Hideaway

Review submitted: June 12, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

This is simply a very special place: a gorgeous architectural home that's long on comfort and charm, has all the modern amenities and absolutely stunning views. Waking up to an ocean view framed by those pines was pure bliss --as was the hot tub on the deck, the glass of wine in the jacuzzi tub (also with an ocean view), the cozy den with fireplace and watching the sunset in the sun room. Easy walk down the hill to Main Street and Moonstone Beach. Watch for the wild turkeys in the yard. Can't wait to return.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cambria Bliss

Review submitted: June 12, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

The photos don't do this place justice. An architectural gem with loads of retro charm yet all the modern amenities. My jaw hit the floor when I saw those million-dollar views. Even the jacuzzi tub in the updated bathroom has whitewater views. So many nooks to enjoy: sun room, cozy den with fireplace, master suite with a wall of windows and skylight, deck with a hot tub. It's an easy walk to the West Village and Moonstone Beach, and an easy drive to the wineries in and around Paso Robles. The owner is very helpful and responsive. I haven't been that relaxed in years and am already planning my return. The first of many, I hope.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

awsome house

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

Perfectly beautiful, comfortable for everyone age 54-16 in our party. Star gazing. Beautiful sun room. Hot tub. Ocean views. Just a wonderful spot. Plus a piano for my musician daughter

the beds were all comfortable, even futon in loft area
kitchen well set up
plenty of birds to visit with in the morning on the porch

the only negative: we had to leave.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome property

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

The only negative thing: we had to leave.
We loved this place. It was myself, my daughter just turning 21 and visiting wineries, my son, and her friend. Perfect amount of space. Star gazing. Beautiful, remote feeling area of Cambria while only a few minutes from town. We saw wild turkeys crossing the road. The sun room gave me a place to read while my daughter loved the upright piano - she is a professional musician.

we had several wonderful meals in the house, and the beds (even the futon in the loft area) were very comfortable. We found it spotless as well (and we rent a lot of homes/apts and often don't find that to be true)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The best birthday celebration!

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 10, 2011

My wife and I had the greatest time in the Cambria house. It was our second visit and we decided that it would be the best place to be for my wife's birthday. The house is so unique and has a marvelous architecture, with wonderful views of the city and ocean, sun room, deck with spa. Our interactions with Donna, the owner, have been pleasant and helpful. We will visit again!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely home on California's beautiful Central Coast

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

We stayed here in May 2011 and were completely delighted with the house. It offers stunning views of the ocean, surrounding woods, as well as the moon and stars. It is nicely appointed while offering comfort and space for a variety of daily activities. This home is within walking distance of Moonstone Beach yet also feels like it is a secluded mountain getaway. The owners offered prompt and informative assistance when needed, which served to increase the ease of our stay. Our time together in this lovely home added to the beauty of the already enchanting Central Coast.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Mountain retreat with ocean views!

Review submitted: February 15, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

We stayed here over the weekend in February and were just delighted with the house. It had everything we were looking for and more.

This house is just a thousand or so feet from the shore and yet when you are inside it you feel like you are in a secluded mountain cabin.

Serenity, romance and peace are the words I would use to describe the feeling inside this delightful and surprisingly spacious house.

With a warm and inviting sun-drenched reading room where you can see the ocean, secluded hot tub to burn away stress (a personal favorite), and a star-filled sky to gaze at through sky-lights when the sun goes down, this house is the perfect retreat from the daily grind of the city.

Hearst castle and the Elephant Seals are, of course, a ten minute drive away. But there is so much more to discover in the picturesque towns of Cayucos, Morrow Bay and San Luis Obismo, as well as the surrounding areas. Tons of surfing, kayaking, camping, hiking, wine-tasting and shopping to pass the time.

Easy to find, easy to reach, close to everything, yet giving off an over-all feeling of secluded peace, we were surprised to find how quiet everything was, how stress-free we felt, how enchanted we were.

I highly recommend this house, you can't beat the location, you can't beat the unique character of this house, and you can't beat the price for all you get.

We will definitely be coming back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Cambria House

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

This house, at one time, was well loved. It is a beauifully designed house and the listing is accurate in terms of location, space and views. Because the previous tenants were late in leaving, the maid was unable to clean the property adequately, which we can understand, but the property is dated and in dire need of updating. The outside has been terribly neglected and what once was a beautiful showcase is now kind of sad. As we entered the property, we were leary of the unkempt appearance. We did speak with the owner, not to ask for any kind of refund, but because we were concerned with overall care (or lack thereof) of the property. If they are paying for grounds and spa care, they are getting ripped off. So sadly, I must say that the property is not well-maintained nor was it, upon our arrival, properly cleaned. The owners do not live in the area, so there is no one to supervise the care the house is supposed to be getting. All of that having been said, once we settled in and did a bit of cleaning, we began to love the space. Whoever built this property paid attention to detail. It has lots of neat nooks and crannies or 'away spaces and the master bed was very comfortable. There are lots of stairs inside and out, so if a traveler has mobility issues, this house would be a challenge. We used the house as our base and traveled from there. The town of Cambria is charming and we had wonderful experiences in the restaurants and there are lots of galleries with wonderful local art. If you are in the area to see the Hearst Castle, then you must also see Nit Wit Ridge which is on the way up to this property. In nearby Paso Robles, there are literally hundreds of wineries to visit. Despite the drawbacks, I would have to give this property an average rating, but with some tender loving care, this property could once again be a beautiful showcase. I would give our visit to Cambria a huge 5 stars!

Owners response: We appreciated the feedback from this guest and discovered that the gardener we were paying each month had disappeared - maybe deported? So yes, the grounds looked horrible - and the house did need lots of maintenance - so we hired a new gardener and have also just spent a ton on new wood flooring, newly refinished woodwork on all cabinetry,installed two new flat screen tvs, new stereo ipods, power washed the decks and patio furniture, and have remodeled the master bath with new vanity, enlarged shower, and two new copper hammered sinks...and all the old pans have been thrown out and new ones in their place . So come and enjoy once again!!!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Nice house, could do more upkeeping

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 28, 2009

I loved the architecture of the house. It was very unique and had a lot of windows which was nice. However it's very dated, and on the way down the steps (if you have issues with walking, I would not choose this) the first things that appeared were 2 huge pots of dying cactus with sipder webs and bugs all over. There were bird poop all along the stairs and overgrown shrubs that gave me the chills. This gave me the first impression that the place was dirty.
The dark old carpet and the strong cat smell was a big issue for me :(. I am very allergic to cats and the smell was hard. If you have pets then this perfect for you.
They had a great book collection and a reading area, a functional tub. If you like to cook you may be disappointed with the cooking tools. They are mostly hand me down's and old pans that should be thrown away.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: This tenant said he would place a negative review on VRBO unless we sent him a credit since he said the house had an overwhelming cat urine stench - when we checked it out however we found that the prior tenants had no such experience - the two outside cleaning ladies who cleaned for his last minute arrival said there was no urine smell - the regular cleaning lady who cleaned when he left said no urine smell - and the five new tenants that checked in the same day he checked out said there was no smell....I told him that since eight different people all said there was no cat urine smell I would not send him any money - I think this guy enjoys blackmailing owners to get himself cheaper vacation stays. There has never been a cat in this house to our knowledge - but the pans are older and I will replace them and be sure the cactus gets more watering....

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Getaway

Review submitted: July 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

We spent a few days at this location this summer. The house is lovely. The owners went out of their way to provide little extras that make the stay comfortable and relaxing. We especially loved the master bedroom with the huge windows and skylight over the bed. The master bath also has an incredible view from the jacuzzi bathtub. Lots of stairs though...so be ready for that.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review