reviews for: listing #99367 - Gulf Shores, Alabama Condo rental

Aug 23-30! $615 TOTAL PRICE 7 Nights! Affordable!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Gentle Winds
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $70 - $125 /nt
    $425 - $750 /wk
    $750 - $750 /mth

sort by:

Great Condo for Couples or a Young Family

Review submitted: May 22, 2014   Date of arrival: May 15, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a long weekend during Gulf Shores' annual music festival. The condo is very clean and comfortable with a large bathroom. We walked to the beach every morning, and enjoyed both the water and the people that were on the section of beach just across the street from this condo. The short walking distance, well under a mile, to several shops and restaurants was perfect for us since we didn't bring a car. We had a great time. The owners are professional and easy to work with. They explained all the costs up front, recommended things to do and places to eat, and after we left they had our deposit returned in three days. We will be looking at this owner's personal website first the next time we head for Gulf Shores.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We Loved Our Stay!

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

First time using VRBO and so very pleased! I’ve always stayed in hotels on the beach in Gulf Shores/Orange Beach. This property is ideally located Gulf Shores. This was a perfect place to stay, located within minutes (walking distance) from The Hangout and so much more! The condo was more than we could ask for and the photos accurately described the property. The owners, Lisa and Randy were more than wonderful throughout the process, offering helpful travel tips into Mobile during the traffic peak times. My son loved walking across the street to the beach in the mornings to look for seashells...or running there in the evenings looking for crabs! We all came away with the best family memories. Thank you for such a great place to stay. Randy, you were a pleasure to work with! Gracious, polite, and very accommodating. No one could ask for more from an owner. Thank you.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Condo stay 2 weeks in November and month of Feb.

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

This is the 4th time we've stayed at Randy's condo. Cleanliness and comfort are our main requirements and the condo fits the bill.the location is perfect also. The beach is across the street,and a number of restaurants are within walking distance.Gulfside Grill is one of our favorites, but there's also Sea and Suds , Best Western Pancake House, and the Hangout. The Wharf and Pelican Place are a short drive away and have many restaurants as well as shopping. Rouses just opened up a new grocery store which brings the flavors of New Orleans to the Gulf Coast. The Bodenhamer Rec. Center has exercise classes, a weight room and wonderful swimming pool for those wanting to maintain their fitness programs. There's something going on all the time in Gulf Shores and Orange beach , from art fairs to musical presentations so there's no reason to be bored if you want something other than beaching, and this condo is the perfect place for your holiday.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent!!!

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

This was our first time to stay in a condo like this! We normally stay in the high rise condos! I will try my best to stay in one of Randy's condos from now on! We were very surprised at the level of cleanliness! It was spotless! It was also in the middle of everything so you could walk to lots of places, no need to use the car too much!!! The beach was very easy to get toand not far from the condo! It was the ideal place for my family of four! Also very quiet and well stocked with everything that you would need for a long relaxing vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

We had never used VRBO before and decided to give it a try this year. I contacted Randy to get details about the rental property and he was VERY helpful in educating us on what needed to be done to rent the property, kept in contact with us after receiving our payment, and sent us the information to get into the condo way in advance of our arrival. In addition he sent us information about things to do while we were in Gulf Shores and tips on getting the best deals while we were there!
When we arrived at the condo we were surprised to see that it was better than the pictures showed. The rooms were VERY clean, the wifi, cable, microwave, and all the other appliances that you don't remember you might need are all there too!
We are already thinking about going back to the condo next year because our experience with Randy was so great! I highly recommend this condo (except for the week we want to visit!!). Thank you so much Randy for making our vacation so great!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Excellent place to stay!

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to Gulf Shores but our first staying at this condo. We decided to stay 2 weeks this time and are so happy we picked this place. It felt like home. The other place we stayed felt as if we could never get comfortable. This has plenty of space for everything. Nicely decorated with just about anything you could need.
The beach is easily accessible across the street. We had our 6 year old and it was fine crossing the street with everything in tow. The condo even has a few beach chairs for you! The place is very quiet. Everyone here is very friendly. Just mostly families.
We did a lot of takeout food from S & S down the street. We ate at Lulus, Shrimp basket, and original steamers. We also ventured out to the USS alabama. That was awesome. We also like to go to orange beach to eat and do shopping. We charted a private boat to fish. That was great too. San Roc Cay is great at helping you find what works for you. Great shops too!
Of course the outlet mall is fun. Pensacola beach is just a short drive and a beautiful one. Airforce museum is awesome and free! Fair hope is a cute town. Fun to just walk around and shop and eat.
We just love it here! Traveled from Houston area.
All the reviews are right- all you need is some beach towels and you are set! I have zero complaints about this place! Just wonderful!! Working with Randy has been so easy. My husband an I already said next time we come here this is the place for us. I personally think waiting on elevators while you're holding all your beach gear is a pain. Here you just leave your door and walk down stairs and your there. Thank you Randy for a GREAT experience. I am recommending this place to my family and friends as well!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: What a great review. Our guest's however had stayed at one of our other condos down the street from here and they had the wrong link for doing the review. Although this review would also describe this condo we as owners want the review to accurately portray the condo they stayed for their 2 weeks.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Gorgeous, Clean Condo, Very Nice!

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

My husband and I decided to make last minute reservations for memorial weekend to stay in gulf shores and the owners were very helpful with trying to work something out with us to get us a place to stay. We are so glad they did! The condo they rented us was completely affordable for a beach vacation and convent to walking everywhere! We walked to the beach & breakfast and the surf shop next door. Loved having a personal parking spot as well. My husband had never been on a beach vacation before now and he had a wonderful time! The weather was perfect and the condo had a huge king size bed that we really needed after a long day in the waves! :) I definitely recommend staying with the Moris's they make it so easy, it's clean & you get to go in vacation not worrying about anything. We look forward to staying with them in the future!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Quaint Condo Near the Hangout

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

We stayed here during the Hangout Music Festival. VERY convenient to all amenities, beautiful condo that had everything we needed. The owners were very responsive both before and after our stay, exceeding any expectations we had. Would not hesitate to stay here again personally or recommend this condo to anyone interested in a quiet get-a-way at the beach.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely Amazing Time

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

Below is an email I received from our guest in April 2013:

Hi Randy!

We had an absolutely amazing time and are anxious to be able to get
back to Gulf Shores again! The condo was wonderful - convenient to
the beach, clean, and very well appointed. We are very particular, so
the care you take in keeping everything in top shape really made an
impression on us. We would definitely stay with you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful condo and owners

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

My husband, daughter, and I stayed at this wonderful condo for a week. It was clean and cozy and include everything we needed to enjoy our stay at the beach. There was beach access just across the street. We were very close to everything in Gulf Shores. The owners were very nice and very prompt with their replies to emails. I would highly recommend staying at this condo and I hope to be able to return again. I would definitely stay here again. And I just can not say enough that the owners are just wonderful people.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Winter 2012

Review submitted: February 13, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

This trip was the second time we stayed at the condo. The first time was for one week and this year we stayed for two weeks. Randy makes everything so easy that all you have to do is have fun. If you are looking for a place close to food & shopping you can't beat this. You will feel at home once you unlock the door. Everything you need is provided and is very clean and nicely decorated. Covered parking is a plus.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Clean and Quiet

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

Randy and Lisa keep a very nice, clean and quiet condo in Gulf Shores. It is exactly as advertised. The quality of the sheets, towels, bed, draperies, etc., was all top-notch. It does not face the road (and therefore the beach), which to me is a good thing as it was quiet. It is on the 3rd floor, which means a little more stairs but a lot more quiet.

It is not EXACTLY one bedroom, as the main sleeping area is not separated from the main area by a door that can close. If it is just a couple or a couple with small children, this works out fine. If this is two couples or 4-5 adults, just understand that the privacy is not the same as a separate bedroom.

Having two parking places in the shade is a great feature during the hot months. It is tight between the pilings, but worth the trouble of parking carefully. Centrally located, so you can walk lots of places - Sea n' Suds is right across the street, for instance.

POSITVES: Good value for the $, helpful and accessable owners, central location, CLEAN & QUIET.

NEGATIVES: Nothing to speak of. I could not figure out the coffee maker. The fiberglass tub insert will need to be replaced someday but it was very clean and drained well. There is no icemaker in the fridge, so you will need to stock your cooler elsewhere.

If you've read this far, you know Gentle Winds East is not a high-rise with a balcony on the beach. As long as you know what you are looking at, I would definitely reccomend this condo to friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciate this couple spending a weekend at our condo. Our complex has assigned parking underneath the condos. Our condo is on the 2nd floor above the parking underneath. The condo is not an efficiency where the everything is in the same room. Our bedroom and the living room area is separated by an approximate 12' hallway. The bath is between the bedroom and living room area thus creating separation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

gulf shores vacation

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

We were in Gulf Shores for our first time. Our conco was the cleanest and best maintained one we have ever stayed in. Everything anyone could need to prepare a meal or just relax was provided. The owners are very thoughtful about what you might need or want for your stay. I would recomend this condo for any one that wants to go to the Gulf for vacation.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation!

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

We had a wonderful vacation staying at the condo. This was my first time renting a condo online and I was nervous about it. However, Randy was very quick at answering all my questions, very helpful, and a pleasure to do business with. The condo is great! It is located just across the street from the beach. We were very pleased with how clean the condo was.The condo had plenty of room for three adults and a two year old. We enjoyed how close the condo was to everything. A Waffle House right next door, surf shop, ice cream shop, and lots of great places to eat. We did not want our stay to end. We will definitely be returning to this condo as soon as we can. I highly recommend it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gentle Winds

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

We had a wonderful experience staying at this condo. Randy was very easy to work with and answered all of my questions quickly. I never felt as though I didn't know what to expect and since this was the first time I was renting a condo and the first time I was using this website, I couldn't have been more pleased. We loved the condo and it suited our needs perfectly. We knew exactly what we were getting and there were no surprises with the appearance of the unit or the location. There was only two of us traveling this time and we were able to walk almost everywhere we wanted to get to. The location in Gulf Shores was accessible and we were close to activities in Orange Beach as well. The condo is perfect for a couple and even a small family. We loved the Pier and visited that our last night there. The beach location across the street was in front of two other condo units, but we never felt crowded. We visited during the first week of August, so the crowds were much smaller also, but the weather was amazing. There were many amazing restaurants all within 5 minutes or less of the condo, DeSoto's is one I would recommend. We would definitely rent this condo again and wouldn't hesitate to rent a different unit from Randy. You can tell that he likes providing this service and takes pride in his properties.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wow!!!

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

What a wonderful condo. The pictures do not do it justice. Very confortable,clean and cool. Beach just across the street, and shopping and restaurants. Best food----Oyster house. When I can getaway again, I would love to stay here? Highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Tarrant Family

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

The process of reserving and confirming our stay with the owner was easy.The condo was very clean and looked almost exactly like the pictures. It was easy to find and was directly beside the Waffle House. The beach was right across the street and we felt comfortable going back and forth. The noise level from around the condo was kept to a minimum. Also having a laundry facility to use was great. I would definitely recommend this condo to a small family or just a couple wanting to get away. Can't wait til we can go back.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Trip

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2012

Randy, I wanted to thank you for the use of the condo. We had such a wonderful trip, only wish we could have stayed longer!

The condo was wonderful and very comfortable. The location was great. The smell of bacon from the Waffle House was great! Thank you for being so easy to work with as well as how thorough you are in helping plan for the stay. The information you sent was very helpful since this was our first time in Alabama.

We found that our favorite restaurant was Cosmos in Orange Beach. If you have not been there, we highly recommend.

Again, thank you to you and your wife, and we would like to keep your condo in mind for future visits if you will have us again.

Sincerely,
Malissa and family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Las Palmas

Review submitted: July 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Our stay was amazing!! The Moris Family goes above and beyond to make the stay enjoyable for everyone! They give detailed descriptions and ideas! The condo is clean and comfortable! Very convenient location for the beach! We will go again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Counting down the days until our next visit!!!

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

My wife and I were hoping for a fun, relaxing place to vacation with our three girls (ages 6,5, and 2). We always want our vacations to give our girls memories to last a lifetime. Our stay at Gentle Winds East was everything we hoped for, and then some! Gulf Shores is beautiful, the family-oriented restaurants and attractions were terrific, and the condo was super clean, comfortable, set-up perfectly for our family to have a memorable stay. The owners of the property were caring and friendly. Their recommendations were spot-on and helped us maximize our time. My only regret is that we didn't get to stay longer!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Small Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

My family and I absolutely loved the condo!! We were within walking distance to all the restraunts, hotels, and shops. We had access to the beach directly accross from the condo. We enjoyed the relaxing decor of the condo, and the bed was so comfortable I had to pull my husband out each morning:) Will be sure to return in the future!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Owners are very nice to work with.

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

We booked last minute and the owners were very quick to respond and handle all of our information. We enjoyed Gulf Shores very much. Thank you for your condo!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It was great

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

It was a great location walking distance everything to the beach restaurants and entertainment. The condo was beautiful and spacious.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Vacation!

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

I have never stayed in a place where the owner was so accomadating! I first came in contact with Randy and his wife while looking for a condo in Gulf Shores on VRBO. I contacted him about another condo he had, but while I was waitng to hear back from my friend as to whether she could go or not the condo was rented. He was so nice in letting me know that he had one that would become available, he had just purchased in a couple of weeks...he stayed in contact with me all the way until it was ready to rent even sending me pictures of it when he had finished the makeover so i could see what it looked like! You just don't get the kind of one on one treatment they gave to me any more. I have never been so pleased!

The pictures he has posted tell it all ! What a beautiful place he and his wife have created. We were just right across the street from the beach and within walking distance of several resturants. With it being just me and another girlfriend it was a place we felt very safe in and around also.

I would highly recommend this condo to anyone. I know I'm already planning another trip back in the fall!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciated the faith this guest put in us by renting our condo before we had even done the makeover of the condo. We raced to get done with it just like they do on HGTV but we did it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: May 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

This is our second time renting from the Moris's & it is always the best of the best!! There's no better way to have the perfect vacation without breaking the bank & still have the time of your life! The beach is literally a hop across the street & you're right in the heart of the greatest shops and restaurants !!! Can't wait to be back!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review