reviews for: listing #99502 - Kailua-Kona, Hawaii Condo rental

Kona Reef best in show & location wifi long distance
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $145 - $189 /nt
    $996 - $2,000 /wk
    $3,500 - $4,640 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful vacation spot

Review submitted: June 10, 2014   Date of arrival: June 2, 2014

Our stay at this condo was wonderful. It was beautiful and had everything we needed, even what we didn't know we needed. The listing and photos were accurate. I would happily recommend this to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: A guest told us we lacked an ice cream scoop about two years ago. There is one there now. We do think we covered all bases. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Bundy & Denise

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Another Day in Paradise

Review submitted: June 2, 2014   Date of arrival: May 17, 2014

We had a fantastic time again in Kona! This is at least our 12th time to this island, and we never get bored of it. This was our first time at this condo, and we were so pleased! It was just perfect for the 2 of us, and as everyone says, the Sunsets are Spectacular!! Would recommend to anyone. The condo was very clean and had everything you could need! Great job Denise :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Words have not been created that say enough to thank our guests for all the positive reviews soooo, a simple Thank You. Come again!
Bundy & Denise

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Retirement Fun

Review submitted: May 30, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

Habitual Kona Reef vacationers as the location and accommodations are exceptional. Love the small beach next door. The unit was modern and obviously loved by owners. Attention to tenant comfort was super. The unit was better "stocked" with both supplies and beach items than any we had ever seen.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Roxanne, Over the years we have been thrilled with positive reviews such as yours. Thank you sooo much. We like to think C-13 is first class. Come back again.

Bundy & Denise

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Destination Paradise

Review submitted: May 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 11, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this gorgeous condo in Kona! Restaurants and shops are within walking distance, but honestly our favorite part was enjoying the BREATHTAKING view from the private lanai. And we never grew tired of the sound of the ocean. A beautiful snorkeling beach is nearby, and a crystal clear swimming pool is a 60 second walk away. It is also wonderful to have your own private kitchen to cook if you want to. You couldn't ask for better, nicer people to rent from than Bundy and Denise! A great value for anyone looking to stay in Kona!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love receiving wonderful reviews like yours. Thank you so very much. We hope you will come back one day.
Bundy & Denise Green

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Lac La Hache, BC, Canada

Review submitted: March 10, 2014   Date of arrival: January 23, 2014

We had a wonderful 6 week stay at the Kona Reef. The condo was just like portrayed in the pictures. The unit was well cared for, clean and well equipped. Denise, has thought of all the little details as well, we felt right at home. We watched whales and dolphins from the lanai where we enjoyed all but a few meals. The Kona Reef is in a great location, an easy walk into town. The pool, hot tub, barbecue area and grounds are extremely well looked after. We would definitely recommend this condo to friends or family. Our favourite thing to do was our daily walk into town and the pier.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We so enjoyed having you as our guests and thank you so much for your wonderful review. Please visit us again.
Bundy & Denise

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Love the Kona Reef

Review submitted: March 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 31, 2013

This unit newly re-decorated and re-furbished. Highly recommended as great location in the resort.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much Patty we were delighted to have you as our guests!
Thanks again,
Bundy & Denise

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Sea turtles right in your front yard!!

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We spent Christmas in Kona and this condo was absolutely perfect for us. Wonderful location - 5 minute walk into town. Amazing views - watch the sunset over the ocean right from your lanai. We also saw sea turtles almost daily on the rocky beach right in front of the condo complex. The condo is recently renovated and beautifully decorated and the kitchen is fully equipped.
It's also right next door to Don's Mai Tai Bar!! What more can you ask for!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hope to have you back again. Thank you for the wonderful review!
Bundy & Denise

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

What a great place to stay!

Review submitted: December 1, 2013   Date of arrival: November 2, 2013

WOW, what a great condo unit this is! We stayed for two weeks and can hardly wait to go back again. The unit was so clean and well maintained and so was the whole property. The staff that takes care of the place does a fantastic job. We met one of the owners of this unit and he was so gracious and wanted to know how our stay was and if we needed anything to make it better. We can honestly say that we didn't need anything else to make this one of our favorite vacations ever!

The view from the lanai encompassed the pool area and the ocean and we spent many an evening watching the sunset while we ate dinner on the lanai. The gazebo by the pool has four gas BBQ's that are cleaned meticulously every day and for us, made the stay even better as we enjoy BBQ'ing.

The town is less than a five minute walk away and has some of the most interesting restaurants we've tried. Recommend the Daylight Mind Coffee Company and Island Lava Java for any meal of the day.

Thank you for such a wonderful place to stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Happy our condo added to your two weeks of a wonderful vacation. We are still on the island enjoying ours. Reviews like yours have been our best advertising. Thank you and come again soon. Bundy & Denise

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: November 22, 2013   Date of arrival: November 16, 2013

Had to go to Kona for a short biz trip that we extended a couple days... The owners were extremely easy to work with and actually had the pleasure to meet Bundy as we checked in...He was very attentive and made sure we were comfortable in the unit.
The unit it self is perfect for 2.... cozy and extremely well appointed and outfitted. The views from the unit are the real thing...you are 100' from the water! It is not a new complex, but they take extremely good care of the facilities... so much so we actually chose to BBQ by the pool 2 of the nights we were there. Walking distance to town, nice ocean front area, parking was never an issue...we had a wonderful stay and hope to do it again!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: You were great. We think you should extend those business trips. Come again soon! Bundy & Denise

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Excellent Stay

Review submitted: October 19, 2013   Date of arrival: October 6, 2013

The condo was located close to the centre of Kona within walking distance to coffee shops and restaurants. It is well decorated and well equipped. The complex is well maintained and the pool area very clean. The views from the condo are spectacular. We saw many a beautiful sunset. I would definitely recommend this condo to couples or a small family visiting Kona.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you Sherrie for your nice review. We hope to see you again.
Bundy & Denise

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Fantastic Condo

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 22, 2013

This property was even better than the pictures! We were in Kona for my daughter's wedding and this was a perfect place to stay. The condo is beautiful and the location is fantastic!! The pool was maintained DAILY!! thank you for sharing your beautiful ondo with us.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We were happy to accommodate you for such a happy event. Hope to see you again.
Bundy & Denise

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Heavenly Hawaiian Holiday

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 17, 2013

If I had known how wonderful this place was, we would have stopped at the harbor for fish and the farmer's market for produce and never left again! This is a wonderful place for just unwinding and leaving your problems behind. We did take several day trips and would particularly recommend the Kilauea Iki hike at the volcano and Place of Refuge for both the site itself and the snorkeling at the site next to it. There is also terrific snorkeling along Alii Drive at several spots.

This condo has everything you would possibly need for your stay. Beach chairs, umbrella, cooler, towels for trips to the beach, and a full kitchen for whipping up gourmet meals. The produce at the farmers market is unbelievably fresh and inexpensive, so don't waste your time at the grocery store. We did have some great dinners out: Jackie Rey's is wonderful!

The new mattress is heavenly! We are already planning our next trip back...thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Thank you, Thank you. Review like yours makes it all worthwhile. Please visit again.
Bundy & Denise Green

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location for an active vacation!

Review submitted: September 21, 2013   Date of arrival: September 4, 2013

Great location near town with a nice view of the water overlooking the community swimming pool. The recent renovation is lovely, with the exception of the Tempurpedic bed, which makes for hot nights. The facility is very well maintained, and the BBQ and pool area is cleaned daily. Only down side is being adjacent to the pool, so you have constant activity outside whether you want it or not. That said, if people watching and great sunsets are your thing, this is the place for you. With its recent renovation, this is certainly the nicest unit at the Kona Reef!

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Thanks for your review and we hope to see you again.
Bundy & Denise Green

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best in kona reef

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 5, 2013

We just got home and are ready to go back! We had the best time! Your condo is very beautiful and you had everything we needed to cook! The best part is it is so close to all the best resturants and shopping! Thanks for sharing your condo with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Chelsea,
Glad that you enjoyed your visit to our condo. Hope to see you again.
Bundy & Denise Green

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our stay at Kona Reef

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

The condo lived upto our expectations and beyond. It was renovated to a high standard, extremely well equipped, and very clean. Close to town (easy walk) and the views of the ocean from the lanai were fabulous, being very close to the water. The pool area was nice, and had pristine bbq facilities available. We had one maintenance issue during our stay which was taken care of immediately (within the hour!). Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to somebody looking for a very comfortable and quiet stay in Kona.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Kerry for you nice review. Hope to see you again.
Bundy & Denise Green

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful view, great location

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

Wonderful view, great location to Kailua-Kona and close to beaches, updated and well appointed condo. Friendly and helpful office staff. Great facilities - clean and safe. It's a 5-star with an updated bed. We plan to come back.

Owners response: You will be happy to know the Tempurpedic has been delivered! Thanks for your kind review and we welcome you back anytime.
Thanks again,
Bundy & Denise Green

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location, very nice condo

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 30, 2013

This is unit is a recently renovated condo, it has everything that you need from a fully equipped kitchen to a washer and dryer. It is easily walkable to downtown and to the pier for a swim, close to the shops etc. The owner definitely wants to do everything possible to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
The only complaint I would have is the bed was not that comfortable - too soft and everything rolls towards the center.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Bundy and I have decided the bed has to go after our brief stay in April. We are installing a tempur-pedic with a cooling mattress pad that should be great for our guests.
Thanks so much and hope to see you again.
Bundy and Denise

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Sun and Surf

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: May 8, 2013

This condo is located within walking distance of downtown Kona. The unit is immaculate and very well equipped. It looks like it has been updated recently and we love the decor. The lanai overlooks the pool and you can see the palm trees, the surf and the sunsets from a prime spot.
Denise, the owner, was easy to work with and very accommodating. The common areas are well kept and maintained. It's a very special spot and we highly recommend it when you are planning some time on the Big Island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your wonderful review we hope to see you again.
Regards,
Bundy & Denise Green

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sun and Surf

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: May 8, 2013

This condo is located within walking distance of downtown Kona. The unit is immaculate and very well equipped. It looks like it has been updated recently and we love the decor. The lanai overlooks the pool and you can see the palm trees, the surf and the sunsets from a prime spot.
Denise, the owner, was easy to work with and very accommodating. The common areas are well kept and maintained. It's a very special spot and we highly recommend it when you are planning some time on the Big Island.

Owners response: Thanks for your kind review. Hope to see you again,
Bundy & Denise Green

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Kona 2013

Review submitted: May 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 18, 2013

Husband and I had a wonderful stay. The unit is very clean, well equipped and has a nice view. The owner and housekeeper were readily accesible for questions. Loved the location, easy access to many restaurants and entertainment. Would recommend to friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review. Hope to see you again.
Bundy & Denise Green

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just perfect

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

This is a great condo and the owner are VERY responsive. The pictures are exactly like the place. the ocean views from the deck are perfection! Location is great, close to all the dining and shops. Absolutely recommend! Thank you for a wonderful experience!!!

Owners response: Thanks so much for you wonderful review. We hope to see you again in the future.
Bundy & Denise

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

" key " reasons to stay here.

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Kona Reef. This condo is nicely furnished, clean and comfy. We loved the location, just a short stroll to town where you will find fun cafe's and shopping. We stayed for a month and we had the best time!!! We would love to return and would stay here again for sure ...the condo felt like home. Thank you B & D for your hospitality looking forward to 2015!!!!! Lynda and Gerry

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Owners response: We certainly enjoyed having you two. We are currently staying a couple of days after you drinking from the tea pot, doing yoga on a beautiful pink mat and will have wine coolers at sunset down by the pool. Writing instructions for the DVD player and making sure a key is in the lock-box. Thanks again and hope to see in in 2015
Bundy and Denise

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pennsylvanian

Review submitted: February 3, 2013   Date of arrival: January 27, 2013

This condo has been renovated as one of the nicest in the complex. It is artistically decorated, and has an island theme throughout. Many thoughtful amenities are included. The view from the lanai is beautiful, overlooking the pool and ocean. The location is convenient for walking to the town and for touring. Denise was very helpful and prompt in responding to any questions. We'd love to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Reviews such as yours make our day. Thank you so much. We spent a month at the unit during the remodel in August of 2010. My wife "Honchoed" the entire deal and did a great job. I am happy I was NOT one of the contractors. We continue our efforts to keep C-13 a first class Kona Reef unit. Bundy & Denise

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

very accurate

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: January 12, 2013

well furnished and in a perfect location at the resort. would definitely recommend this unit to anyone who want a close location to the town and beautiful sunsets off the lanai every night.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks alot. We are pleased that you were pleased! Come again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous!

Review submitted: December 24, 2012   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

We have just returned from 14 glorious nights in this unit. We highly recommend it. The location is excellent. We loved being right on the ocean as well as walking distance to the main restaurant/shopping area yet away from the central area's noise. We did indeed see turtles and dolphins right in front of the complex. The pool area is fantastic. Other guests were friendly and welcoming. Bundy and Denise were wonderful to deal with and the condo had everything we needed.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: C & S, We are extremely happy C-13 was a pleasureable experience for you. Thank you so much for your glowing review. Guests like you make our job a delight. Come again! Bundy & Denise

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Kona Reef Awesome Vacation!

Review submitted: November 23, 2012   Date of arrival: November 7, 2012

Sweet Property! Best Vacation Ever! Great representation of property! Owner available for quick response to questions! Clean, lovely Hawaiian decor & furnishings, kitchen well equipped (great coffee maker, rice cooker, etc.), extraordinary view from the large lanai. Great location close to Kona Village on Alii Drive! Great value! We highly recommend the unit to all our friends & family, except for the fact that we want it available for our own use at least once yearly! haha!

Sam Choy's Keahou Kona, Island Natural Foods & fresh seafood from fish market @ KTA Keahoua Kona are excellent options for food!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wonderful to have you two stay at our condo. We would be more than happy to have you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: November 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 30, 2012

It's a tastefully updated unit with a great ocean view. I saw dolphins a few days and you can snorkel right off the beach next door.Just a 5 minute walk to Kona's restaurants and nightlife. It's a strong 9 on a scale from 1 to 10.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your nice review. Hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Our Vacation Condo

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

I would like to Thank You for a beautiful place to call home during our vacation. The location was perfect !! The view was amazing !! The condo was Gorgeous !!! Thank You again so much !!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We love it when our guests have a wonderful time. Hope to see you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Getaway!

Review submitted: August 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my experience with HomeAway and my stay at Denise and Bundy's condo in Kailua-Kona. The view was spectacular from the lanai! The complex is right on the shore of the ocean and this condo is situated just over the pool and hot-tub, and with an uninhibited view of the ocean. Everything that you need is there: a fully equipped kitchen, including pots, pans, dishes, eating utensils, glasses, and spices for cooking, television, cd player, linen, washer and dryer - all of the amenities of home and nicely furnished. The furniture on the lanai is perfect for eating meals or just relaxing. There are also additional outdoor chairs, binoculars, and I believe that I saw snorkeling equipment (not my thing) in the condo. There are 4 gas grills in the common area near the pool. The area just outside of the pool is great for lounging and watching the sunset - the sunsets are beautiful! I had one minor maintenance problem that was readily resolved.
The terrain is very rocky at the shore in this area so I would suggest water shoes if you want to spend time in the water. However, there is a beach front next door and several others in the immediate area. I was there for a personal writing retreat and I wrote at the table on the lanai most days. That is to say that the weather was great and the noise level was mild to medium. Most of the guests in the complex were families during my stay. Kailua-Kona is a little slow but great for people who want to snorkel, dive, parasail, etc. Not really the party scene. Great coffee, for the coffee lovers
Great space for 2-3 people; however the bed as well as the sofa pullout is a double (I believe). There were two of us, so this space worked quite well. I would stay here again!

Owners response: Happy to have you as our guests. Thanks for the great review and we hope to see you again.
Bundy & Denise

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very nice condo in great location

Review submitted: July 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 21, 2012

This 1 bed, 1 bath was nicely redone recently from top to bottom. We were always comfortable, and it's very walkable to food and shopping. Great pool and waterfront. Great dealing with owners. Will stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your nice review. We hope to see you again..

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Absolutely brilliant.

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

After reading other reviews and communicating with Denise and Bundy, the owners of the property, we already had high expectations. We were not disappointed. Everything is as described but even better, this was the most relaxing vacation we have ever had. The condo has everything you would want and it is all top quality, from the kitchen to the bathroom to the furnishings. The only problem staying here is that eventually you have to go home!
We watched the maintenance staff spend 2 hours every single morning from 6am until the pool opens at 8am, cleaning the pool area and polishing the bbq grills, it was immaculate. It really is only a short stroll into Kona but feels miles away from the hustle and bustle and, therefore provides the best of both worlds.
We will always remember our trip here fondly and can't wait to return.

Owners response: Thanks so much for the wonderful review. We loved having you as guests and happy that you were able to enjoy a much needed vacation. Hope to see you again.
Denise & Bundy

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

-Pictures do not do it Justice. not disappointed. very nice place

Review submitted: May 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 13, 2012

The pictures did not do justice to how nice the place was. It was in a group of condo apts that appeared to be nondescript but this particular unit was recently remodeled and very well maintained. The full kitchen with the beautiful sink (I wish I had this one at home), full fridge and stove was above what you would expect in a rental unit. The linens and decorations were very tasteful and there was a great view from the deck of the ocean and the condo swimming pool and hot tub. There were also barbeque units above the swimming pool so that you could bring your food down and barbeque while you were looking at the sunset. It was very closely located to the main strip where you could walk down, get something to eat and rent scuba//snorkeling equipment.

Owners response: Thanks for your wonderful review we are happy that you were able to visit our condo. I have left a large size snorkel set and a new backpack/cooler/chair for the beach. A new television for the bedroom and put a few new pictures on the website.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Spring Break

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: March 25, 2012

Visit was fabulous, condo was perfect. Just as described. Everything you could want or need. My 18 year old and I shared a mom/daughter spring break getaway. We explored the entire island during our one week stay. Amazing sunsets! Thanks for sharing your island get away. If we get back to The Big Island we'll definitely stay with you again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Susan I'm happy we were able to accommodate you for your week stay with your daughter. Hope your travels bring you back our way.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: March 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 29, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at this condo! It is set up with everything you could need, including even a rice cooker. We spent most of our time at the condo on the lanai, looking out on the ocean. The location is perfect, quiet yet a short walk to town. All in all, a wonderful spot for a relaxing time!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Condo for our vacation

Review submitted: March 16, 2012   Date of arrival: March 4, 2012

This was a perfect condo for our vacation. We loved the location and the view. The place was clean, updated and very comfortable. We will definitely request to stay here again when visiting the big island. I highly recommend this condo. Denise is very responsive to any questions and all transactions were performed flawlessly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks so much for you review we hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Nice Gem on the Kona Reef

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at your Kona condo very much. The condo was very tastefully furnished and had all the necessary top quality amenities both in the condo and common area. The pool was very clean and the new BBQ's were spotless. All were within easy access from our condo. The morning coffee from the deck watching the waves and boats was a great way to start the day. The refurbished shower provided a welcomed splash in the morning and the air conditioner when we used it worked perfectly. The close proximity to downtown maybe for an easy walk. I would recommend this condo as a great stay for any couple looking for a peaceful restful stay, yet still close to the action.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect spot

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

Spent 10 days in this condo,it was exactly as it was described..view was even better than the photos.Pool area and hot tub was very nice and bbq area was clean and a good place to chat with other guests.Great location and condo,would stay here again in a heartbeat.Tthank you for such a lovley place to spend our holiday. Maury

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Maury, we hope to see you again.
Bundy and Denise

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Satisfied renters from Washington State

Review submitted: January 26, 2012   Date of arrival: January 10, 2012

We found this condo to be everything as described. The modern upgrades were appreciated. It was very clean and grounds were well maintained. Denise & Bundy were helpful and answered questions in a prompt manner. View from lanai was the best, facing the ocean which was just a few yards away.
Sunsets from the lanai were spectacular. If you plan on doing alot of cooking, which we didn't, the kitchen is FULLY equipped. The only thing we couldn't find was an icecream scoop:) Easy walking distance to town, location for many good restaurants. We have already recommended this condo to people we met around the pool who may be coming back to Kona.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Ice cream scoop on our list. Thanks for your business hope to see you again.
Bundy and Denise

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

condo

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

we had a wonderful time at the condo. It is a very cute place --everything it said it was! there is a great view of the ocean across the pool. we watched large pods of dolphins performing almost daily from our lanai. condo is close to the action of downtown--within walking distance if you do not wish to drive. the covered garage is great if you do have a car. all-in -all I would say this is a great place to stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I guess I'm the only one that hasn't seen the dolphins. I need to keep my head above water for a change. Thanks for sharing our condo hope to see you again.
Denise

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Very nice accomodations, nice property and ideal location!

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

My wife and I spent 14 lovely days in October at propery #299230 at the Kona Reef. We enjoyed our stay very much. This condo is nicely situated so that you get an outstanding view of the ocean, cruiseships and all ocean activities including around the pool area. The barbecue facilities are one of the best and a fun place to meet other owners and quests. The condo association has very good staff that keep the grounds in excellent shape including the pool. Our condo was very comfortable, clean and well layed out. The owners were very helpful in assisting when we had a question. They are very good owners to rent from and they represent the property very well on VRBO. The location was also excellent as we could walk to the restaurants and shops in Kona. We hope to return someday soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Fabulous 10 Days

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: November 3, 2011

The ideally located condo was perfect for us. An easy walk to Kailoa, the condo was exactly as advertised...only better. The owners did not miss a trick, including everything from aluminum foil to beach towels; from abundant dishware to soap; from a coffee grinder to easy internet. And the view was perfect for morning coffee and evening wine while being quiet and ideal for a good night's sleep.
We found the space to be clean, well cared for and comfortable in every way. Our several questions were answered quickly by the manual left in the condo and / or a phone call to their local housekeeper. And the parking was underground and easily accessible to the unit. We absolutely recommend this unit for a romantic stay while offering the best that Kona has to give.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Ironman Week

Review submitted: November 9, 2011   Date of arrival: October 4, 2011

We stayed here for Ironman. It was conveniently located to race start and expo so we didn't have to spend too much time on our feet if we didn't want to. Eating meals on the lanai was fantastic with the view right on the water. The condo was very clean and well decorated and the rest of the facilities were cleaned every day. The grill area by the pool was very easy to get to and the grills were cleaned every day too. It was mostly quiet-sometimes you can hear people in the bedroom as it is on the corridor but for the most part not an issue. Having an AC was very helpful for the time we were there but we really didn't need it that much. If you have never been to Kona this is a great place to stay-next store is the Royal Kona that has a fantastic luau-you are close to great restaurants and not far from any grocery shopping. Denise and Bundy were very nice and helpful. You will not regret staying here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Beautiful Condo in Kona

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 8, 2011

We recently returned from our stay at this beautiful condo in Kona. The unit is very well appointed and it is obvious that the owners took great pride in decorating the condo. Kona Reef is about a 10 minute walk to town which is very convenient for going out for casual dining or some shopping. We liked the location of this unit in Kona and would recommend it to friends. Nearby restaurants that were good are Thai Rin and Huggo's on the Rocks for viewing some beautiful sunsets.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very Nice Condo!

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 28, 2011

My wife and I have rented in Kona for several years. This unit was a real gem of a find so close to Kona town. It's a short walk there. A big plus was that the unit faced the sunset, and for the first time there we saw the elusive 'green flash' - twice! The condo was well represented in the posting for it, and it was obvious from the moment that we opened the door that the owners had taken extra special care in making it feel like home. The owners were great to work with and even called to make sure that everything was going well. We will definately stay here again. It was a great time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

June visitors

Review submitted: June 18, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

The unit was beautifully redecorated and updated. Even the lanai had to be the nicest on the property. The location is excellent for a short walk to Ali'i Drive with restaurants and shopping. The owners also recommended nice excursions and out of town restaurants many of which we tried and liked.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

janer

Review submitted: April 17, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

me were very fortunate to have found this great place on our first time renting a condo. It was everything promised and more, very new, clean and everything you would think of using. The very minor problem we incurred was dealt with swiftly and easily. Great layout, breath taking views and nice walk into town, where you could find anything you wanted. i would recommend this place to anyone and Denise and Bundy were a pleasure to deal with

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great condo and place to stay in Kona

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

This was our second time in the same condo. It has been well renovated and all amenities were there. It was perfect for the three of us (2 adults and a 12 year old). Great location if you like walking through town. We hope to be back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A wonderful stay despite the tsunami!

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

We stayed at this condo for two weeks at the beginning of March, 2011. It is immaculate, and we loved the fresh sea breezes on the lanai and the friendly staff at the complex. The staff took it to another level, though, after the tsunami! They had the debris cleaned up, gardening refreshed and pool reopened within days, and worked very hard to accomplish this. The owner called right away to make sure we were okay as well. A wonderful stay at a lovely location, easy walking distance to good restaurants and shops in the harbour. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Karol and Eamonn, Whitehorse, Yukon

Review submitted: March 6, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2011

Just spent 2 weeks at this fantastic condo. It is as advertised and more. Wonderful complex with spotless grounds and pool. Would recommend it to everyone.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Place to stay in Kona

Review submitted: March 6, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

We just got home from our stay at the Kona Reef. The Condo is beautiful and newly remodeled. The view is the best on the island. The location is perfect you can walk to the little town for dinner etc. The pool & BBQ area are cleaned every day. We will stay here again if our travels take us to Kona.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay in Kona!

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

My husband, myself and our 12-yr old daughter stayed here for the Christmas Holiday, and the condo has been remodeled very nicely. Nice spacious kitchen, convenient laundry in condo, beach towels, boogie board, beach chairs, binoculars...everything you need! The close location to the pool was especially nice for our daughter, and the ocean view was beautiful from the balcony. We even saw dolphins while sitting out in the lawn chairs by the water. I also noticed how the grounds people kept the grounds, pool and pool area in pristine condition.
This was a great location for visiting Mauna Kea, Volcanoes Nat'l Park, Hapuna Beach and Captain Cook Area.
I would highly recommend this condo for 1-4 people. The sofa bed worked out great for my daughter.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Fantastic Stay!

Review submitted: December 18, 2010   Date of arrival: November 13, 2010

This is a beautiful condo! The pictures reflect exactly what the property looks like, and the owners were great to work with. The lanai looks over the pool and a gorgeous view of the ocean. Kona Reef is in a great location; just a 5 minute walk to town and the farmers market. And this unit is in a great location within the complex. Close to the pool and grill area, where we grilled out several nights and had a delicious supper on the lanai. Definitely pick up some fresh fish and enjoy that experience! Everything you need for cooking meals is provided, and packing a lunch before heading out for the day added a lot of flexibility (and some picnics) for us. We hope to visit again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Condo

Review submitted: December 15, 2010   Date of arrival: December 1, 2010

Inside the condo was wonderful. The kitchen and bathroom was a perfect remodel. Having the air-conditioning at night to sleep was great, the rest of the day we had the doors open to the ocean breezes. We did enjoy the easy walk to town. Only negative note, you have to look through the pool area to see the ocean. However, there is so much to do, we didn't stay in the condo much. The best view of the sunset is on the beach in front. So... yes, I would recommend this condo to friends. Buy the book, "Hawaii, The Big Island Revealed," to find all the fantastic snorkeling areas.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our condo is 2 stories above the pool but the unit is turned toward the ocean for a perfect view. The picture of the lanai shows the actual view.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfect Romantic Kona Getaway!

Review submitted: November 14, 2010   Date of arrival: October 13, 2010

This was our 4th visit to Kona and 2nd to Kona Reef. The purpose of the visit was 1 day of business and 3 days of relaxation and romance. The visit was rather last minute or we would have stayed longer! This unit is perfectly located for those loving, romantic sunsets every night; not to mention a prime view of the pool area. It is an easy 5-10 min walk into Kona town. Snorkling is right next door. This unit is very comfortable for 2. We had all the comforts of home. The brand new kitchen and bath are very beautiful and obviously designed with a lot of thought. The cable TV got the SF Giants playoff games and made my husband very happy! We used the poolside barbeque one night and met several very friendly guests there. The photos are acurate; we were not disappointed at all. Denise and Bundy are terrific to work with and respond immediately to any inquiries. I will be sure recommend this unit to others and I hope my travels take me back to Kona Reef!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Vacation Rental #299230

Review submitted: November 10, 2010   Date of arrival: November 4, 2010

Vacation Rental #299230 was a great place for us to stay during our 5 day stay in Kona. The unit looked to be recently updated and it was comfortable, modern, clean and well maintained. It had everything we needed to cook all meals though we only used it for our breakfast as we were out about exploring the island all day. Communication with the owners was excellent and any questions or concern I had was immediately responded to and resolved. Close walking distance to the Kona strip. If we ever return we will hope to try to get this unit again. Mahalo again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location

Review submitted: October 14, 2010   Date of arrival: October 7, 2010

Location, Location. I was lucky enough to be the first guest at this beautifully remodeled condo. There was no hassling with parking in town because I walked about 5 minutes to coffee or a beach side bar. The lounges that were 10 feet from the ocean were a lovely place to start my day. I thank the owners for the pride they put into their home and their graciousness in sharing.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Kona Reef Condo

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 16, 2010

Spectacular view!! The view alone is worth the stay. This condo has new owners and they were very accomodating and easy to work with as we planned our short stay. We enjoyed using the pool as well as the condo's proximity to Kona Village and the beach. While the condo is directly above the pool, we were never bothered by pool noises. The owners tell me they are doing a complete remodel which will be finished in September. The remodel will make the condo the perfect place to stay. Presently, while exceptionally clean, the dated bathroom leaves a little bit to be desired. Until then . . . sit on the deck and watch the sunset as the waves break in front of you. You couldn't have a better view.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review