reviews for: listing #98977 - Hollywood, Florida House rental

Near Beach Resort Home on Historic Hollywood Lakes
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $400 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,800 /wk
    $3,600 - $7,200 /mth

sort by:

Excellent

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

The home showed exactly as promoted. The rooms are airy and spacious. The eating area very big and bright. The backyard is picture perfect with a great pool and hot tub. Upon sunrise the next morning, I noticed the house to be a little dirty!
The only downfall was the pool heater stopped working day 2 into our trip.
The homeowner was very helpful in trying to fix the problem, and always available either by phone or email.
I would definitely rent this property again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Break Stay

Review submitted: March 26, 2014   Date of arrival: March 16, 2014

The house was nice and big. The house manager was a bit annoying. The room leading to the pool stayed a bit warm nd didn't have a close outlet to plug in the tv. Other than that it was great. The pool and Jacuzzi were fantastic.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Work in Progress

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: January 10, 2014

Advertised to have a "Brand new gorgeous Pool With Badu Swim Jet for an awesome swimming experience. This can also be used as a Water Treadmill in the pool. Pool has full automation with LED Lighting system"
I was warned that "the pool may not be ready in time for my vacation"...kinda bummed about that because the Computer generated photos was what led me to this property.
The garage doubled as an extra room, that was clever. And if you have a baby, there's a baby crib in one of the rooms.
None the less, we had a great time here. Very spacious and a great location.

Thank you.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Work in Progress

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 22, 2013

We were made aware of construction (of pool) on property at the time of booking but it seemed as though additional renovation was taking place in the house around the time of our stay. Upon arrival, it was necessary to go out and purchase several light bulbs as many fixtures had worn-out bulbs or no bulbs at all. We needed to make a call to the property owner for instructions to access the internet at which time he was most accommodating. We also needed to contact the property manager for instructions to correct a beeping security system. Many of the walls had empty picture hooks which gave us the impression that some painting / remodeling was taking place. The listing information indicated that there were three TVs but we found that only two of them were hooked up for use. We were grateful for the use of the laundry appliances (washer and dryer) on the property, but when trying to use the dishwasher, it leaked all over the kitchen floor.

I think that with a bit of "tweaking and TLC, this could be a wonderful vacation rental. It is within walking distance of a very nice park where our grandsons found a terrific playground. We were within a five-minute drive to the beautiful beach and "broadwalk" with great shops and restaurants. It was also very accessible to the Ft. Lauderdale airport and downtown Ft. Lauderdale. We found some very nice restaurants in downtown Hollywood, as well as a Publix grocery and WalGreens that were close by.

I would recommend this property on the premise that some of the aforementioned details were addressed. Its a nice location with lots to offer, but just needs some "fixing up".

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We loved it!

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

This review is overdue, but still worth it to write it. My family and I could not have been happier renting this home. Yes, there were minor issues, 9 out of 10 times you will have an issue regardless of where you go. this house was located exactly where we wanted it to be, in the heart of Hollywood. My kids loved the jacuzzi. My family is already looking forward to 2013 vacation. I guess it is time to e-mail mr. Massry.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Couldn't be happier!

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 2, 2013

The house is even better than described! Location is just blocks away from the water in a very safe, very nice neighborhood. The property manager and Abe were very nice and professional to work with from the very beginning, made sure we were well taken care of before, during, and after stay. Responds very promptly to emails and phone calls. I rented the house for my older family members to stay during my wedding weekend, and they described it as "too good to be true". They walked to the water and around the neighborhood in the mornings, full amenities with cable and internet, very clean upon arrival with fresh towels, linens, and blankets, large, comfortable beds, easily slept 8 people, and very close to town and the beach. Also a great price! Would certainly stay again and recommend to others.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Not so nice

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 26, 2013

We stayed with 5 people in this house over Easter 2013. Upon our arrival the cleaning person was still in the house, which was not a problem as we had not notified them about the time of our arrival. I am not sure whether the gentlemen then felt rushed but when we returned to the house at around 6pm, it did not really seem to be fully cleaned.
Actually in a couple of spots it looked like these had not been cleaned in a while!
Most of the surfaces were really dusty.
Lots of surfaces felt kind of sticky.
The first evening we had to eat with baby forks -as we did not realize that most of the silverware was still in the dishwasher.
Days later we found extra towels in the dryer.
The kitchen was not very well equipped. There were neither 4 equal wine glasses nor coffee mugs. Lots of utensils were simply not existent.
When we moved the coffee maker a bit to the side, the surface underneath was dark brown - had not been cleaned in a while, I assume.
One of the dining chairs is broken but they obviously leave it for decoration purposes. It cant be used though and is kind of dangerous.
The Jacuzzi outside was of a greenish/ brownish color. I did not even want to put my fingers in the water.
The backyard was not clean, there were plastic containers, toothpicks and other stuff laying around.
The grill was a mess. Actually there are two grills but one is already falling apart.
The description says there are bicycles. Well, there was one. However with flat tires and no pump anywhere around.
We called the cleaning person again on the first evening to have him come back in and clean some more (surfaces, back yard and grill). He did come which was greatly appreciated but we still felt we were being complicated and demanding.
I am usually not a complaining person, but all the little things just added up to me writing this review here. Overall the house was a bit disappointing. It looks really nice on the pictures but it is a lot more outdated (and unfortunately not as clean) than it appears here.
I would not necessarily recommend it, unless you get a really good deal or have no alternative options.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Sunny Florida

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 12, 2013

We arrived late and everything seemed to be in order for us. Directions were great and the info to get in was right on target. Thank you. There were no comforters or blankets for the beds and the nights did get a little cool believe it or not. We go down this time every year and usually have much warmer weather. The owner was so nice and prompt about getting someone over when the washer would not fill. Would you believe, when the repairman came it worked perfectly. He did fix the garbage disposal. An overhead light in the kitchen never did turn off but we could keep bedroom doors closed at night. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen had adequate utensils for cooking and eating in, the house was reasonably clean, and the location was great. We enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean, Comfortable, Affordable

Review submitted: March 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 3, 2013

The home was clean, comfortable, and affordable for a large group (8) looking for a place to call "home" for a week. Travel to North/Mid Miami area was reasonable from location. Great downtown area for the city of Hollywood and very close to the house. Owner was easy to work with and accomodating. Only recommendation is to bring/buy extra dishes/paper products if your group is larger than 4 as there were limited plates, mugs, bowls for dining needs. House is located in a quaint neighborhood with easy access to the Interstate and beach. The home is highly recommended!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellant vacation spot

Review submitted: January 5, 2013   Date of arrival: December 25, 2012

This home is beautiful and wonderfully located to the beach and other tourist areas of Hollywood. Excellent home for small children and adults. Abe was very attentive and willing to take care of any issues we might have had. I highly recommend this home for a great vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

House in a Good location

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

I enjoyed my staying at this location, the location is good, near shopping centers, the beach, and everything the city offers.I definitely recommend this place for future vacationers who would like to stay at hollywood city. I surely will rent this place for my next vacations, a quite neighborhood, the house has all the accomodations, nice place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Good location, very nice house.

Review submitted: June 30, 2012   Date of arrival: June 21, 2012

Could have used more dishes, they said they would take care of that in the future. All in all a very nice experience and we would stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Atlanta Executive

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

The owner of the property was extremely accommodating to the needs of my family and I. I'm very much into ensuring details are in place especially when entertaining my family and the house provides the details I was definitely seeking. The hot tub, gas grill, over size kitchen and tropical oasis landscaping added to the resort experience my family and I are accustomed to.
The in town property manager greeted us and ensured my family and I knew where to find local grocery stores, restaurants, shopping and ensured we were extremely happy.
Having a private lake and park within walking distance was certainly an added plus that will be engrained in our memories for some time. It was extremely nice to have had the ability to take nice morning and evening strolls in such a safe and secure neighborhood.
There was tennis for me, basketball for my Son and the water for other family members right at our finger tips.
We’ve found our yearly South Florida vacation home and would most definitely recommend it to others in hopes you enjoy it as much as my family and I.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review