reviews for: listing #99117 - Fort Myers Beach, Florida House rental

Beach Bungalow *Gulf Front*
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,550 - $2,950 /wk

sort by:

Heaven on Earth!

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: May 4, 2014

We (myself, my husband and our two boys ages 15 & 21) just came back from the most wonderful vacation! We stayed for a week and it was very hard to leave. We have been to Florida many times but this is the first time in Fort Myers and the first time we have rented a home on the beach, it was a wonderful experience and we will definately be back. The house was beautiful and the beach was beautiful with beautiful sunsets!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good Times Again !!!

Review submitted: March 14, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

This was our 3rd yearly stay at "The Beach Bungalow". Me from Milwaukee and my brother and sister from Minn. Had a great time again with a great location and facility. We look forward to the venture again next year. (possibly 2 weeks.)

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Perfect location

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: January 11, 2014

Our party consisted of four 60+ year olds. Being right on the beach was a wonderful advantage for those in our group who are not so mobile. The front porch was front-row-center for watching ocean and sand.
The reason that I marked GOOD instead of EXCELLENT arose from two facts that might be helpful for prospective renters. The windows in the bedrooms do not open. That is probably not an issue for 85% of A-C-loving Americans these days. But it was an issue for us at first when the weather was perfect for cross-ventilating ocean breezes and we are fresh-air aficionados. The second issue that might be better explained is the size of the mid-house bedroom. It is quite small and there is a double-decker full/twin-on-top bed that takes up much of the space. One of our party had trouble adjusting to the closeness of top bunk, lack of ventilation, and narrowness of the room. So we swapped occupants and the second person wasn't bothered at all.
All four of our party had an excellent stay. For location, you can't beat this house. The nearby manager was most helpful and the owner went out of his way to ensure we enjoyed our stay.
One other factor that's helpful to know concerns traffic. It's just slow and thick on the weekends. Of course, this condition is completely unrelated to the house. I just thought it would be good info to help plan your arrival since change-up date is on a Saturday.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the beach bungalow. We really appreciate your kind comments. We do make every effort to make your stay as enjoyable and relaxing as possible. I am so sorry for the issue with the window during your stay. I am hoping to have a new window installed in the off season when it will not interfere with anyone's stay. I agree that traffic this year is heavy. I think more people than normal are escaping the cold weather up north.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Total Relaxation

Review submitted: August 17, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Our week at was so much better than expected. The home was even better than the listing photographs and description. It was clean, well appointed, beautiful and comfortable beds, lots of room, wifi, three TVs with lots of channels, A beautiful Kitchen with all the kitchen wares needed, A beautiful beach view, which gave for beautiful sunsets.......I could keep going. We got a lot of use, beach chairs, towels, beach toys. All we needed to buy was sunscreen!. We mostly grilled on a brand new BBQ or cooked at the house but did go to the out for meals. We really enjoyed the time we spent at this house. WE would certainly recommend this property to any of our friends and family. OH YEA, the SUNSETS off of the top porch were spectacular. LOVED IT:-)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the nice review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Getting reviews like yours makes all of the hard work worth it.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Tranquil Paradise

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

The property was located right on the beach! It wasn't a large stretch of beach from the house (as can be the case in other locations in Ft Myers) which made it very convenient for my elderly grandmother to walk back and forth. The house came equipped with everything we needed from towels to beach chairs to kitchenware. This made it a very hassle free trip where we were all able to relax and celebrate my mother's 50th birthday. The only downside to the property is that the bedrooms aren't renovated and there is carpet in the rooms and they are not updated decoration wise. This wasn't a big issue for us though because we were seldom in the rooms other than to sleep. We spent most of our time in the gorgeous patio overlooking the ocean and the beach! I would definitely return to this property and recommend it highly for anyone looking for some R&R!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Rx for stress relief; a week on the beach.

Review submitted: June 8, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

This beautiful little beach cottage was exactly as advertised. The location on Fort Myers Beach is ideal; beautiful sugar-sand beach, far enough away from the night life to enjoy serenity but close enough if you want to participate. We spent most of the time on the lovely covered deck watching the surf and sunsets from the cozy rocking chairs, and beach combing for treasure at low tide. A great place to unwind and watch the stress go away!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Return to Paradise

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

Here I am reviewing this little slice of heaven again. We stayed here last October, loved it so much we booked again for this October. But a few months ago we realized we just couldn't wait so we booked a week in April. There had been some nice little additions like the hammock on the lower level, a large screen TV in the 2nd bedroom, new carpeting in 2 of the bedrooms. I was so happy that a couple of tiny issues we had addressed after our last stay were taken care of.

The beach bungalow feels like home to us now. You can actually feel your blood pressure ease and all your cares wash away within a day. We love sitting on the covered deck watching the dolphins, the parents with their children, the joggers, the leisurely feel of the island lazily passing by. There is nothing on earth more relaxing and refreshing than a deep breath of fresh air with a dash of the spray from the sea.

At sunset everyone literally spills onto the beach to watch the sun go down. Voices and laughter fill the air. We usually eat out, but we make sure we're home for sunset. There are wonderful restaurants all over Fort Myers Beach to enjoy. We never had a meal we didn't love. I only discovered this area a year ago and we are hooked. One server at a local restaurant laughed out loud when we told him we live in West Palm Beach, but love heading the "the other side" to relax.

I hesitated to review again because I hate seeing the weeks snapped up. But I know how I rely on the reviews on HomeAway and it's only fair to do the same for others that they have done with me.

The house is impeccably clean and comfortable. The people in the area are warm and friendly and the beach is simply beautiful. The sand is so fine it's like talcum. This is not a grand and glorious home with many floors and decks and hot tubs that some will reach for; this is just what a beach house should be ... welcoming and comfy and never more than a few steps to the sand.

Can't wait to return for 2 weeks in October!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful homeymoon

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

My wife and I booked this property as a honeymoon stay. We both were married previously and were bringing our adult children with us on vacation to get married in Ft. Myers and have a relaxing time with our kids. This house is awesome! We spent a short amount of time on the North end of the island in Times Square, because we did not want to leave our own private beach at this house. We ate every home-cooked meal on the covered porch. The kitchen is fantastic. The beach is great -- big enough so all of the beach walkers don't even come close to the house. We arrived early and the cleaning crew was not ready for us yet, but they said we could use the beach and chairs to make ourselves comfortable. All of our family members are asking how we found this house because they want to book it for next Spring break. We will be back. Lots of good memories with our kids.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Good Times

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

Just got back from our 2nd journey to the "Beach Bungalow". My brother and sister (from Minnesota) and myself (Milwaukee) joined up there for our second year there.
Had a great time at a great place. Plan on doing the same next year. Thx for a great facility and location.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beachtime

Review submitted: March 7, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

The home was perfectly located on the beach and far enough away from Times Square that we didn't have the trafffic for either. We enjoyed the use of the trolley for getting around the island, very accessible. Loved the porch to sit on and enjoy your morning coffee and watch the walkers on the beach and also we had a rainy day so we were still able to enjoy the outside. A trip down to Times Square is certainly a must, lots of good places to eat and shop. Jerry the caretaker was very friendly and helpful (we needed to borrow a pan and he helped us out). A recommendation was the sliding door needs to have some work so it will lock easier, it took us quite some time to figure out how to lock it. All in all it was a great time. I would come back and recommend to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the beach bungalow. I hope you come back soon. The lock on the sliding glass door has been repaired and is in good working order. Thanks for letting us know about the problem so we could have it fixed and I am sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Charles

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

We had a great time. The house was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. Being right on the beach was fabulous and we plan to book this property again in the future. Publix was so close which made it easy to pick up all the items we needed. Lots of great restaurants in the area and we took the Trolley to Times Square on FMB for just 50 cents each way!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Girl Trip

Review submitted: October 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

This was our 16th Girl Trip we have spent the last 15 in P.C Florida and decided to try something different. We Worked with Charles at HomeAway and he sure took care of us. There were 5 of us our age is from 45-65. We like to stay in a house verse a condo and it has to be on the beach with a covered porch. This house provided both and the setting was darling. The house was clean and was 15 steps to the beach. We would set out on the deck in the morning and watch the dolphins drinking our coffee and it was so peaceful. The trolley runs right in front of the house. The are grocery stores and all kinds of wonderful places to eat just minutes away. There is a maintenance/care taker named Jerry that lives near by and him and his wife Bobby were great we talked with them on the beach and they gave great suggestions on places to eat and to party. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Once Is Not Enough

Review submitted: October 9, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

I almost rated this 4 stars because there were a couple of tiny issues, not important at all, that might distract from a 5 star rating. But then I thought for a minute and realized that they weren't important enough to take a star away.

This was a perfect time away for us after a really difficult year. We live on the east coast of Florida and my husband really wanted to visit the west coast again. I didn't (I'm an ocean person), but I gave in and started my search for a pet-friendly rental anywhere from Naples up to St. Pete. This had everything we wanted ... just the right size, located mid-island away from the crowds, a covered deck area, comfortable attractive interiors and it sits literally on the white soft sands of Fort Myers Beach.

The reality truly exceeded our expectations from the moment we arrived. I fell in love with Fort Myers Beach, everything about it, but most especially "our" little house. I loved the beachy decor, the wonderful kitchen with updated appliances, granite counters and large deck looking out over the Gulf which we saw transform before our eyes at dawn and sunset, under the bright sunshine and finally roaring through a fierce thunderstorm on our last night. We could have sat there for weeks, but we only had 7 days.

It's even prettier and more comfortable than it appears in the pictures. The layout is perfect. the bedrooms are small, but serviceable. The sliders to the deck were very tight and at the end of our stay we could barely open one of them, but we were told someone was coming to clean the tracks the following week to get them back in working order. I missed some of my usual cooking utensils, etc, but I managed fine. I have no complaints at all. The home was immaculate, all the beds freshly made and towels out for us. Everyone we dealt with before and during the week was mindful of our needs.

Restaurant-wise we loved Fresh Catch, Doc Ford's, and Bayfront Bistro (twice). But other than walks on the beach, that was the extent of our activity. We loved this cottage so much that we've rented it for 2 weeks next year. Made it just a little easier to leave, but not by much.

I don't want to rave too much; I'm hoping to add a week every year so I don't want word getting out. But the truth is, you will not be disappointed when you come to this beach bungalow and stay awhile.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fabulous Beach Home

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Our family recently returned home to Ontario Canada after spending a wonderful week in Fort Meyers Beach at this property. It was well worth the drive! It is a beautifully appointed home on the beach which exceeded our expectations. It is located on one of the most beautiful stretches of white sand. We enjoyed watching the wonderful sunsets from the covered deck that extends from the living area of the home. It was immaculate when we arrived and we were provided with ample linens which included luxurious bath towels as well as beach towels. Everything was as it was depicted in the pictures that we had seen prior to our arrival and in fact even the pictures don't capture how beautiful a spot it really was. We would highly recommend this property and would love to return

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Family Getaway

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Absolutely perfect for a family stay! Stunning view, great house, and friendly people. A great place to unwind with natural surroundings.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Vacation Beach House!

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

Thanks for providing us with the best vacation beach house ever. We had a very comfortable stay in this very cozy 3 bedroom house. The beds, sheets, pillows were extremely comfortable.This house was very well equipped with everything and more...from houselhold needs to beach chairs, an abundance of towels, sand toys and water rafts, etc.... The house is mid island right on the beach with a huge lot full of white powder sand.There was a very convenient publix about 1 min drive from the house and timesquare about 5 min drive. The beach is amazingly clean filled with thousand of shells and sand dollars to choose from. The house has a spectacular view of the ocean and the sunsets from the porch and inside the house. One of the great advantages of this house is that there is only white sand directly behind the house and you dont have to walk through any pathways filled with grass or bushes or trees.Also that the sand is soft and clean, many of the houses have great beach view but are not as close to the water as this house nor is the sand so perfect as this house. I strongly recommend this house to any other family with kids. I cant wait to return to this same beach house.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best Vacation Home Ever!

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

Thanks for providing us with the best vacation beach house ever. We had a very comfortable stay in this very cozy 3 bedroom house. The beds, sheets, pillows were extremely comfortable.This house was very well equipped with everything and more...from houselhold needs to beach chairs, an abundance of towels, sand toys and water rafts, etc.... The house is mid island right on the beach with a huge lot full of white powder sand.There was a very convenient publix about 1 min drive from the house and timesquare about 5 min drive. The beach is amazingly clean filled with thousand of shells and sand dollars to choose from. The house has a spectacular view of the ocean and the sunsets from the porch and inside the house. One of the great advantages of this house is that there is only white sand directly behind the house and you dont have to walk through any pathways filled with grass or bushes or trees.Also that the sand is soft and clean, many of the houses have great beach view but are not as close to the water as this house nor is the sand so perfect as this house. I strongly recommend this house to any other family with kids. I cant wait to return to this same beach house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Fabulous!"

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

Our family loved this house so much we immediately booked it for the next year. The location and beach access is outstanding. The property was clean and very nicely stocked with the basics. Can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Stress Free Vacation

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

We had the best time on our vacation. The house was right on the beach and was well stocked and very clean. We had a group of six and had plenty of room. We spent a lot of time on the front porch listening to the waves and looking out over the water. The sunsets were amazing. Everyone that we met on Fort Myers Beach was friendly. The rental company was a pleasure to work with and was very quick to respond to any questions we had. We can’t wait to come back next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"beautiful house...nice location"

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

My family and I stayed in this beautiful house, and we had a great time.The house is very clean and organized, everything was in good condition.We felt very safe besides the fact that is in a public beach access.The decoration was cute.We will definitely would like to come back .And highly recommend it to anybody.The kitchen was equiped with everything.The lower level and the terrace were our favorites.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

great time

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 7, 2012

awsome home on the beach. Very comfortable and clean. most awsome sunsets on the beach. Will stay again

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great, beachfront location

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: December 25, 2011

We had an opportunity to stay on this beautiful stretch of Ft Myers Beach in a great house. Comfortable bedrooms, nicely appointed kitchen, and a great porch overlooking the ocean and sunsets provided great times and memories for our family. We will definitely be back

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review