reviews for: listing #99167 - Mission Bay, California House rental

360 Degree Roof Top View Bayside Home
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Mission Beach
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $325 - $620 /nt
    $2,335 - $4,340 /wk

sort by:

Incredible Vacation Home!

Review submitted: August 22, 2014   Date of arrival: August 17, 2014

Our family chose to do a staycation this year and found this incredible home on their website. The pictures on their site are spot on. It was Absoluyely perfect when we walked in. The views from the top deck are INCREDIBLE! We will be staying here again for years to come. Everyone I dealt with was professional and very nice. Thank you for making our staycation a time to remember.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Beach House Ever

Review submitted: July 31, 2014   Date of arrival: July 24, 2014

First of all, I would to thank Sheila Steverson and her staff for there exemplary service. They went over and beyond what was expected to make sure we had a great stay. With that being said, this is one of the best beach house's you can rent in Mission Beach. The house was clean, well stocked, and ready to go. It had complimentary soft drinks, water, wine, and beer. This place has every amenity you can think of canoes, paddle board, bikes, and beach chairs.The stunning views from the roof top deck was my favorite. I can't say enough about how nice the house is, the location, and the customer service we received. My family and I definitely enjoyed our stay and will be back next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family vacation!

Review submitted: June 28, 2014   Date of arrival: June 24, 2014

My family of 4 shared the San Rafael home with another family of 3. It couldn't have been more perfect for us! Everything we needed or wanted was there and in great condition. The washer had broke down before we checked in Sheila let us know immediately and in no time had it fixed for us. The house is like new and everything inside was beautiful. The view from the roof top is absolutely priceless. One side we had the crashing waves of the ocean the other side a beautiful view of the bay. We will definitely be staying in the San Rafael home next summer!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great accomadation. Better than the photos.

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2013

Great place great location. Would recommend to anyone.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely farewell to summer....

Review submitted: September 7, 2013   Date of arrival: August 26, 2013

Wonderful stay at this spacious beach house. The Bay is steps away from the door, convenient for the dogs to play before 9 and after 6. The house is super dog-friendly, very well stocked, nicely decorated and there is a Raleys within walking distance. Beautiful views from the deck, clean gas BBQ, great cook's kitchen with all cookware you need. After a problem at check-in, managers bent over backwards to make things work for us. Neighborhood is well kept. Most units around the house were vacant before Labor Day: I can see where it could be noisy when homes are occupied because they're close together. This is a fun and surprisingly quiet weekday get-away, and we'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Mission rental yet

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

5 words...YOU WON'T WANT TO LEAVE!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Summer stay.

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

Visited San Diego with family that included 3 young grandsons. This was a perfect location for fun on the beaches. House was well maintained, well supplied and clean. The stairs were not a problem and I am the grandfather. Rooftop deck was great place in the evenings. Choices for eating out within walking distance was a little limited, but we managed and had fun exploring the area on foot. Easy car access to Sea World and Old Town. Hope to do this again. A place to park two cars was a bonus.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful family vacation spot

Review submitted: June 20, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our stay. the setting, amenities, location and ambiance were all just what we hoped. the photos do not do it justice, for it was even nicer than expected. The rooms were all a decent size, with furnishing immaculate. We would stay there again if we had the opportunity.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Views

Review submitted: April 20, 2013   Date of arrival: April 10, 2013

My family and I just got back from California 3 days ago. The house was great! We arrived and it was clean and neat. There was complimentary beer and wine, which was awesome. There were 6 of us and each couple had their own bathroom which was really nice. The rooftop is just simply amazing. You can see the bay on one side, the ocean on the other. And you can see for miles. That was my favorite part of the house! The beach cruisers(bikes) are such a nice touch to the house. Some houses you have to rent them, this house they were there. We cruised all over on them. All in all this was a amazing trip. The weather could have treated us a bit better, but when it comes to the house, no complaints. Would def. stay there again!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome house! Awesome location!

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our two teenage boys over spring break. The location couldn't be better! The house is literally a block from the ocean and two houses from the bay. The house was perfect for us. The boys slept in the bunk room and we stayed in the master bedroom and didn't even have to use the downstairs bedroom. The house is very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The owner was kind enough to stock the fridge with bottled water, wine, and beer. The rooftop deck is amazing and affords you a full 360-degree view, including into downtown San Diego. You are close to everything: the airport, Sea World, downtown, Balboa Park, the Midway Aircraft Carrier Museum, Belmont Park, La Jolla, UCSD etc....There we two cruiser bikes, a kayak and three boogie boards, three beach chairs, towels, beach toys, frisbees etc....for us to use during out stay. We had a mid-sized car and it fit perfectly in the garage and the parking bay. You might have trouble in the parking bay with a larger vehicle. The only drawbacks or negatives to the house that I can think of are 1) San Rafael Pl. is at a four-way stop with MIssion Blvd, so if you are a light sleeper you will hear every car, truck and motorcycle slow down, brake and then accelerate at the stop sign. We used the white noise machine apps on our iPhones, which helped, but you might want to bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. I think this is only a problem in the master bedroom, since it's at the front of the house. My boys didn't hear a thing in their bedroom at the back of the house (but then again, they're teenagers!). The other thing I would say is that the carpets need to be cleaned. Everything else was spotless, immaculate and pristine, but the carpet definitely shows stains and general wear and tear from having so many people in and out. We left our shoes in the front entry like they asked us to and that probably helps. Otherwise, everything else was FANTASTIC.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome house!

Review submitted: March 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

A great property! Everything was excellent!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation Rental! Exactly as Represented!

Review submitted: March 2, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

This was a pefect location for a mid-winter vacation escape from New England. From the rooftop deck we could watch the sunrise over the bay in the morning and watch it set over the ocean in the evening! I got to do a slightly different run straight from the rental every morning -- along the ocean, around the bay, through the amusement park, around the ritsy neighborhoods of Pacific Beach. It was convenient to everything by foot and car with a great grocery store within walking distance. It was also great to have access to bikes that were conveniently stored in the garage.

Despite some mid-week rain, we got to all the major attractions with ease: the Zoo, Safari Park (which was FANTASTIC!), Sea World (not so great), PETCO Park (great behind the scenes ballpark tour), and Balboa Park and the many museums there. San Diego is an incredible town!

Jocelyn was a great contact person! Thanks for a wonderful vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Super Beach House

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 21, 2013

My sisters and I had a great time while staying in this house on Mission Beach. It was centrally located to restaurants, shops, walking paths and both the ocean and bay beaches. Parking for two vehicles was no problem when we backed into the spots; driver does need help unless you are a better driver than I am! Bedrooms were beautifully furnished and the bathrooms were practically new. The upstairs living area had great views and very comfortable couches. When you go up to the deck at the top of the house, the views will steal your breath they are so fantastic. This is a great location for walkers or runners, and we felt safe doing both at any time during the day or early evening. Jocelyn and Traci answered any questions we had and were great to work with. The guest binder gave very useful information and led us to one of our favorite restaurants World Famous. Also, we enjoyed the free WiFi and cable television, especially the movie channels. Overall, I have to say that this is the best experience I have had renting a vacation home. Thanks, Jocelyn and Traci!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Super Beach House

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 21, 2013

My sisters and I had a great time while staying in this house on Mission Beach. It was centrally located to restaurants, shops, walking paths and both the ocean and bay beaches. Parking for two vehicles was no problem when we backed into the spots; driver does need help unless you are a better driver than I am! Bedrooms were beautifully furnished and the bathrooms were practically new. The upstairs living area had great views and very comfortable couches. When you go up to the deck at the top of the house, the views will steal your breath they are so fantastic. This is a great location for walkers or runners, and we felt safe doing both at any time during the day or early evening. Jocelyn and Traci answered any questions we had and were great to work with. The guest binder gave very useful information and led us to one of our favorite restaurants World Famous. Also, we enjoyed the free WiFi and cable television, especially the movie channels. Overall, I have to say that this is the best experience I have had renting through VRBO. Thanks, Jocelyn and Traci!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great home with excellent roof top views plus one block to either beach or the bay. Tasteful decor.

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

We stayed at this very well built home over Thanksgiving and really enjoyed our stay. The owner and staff are very attentive to make sure you have a great experience. Our kids enjoyed the place because of the ability to hang out in several areas. We used the bikes to cruise around and liked how well stocked the kitchen was for preparing our big holiday meal. The main living spaces were very relaxing and enjoyable for hanging out and enjoying the bay/ocean views. Distance to anywhere interesting in San Diego and attractions is very short and manageable. Love the close proximity to pacific beach and short walk to groceries/restaurants/bars/shopping. We also enjoyed all the different routes for running bay side or ocean side from the house. Highly recommend the place and location. Will stay here again if we vacation in San Diego. The property was clean, the photos on the site were spot on, I loved using the gas grill to make most of our evening meals. The grill seemed like it was very new. Once again, can't say enough about how awesome it is to hang out on the rooftop on a warm day. Very cool.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun filled Weekend in Mission

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

The house was wonderful. We enjoyed the roof top deck. We all felt like we were dining at a five star resort with the 360 degree view. The kitchen and living room, with a view of the bay, was a nice place to start your day or relax during your day. The beds were very comfortable and the 3 bathrooms were an added plus. The house is within walking distance to restaurants, shopping, grocery store, beach and bay. The house was very clean!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Roof. Top View

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

Our favorite part of the house was the roof top. It was spacious and had everything we needed to enjoy a family cook out. Our five kids ranged in ages from 22-31 and they all agreed this was a perfect location for everyone to find something to enjoy. I couldn't of asked for a more helpful property manager, very quick to respond to any questions or concerns. I have already recommended this property to our friends. Since we had rented an 8 passenger SUV our main complaint was trying to get it parked in the space provided due to the narrow alley we had to enter from. Any regular sized vehicle worked fine though and it was great to know we had a garage and space to use.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Had high hopes and was disappointed.

Review submitted: September 7, 2012   Date of arrival: August 21, 2012

The property is located in a convenient area. Close to the beach and bay. I was disappointed with the condition of the carpet in the unit. As this is a pet friendly place, you could definitely tell. There were stains on the carpet and it was dirty. I expected alot more based on the pictures. The couch also had signs of stains from pets. There seems to be a problem with flies in the area. The parking was very tight if you have larger vehicles. Overall I was disappointed based on the cost of the rental.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

An absolutely wonderful week in every way !

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Quite simply, this house is just a beautiful location for a holiday. The rooftop terrace overlooking at one side, the bay, and at the other, the ocean, just can't be better.., and it's so close to the beaches - just steps away.
Inside, if anything, the house is even nicer than the photographs, immaculately clean and well presented in every way and just perfect for us.
Gina, Traci and Jocelyn are all such lovely people to deal with, making everything so easy - from the booking process to our arrival information. The welcome book, with lots of information on the area is very helpful indeed, and we took up all the local recommendations for restaurants, and enjoyed them all ! My (teenage) daughters and I also rented segways which was great fun along the boardwalk, and we had a great day at Seaworld, which is just 15 mins drive away. We also used the bikes every day to explore further. It was such a lovely surprise too, when we arrived, to find a pack containing some treats, and to see beer and wine in the fridge - a real unexpected bonus!
Finally, I'd also like to thank Jocelyn for chasing up some things we'd left behind in the drier (!) when we checked out and mailing them back to us here in the UK. That's customer service of the highest quality!
All in all, we'd highly recommend this property, the week we spent here in San Diego was the highlight of our trip to California, and we hope to come back !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation to remember!!!

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 10, 2012

This bay side home was in a perfect location. From the roof top we could see the a beautiful ocean view with the dolphins and at the same time watch the older kids canoe in the bay. The layout of this home was perfect, but you better like stairs because you will get a work out since the kitchen is on the 3 floor. Each bedroom had their own private patio or balcony that you could go out on any enjoy the sunrise and sunset. The neighborhood and residents were very friendly. Ralphs and Starbucks were walking distance. The owners greeted us upon our arrival and even left us a surprise in the refrigerator.

I would for sure recommend this property to friends and family. I look forward to visiting this home again.
.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay at the bay!

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

The location is perfect and loved the views of both the bay and beach from the living room and the roof top. Kitchen was well stocked with the basics but also items that are usually not available such as spices, foil, plastic wrap, placemats.... We enjoyed riding the beach cruiser bikes and barbequeing with friends on the roof top. Overall, great stay!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved it!!!!

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

Everything about this stay was awesome. The house was supplied with everything! It was beautiful. I have nothing negative to say. We will definitely be coming back. Thank you!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You Supplied Us with Everything We Needed

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

Thank you so much for letting us stay in your beautiful home. We had so much fun! You supplied us with anything we could have ever needed. Thank you for honoring your May special for us. We have your name, number,and website, and we definitely stay here again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Mission Beach Getaway

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

This was a fantastic house on a quiet street right in the Mission Beach area. Sandwiched only a block from both the ocean beach and bayside beach is was great to have the option of going to the more quiet side (bayside) to relax, or to the more people watching fun side. (oceanside) Walking distance to great restaurants, watering holes, grocery store, and other amenities was perfect. We brought a car but ended up never using it in favor of either using our feet or bikes to get around everywhere.

The owners were really easy to work with, and communicated everything we needed to know about the house well before our arrival. The actual house itself is beautiful and seems to be a relatively new renovation/build. Amenities are all very nice and above average, and the rooftop deck is really the highlight of the property. A perfect 360 degree view of the area is a perfect place to spend a relaxing, lazy afternoon at. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Busy Family

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

Amazing location and fabulous house. We had a great time. The roof deck was the perfect place to watch the sunset. We could walk to restaurants and the sailing center. We look forward to returning next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review