reviews for: listing #9916 - Pine Island, Florida House rental

Shell House with its own boat ramp & lift
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Bokeelia
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $100 - $150 /nt

sort by:

A Great Getaway...

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

My husband and I just returned from the Shell House for Memorial Day Weekend. What an incredible weekend we had! This house is fully equipped with everything you need and so very clean. Such a convenience having a boat ramp, boat lift and a marina at the end of the canal. The fishing was awesome, snapper, trout, redfish, blacktip shark...we didn't want to leave. Only means one thing, we will definately be returning to stay at the Shell House! Thank you Ingela and Steve for your home, our home.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Shell House- Wonderful for relaxing and fishing.

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

We rented charming Shell House for the second time and love it. There are near by resturants and charming shopping.

It is perfect for relaxing and fishing on Pine Island. There is a boat lift that accomodated nicely my 26 foot Andros fishing boat. Access to Pine Island sound and good fishing is excellent. We literally caught fish within 7 minutes of launching the boat. It is a also only a 20 minute run to famous Boca Grand Pass and it's exciting Tarpon fishing. There were also plenty of opportunities for great wildlife photography with Ospreys, herons and pelicans abundant(sometimes stealing bait from the live-well).

We truly enjoyed our stay at Shell House with our two little dogs on beatiful tropical Bokeelia.

Steve and Ingela were wonderful hosts and helped with everyting we needed.

Thanks for a great vacation !!

Gene and Carol

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming!

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 17, 2011

Don and I will be back with Jethrow....we already miss the front porch for breakfast and a lazy morn. Our 4 legged little guy loved watching the birds and boats on the canal and so did we. I have absolutely no suggestions to make Shell House better...so clean and perfect for us...so organized...a lift for the boat and ramp, too...What more could we need? Don, Jethrow, and I say a huge thank you for a wondeferful week in your charming Shell House. We will return! Marianne

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We love Shell House

Review submitted: December 13, 2010   Date of arrival: December 13, 2010

We will be renting Shell House the end of January 2011 for the 4th year. We enjoy the house so much and have our boat right at the front door in the canal. There is a well-maintained boat lift. Steve and Ingela have been great landlords, very welcoming and quick to respond to any request. The guest room and bath are so nice, and we have friends that look forward to visiting us every year. There has never been any problem with rental agreements or payments. The negative review posted earlier couldn't be more wrong.
Kathie & Mike

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

In love with Shell House

Review submitted: December 11, 2010   Date of arrival: January 25, 2010

"We will be renting Shell House for the 4th year in January 2011. We have been so impressed with the owners, Steve and Ingela Conley. They have a lovely home and keep it in excellent condition. Our boat is at the door in the canal and in a safe and well-maintained boat lift. We have guests during our 5 weeks every year and the guest room with bath is so nice. Our friends can't wait to return each year. The neighborhood is so great--the location, the quiet, easy access to the Charlotte Harbor and beyond. We have made great friends with the neighbors on both sides, one of which is a renter like us. Steve comes at a moment's notice for the smallest request. The Conleys always visit us and very welcoming. We highly recommend Shell House. You will love it.
Kathie

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

In love with Shell House

Review submitted: December 11, 2010   Date of arrival: January 25, 2010

We will be renting Shell House for the 4th year in January 2011. We have been so impressed with the owners, Steve and Ingela Conley. They have a lovely home and keep it in excellent condition. Our boat is at the door in the canal and in a safe and well-maintained boat lift. We have guests during our 5 weeks every year and the guest room with bath is so nice. Our friends can't wait to return each year. The neighborhood is so great--the location, the quiet, easy access to the Charlotte Harbor and beyond. We have made great friends with the neighbors on either side, one of which are renters like us. Steve comes at a moment's notice to address any issue, no matter how small. We usually have a lunch date with the Conleys each year. They are very welcoming. The negative review given recently is horrible and so opposite of what we experience. We urge anyone interested to try Shell House. You will love it! Kathie

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Thanksgiving weekend

Review submitted: December 11, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

We had the best time staying in your lovely home in Bokeelia. The home was a clean and neat as possible. The home was tastefully decorated and was very comfortable. Great bed, great bathroom and a well stocked and efficient kitchen. We always appreciate staying in a home that is as advertised. The money per night was more than fair. Thanks for the quick return of our security deposit. It almost beat us home. We will return for a longer stay as soon as we can.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Owners were helpful and forthright

Review submitted: December 10, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

I was amazed at the negative review above. My husband and I (and another couple) rented the Shell House last May. Prior to our rental, we received a written agreement from the owners which clearly stated rental conditions, arrival and departure expectations, etc. We signed this and had no surprises. The owners were at the residence when we arrived (checking to make sure everything was in order)and were helpful in identifying places to rent boats, dine, grocery shop, etc. We would rent the shell house again in a nano-second. Our only complaint was that because of the harsh winter of 2010, there were no snook. But we caught lots of other fish.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review of Shell House

Review submitted: December 10, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

I am amazed at the negative review above. We (two couples) spent a week at the Shell House last May. Prior to committing to rent, we reviewed the owner's contract, signed it, and arrived to find the home in good condition. We never had a moment of distrust with either of the owners. Because we were unfamiliar with the area, we spoke with them a couple of times during the week. They were always responsive and helpful. We had a great week and would go back in a nano-second. The end of the week "requirements" are similar to what we find in the condos at both Sanibel and Captiva. Our only complaint was that the harsh winter of 2010 made fishing for snook impossible. But we caught lots of others!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Shell House a true paradise

Review submitted: December 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 29, 2010

We had been recommended to this property by a very good friend of ours who has been renting the Shell House for many years. My husband and I were very pleased with the location and the property itself. We love to fish and the rental seems geared to our kind of people - it even has it's own fish freezer!. The key code worked as promised, which was great because we had been on the road many hours by the time we finally arrived. The house was clean and well furnished with all the amenities we expected and then some. We found we had brought alot more items than we really needed, because it was supplied by the owners. In my dealings with Steve and Ingela they were very accommodating and communicative, which we find is true plus when dealing with rentals as we have for many years.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

owners are not trueful

Review submitted: October 7, 2010   Date of arrival: September 15, 2010

We have been renting on this site and others for more than five years. We rented three more times since this rental. The inside was mostly clean and well kept. The outside had paint flaking and the railing on the stairs is unsafe. The bikes tires are all completly flat. The to do list when leaving is much to long. The owner is dishonest in the fact of returning the deposit. They demand CASH ONLY(NO CREDIT CARDS). Our first in over 100 rentals! I always give a review after any rentals we do. This one I strongly think should be taken off any and all rental sites. There are too many honest renters on these sites to have to deal with the dishonest ones. Sincerely, Mike

Owners response: We are amenable to our guests’ concerns and requests and we feel fortunate that for 11 years we have many return guests.

Our written contract serves to protect all parties. In the contract, all terms are clearly and fully disclosed and a signature insures that all information was reviewed and acknowledged prior to acceptance of payment.
We have never, nor will we ever remunerate a guest for writing a positive review of our home.

We rely on our return guests and their friends, friendly letters and phone calls; and we thank all our return guests for their patronage and kind words.We welcome our new guests to find out for themselves why we have return guests and they may choose to do so also.

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review