reviews for: listing #99246 - Santa Teresa, Costa Rica Villa rental

Beachfront Villa Bonita
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $300 - $1,000 /nt
    $2,100 - $7,000 /wk

sort by:

feels like home!

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: January 20, 2014

I staying in plaza royal for a month from january to february and it was awosome.
it's my second time there and i love it.
very clean and cozy well equipped kitchen big bethroom.
50m from the beach.
Have fun (-:

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome squared!

Review submitted: January 30, 2014   Date of arrival: January 20, 2014

Look no further. Villa bonita is the best costa rican accommodation. Mali is taking care of everything you need! A few barefoot steps away from the best surfing beach in costa rica, private pool, BBQ area - simply heaven. seriously.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect House for our Family

Review submitted: January 30, 2014   Date of arrival: January 13, 2014

I booked this house for our mature family of 10. We had never been to Santa Teresa, so we didn't know what to expect. The porch is awesome! The outdoor kitchen is attached and the porch was large enough to hold all of us comfortably. Every morning we would sit in the rockers with our coffee and watch the surf. The landscaping is perfect. You are next to other houses, but you would never know. The pool is great for cooling off in the afternoon out of the sun. The house is far enough off the street so that you don't get any dust. We were able to walk to everything we needed. We went to the organic vegetable and fruit market everyday, that is literally across the street, to pick up fruit, organic eggs and cheese and we made breakfast at the house. It was hard to cook for dinner as there are so many awesome restaurants. Red Snapper being my favorite. Wish I had gone there earlier in the week, because I would have gone multiple times. We found it was easy to find a great meal for $12-$15. The beach was awesome. My husband spent his day in the surf fishing, the kids surfed and boogie boarded, played Frisbee and just chilled. I think the house was better than the pictures. Sometimes you just don't know. Emilya was fantastic. Even after we were there, she made arrangements and reservations for us. Any questions before we got there and after we were there, were handled promptly by her and her staff. She really knows how to make your stay comfortable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous family holiday at the beach!!

Review submitted: January 14, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

2 families stayed in this home for the week after the Christmas Holiday. It was the perfect location...steps to the beach, close to town, private and adjacent to a friendly/fun beach restaurant/bar. The property manager was truly amazing,..She was available virtually all of the time, via email. She co-ordinated zip lining tours, private snorkeling boat, offered dining advice and even delivered a delicious cake to thank us for staying. We spent most of our time hanging at the beach where we surfed, sunbathed and boogie boarded or at the home on the beautiful patio and fun backyard. We have been to Costa Rica 3 other times and this was our best stay because of location, yet!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

VILLA BONITA - the palace for the kings

Review submitted: December 19, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

our honeymoon -
me and my new husband spend 2 weeks in this amazing villa,
few meters from the beach, private pool - and allot of restaurant to eat in.

in the neighborhood you can find a waterfall (montezuma) to go and see, and quad renting that had so much fun.

very recommended villa on the beach- very private clean and a guard at night.

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful November adventure

Review submitted: November 16, 2013   Date of arrival: November 5, 2013

My husband and I, along with our 9 month old son, and my Father stayed at Villa Bonita for a week in early November. We've never stayed in Santa Teresa before, so we didn't know what to expect regarding the "lay-of-the-land". This villa is located in the ideal spot on the water. Great surf right outside our door.

This villa has everything you could wish for. Private pool, amazing patio, outdoor kitchen (which is the coolest thing, and it's fully equipped), comfortable beds. Everything about this villa is beautiful, and very Costa Rican (warm woods throughout, open airy windows, etc.) The air con is great too.

We visited at the end of rainy season. What a great time to visit. No crowds, romantic rain showers in the late afternoon, pleasant temperature. Also, b/c of the little rain showers everything was green -- and no dust from the unpaved roads. Perfect!

Emilya Tal, the owner of Villa Bonita is amazing. She will make sure everything is perfect upon your arrival. Best kept secret: visit in November -- don't let the little bit of rain (which is really nice) scare you away.

Once we arrived I was so happy we choose this villa compared to the others next to it. It's the best one by far.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanks for Villa Bonita

Review submitted: September 26, 2013   Date of arrival: September 4, 2013

Wonderful experience, amazing place and great service is what made ??our vacation to be imagined

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 11, 2012

I stayed in this amazing villa with all my family last year and I really haven't found another villa more comfortable,cozy and with a great location than this. Next to all the great restaurants,supermarkets and shops. The sand is almost right under your feet making the beach your patio. Elegant and spacious rooms, maid service,wi fi,all the amenities that i wanted there where. For me is for sure my first option when it comes to stay in Santa Teresa.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best trip I've had

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2013

I stayed at casa Bonita this last June and it was by far the best spot I've ever stayed at. I've been to CR 8 times and have stayed in 8 different locations, casa Bonita is by far the best. It accommodated me and 7 friends, pool and yard were perfect for us and can't beat the 30 second walk to the beach. Emilya and her staff were excellent help and made things so easy for us. Definitely recommend staying here to everyone!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family vacation

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: May 12, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Bonita for two weeks. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised at how amazing this house is. Looks even better than the photos online! Emilya was so accommodating throughout the whole process. Answering all my questions leading up to the trip and during our stay she made sure we had everything we needed. We were travelling with another family. In total were 8 people, 4 adults and 4 kids under 5. The pool and the playground made our kids vacation so enjoyable. For the adults the close beach access to surf and the proximity to the town amenities made this place so great! We loved Costa Rica and in particular Santa Teresa. We will definitely be returning to Villa Bonita, can't imagine a better place to stay... Thank you Emilya

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradiso!

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: February 13, 2013

I have travelled all around CR and the world... Staying at this amazing house was one of the most fun I ever had. Right on the most beautiful beach, right in the center of Santa Teresa. Emilya was such a pleasure to work with. She made me feel like I was home. This home is comfortable, beautiful, extremly well cared for. I will come back next year and recommend to friends and family. Cleaning lady and security were so helpful. I felt comfortable and safe throughout my stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The best enjoyable stay ever!!!

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: December 6, 2012

A few of us, 4 couples, went to this amazing villa for a few days in order to celebrate our friends' wedding. The villa is extremly comfortable, very well equipped and the stay was more than pleasent. it is located at the center, a minute walking distance from all the restaurants, botiques, scubba diving, etc. There's a small pool just outside, and another large pool next door. The house itself is very lovely, decorated to my exact taste, letting us feel like queens and kings in this kingdom. The owener was wlcoming, friendly and highy coperative, as we needed much assistant. We were given the best hospitality and service, we lacked nothing and we highly recommend this to all...no doubt we will visit again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

fue una de mis mejores vacaciones, fue maravilloso

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: January 13, 2013

es un lugar especial, bonito, precioso,calido, me senti como si estuviera en mi propia casa. la atencion fue excelente.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

the most amaizing vacation that i could dream at

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: December 6, 2012

we were 8 people, and we came in a big van from "san hoze". at the moment we arrive there was someone that wait especially to explain us in a lovely way all we need to know in the house.
the house is beatifull, seating on the beach (10 steps away), with great swimming pool, four comfortable bedrooms, an equipped kitchen... basically every thing that you wish and want to have the best vacation!!!
costa rica is known about his beauty and magic, but in this place "santa tereza" you can find the real simple life of surfing, nature, best food ever, great vibe :)
i got married there, and the owner of the house, emilya tal, arrange us all: food, decoration, d.j's, alcohol... every thing that we wanted at the best way we could ever dreamed of. the wedding was at the beach near by the house "villa bonita" so it was p e r f e c t!!!
i had the time of my life.
i really recommend villa bonita for a vacation!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

the best place in c.r

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: November 14, 2012

We were a group of two families, 4 adults and 5 children
We stayed in the wonderful Villa Bonita for 7 nights in the middle of November, and we all had a blast. Each couple got their own room with private bathroom and shower, and the kids split the other two rooms, and used the big bath in the shared bathroom. The children loved the pool, and spent hours in it every day. The younger children enjoyed the playground with the swings and jungle gym. The older children took surfing lessons right by the house with an amazing instructor arrainged by Emilya, the owner of the house.
The adults enjoyed sitting in the big porch in the evenings after the children had gone to bed, relaxing and enjoying each others company.

There were many wonderful restaurants in Santa Teresa, and we enjoyed eating out at different ones every night.
We all loved the house, it is big enough to hold everyone, and still give everyone their privacy.
We will definitely be coming back in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place and stay!!!

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

We had a great time over New Years...the pool is great- super close to the ocean. The owner- Emilya- is awesome and super helpful!!!

Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend? Absolutely!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excelente lugar para vacacionar

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2013

Mi esposa y yo, junto con un grupo de amigos estuvimos de vacaciones en la casa. La recomendamos totalmente. La casa es muy cómoda, privada. La casa contaba con todo lo necesario y lo que venía descrito en esta página: utensilios de cocina, paños, ropa de cama, etc, es una casa muy confortable y cómoda. La atención de los dueños y personal de limpieza fue muy buena también.
Definitivamente quedamos muy contentos y agradecidos por todo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise found

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

Villa Bonita is a truly fabulous home in which to stay for your visit to Santa Teresa. Located on an oasis-like gated lane with lovely landscaping, just steps to the beach (with a security guard no less), the house is beautifully appointed with all of the comforts of home plus plenty of space and privacy for multi-party groups. The pool, hammocks, air-conditioning and massage chair add to your relaxation, and then the whole package is topped off with superb care and hospitality from the owners' personal visits, to the helpful and ever available concierge and finally with the daily housekeeping services. Thank you Emilya for making our vacation a true paradise! We loved it all and it was truly a pleasure meeting you all too.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house and staff are wonderful!

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

We visit the Santa Teresa area once a year and this was the best lodging experience we have had yet! The staff will leave you to be and do your own thing but the second we needed anything they were there for us.There was a very friendly maid that came in every day to sweep, make the beds, put away dishes, and clean the bathrooms! The security is also the best we have seen yet with a gated entrance and a night time security guard. The owners also live on the property.
It is one house back from the beach but you still have a great view of the water and it was nice being one back because there was a nice big yard to hang out in and we felt there was more privacy from beach traffic. The day we were leaving they were going to break ground to put a private pool at the house and that was the only thing we were missing! (the pool only was 50 feet away with our own private entrance connected to the bar and restaurant) so it was great anyway.
Each bedroom had its own bathroom (one detached) which was perfect because we were four couples and no one was stepping on each others toes. The porch area was huge with a very large outside dinning table and the kitchen. The kitchen is detached from the rest of the living quarters which I saw some people have complained about in past reviews, but past homes we have rented with attached kitchens all end up with fruit flies, ants and other bugs no matter what you do! So to us it was great minimizing the bugs as much as possible.
On top of that there is great surfing right there and it was only a five minute walk down the beach to a beach break that was great for the people just learning. So all and all everyone in our group had a great time and will be visiting again! Oh, and price wise its the best you can get for being that close to the beach and having a higher end home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent beach house

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

Very helpful staff, great location and very safe. The food was good with many proximate restaurants and grocery stores.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

PARADISE

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: April 8, 2013

I stayed in this amazing villa with all my family last year and I really haven't found another villa more comfortable,cozy and with a great location than this. Next to all the great restaurants,supermarkets and shops. The sand is almost right under your feet making the beach your patio.
Elegant and spacious rooms, maid service,wi fi,all the amenities that i wanted there where. For me is for sure my first option when it comes to stay in Santa Teresa. FL

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Unbelievable Stay

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 12, 2013

Villa Bonita was a great place for our 2 families to stay. Excellent service from start to finish, and couldnt imagine a better place to spend 2 weeks, especially with the 4 kids we had. Daily pool/ house cleaning, great yard with covered deck, BBQ, and pool was great. Only a few steps from a great beach. Truly amazing!!

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

One of the most charming places at a great price

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: May 1, 2013

As a big family with children, it was a great pleasure to reach Villa Bonita. The villa is very large and spacious, with a huge garden and a private pool and it was an enjoyable trip and good time with the children. We arrived in the wet season and we were afraid that it would be too rainy but in fact also in the wet season it rains mostly at night and everything is very green and the flowering is amazing. the fact that there is not too many people makes you feel in a desert island and its a great feeling.
The restaurants recommended to us by the charming owner where excellent with a very good service (maybe because they were not full of people).
In addition, we were able to get a great price because of the rainy season.

Because of all this i think that Villa Bonita is the best place for a great vacation for families even during rainy seasons.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Peaceful family home on the beach!

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

We stayed here this past Easter and loved this home and all it has to offer. Conveniently located within Santa Theresa, lovely home, extremely accommodating owner Emilya, fully equipped kitchen, wonderful maid service, our own pool, a few steps from the beach and grocery. This was truly one of the loveliest vacations our family has had!

Owners response: We always have many reservation requests for Semana Santa, so we're so glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

Hope to see you again soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfect Vacation Rental

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 18, 2013

We just returned from a fabulous holiday at Villa Bonita. The house has evervthing you need for a great vacation and it's in the best possible location, great value, owners were there to help us with whatever we needed, can't go wrong with this home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Experience - Villa Bonita is the best

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

As I mentioned in my review of Plaza Royal Apartments, several of my friends and I were meeting up for a vacation in Villa Bonita. We arrived on different dates, and took different ways to get here. Emilya, the owner of the villa, was incredibly helpful rom the beginning of our trip until the end.

I arrived a couple days early and she set me up in one of her apartments. One of my friends flew into Tambor and she arranged a taxi to come and pick him up. She helped a couple of my friends rent a car in San Jose so they could drive to Santa Teresa.

The Villa was beautiful and a perfect place for a reunion. There were four bedrooms, so we were all comfortable. The private pool was great in the evenings after a long day in the sun, and spending the nights sitting on the large porch was a wonderful way to spend the evening.

We were literally steps away from the beach, and took full advantage of the fact. Not all of us surf, but the ones that do said that the beach right in front of the villa was a great place to do so. I took my first surf lesson, and it was a lot of fun.

The weather was beautiful the whole time we were there, we couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Not only would I recommend this place to anyone who asked, We're already talking about making this trip a yearly event.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Vacation for six travellers from Canada

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2013

We had been to Santa Teresa once before, but the experience we had at Villa Bonita blew away our already high expectations of this special part of the world. Owner Emilya was always friendly and attentive, eager to help and just a phone call away to assist with organizing excursions, restaurant reservations, taxis, etc. Porch was large and amazing for escaping the mid day heat and having drinks in the evening while we watched the sunset. The lawn was lush and green and the pool is very well kept, but you barely notice the staff who are there in the morning to maintain them, they are very respectful and considerate. Maid service was terrific, cleaned the whole house daily, did our laundry and brought it back smelling so good! Villa is fenced in and offers lots of privacy. We always felt very secure at Villa Bonita, never had any issues of theft and we brought laptops, iPods, and cameras. The great thing about Villa Bonita is that it is walking distance to everything, terrific gourmet grocery store right across the street, restaurants galore, and the surf is steps away, yet it is located far enough off the road that all you hear is the ocean. Villa was very well represented in the photos, Wifi was terrific (can sometimes be dodgy down there). We did extensive research of places to stay in Santa Teresa and really feel Villa Bonita offers great value for all that you get. We had such a wonderful stay at Villa Bonita that we have already booked it for our return next year as well as two other Villas on the Property! Truly Cannot Speak highly enough of this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Vacation

Review submitted: March 13, 2013   Date of arrival: February 3, 2013

We are a family from Japan and decide to get a family vacation together with my sister ,My Husband is surfer and we had browsed in the internet and found that Piece of haven. We arrive in santa teresa . And saw the villa on the beach immediately fell for it,
It is right on the beach as described . Everything that you wish or need ,there is at the villa.
beautiful view.amazing pool in the property the main thing is the house.
the kids was joyful for the whole vacation we did not see them. they enjoy the pool the white send beach.
The main thing for us the woman was the maid that come daily.and take care of the house hold.
there is a supermarket right next door to the villa.
there is amazing restaurants .And every morning we will go to the bakery located in the village very close.and get cakes & coarsens .just like in paris.
we all enjoyed our vacation in villa bonita & we defiantly will comeback.
That was 7 nights vacation that we all never forget .I wanted to take a moment and share my experience with other.to let people know about that paradise .God present to us.
Thank You To the owners Avi & Mali you are so welcoming GOD BLASS...........

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

T & T

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

My fiance and I rented The Beachfront Villa Bonita for two weeks in October of 2012. We wanted to get married on the property. We had previosuly stayed in one of their other villas in March 2012, and fell in love with the property at this time.
We had guests rent two of their other villas & a couple friends rented some of their bungaloos. Made it wonderful to all be so close to one another. Friends also stayed at near by hotels.
We all had the time of our lives. Villa Bonita was way more than what we expected. When we arrived we about shit our pants on how beautiful the home was inside and out. We did not expect it to be so perfect, and everything we needed was in walking distance. We felt like a king and queen in our castle.
The swimming pool was the perfect size to have fun, all the sitting places inside and out were awesome, We especially loved the Pappa Bear & Momma Bear matching rocking chairs ( thats what we called them). That was our favorite seats on the huge porch. The lightining outside when it was dark made it absolutely wonderful to hang outside for the night, whether or not you wanted bright lights or intimate lights, they were both available, that is, of course, if you didnt want to be on the beach with a bonfire. :) Which was a hop skip and a jump away. Hearing the sounds of the beach while sitting on your porch doesn't get much better than that. Everything in the house worked, and was relieving to having so much space. We had about 23 guests, stoppping in and out so having multiple bathrooms came in handy a couple times as well.
We look forward to going back to Santa Theresa, Costa Rica in November 2013, and my husband and I are hoping this Villa is available again to rent. This time we will be traveling with our three children, ranging from 6 months to 19 years old, we can't imagine anywhere better to stay. We loved the place and all the property help was very friendly and accommodating. I would recommend this Villa to any and everyone. We loved it and we were able to get married in the Villa in front of us in the sand. It was a dream come true. Glad the resort is there. Thank You Luz De Vida!
Sincerely,
T & T of Colorado!!
We <3 Costa Rica!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Magic holiday

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 18, 2012

We spend one week in dreamy Santa Teresa. This was our third time there and Villa Bonita has been our favorite place to stay until now and will coming back there. For a family with small kids this big house was perfect, very close to beach (you can hear the waves during all times if the day from the lovely terasse while enjoying the pool) and you can just come back at any time if the kids get tired or just would like to enjoy the pool and having some food from the very well equipped kitchen.
We were two families sharing the house and we could be by our selves or all together. The rooms are big and comfortable and they have many good books and table games to lend.
The owner and her assistant are lovely women that came every day to give us a check and in case we needed anything.
The property is great and the beach is magical, you'll find perfect surf spots and great natural pools for small children to enjoy, lovely long walks, great food just around the corner from the house. Can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great place

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

VILLA BONITA is an amazing place, the best location on Santa Teresa, right on the beach. We rent the Villa for a week and the children loved it, private pool, modern kitchen, big rooms and a real feeling like home. Every morning a local girl is coming to clean, wash and launder, you do not need to do anything but to relax and enjoy every minute. We shall come again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great vacation

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

Villa Bonita is for sure the best place in Santa Teresa, private pool, best location very near the beach, feel like real home. Our 3 kids said it was the best time they had in Costa Rika. we took it for one week but next time we shall come for 2 weeks at least. We all took a private surfing lessons from a guy named Amit, it was fun.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing and Beautiful Beachfront Home

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

For our annual vacation this year, my wife and I took her parents and our 3 kids to Santa Teresa, Costa Rica. Ive surfed since my teenage years so I always take the waves into account when choosing a destination. My wife and the inlaws are easy to satisfy as long as theyve got the necessary amenities provided close to the ocean, and the kids love to be on the beach all day. We really enjoyed our stay in this spacious and fairly luxurious home. The owner informed us that the private pool and rancho right in the backyard were recently constructed. This was really one of the highlights of the property. You can see and hear the waves from the yard and can find shade under the rancho and beat the heat all day in the pool (with sufficient sunblock of course, dont be fooled the sun is STRONG in Costa Rica). We all had the chance to unwind together which was really nice, but thanks to the 4 separate bedrooms, we could retreat for breaks of solitude when needed. We bought fresh fruits in the nearby supermarket and blended up all sorts of smoothie combinations in the well equipped kitchen every day. For the surfers out there, the waves were unreal. The consistency on all different tides and of course the TEMPERATURE of the water was like a dream. This place really deserves to be called paradise. There are tons of tours to choose from. We only took advantage of the sports fishing tour and our expectations were exceeded. Quite a few miles downtown from the villa (we took a cheap taxi), there is a local fishing dock. Our guide took us out in a small boat for a few hours and we came back with over 6 kilos of fresh tuna! They did us the favor of cleaning all of them and we just had to take them back to the villa and throw them in the frying pan. What a great experience. For anyone not afraid to go off the beaten path in order to find a special place, this home and this town are a great choice for an unforgettable vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An oasis next to the beach

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

his lovely house made our holiday perfect. It has 4 cosy big rooms with private bath rooms and A/C. We were 7 people, so we could use the space. Although the house is not new it's in very good shape. There's a big fully equipped kitchen . The brand new swimming pool in the beautiful garden was perfect for a refreshing dive. The surf break and the breath taking paradise beach is right in front of the house. Perfect for my surfer boys! Villa Bonita lays in a quiet little private community. The owner Emiliya was very hospitable. A warm woman with an infectious laugh.

Really recommendable

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfecta para surfistas y familias

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 14, 2012

Esta casa esta buenisima, me hospede algunas noches con un grupo de amigos y algunas parejas y todos llegamos a la conclusion que habia sido nuestro mejor surf trip, la casa a pesar de hay algunas diferencias entre las otras 2 personas que escribieron reviews, es una estupenda villa, full equipada 4 habitaciones, unas con mas facilidades que otras pero se encuentra a 20 mtrs de la arena de la playa, si bien hay una casa de por medio es practicamente como estar en la pura playa. Pero lo mas bueno de la estadia fue que a donde se vaya se respira surf, en la playa, hotel, supermercado, bar, toda la gente vive alrededor del surf, tambien a todo lo largo de la playa se pueden encontrar reef o beach breaks, ya sea en marea llena o baja, con o sin swell todos los dias del año hay buenas olas, en resumen, esta villa es el sueño de cualquier surfista que le guste la combinacion entre lo natural y las facilidades modernas, los felicito, esta buenisima la casa

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a great vacation!

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 23, 2012

We were 3 couples with 4 children traveling together. Our first stop was at the volcono Arenal in La Fortuna. It was spectacular. We even got to enjoy a dip in the natural hot springs which were amazing. From there, we made the long way down to the Nicoya Peninsula to the Villa Bonita in Santa Teresa. As soon as we arrived, the guys were thrilled to find great waves right in front. They surfed every day of the trip! The house was really beautiful and comfortable for all of us and the owner and staff were always ready to help with any of our concerns. The house has a nice kitchen, but we chose more often than not to eat out. There are some good choices close by, but we found quite a few to be a little expensive for the quality. Between the beach, the pool, the yard and playground around the villa, the kids were always occupied and enjoying themselves as well. One of our favorite experiences was watching the amazing sunsets together night after night. We were a little overwhelmed at times by the amount of animals and sometimes bugs, but apparently that is just part of the environment. I'm not sure if the previous reviewer was mistaken or if they have since changed the rooms, but the 4 rooms were all bedrooms, none was an office and they all had regular beds. It's true that the one with shared bathroom does not have air conditioning, but it had a ceiling fan and with the a/c from the living room, it was sufficiently cool for us. We have many hopes to return to Costa Rica someday. The peace and tranquility and natural beauty is definately worth experiencing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice, but with some flaws

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

I wonder whether the previous reviewer even stayed at the same property I did.
The property was pretty nice, though not exactly as described. First, while the property is very close to the beach it is not "beachfront" as there is another house between it and the beach. You do have a small view of the beach through some trees, but otherwise the beach view is completely blocked by the other residence.
The previous reviewer stated there were 4 "master suites" which is completely untrue. There are 4 sleeping rooms 2 of which are fairly large with attached bathrooms. There is 1 room up some narrow stairs which has an attached bathroom but is pretty small- 2 full size adults would likely feel cramped. The last "bedroom" (which you never see in the posted pictures, obviously for a reason) is a small office with a futon couch that folds out to a bed. This room has no attached bathroom, and, contrary to the property description, has no a/c in it. You can leave the room door open so that some of the living room air conditioning will seep into the room but it was always 10 degrees hotter than the rest of the property.
The only bath in the property was cracked with holes in the botom of the tub so it would be impossible to fill the tub and take a bath.
While the property had sufficient air conditioning in the other parts of the property except the 4th room, the doors to the property from the outside were louvered with no screen, so the many bugs in Costa Rica were free to simply walk or fly in- as a result the kids had lots of bug bites in the mornings.
Kitchen was nice but completely outside so no ac- did not bother us.
There is a washer and dryer, but you can't use it. They have daily maid service (very nice) but they will only let the housekeeper use it. OK, but the first day she mixed up some clothes and some whites came away with pink stains from other clothes.
The property has a back gate which leads directly to the pool- major bonus here, especially if you have kids running back and forth to the pool- resort was not crowded so pool noise never a problem. Fence runs around property if you need to keep small ones penned in. Beach has rough surf but if you walk a bit North at lower tide there is a ring of rocks a few hundreds yards offshore which creates an area with no or little waves and no rip- perfect for small kids. If you are somewhat flexible you will enjoy your stay- even with the above issues we did. more info? use my nickname at aol

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: In late 2012 we did extensive renovations, and many of these complaints were taken care of. We have posted pictures of all 4 rooms. The bath works perfectly, and all the other bathrooms have showers. The villa now has a private pool on the property.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

All of the amenities and more just steps from a breath taking beach!

Review submitted: March 8, 2012   Date of arrival: December 28, 2011

This house was all that we could have asked for and more for our family vacation in tropical paradise! There are 4 master suites, each with its own bathroom so all of the adults had privacy, but there is also a large living room and common space with a large plasma TV, a big fully equipped kitchen and a beautiful spacious outside porch where we could all be together. There is even a small playground in the yard for the little ones. There is a hotel near by of the same owners and the receptionists there were more than happy to help us with any concerns, reservations, transportation, etc that we needed and there is also a beautiful pool in the hotel that we were welcome to use.
We didn´t want to leave on the day we had to check out. So many relaxing days around the villa and beach and so many perfect evenings watching the incredible sunsets right in front. We will be back to visit Villa Bonita and Santa Teresa again for sure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review