reviews for: listing #99165 - Mission Bay, California House rental

Bayside Hideaway Jamaica Court (upper unit)
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Mission Beach
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $240 - $350 /nt
    $1,680 - $2,450 /wk

sort by:

Joan

Review submitted: March 25, 2014   Date of arrival: November 28, 2013

Thoroughly pleased with our stay at 816 Jamaica Court. Although slightly modified, we were even able to cook Thanksgiving dinner in the fully furnished kitchen. Dinner was accompanied by the complimentary wine provided, quite a nice touch. Pack and Play crib, high chair and beach toys were great to have with our 18 month grandson. Bikes, lots of beach chairs and towels, extra bath towels, washer and dryer, grill, etc - this place has everything to make for a comfortable and enjoyable vacation! Location was also ideal, being close to both bay and ocean.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Spring Break Trip!!

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

6 of my college friends and I rented this unit for Spring Break this year. We didn't like the crowds at PCB like all the other spring breakers, but chose to opt for more relaxing San Diego- and we were glad we did! The unit suited our needs just right. For location, it was prime. Homes on the beachfront rent for a premium, but we were 2-3 minute walk from the beach, so not a big deal to us. Besides, beachfront homes are not as private because of the constant stream of people walking/biking/skating by. Its very close to some great shops and restaurants (Go to Luigi's- Best pizza ever)and right by the Belmont park roller coaster that is so worth the 6 buck ride. Now, on to the unit itself. We appreciated that there is a parking space in a carport since parking is limited in the area. It was a bit difficult to get our big rental Suburban in there, but not impossible if you're a good driver. 2 patios are great but we mainly hung out on the one by the dining room with the grill. We sat out there and watched the Seaworld fireworks (perfect view)and generally just relaxed while grilling our meals. (2 propane tanks included) The beds were comfortable, plenty of clean sheets available for the trundles and pullout and air mattress too. This place is fully equipped with every essential you could need: beach toys, chairs, kitchen utensils, laundry supplies, etc etc. Sheila (property manager) even left us a couple bottles of wine and 6 pack of beer. Sheila was amazing to work with, very responsive and accommodating. She encouraged us to eat at their restaurant "The Patio on Lamont Street" and that was our favorite restaurant in the area that week. They even split the check for us (why does no one do that in SD???). The neighbors to the West were not very nice. I get that we parked in "her spot" once but they were just rude, so watch out for them. Overall, I would recommend this place to everyone going to San Diego. It made our vacation that much more relaxing! Thanks!! :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family fun & birthday celebration!!

Review submitted: November 9, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

A great time was had by all, as we gathered for my husband 70th birthday celebration! The rental was clean, comfortable and as represented in the pics, no ugly surprises. Sheila was so very helpful with any questions we had. Very nice touch we found the frig well stocked with cool beverages!
The location was so convenient to beach, bay, shops, restaurants and Belmont Park. I remembered how lovely it is to live within easy walking distance to the beach :)
Our 3 granddaughters had a blast and especially enjoyed all the sand toys provided!
We look forward to coming again at this reasonable rate.
Just a couple of minor improvements - there were no wash cloths and a few of the blinds had the turning sticks to open and close off or broken.
Thanks again & blessings!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely home and efficient staff

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

LuvSurf staff made our first beach home rental easy. They were very responsive to inquiries and have a virtual tour of the place on their website. We canvased many beach houses in San Diego and La Jolla that allowed pets and is a short walking distance to the beach. This cute house in Jamaica court with unmatchable rental price deal was difficult to pass. The house met all our preferred criteria 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, allows pet, very close to the beach, and within our budget (actually even lower than we originally anticipated). It was fully furnished with bathroom/kitchen essentials, beach chairs, towels, boogie boards, bike, and toys/bowls for your Fido. There were 6 adults in our group so it was very comfortable for us to stay in a house that can accommodate more. We were afraid that the house might have lingering smell from pets that stayed before us but they do an awesome job maintaining the place very clean and smelling fresh. Our 7-month old Golden Retriever also enjoyed this place because he was free to roam around the house and go to Ocean Dog Beach. I give them 4/5 only because I think the parking space seem a little bit small for our Sequoia when the other space is occupied by the other tenant. It didn't take away from the fun family vacation though because we got the parking situation sorted out with the other tenant. We just had to fold our side mirror and stay super close to the post. It might be all parking by the beach have the same problem. The good news for us is we went when it's not peak season so weekdays was not as crowded than the weekend we got there. Lovely home and friendly and efficient staff so definitely a place we might come visit again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Adorable house so close to the beach!

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

We rented both the Jamaica properties. They were both so cute, well decorated, and fully stocked! They had a great beachy feel and had all the amenities we needed and more. The house was so close to the beach and provided easy access to restaurants and more. In addition the service from the folks at Luv was impeccable! We are definitely coming back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Famil vacation

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 20, 2013

This place is super close to beach and bay. Very easy! Has all the things a place would need. My only complaint would be the carpet. I think in rentals (especially ones tht allow dogs). There should not be carpet through out the place. The carpet was dirty with a lot of spots. They shld consider at least putting tile down or hard flooring.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

LoveCali

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 8, 2013

Nice house, very clean, walking distance to Mission Beach. Very close to most attractions. Parking was a little tricky for a minivan or anything bigger.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Jamaica Bay Retreat

Review submitted: April 12, 2013   Date of arrival: April 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this comfortable apartment. It is very convenient to both bay and ocean as well as the amusement park. Furnishings are attractive. Owner was very responsive to all questions.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect location

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

My family and I had a wonderful stay at the property. The location worked great for all of our group. One of our groups was competing in a regatta hosted by the Mission Bay Yacht club and it was a 10 minute walk to the club. The rest of our group split time between the beech and other great San Diego attractions. Thanks

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stay here and enjoy the beach AND bay!

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 8, 2012

The location was excellent for walking on the bay or the ocean. And the house was ideal for our group of six adults. We found everything we needed in the kitchen for food prep. Even the dog felt welcome!
You won't be disappointed in your choice of Jamaica Ct!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Better than Great!!

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

We have rented in Mission Beach and Pacific Beach for about 20 years. This place is the best we have ever stayed at. We all appreciated how clean it was. All of the little details went a long way, full size "fluffy towels", well equiped kitchen, and the laundry room. My family is already planning another trip .But, as my grandkids say, "Only if we can go back here". We also loved going to Luigi's for Pizza (a short walk) and riding bikes on the Bay.
Oh, and the owner was very responsive to any requests.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

We had such a wonderful stay! The property was VERY clean and felt more at home than any place we have ever stayed!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great deal and a great location... plus, they allow pets!

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

We stayed Father's Day weekend 2012 when we came out to SD with a group of friends for a wedding. We had initially booked a hotel, but found this house instead, and we are so glad we made the change!

We were lucky enough to be the first guests inside this property-- which had just been renovated the day before we came. EVERYTHING was great-- you can tell the company is very detail-oriented and we felt at home from the moment we arrived.

Well stocked house with towels, beach toys, kitchen necessities.

We also loved the fact that we could bring our dog along, and we were only about a 3 minute walk to the bay to take her for a walk. The ocean is only about 5 minutes away.

The company was very easy to work with and quickly answered any questions I had prior to booking.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

sunshine

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 18, 2012

The rental was clean and had everything we needed. It was so close to the ocean and the bay we walked back and forth multiple times during the day. There was plenty of room and I loved the laundry room. The keyless entry was helpful too. We would definitely go back!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review