reviews for: listing #99287 - Arlington, Virginia Apartment rental

Wash DC Area - 2-Bedroom / 2-Bath Apartment - Ballston
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Ballston Place
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $159 - $279 /nt
    $1,099 - $1,899 /wk
    $4,299 - $6,999 /mth

sort by:

Great Family Trip

Review submitted: June 14, 2014   Date of arrival: May 30, 2014

Just wanted to say we had a great vacation and the apartment was perfect. We'll be sure to look you up again if/when we come back to the DC area for another visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

avalon

Review submitted: May 30, 2014   Date of arrival: May 15, 2014

wonderful place to stay ! clean, comfortable, quiet, close to metro; property manager available and very helpful.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect location for two couples.

Review submitted: April 26, 2014   Date of arrival: April 13, 2014

We found the apartment very clean upon our arrival. The kitchen was very well equipped for our needs. The setup of the apartment was perfect for two couples – bedrooms on opposite sides of the apartment provided a nice amount of privacy. There was generous amount of closet and dresser space for a week’s worth of clothing during our stay. The location of the apartment was excellent, with convenient access to the Metro, Ballston Common Mall, and many restaurants within walking distance. The underground, controlled access parking provided nice “peace of mind” knowing our vehicle was safe. Overall, we had a marvellous time and would definitely return to the same apartment again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Business or Vacation

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: April 7, 2014

We found this apartment very well suited for us (4 adults) with plenty of space in the living room and the bedrooms. (Even a walk-in closet) A secure building in a nice area. It was convenient to public transportation and we found several great places to eat nearby. We parked the car and didn't need it until we left town. There are also a couple of small convenience stores for the last minute needs. The apartment was clean and we had everything we needed in the kitchen. I would recommend this apartment to my best friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

From start to finish, I couldn't be happier with our stay at the Ballston Apartments

Review submitted: March 23, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

My family was coming from all over the country for our father's burial at the Arlington National Cemetery, so we had lots of logistics to manage, including a gathering for 100+ people. Mark Nicolini (President, Zen Hospitality, Inc.) made our stay stress-free, from start to finish. The reservation process was simple and smooth and Mark responded to each of my inquiries promptly and thoroughly. The apartments were GREAT! Clean, spacious, well-equipped, with great views, to boot. The apartment staff was equally accommodating and helpful, which was important for us as we had rented the establishment's Party Room and hosted gatherings for more than 100 people, 2 nights in a row. A Business Center made computers and printers available at no additional cost. The apartments are a couple blocks from 2 different metro stations, allowing easy transit to DC and Reagan National Airport. By every measure, our stay at the Ballston Avalon apartments was a huge success, and I'll look forward to our next visit. Two thumbs up, for sure!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Gift!

Review submitted: February 4, 2014   Date of arrival: January 19, 2014

We traveled to Arlington primarily to see and help our son's family, newly relocated to the DC area from Africa. The owner went out of his way to match us with an apartment in this building when he learned where our family would be and another possibility had been taken. Not only were we just four blocks from our family's temporary flat, in very comfortable accommodations, but we were situated right in between 2 Metro stops on the very convenient orange line. We could see the Washington Monument in the distance from our bed, and the wonderful Arlington Central Library, where I got my 4 year old granddaughter her first ever library card, is across the street. Even in the snowstorm I was able to walk to buy groceries for us all, and with the Ballston Common Mall around the corner got coats for everyone when their luggage failed to arrive. We only took our car out twice in 8 days. At the beginning and end of each day this apartment was like a treehouse above the fray of city life, where I could, in the well-equipped kitchen, brew my favorite tea and watch the sun rise, or set.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A great place to stay

Review submitted: January 14, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We rented this condo for the holidays and had a great experience. The condo was spacious, very clean and had all amenities for a relaxing stay….including dishwasher and laundry detergents! The location was perfect for trips into the city via Metro. The building included a store, a fitness center, a dry cleaners and a barbershop. Staff at the front desk were consistently helpful. We will be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great location

Review submitted: October 25, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

We had a great experience with this property. It was clean, comfortable and well maintained. The location was very convenient, only a short ride on the metro to downtown DC and everything we needed within a short distance.
We had a terrible drive there which resulted in us not arriving until 4am, but this was no problem. The concierge had our keys waiting. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook a family meal. We would definitely stay here again.
All questions were addressed quickly and the price was very fair.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely and convenient

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

The apartment was nicely appointed and attractive. Beds were very comfortable with good bedding. Having a washer-dryer in the apartment was most appreciated. It's very convenient to Metro and lots of dining options and grocery stores nearby, including a Whole Foods. There is a small market right in the building. Did not have a chance to see the Gym or use the pool, but the pool looked very nice with BBQ stations. It was also great to have garage parking. The owner was easy to work with and the property met or exceeded his description.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

GREAT FAMILY VACATION

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 2, 2013

Our family (4 adults/3 kids-ages under 13) had a wonderful time during our 8day/7night stay. The apartment was spacious & had everything we needed. Our floor was VERY quiet. There were a few days we had to pool to ourselves. Location was less than 20 mintues driving to Washington, DC. Mark was very helpful, easy to work with & responded quickly. There is even a convenience store located in the building. We even drove to/from New York in one day! BEST VACATION!!! LOTS to see in Virginia, Washington, Baltimore, AND NY. We even celebrated America's Birthday at the Capitol. Be sure and contact your representative to book your tours in Washington. I would HIGHLY recommend this location!!!! Thanks, Mark!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Beautiful building and amenities!

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 24, 2013

My husband, our son and granddaughter stayed in this apt for six nights. The listing was accurate and the property was fantastically clean and well-maintained. Everything was provided; all you need to bring are your personal belongings. There's a Giant supermarket within walking distance. Two blocks to one Metro stop and three blocks to another one. You really do not need a car. We did drive to Tysons Corner and Gravelly Point. There were tons of stores and restaurants in the area. The building staff were all extremely helpful when we asked about grocery stores etc. Spent two days doing DC tourist (Air & Space, Renwick, zoo) and the rest of our time was spent in VA. We used the pool every day. Highly recommend Mark -- the customer service was top notch and we will definitely stay here next time we do a DC trip.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Wonderful DC Vacation!!!

Review submitted: July 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

WOW!!! What a beautiful apartment!!! VERY VERY CLEAN and comfortable. Everything we needed to be comfy and feel at home. Beautiful view, very nice condo. The only thing that could be improved was the living room. We all did NOT have a place to sit around and watch TV. There was only one chair and a small couch. We spend most of the time trying to lay on the floor. With Two big teens we need a lot of space to lounge after a long day of walking. Other than that WOW WOW WOW!!! Mark is very very NICE and helpful!!!! LOVED OUR VACATION!!!!!
Jamie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect for families

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

Our family of five stayed here for four nights. Among the positives: wonderful location close to metro stop; immaculately clean; beautiful pool and fitness room; close to grocery store (Giants), Starbucks, restaurants, safe neighborhood. The apartment was stocked with everything you can think of, including laundry soap, plenty of kitchen appliances, extra pillows. There is also free parking in the underground garage. After long fun days sightseeing it was great to come back to a comfy bed and the quiet. I can say enough good things- and I'm picky!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Find

Review submitted: May 25, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

Great location,easy communication with owner, quick easy check-in and check-out. Clean, spacious apt with everything we needed. Parking included and great views from the apt. Would recommend and rent this again if we have a trip planned to this area.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing trip to Washington DC

Review submitted: May 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 15, 2013

My family and I were planning a trip to DC for the first time and had a terrible time finding a reasonable hotel for 4 adults. I looked into a rental and let me say it was the best decision we made! When we arrived the front desk greeted us and explained parking and all the features of the building. We parked the car underground and never used it the entire week we stayed there. The apartment is just a 2 block walk to the Metro. Once there - the orange line runs straight to The National Mall. No transfers needed. Very easy for the first time user. :)

Our apartment was very roomy and allowed for plenty of space with 4 adults and all their luggage... :) Washer and dryer were great and really loved all the closet space. The full kitchen allowed us to save a lot of money on food. We made breakfast every day and even had a few dinners there as well. Our apartment was on the 9th floor so a great view of the city from our private balcony.

The apartment is very clean and well taken care of. It was a joy to come home after a long day seeing the sights and just relax. With no daily housekeeping we needed to keep the place tidy but it was worth it. You don't need to worry about someone coming in the early morning and trying to clean the room like in a hotel. The entire rental process was simple and effortless. Mark and the whole hospitality group were great and always available if needed.

Arlington is a great idea for anyone who wants to visit DC but doesn't want to compete with all the traffic and tourists. The neighborhood is very quiet and feels very safe. We would walk around late at night and never felt uneasy. A 15 minute Metro trip took us everywhere... The National Mall, Smithsonian museums, Capitol, Library of Congress, Arlington cemetary and even the Crystal City.

If you are thinking of visiting with a family - this is the place! I highly recommend it to all my family and friends.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great vacation get away

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 15, 2013

Very clean, spacious apartment. Lovely lobby and friendly desk staff. Plenty of room for six people. Easy access to the Metro to allow touring of DC. I would definitely recommend this to a friend and actually already have. I would suggest a book or pamphlets of the area to ease finding groceries, restaurants and area attractions.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

Great 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo in Ballston. We stayed here over spring break with our 2 kids, ages 14 and 11. So much better than a hotel, and exactly as described in the listing. The condo was very roomy, well equipped, and quiet. My kids and husband loved the high speed internet connection and the xfinity cable. It is very close to the Virginia Square metro stop, so we rarely used our car. 10 minute metro ride to DC. Lots of great places to eat within walking distance, and the building had very nice amenities. Try Cafe Tirolo ( look it up on yelp- it doesn't look like much, but was delicious), and have brunch at the Liberty Tavern a few blocks away. The owner was very easy to work with, and the building staff was very pleasant. Would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great apartment

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 14, 2013

Great apartment!

I brought my two grade school kids and my mother to visit Washington D.C. during Spring Break. Not including a trip 20+ years ago for me, it was effectively everyone’s first time to visit D.C. This place was great! It was very spacious and comfortable. Nice kitchen area, two bedrooms each with their own bath…and a FANTASTIC view of the Capitol and the Washington Monument from the living room window. The Metro stop was only a few blocks away and we were able to get into the heart of D.C. in about 10-15 minutes via the Metro. Very easy!

The area of the apartment in Arlington is very nice and has plenty of places to eat or grab a coffee. And Mark was great to work with. We arrived early (before check-in) and Mark worked with us so that we could drop our bags off while we headed into the city to see some sites. I would very much recommend this location and this apartment. We can’t wait to go back and spend a longer amount of time there!

Great experience overall staying here

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean, Comfortable and great location

Review submitted: March 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 11, 2013

I stayed in this 2B/2Ba apartment for a week for a mixed business and pleasure trip. The apartment is super comfortable and very well appointed. The beds are really great. The apartment is super clean... either everything here is new, or they do a great job cleaning it! The apartment is 1 block from the Metro and then about 8-10 minutes from any DC stuff, and was even closer to my business meetings. The neighborhood is quiet, but everyone is so nice, someone even offered to carry my groceries! Grocery store in building has basics, or a large grocery store is about 4 blocks. Overall pretty great, I would definitely stay here again. Only issue was no sort of info about the area or "guest book" sort of thing-- though I guess with smart phones it is less of an issue....

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: That is an excellent comment re the Guest Book. We are actually building them now and a few months ago, came up with the idea of a "virtual guest book" where it is file actually kept on our server and each guest gets a link to it. That way we can update it and keep it fresh and when each guest clicks the link for their apartment,they are directed to their guest book with the most up to date information. It's in the works!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A fantastic stay thanks to Mark and Zen Hospitality

Review submitted: March 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2013

The two bedroom apartment in Alexandria was exactly what was represented and expected. Mr. Mark Nicolini, Zen Hospitality manager, was personable and available especially via email as details were finalized. The accommodations are comfortable beyond compare (the beds were so welcoming after a day of museums and restaurants). The dishes, silverware are very good quality - far better than average! There was even starter sets of dishwasher detergent, sponges and on and on. The location is totally convenient to two metro stops as well as the Alexandria area in general near GMU. The apartment was impeccably clean as were all dishes and silverware. We connected instantly to the router and had wifi within minutes of settling in. We would stay here again without a doubt - it was a fabulous launching pad for explorations and comfortable to just have an "at-home" dinner and TV (YES - ESPN was available and we're here during March Madness!)
Thanks again, Mark and Zen Hospitality

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words Kathleen. Just a clarification point, she mentions "Alexandria" a few times but this apartment is actually located in Arlington. One of those "A" places! LOL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Totally great!

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

This condo was excellent. It was in great condition, in a nice building with pleasant staff and high end amenities. Close to highways, to restaurants, and to the train. Zen Hospitality was easy to work with, very professional. We will definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great experience in DC with Zen Hospitality!

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

This was our first experience using an online apartment rental service. Everything went very smoothly. The apartment was exactly as advertised. Mark was very easy to work with and responded to requests very quickly. The apartment location was fantastic - definitely within walking distance to many DC sites. The apartment was fully stocked and had everything needed for an extended stay. Having a full bathroom in each bedroom was very convenient. We would definitely recommend this apartment and Zen Hospitality.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Working in DC for a month

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 4, 2012

We had a very nice month staying at this apartment. Easy check-in and check-out with flexible times. The building was very nice with excellent facilities and there was always a very kind concierge at the front desk. I always had a place to park (and it sat in the parking garage most of the time because I hardly needed it). The walk to the metro was short and safe.

We stayed in a 3 room apartment that was perfect for my family with ample space and was quiet. We did not need anything. The kitchen had everything we needed to make meals. The linens were nice, the full washer and drier were a necessity. The owner was always readily available and immediately addressed any questions that came up (though hardly any issues arose).

Most importantly about our stay here was that I always felt safe and I was there with my 2 young children so this was very important to me. We could walk around to the metro stops and the numerous restaurants and grocery stores without any problems. I highly recommend one of properties by this owner.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful apartment

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 15, 2012

Your apartment was absolutely perfect for our needs. Great location, beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean and very attentive service! I hope to be able to rent it again sometime.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

W & G group

Review submitted: November 24, 2012   Date of arrival: November 7, 2012

It was the first time in the DC area for our friends. It was a wonderful week in DC and the 2 room apartment was perfect. Great views. Clean and comfortable. Great access to all the wonderful things that the DC area has to offer. Would love to stay there again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Texas Gal

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: October 15, 2012

We rented apartment #2211 near the top of Archstone Ballstone and it had magnificent views of the Washington Memorial, the Capitol, and all of DC area. A high school classmate and I rented the apartment for one week while attending our high school reunion in Georgetown. We rented a car, but most people would not need to, as we found Archstone very convenient to the Metro, just two blocks away, and to shopping. The garage was a little tricky when trying to find our way out, but figured it out the second day of our stay.

There is a convenience store located on the lobby level and accessible without going outside, and the computer room and gym were also located on that same level. The people at the front desk were friendly, courteous, and very helpful.

Our apartment was wonderful with everything you could need. It was beautifully decorated and the split bedroom plan was a plus, as it gave us much privacy. The kitchen had everything we needed. There were a few grocery items in the pantry when we arrived, and we left some more for others to use when we left. The refrigerator had an ice maker, so we had plenty of ice.

Thank you Zen Hospitality for a beautiful home away from home. You were a delight to work with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay While Visiting the DC Area

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: October 9, 2012

Very clean, friendly, secured apartment in a prime location in the downtown area.

All listing descriptions and photos are very accurate. When we arrived we could still smell the cleaning solutions - Pinesol fresh. ;o)

Mark was very helpful and accomodated all of our needs while I could hear a smile in his voice.

I'm looking forward to our next stay here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great experience would do it again

Review submitted: October 9, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

We just returned from a week in Washington DC. We stayed at this apartment and it was wonderful. Extremely clean, provided everything you could need. Very convenient to the metro and a large grocery store which we used. The staff was very helpful. The trip included my husband, brother-in-law and sister-in-law, we had never rented an apartment before on vacation, but we will definitely do this again and would highly recommend this service. The rental company was very good at keeping us informed as to what we needed to know. The area in VA that this apartment was at was very comfortable, clean and felt safe, we had several nights we were out after dark. If you are planning a trip to the DC area check out renting an apartment and using this service.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Apartment

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 4, 2012

We were 4 Minnesotan Seniors taking a chance on the internet. We rented a 2 bedroom and we all want to say we had a fabulous stay and would not hesitate to return. Everything was as presented and then some. The staff was helpful and friendly. All our concerns were immediately addressed to our satisfaction. Mark was even able to give us both an early check in and a late checkout.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

PERFECT LOCATION FOR A VISIT TO DC!!

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 7, 2012

In planning to take my 3 grown kids to DC for several days, I found that the hotels in the area were extremely expensive (and I needed to have two bedrooms - which meant I was going to have to rent two hotel rooms). I found this Arlington, Virginia apartment on Home Away - it's a 2 bedroom, 2 bath with a nice-sized living room and kitchen. It cost less to rent this beautiful apartment than one of the hotel rooms in DC. This quiet, high-rise apartment building is beautiful with quick elevators, 24-hr front desk attendant, a big pool, an excellent fitness room, and a handy little market next door. The area is upscale, safe, and clean with a mall nearby, markets, and restaurants. The metro stop is about 2 blocks away, and it took maybe 10 minutes to get to all the great metro stops in DC for the National Mall, the Smithsonians, the Memorials - everything! I only used my car once to make a market run to fill the refrigerator. I wouldn't stay anywhere else on my future trips to DC. My kids said (and I agree) that this apartment felt like home!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Place to Stay in DC!

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

This is an absolutely great place to stay if you are visiting the DC area. After long days of touring DC (there is alot to see, and plenty of walking to do), this is the perfect place to unwind. You are very close to the city, yet far enough away to take a break from the hustle and bustle. It is within walking distance to everything - the local Giant grocery store, restaurants, convenience stores, and the subway station into the city. If you don't want to take the subway to all the sights, it is a short cab ride to the mall. Our family of 6 had more than enough room within the apartment, and enjoyed our stay. Very clean and spacious. Can't say enough about the views from the patio overlooking the city - we sat on the patio in the morning and evenings enjoying the view. Lastly, dealing with the owner Mark was a pleasure. You can trust he has your best interests in mind and will make your stay a pleasant one!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Home Away From Home

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 2, 2012

Hi Mark,
My family and I would like to thank you for making our vacation a great one. We really loved the apartment and it made our vacation so much more relaxing and enjoyable. It was so much better than any hotel could ever be. I'm not a big hotel person for cleanliness reasons and consequently hate to travel. Your apartment was spotless and I really felt like it was a home way from home. We had so much more room than any hotel could provide which the kids loved. My teenage son slept comforably on the clean pullout bed, and the beds in the bedrooms were very comfortable as well. Also, being able to eat in saved us a lot of time, money & upset stomachs since eating out too much doesn't agree with our kids. The kichen was stocked with all the supplies we needed, and the grocery store was only a short walk. The ease of parking our car in the garage for free and walking a block to the metro was a great convenience. DC was only a short ride away. I would definitely recommend this apartment to anyone. I don't think I could stay in an hotel again! Should we ever return to DC, we definitely be in touch!
Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great space for a family vacation.

Review submitted: July 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

This apartment was great for a family of 5 on our recent vacation to D.C. The second floor location looks out to the pool and is next door to the stairway for easy access. There is a 3' and 5' cascading pool and hot tub. Also, the building has a small gym that can be used for no additional charge. Our other alternative was to stay at a hotel and pay for two small rooms, parking and not have a kitchen. This apartment was perfect in that we had our private space and free, secure parking in an underground garage. The apartment is located in a good area and in the middle of two Metro stations, Ballston and Virginia Square. D.C. was only a few stops on the Metro (approx 15-20 min). After dark the Ballston station was not one that we would prefer to do again, it seemed to be a hangout for the homeless and we were accosted for money. However the Virginia Square station was much better. Arlington Cemetery is near which we enjoyed and a quick drive you can see the Old Town area of Alexandria as well as Mount Vernon. The Pentagon Fashion Center (mall) is only about 15 min drive. Our favorite near by place for breakfast was Metro 29 Diner which had the best French toast! We also found a grocery store a few blocks away called Harris Teeter.

We noticed the lack of a hair dryer and called our contact at Zen, and one was left for us the following day. The service was outstanding and the apartment was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. It was a great home away from home for our 8 night stay. I would highly recommend this if you are traveling with a pack.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Apartment and Gorgeous View!

Review submitted: July 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

This was a great apartment for our family trip to DC! It was spacious, clean, well-maintained and had an awesome view! Our family of five found it to be a great home base for exploring the area and we all loved cooling off in the beautiful apartment pool after a busy day of sight-seeing. The owner was very responsive and accomodating! I would recommend this property and Zen Hospitality to family and friends!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Property with a great view; near to D.C.

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

We had a fantastic experience renting this place. Our apartment was on 22nd floor as promised. It had a fantastic view of the monument and the skyline. Well-furnished apartment, great amenities. Train-station to go to D.C. was a 3 minute walk. Grocery store was close-by for the last minute shopping. Very safe area. The rates were very reasonable and affordable. I will definitely recommend this property.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

My Wife and Daughter stayed here for our DC pilgrimage. The apartment was perfect for us. It was very clean and well supplied.

I was concerned at first that it might be too far from the venues we planned to visit. But the apartment was an easy walk away from the Metro station and we could be at the Fed. Triangle or Smithsonian stations within about 30 minutes of walking out of our door. After we arrived I never thought twice about a car.

Mark was very helpful in making the reservations and then checking in on us to make sure everything was good. I highly recommend this unit Mark and Zen Hospitality. Thanks for facilitating a wonderful vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great base to see DC

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

I contacted Mark as he was starting his business earlier in the year. We are so glad that we stayed at this great place in Arlington. We had a family of 5 and it worked very well.

Minutes to the train, Great pool and block. Clean apartment. Minutes from many restaurants. Good service from Mark as our questions were answered promptly.

We'd stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Accomodations & Great Location

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 30, 2012

My family stayed in this apartment while visiting Washington D.C. on an educational trip. My husband and I were traveling with our three young children and my mother-in-law. We found this Ballston rental to be better than described and perfect for our needs. Upon checking in, the front desk personnel were more than accommodating and Mark called immediately upon our arrival to ensure that we had everything that we needed. The apartment was well appointed, extremely clean and quiet. We were a safe short, pleasant walk to the Metro and found it delightful not to have to drive into the city. There were many restaurant options within walking distance and even a fabulous grocery nearby. We felt completely safe walking through the neighborhood with our family in the evenings. I would highly recommend this apartment for any travelers as it truly felt like a little vacation home and so much better than a hotel. We loved our visit to Washington D.C and will be returning soon. We are sure to stay here again whenever in the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Arlington condo with scenic view

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

Our extended family of 6 spent a fabulous week in this lovely, well-appointed condo with a view of the Mall and monuments. The sunrise over DC was worth waking up early for, even on vacation! Mark was very helpful and flexible with both our arrangements and sending us out forgotten items after our stay. Our kids loved the pool and we all appreciated the close proximity to the Metro. We would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great apartment, great location :-)

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

The apartment was very nice and clean, great and comfortable furniture throughout the place. The kitchen was fully equipped with cooking appliances and serving dishes. The bedrooms were big and the beds VERY comfortable. This apartment also has a sofa bed, which was great. In addition, since we have 5 kids, Mark, the property manager, provided a very comfortable air mattress that fit perfectly in one of the bedrooms. This building has a nice pool and great gym. It is also located in a nice area in Arlington, VA with many great restaurants all within walking distance. There are 2 metro stations: Virginia Square (2 blocks) AND Ballston (3 blocks)from the apartment building, which allows for a quick ride to all the monuments in 20 minutes, ideal since driving and parking in DC can be a nightmare and very costly.

Mark was great and very helpful, responded to questions and concerns right away. The pictures that he provided on the internet about the apartment were very accurate...actually I thought the place looked nicer :-)

I would highly recommend this apartment and I would definetly stay there with my family again.

There will be shampoo and soap y the bathrooms but only the small trial bottles, I usually travel with my own toilet treats so it wasn't a big deal, but just keep that in mind. Also there is washer and dryer in the apartment, small, but handy if some washing is needed before getting back home.

We stayed there for a week and there was only one garbage bag in the kitchen and only one bag of detergent for the dishwasher, so we ended up buying more at a convenient store located by the Virginia Square station...you can pretty much find anything there. We also had to buy more toilet paper as there were only a couple of rolls. Minor details... I will still stay there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing place and safe location

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

We looked and looked in DC for a place to stay that met our needs and length of stay, as well as made us feel safe. Well I am so happy to have found this place. After going all over town through our visit, this is by far the safest, and cleanist part of town (Virginia & DC) to stay in as well as the Condo is GREAT! We had 5 people stay in our condo. The beds are ALL comfy. The pull out bed is the best I have ever slept on. We used it day and night. Everything in the condo was so clean and spotless and met all our needs. It was great being on the second floor as well overlooking the pool. The closets are huge and plenty of storage for our belongings. We enjoyed our 11 day 10 night stay very much. We were there when the power went off for several days during the DC and Virgina storms. The owner of the condo was genuinly worried about all his occupants of his Condo's and did everything he could to try and care for us. I would highly recomment this unit, or any unit that is listed with ZEN Hospitality. This complex seemed to be full of young professionals that a starting out in life. We had no problems with noise or anything disruptive and everyone was very nice. We made several meals at the condo as well as went out to eat. I do wish there had been a book in the condo or something listing restaurants in the area. That would have helped alot, but thanks to a bus ride when the power was out, we found everything. The mall is not far and the metro is an easy walk and right next to a Starbucks. Depending on your age and activity leverl would depend on if you find the walking distance to places easy. It wasnt bad for us at the age of 40 something. There is not much to eat right next to the condo, but there are places pretty close. We went to watch fireworks at Iwo Jima, and walked to 2.5 miles back instead of the CRAZY metro, and it was fine for us. The Orange Line metro takes you pretty much to all the tourist spots, and the orange line picks up at the Virginia Rail station right down the street. Also, just a little plug, if you going to DC try to catch the Marine Corps silent drill team parade at Iwo Jima at 7:30 (Free) throughout the summer until August 31 (Be there at 6:30 with a blanket or chairs) or the Friday night parade at Marine Barracks 8th and I (Purchase tickets for that ahead of time). Its a little hidden treasure! Enjoy your stay! We did!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place near DC

Review submitted: July 1, 2012   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

Our group of 4 adults and 3 kids stayed at this specious condo for five days. This condo is located in a nice area and is close to everything. The Metro is only 2 blocks away. We parked our car in the parking garage provided and used the metro for our daily tours of D.C. This condo is well maintained and nicely decorated. The kitchen is well equipped. The bedrooms are specious and each with its own bathroom. It was very easy to work with Mark. He was very quick to respond and answer all questions. Checking in and out was painless. Mark we truly enjoyed our stay at you place. We definitely would recommend this place for family or anyone who want to be close to DC and want connivance of home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful place

Review submitted: July 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

The apartment, building and location were all wonderful! The apartment is nicely decorated with a great view. The kitchen is stocked with all of the cooking and eating utensils you would need to make and eat a meal. The beds are comfortable and everything was perfect. The building has a pool and workout room, garage parking and a market outside the lobby. The concierges were wonderful, helpful and one actually started bringing stickers to give to my 2 toddlers. We were able to walk to 2 different grocery stores, an abundance of restaurants and 2 metro stops on the orange line. The trips into the city on the metro were quick and easy, even with a stroller!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Affordable DC Experience

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: May 16, 2012

We were in DC for my daughter's graduation from GWU in May 2012. Hotel prices and parking rates were astronomical, so we were going to stay for only a few days. About 2 weeks out, on a whim, I researched vacation rental websites only to find that most were booked.

I contacted Mark regarding one of his properties and, although that one was taken, he jumped through hoops to find another unit for us and fully equip it with everything we needed for our visit including a comfortable sofa bed for our son. It was in Arlington, only a couple of blocks to the Metro station in a concierge building with a balcony and views. Because it had 2 bedrooms, my brother and his wife cancelled their hotel room and joined us!

Because we had a full kitchen, we only ate one meal out per day and Mark added in free parking. We saved enough money that we stayed for a week!

The place was spotless, completely outfitted with quality materials and Mark was a cheerful, responsive host.

I'll call him next time I'm in the area!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review