reviews for: listing #99350 - Lake Anna, Virginia House rental

The Last Resort - 450 feet of waterfront!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Rose Hill
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,000 - $1,595 /wk

sort by:

best vacation house!

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

we had 5 adults and 5 children (ages 9-14). The house is very clean and comfortable. Everything we needed was there. The lake, beach, hammock, swing, and dock were beautiful! So peaceful and relaxing. Lake Anna is very clean and not buggy or swampy. Lots of fun things to do like fishing, swimming, boating or just floating on a raft! We all played board games and Wii (all provided) during down time. The kids built forts with their bunk beds had more fun than at Disney!! We took a day trip into Fredericksburg to visit some battlegrounds - it was maybe 45 min away. The AWESOME memories we made will last a lifetime. I would 100% recommend this home and destination. And we WILL BE back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing deck, yard, dock, views - loved it!

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

I've been coming to Lake Anna for this same triathlon race weekend (falls on Mother's Day) for almost 10 years now, and have rented several houses. By far, The Last Resort had everything we needed to make this my best Mother's Day to-date, and a wonderful weekend for me, my husband and our 3 year old and 20 month old daughters. The pictures do not truly do the yard or house justice, though the description and location, layout, etc are spot-on. From our arrival on Friday late afternoon, with a complimentary bottle of wine awaiting us for sunset viewing on the dock (with two very comfy adirondack chairs located on said dock), to the sandy beach play area for our girls, the football-field+ sized yard with beautiful grass and landscaping, the large wrap-around deck with great table for outdoor eating (which we took advantage of on Saturday night), the triple bunk bed room that our girls loved (we moved the top bunk mattress to the floor for our 20 mo old), the kitchen counter seating and all the other touches - this was perfect. You simply CANNOT beat the lake front views - catching sunrise AND sunset due to its corner location. If you like a huge yard, beautiful gazebo, lovely steps down to an intermediate seating area for cocktails and conversation, wonderful dock PLUS beach area - both ideal for swimming, floating, fishing, etc, then this is for you.

We've rented bigger and fancier houses before, but none were close to this one in regards to location and lakefront space, views, deck, kitchen appliances/cookware, and coziness. Yes, the bathrooms are standard size, no great big jacuzzi tubs; and the bedrooms are on the smallish-size with extremely comfortable beds, overhead fans (plus central air), and carefully-appointed furniture. I guarantee that you will fall in love with this place as much as we did; along with the exceptional service and care and personal touches provided by Rebecca, its owner. The living room has a super comfortable lounge-style chair, along with a really comfy couch and recliner, too. But we did not spend much time inside. We made dinner in the small but very well-appointed kitchen each night - and there was nothing we needed that was not immediately found. The beer-bottle opener on the wall is a nice touch, too! The decorating is top-notch, very artistic yet kid-friendly. Games and DVDs for kisd, but again, we spent most time outside. I would HIGHLY recommend this place to a friend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful property

Review submitted: October 1, 2012   Date of arrival: September 17, 2012

My husband, sister and I stayed at The Last Resort in mid September. The house is very comfortable, tastefully decorated, clean and equipped with everything anyone could need. The property is gorgeous,very private and in a great location. We launched our kayaks right next to the dock which was very convenient. We made a fire in the firepit one night under the stars. My sister, a professional photographer took tons of photos. The owners, Rebecca and Matthew were very accommodating. They graciously allowed us to extend our stay by two days. Rebecca answered emails promptly and provided lots of information about the house and the area, which was appreciated since this was our first visit to the area. We plan on returning to Lake Anna and would definitely rent this property again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful lake house and view

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

Our family had the best time at your wonderful lake house. It was the perfect place to slow down and spend a relaxing week enjoying time with our family. We kayaked, we rented a pontoon boat one day and wave runners another day, we enjoyed the beautiful view of the lake, but my favorite thing to do was to swim and float in the lake - so relaxing!! Your home was so comfortable and welcoming. Thank you so much for sharing such a special place with us. We'd love to visit again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous location

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

Our family rented for a week and had THE BEST time! The owners have gone to a tremendous amount of effort to ensure everything is perfect for your stay. The home is just that, a comfortable home. We had everything we needed, in the kitchen, the large grill, gazebo, lakefront fishing, dock for boating. The location allowed us to experience everything great about the lake. Whether it was coffee in the morning by the gazebo or wine with the sunset on the deck, we loved every minute. We will definitely be back. While we don't know the owners, our experience was so good, we feel we have stayed at a friend's home!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time!

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in June. We had a great time, the place is absolutely beautiful. The house is clean, comfortable, and perfectly decorated. The kitchen has everything you need and more. There are so many great spots to relax and enjoy the amazing view - the deck, the screened porch, the gazebo, the deck by the water, and the great room. My husband is an astronomy enthusiast, and he brought his telescope with him. He said that he had one of his best nights in over 25 years of observations. The lot is very private, we did not see or hear anyone the entire time. I also appreciated that there is no smoking or pets allowed in the house, since I have allergies, and there always seems to be some smell that bothers me. But at this house I was fine. Great mini-vacation, highly recommend this property!

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review