reviews for: listing #9952 - Aruba, Caribbean Apartment rental

Across from Ocean & Walking Distance to Everything
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Down town Oranjestad
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $99 - $129 /nt
    $690 - $900 /wk

sort by:

Absolutely perfect!

Review submitted: February 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 13, 2012

We just spent 9 days at Le Chateau. It was absolutely perfect. One block from a lovely beach which was almost completely empty, two blocks from the Renaissance, and easy walking distance to downtown (groceries, shopping, etc). The apartment was huge and very clean. The kitchen was furnished with everything we needed. My one concern was that there would be road noise but I was pleasantly surprised to find it very quiet. The home is built of concrete and we couldn't even hear other guests. "Fred", the host, was extremely friendly and helpful.

One thing to remember: this is a vacation rental, not a condo. It does not have a pool and does not have daily maid service. It is a comfortable, fully furnished apartment in a gracious host's home.

I highly recommend it to someone looking for an independent experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Very Accommodating

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2011

This trip was my Christmas present and my boyfriend had arranged with Fred (the owner) to have flowers for me upon our arrival. He did a very nice job with a Merry Christmas card, too! There were two bottles of water and a bottle of wine for us in the frige. Very nice considering wine is my beverage of choice and my boyfriend does not drink.

The villa was lovely (as pretty as teh pictures!)and Fred is a very gracious host. He is there is you need or want him and "absent" if you'd rather be alone. The location is right in town far from "hotel row" but if you want to go up there for the day or evening, the buses are dirt cheep and run until after midnight. We love to walk and all the retaurants are just blocks away as well as the mall.

If you are country folk you may have a problem with the sounds of the city. Bring ear plugs. If you're a city dweller, you'll feel right at home. Oh, and bed was very comfy!

We spent out last night having dinner with Fred and enjoyed his stories of where he had been. It felt just like home by the time we left and we were very sorry to leave this beautiful place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Island living

Review submitted: February 12, 2010   Date of arrival: November 3, 2004

Just returned from LeChateau. It was just as expected. Very nice, large apt. very accessable to downtown. Fred is a wonderful proprietor. He lives on the top floor, which is also for rent. Anything we needed, he saw we had it. He even loaned us his Weber grill. Just know it doesn't have a pool. The beach is across the street We had a car for the week so this was no problem. I'm sure. This is for you if you want to cook and have space and feel like you actually live on the island. There isn't any daily maid service. but then I don't like having someone in our room every day anyways. The shower is wonderful.

Helpful votes: 24 / 25

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Privacy and Comfort

Review submitted: February 12, 2010   Date of arrival: February 12, 2007

We loved our stay at Lechateau because the place has a lot to offer; proximity to the airport, downtown, marina, shops and park to name a few. The idea of being on vacation with the comfort of living at home appeals to us and Lechateua has that to offer. We found our apartment tastefully and comfortably furnished with a full kitchen. And since we do not want to be prisoners of restaurants everytime, this worked for us very well. We felt safe at the place. We walked around from our apartment to downtown, park, shops, clubs and museums. Watching the sunset on the shore every afternoon was very enjoyable. The owner was accommodating and went out of his way to make our stay more comfortable. We'll be back next year.

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

perfect ny's eve getaway...

Review submitted: February 12, 2010   Date of arrival: December 23, 2009

Le Chateau is located on the corner of a residential block in downtown Orangestad. Ten minutes away from the airport, a 5 min walk to the Renaissance Hotel and other downtown shops and places to eat AND the beach is right across the street! Fred, the owner, was a wonderful host! The apartment was clean, spacious, and offered a nice sized kitchen with pots, pans, plates, and utensils. Le Chateau is a beautifully built residence that has a quaint and charming outdoor space perfect for lounging and enjoying the sweet breeze that flows through the island while munching on a big bowl of cereal :)

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wondeful Accomodations”

Review submitted: February 12, 2010   Date of arrival: March 24, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Le Chateau Villa in Aruba in February 2008, one week in the Junior suite and one week in a deluxe suite with a separate bedroom. We were very happy with our accomodations and thought that we received excellent value - the suites were roomy, clean and the one bedroom suite was beautifully designed, furnished and airy! We didn't even turn our air conditioning on once!The Junior suite was perfect for the two of us and fit our budget limits. The proprietor is an excellent host and will provide any information required on sight seeing or restaurants. We will definitely go back next year! We specifically didn't want to stay in the hotel zone at a 5 star hotel on the beach because we love to cook ourselves especially the wonderful fish that is available at the local markets! And the 5 star hotels are very expensive!Then when we do go out for dinner, its very special for us! I can't wait for next year, loved staying at le chateau,
Also, le chateau is very centrally located to shopping and some excellent restaurants and very safe as the building is surrounded by a fence with locked gates. Recommend renting a car to get to the fantastic beaches and giving you the freedom to sightsee the whole wonderful island!

Almost forgot, the water in Aruba is wonderful, you can drink it safe from the tap!!
Liked — Location, full kitchen and cost fit our budget

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“One of our favorite places in the world”

Review submitted: February 12, 2010   Date of arrival: December 25, 2009

We have stayed at Le Chateau for 5 years now in the Junior Suite.
We love it. We are seasoned vacationers and do not like the hub- bub of the resort areas. It is quiet and peaceful. Fred, the owner, has become a great friend to us and always welcomes us with open arms. The place is clean and in a great location in Oranjestad near restaurants and shopping. I also like the security of the place. (Guests have a key to the front gate.) We look forward to
seeing Fred every Christmas and ringing in the New Year with him! It is fun to meet the other guests from year to year and we feel like we take home more great memories with every stay.
Donnita & Steve
Wisconsin

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review