reviews for: listing #99534 - Kalapana-Puna, Hawaii House rental

Kalapana Shores
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $90 - $240 /nt
    $630 - $1,680 /wk

sort by:

Kapalana Shores House

Review submitted: June 4, 2014   Date of arrival: April 23, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This was a nice house overall. We had a safety concern due to a lack of proper lighting between the driveway and the stairs. We had a couple of people trip because of the small step at the corner of the garage leading onto the sidewalk. Suggest some foot lighting be added similar to the rope lights on the handrail or change it from step to a ramp. The motion sensor lights around the house did not work while we were there. Otherwise the house was comfortable. Even without a/c, the trade winds cooled the house nicely. The kitchen had everything we needed and there was adequate seating at meal time. The beds were comfortable. Everyone enjoyed the lanai with its pleasant breeze and view to the ocean. The landscaping was beautiful!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: May 1, 2014   Date of arrival: April 1, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Eight friends rented Kalapana Shores as our home base. It was perfect--offering enough seating, two kitchens, ample bathrooms and private bedrooms. We loved the huge lanai and the hot tub was an added benefit. The owners provided books loaded with information about things to do in the area. I would definitely stay there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It was a great place to staay

Review submitted: May 1, 2014   Date of arrival: March 24, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We had a great time and loved the house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Well worth the stay

Review submitted: April 10, 2014   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We loved our stay and only wish it was longer. It was alot cheaper then the hotel we rented for four days. I think the best part was being able to buy and cook your own food. Its simply amazing to see that the lava flow had spared this house and the others around it. The Farmers Market just outside of Pahoa is really cool and lots of veggies to bring home and cook. The Hot tub is very nice and relaxing. The beds are comfy, heck the whole house makes you feel right at home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This place had it all!

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: January 25, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
My family and I had an excellent stay here. The place was as described. They had everything you could hope for, coolers, boogie boards ect. The location would have been excellent if the lava was flowing in Kalapana, but it wasn't. The chain of craters road is also closed permanently in Kalapana so you have to always drive up towards to Hilo to get anywhere on the Island FYI.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful place

Review submitted: February 10, 2014   Date of arrival: January 19, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Wonderful place. All the reviews are true. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

home away from home

Review submitted: October 24, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
very nice rental,roomy, clean, private...very homey feeling.....highly recommend it as a getaway from the hustle and bustle of everyday life....

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: October 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 23, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
A little hard to find, however, very nice property. Would be great to have window A/C. The road noise is hard to handle. Over all it was a great stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: October 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 16, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Our extended family had an amazing visit to the Hilo side of the Big Island and this rental was perfect for our needs: Lots of space, well stocked, and in a beautiful location.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

island hopping

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

We have spent a lot of time staying at different vacation rentals around the big island and found this rental to be very nice. The home is beautiful, clean and quite comfortable especially if you have a group of 3 or more. Very nice and private....

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeded my Expectations

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: May 9, 2013

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Our stay in Kalapana was amazing! We loved everything about the house and the community and would recommend it without hesitation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Home Away From Home

Review submitted: May 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We rented the upstairs and downstairs units. The house was very clean and in a lovely area! We barely saw the neighbors, and they were very friendly when we did. The kitchen was stocked with basic cooking tools, which was very helpful. The staff was wonderfully accommodating. The only downside was the slow WiFi, BUT it's not a big deal when you're on vacation! Televisions in every room kept us busy when we were looking for downtime at the house. I would definitely book another stay at this rental!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Getaway!

Review submitted: May 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We live on Oahu and needed a little getaway. What a great place to go to getaway from it all. Mahalo we will be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice house, rural area but noisy at night

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 19, 2013

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was adequately helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We were disappointed with the traffic noise that went past the house - the area is very rural so I was surprised at how many cars went by at night. The neighbor's dog howled, whined, and made noise that didn't allow sleep. We had to shut windows and turn on free standing fans since the house didn't have AC. The sheets were sandy in one of the guest rooms, they apparently weren't changed since the last guest. The house was nice, had nice furniture and had good cooking utensils, you just had to deal with the dog and traffic at night when it was supposed to be peaceful.

Manager responded on 3/25/2013:
Thank you for your review. We're sorry your experience wasn't great and we hope that your review will not deter others as this rental has been great for most guests! None of our vacation rentals have AC as that is not a necessary thing here where the weather is temperate year round. Many of us use fans at night both for air flow and noise mitigation (lots of things here chirp in the Coqui frogs). We will certainly let housekeeping know about the sand in the bed! Mahalo, Hawaii Holiday Management

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Kalapano Shores

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: February 19, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
It would be nice if the directions to the local features were better described. A top 10 list of the things right there would have been nice. We did not realize the uniqueness of the location re: the volcano until the last day. The tide pools were very cool, but not easily found. What about a floating key holder to tie to the snorkeller to keep things dry?

Manager responded on 3/15/2013:
Thank you for your review. We're always looking for ways we can improve our service to guests and love the idea of a Top Ten "Thing to do in the Area" list. Thanks for the idea! Mahalo, Hawaii Holiday Management

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Practical rental that need some work

Review submitted: March 28, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

Rating Details:
I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
If you read directions well, finding it is very easy, it's even on Google Maps. Check-in is straightforward, only need search around the house to find the 2nd floor key lockbox. Many amenities as expected in the house, but could use some upgrade (no stainless-steel cookware, knifes are not sharp...), we like the books, coolers and lots of things we don't use (we didn't touch the hottub, nor the washer/dryer). A couple of bad experience: 1) The main 2nd-floor bathroom leaks, so we only used it once. 2) there are some spoons/dishes not thoroughly cleaned (but it's easy to clean them again). What's good about it: many rooms so that each person can have one's own room :)

Manager responded on 3/13/2013:
Thank you for your review, we will share your concerns with the owners and housekeepers. We hope that other prospective guests wil read ALL reviews as we feel yours is a little harsh. This is one of the BEST kept rentals we manage and we know that guests LOVE it! Mahalo, Hawaii Holiday Management

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Fantastic!

Review submitted: February 8, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
the house was AWESOME! The distance to visit other areas of the island was the only downside...we went to ocean view and the greensand that was at least 2 hours one way...but well worth it!! I loved being able to walk on the lava flow in front of the house...wish they'd reconnect the road so you don't have to go all the way up and around to get to volcano...but what a minor problem!!!

Manager responded on 1/20/2013:
Thanks for your great review! Yes, this is a BIG island and many of the sites are spread far and wide. We recommend staying on both sides of the island for a full Big Island experience! Mahalo, Hawaii Holiday Management

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A little bit of paradise

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The girls that I booked through could not have been more helpful. We really enjoyed every aspect of our stay, and the location was ideal. The local market was fantastic, giving us a chance to mix with the locals and experience the local foods.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Amazing Place & Price

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This was an amazing place to stay. For some it may seem like it is not close to anything as it is not in Hilo or Kona but I think that is the great thing about it. It is not far from the amazing sites of the black sand beach, a short drive to the volcano, you are a stones throw away from the current lava flow, Champagne pond and Ahalanui are just down the road, and you can't miss people watching in Pahoa. The house has all the amenities that you would want or need. A hot tub soak after hiking the crater rim trail. I would stay here over and over again. I just have to thank for helping me out last minute too. Big Mahalos!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely May Stay

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We had a great time, although my husband came down with the flu while we were there! The location was great for us because we wanted to be near our friends the Chadwicks down at the end of the road. We enjoyed walking the lava fields and then down to the farmer's market on Wednesday night. We also enjoyed the close proximity to Kalani. Plus it was AWESOME to see the lava glowing from the balcony at night. Our only complaint was that the television and remotes were very difficult to figure out how to use in the master bedroom. Other than that we are very grateful for the wonderful accommodations.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

LOVED KALAPANA SHORES

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Our family of 5 spent 3 nights at the wonderful Kalapana Shores in April. We had just spent 9 nights at a massive resort in Waikiki so we loved the peace and quiet that Kalapana offered. The house was great, very comfortable and great security. The snorkelling gear and chairs were an added bonus. The snorkelling at nearby Kapoho was fantastic as was the hot pool at Isaac Hale Park. Loved the black sand beach down the road. This is an amazing , unique location, one which our family will remember fondly for years to come. Highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Love the location! Amazing house. Had a great time there. Wish we could use hot tub after 9 because we are never back til around then. And I would just replace it to fix the noise problem. For me I would also get rid of the labels of how many on everything. It would give it a more comfortable feel there. Thanks

Manager responded on 3/15/2012:
Thanks for your review..the hot tub motor has been replaced and is now quiet enough to run at night. Thanks for the suggestion about the labels, we'll consider that! Mahalo, Hawaii Holiday Management

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kalapana Shores

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: February 15, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Property was in very comfortable and in good condition and had everything you would require (including wireless broadband). It was handy to all attractions. Pahoa was good for food and shopping. Would highly recommend this property.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

kalapana retreat

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: February 9, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
beautiful place, trash outside was full n floor needed to be wiped down, other than that it was great!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Kalapana Shores vacation

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: January 10, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Great vacation house! The hot tub is a wonderful place to relax and watch the birds, ocean etc. Location is a bit far from Hilo but we found lots of things to do . The owners have assembled a binder of things to do locally, which was helpful. Rental arrangements were handled very efficiently and instructions were clear. We would love to return to Kalapana Shores.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A+

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 25, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
A+

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Couldn't be happier!

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We arrived on the Big Island only to be informed that our original rental house (not through this management company) had no power. We frantically pulled up a rental website and began looking for a house with the key ingredients we wanted: immediate availability, king bed and laundry on the Hilo side of the island. This rental house fit that description and more....

The management company was fantastic, processing our application and payment promptly allowing us to check in just a few hours after our call (not normal situation so best not to count on it!). The house was clean, organized, and stocked with the basics.

We were a little surprised at first that there was no A/C but quickly realized the first night that it was not needed. I should mention that we visited in November and were out of the house most of the day so I don't know what it would be like if you were hanging out at the house during a different time of year.

Then again, why would you hang out at the house (other than the fantastic view - the pictures are accurate, the hot tub, etc.) when there are so many adventures within short drives:

Volcano National Park (and the lava viewing position just down the end of Rt 130 from the house - it wasn't flowing during our visit but you could see the glow...and we were standing on the lava from the flow that occurred 11 months prior)

Hilo with its waterfalls, Farmers Market and the Kaumana Caves (a must do for anyone who likes an adventure - bring your headlamps and flashlights and explore both sides)

Puna adventures including Champagne Pond, Lava Tree State Park, and the walk to the new Black Sand Beach just down from the house.

The only downsides (and I'm really stretching here) were the Coqui frogs at night that can seem really loud at first and the house is just off Rt 137 so there is some traffic noise in the morning.

Loved it and already started thinking about coming back in the

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Getaway!

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This house is a great place to relax and escape from the cold and rain in SE Alaska. We stayed here for 10 days in Nov. and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The house has plenty of room to spread out. The view from the deck is spectacular. We had a rainbow almost every morning.
One thing that I liked was that you can drive to many places in under an hour. Looking at the location on a map, I thought we would be doing a lot of driving. But we even drove to Mauna Kea one evening for the Stargazing Program and we were there in about an hour. We loved the Farmer's Markets. All the great fruit and veggies.

My only complaint about the house was the noise from the road, especially since the master bedroom is right by the road. But it isn't too bad and we got used to it after the first couple of nights. But it may have been that we arrived at the house on Saturday and I guess the bar in Kalapana gets pretty busy.

A nice surprise was that the house does have WiFi eventhough we were told that it did not.
Need to change that on the description, if you haven't already.

The management company responded the same day when we complaned about the hot tub not being hot enough.

We will be back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Vacation Time at Kalapana

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We had so much fun...loved the house. Everyone was so comfortable and there's lots of room. Thank you so much! We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kalapana Shores

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We really enjoyed our time at Kalapana Shores. We used this as a jumping off point to Volcano National Park and Hilo. The drive up the coast is just spectacular. Accomodations are very nice and relaxing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Getaway!

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Kalapana Shores is a wonderful place to stay. Spacious house, great amenities, and fantastic view of the ocean and lava flow! Hawaii Holiday was very accommodating to work with. What a vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I recommend this vacation rental

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2011

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

could not get the bbq to work, needs fan in ...

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 2, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
could not get the bbq to work, needs fan in the kitchen,the jacuzzi tub's jets that work on your back did not work

Manager responded on 5/11/2011:
Thank you for all 5s on your review! We will have our maintenence crew look into the matters you mentioned. In the future, please call us as soon as you discover a problem and we'll send someone out right away! Mahalo, Hawaii Holiday Management

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous time!!!

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2011

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We had a great time at Kalapana Shores!!! Fortunately the property manager is "on the ball" as we got a call about 10pm letting us know of the upcoming tsunami. Though the home is pretty close to the ocean (within a few steps) it is high enough above the tide that we had no problem with the tsunami. We evacuated and returned within hours. All in all, we had a great time! Will go back again! Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I recommend this vacation rental

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: February 20, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I recommend this vacation rental

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: February 14, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Lovely, well furnished home with everything in the kitchen we needed to make some delicious meals. Found fresh flowers on the table when we arrived, a very nice greeting. It's a bit of a drive to many things but fun to explore and enjoyed the lush foliage and the stark contrast of the lava. We were a little surprised with the traffic noise but by the end of the stay had adjusted to it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our stay at Kalapana Shores

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was adequately helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
On the positive side.Overall a good spot.We had a wonderful time on the Big Island and the accomodation was clean and spacious and the set up with lock boxes and a gate made us feel safe.Great to BBQ on the deck.
Recommendations: the house is a little has lots of instructions posted about and make you feel a little intimidated about using all of the space with a looming extra cleaning fee possibility.Air conditioning would help as at night you have to close everything up because of the noisy frogs.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I recommend this vacation rental

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: January 17, 2011

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Very nice house indeed. It was a nice location for our purpose. I was sleeping in the Master bedroom (upstair room with the router for internet). I think that the bed need new sheets (to me its old and worn). Additionally the internet did not work for me there after I was told that it would work.

Manager responded on 1/25/2011:
The owners just replaced the sheets, and we will look into the internet issue thanks for letting us know! Mahalo, Hawaii Holiday Management

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Too noisy

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 16, 2010

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very unhappy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was adequately helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The 3 main bedrooms give directly onto the road, and it made our nights very noisy. In order to get to downstairs, you have to take an outside staircase, which would not be suitable for young kids. it's not really one house as is specified in the description, but 2 separate units. Other than that, limited supply of dishes (we had to run the dishwasher everyday just to get more plates), but everything is in great condition and the place is nicely painted in vibrant colors.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A little bit of paradise

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The girls that I booked through could not have been more helpful. We really enjoyed every aspect of our stay, and the location was ideal. The local market was fantastic, giving us a chance to mix with the locals and experience the local foods.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Place & Price

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This was an amazing place to stay. For some it may seem like it is not close to anything as it is not in Hilo or Kona but I think that is the great thing about it. It is not far from the amazing sites of the black sand beach, a short drive to the volcano, you are a stones throw away from the current lava flow, Champagne pond and Ahalanui are just down the road, and you can't miss people watching in Pahoa. The house has all the amenities that you would want or need. A hot tub soak after hiking the crater rim trail. I would stay here over and over again. I just have to thank for helping me out last minute too. Big Mahalos!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely May Stay

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We had a great time, although my husband came down with the flu while we were there! The location was great for us because we wanted to be near our friends the Chadwicks down at the end of the road. We enjoyed walking the lava fields and then down to the farmer's market on Wednesday night. We also enjoyed the close proximity to Kalani. Plus it was AWESOME to see the lava glowing from the balcony at night. Our only complaint was that the television and remotes were very difficult to figure out how to use in the master bedroom. Other than that we are very grateful for the wonderful accommodations.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

LOVED KALAPANA SHORES

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Our family of 5 spent 3 nights at the wonderful Kalapana Shores in April. We had just spent 9 nights at a massive resort in Waikiki so we loved the peace and quiet that Kalapana offered. The house was great, very comfortable and great security. The snorkelling gear and chairs were an added bonus. The snorkelling at nearby Kapoho was fantastic as was the hot pool at Isaac Hale Park. Loved the black sand beach down the road. This is an amazing , unique location, one which our family will remember fondly for years to come. Highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Love the location! Amazing house. Had a great time there. Wish we could use hot tub after 9 because we are never back til around then. And I would just replace it to fix the noise problem. For me I would also get rid of the labels of how many on everything. It would give it a more comfortable feel there. Thanks

Manager responded on 3/15/2012:
Thanks for your review..the hot tub motor has been replaced and is now quiet enough to run at night. Thanks for the suggestion about the labels, we'll consider that! Mahalo, Hawaii Holiday Management

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kalapana Shores

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: February 15, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Property was in very comfortable and in good condition and had everything you would require (including wireless broadband). It was handy to all attractions. Pahoa was good for food and shopping. Would highly recommend this property.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

kalapana retreat

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: February 9, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
beautiful place, trash outside was full n floor needed to be wiped down, other than that it was great!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kalapana Shores vacation

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 10, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Great vacation house! The hot tub is a wonderful place to relax and watch the birds, ocean etc. Location is a bit far from Hilo but we found lots of things to do . The owners have assembled a binder of things to do locally, which was helpful. Rental arrangements were handled very efficiently and instructions were clear. We would love to return to Kalapana Shores.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A+

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 25, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
A+

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Couldn't be happier!

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We arrived on the Big Island only to be informed that our original rental house (not through this management company) had no power. We frantically pulled up a rental website and began looking for a house with the key ingredients we wanted: immediate availability, king bed and laundry on the Hilo side of the island. This rental house fit that description and more....

The management company was fantastic, processing our application and payment promptly allowing us to check in just a few hours after our call (not normal situation so best not to count on it!). The house was clean, organized, and stocked with the basics.

We were a little surprised at first that there was no A/C but quickly realized the first night that it was not needed. I should mention that we visited in November and were out of the house most of the day so I don't know what it would be like if you were hanging out at the house during a different time of year.

Then again, why would you hang out at the house (other than the fantastic view - the pictures are accurate, the hot tub, etc.) when there are so many adventures within short drives:

Volcano National Park (and the lava viewing position just down the end of Rt 130 from the house - it wasn't flowing during our visit but you could see the glow...and we were standing on the lava from the flow that occurred 11 months prior)

Hilo with its waterfalls, Farmers Market and the Kaumana Caves (a must do for anyone who likes an adventure - bring your headlamps and flashlights and explore both sides)

Puna adventures including Champagne Pond, Lava Tree State Park, and the walk to the new Black Sand Beach just down from the house.

The only downsides (and I'm really stretching here) were the Coqui frogs at night that can seem really loud at first and the house is just off Rt 137 so there is some traffic noise in the morning.

Loved it and already started thinking about coming back in the

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Getaway!

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This house is a great place to relax and escape from the cold and rain in SE Alaska. We stayed here for 10 days in Nov. and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The house has plenty of room to spread out. The view from the deck is spectacular. We had a rainbow almost every morning.
One thing that I liked was that you can drive to many places in under an hour. Looking at the location on a map, I thought we would be doing a lot of driving. But we even drove to Mauna Kea one evening for the Stargazing Program and we were there in about an hour. We loved the Farmer's Markets. All the great fruit and veggies.

My only complaint about the house was the noise from the road, especially since the master bedroom is right by the road. But it isn't too bad and we got used to it after the first couple of nights. But it may have been that we arrived at the house on Saturday and I guess the bar in Kalapana gets pretty busy.

A nice surprise was that the house does have WiFi eventhough we were told that it did not.
Need to change that on the description, if you haven't already.

The management company responded the same day when we complaned about the hot tub not being hot enough.

We will be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Vacation Time at Kalapana

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We had so much fun...loved the house. Everyone was so comfortable and there's lots of room. Thank you so much! We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kalapana Shores

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We really enjoyed our time at Kalapana Shores. We used this as a jumping off point to Volcano National Park and Hilo. The drive up the coast is just spectacular. Accomodations are very nice and relaxing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Getaway!

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Kalapana Shores is a wonderful place to stay. Spacious house, great amenities, and fantastic view of the ocean and lava flow! Hawaii Holiday was very accommodating to work with. What a vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I recommend this vacation rental

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2011

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

could not get the bbq to work, needs fan in ...

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 2, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
could not get the bbq to work, needs fan in the kitchen,the jacuzzi tub's jets that work on your back did not work

Manager responded on 5/11/2011:
Thank you for all 5s on your review! We will have our maintenence crew look into the matters you mentioned. In the future, please call us as soon as you discover a problem and we'll send someone out right away! Mahalo, Hawaii Holiday Management

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous time!!!

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2011

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We had a great time at Kalapana Shores!!! Fortunately the property manager is "on the ball" as we got a call about 10pm letting us know of the upcoming tsunami. Though the home is pretty close to the ocean (within a few steps) it is high enough above the tide that we had no problem with the tsunami. We evacuated and returned within hours. All in all, we had a great time! Will go back again! Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I recommend this vacation rental

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: February 20, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I recommend this vacation rental

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: February 14, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Lovely, well furnished home with everything in the kitchen we needed to make some delicious meals. Found fresh flowers on the table when we arrived, a very nice greeting. It's a bit of a drive to many things but fun to explore and enjoyed the lush foliage and the stark contrast of the lava. We were a little surprised with the traffic noise but by the end of the stay had adjusted to it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our stay at Kalapana Shores

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was adequately helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
On the positive side.Overall a good spot.We had a wonderful time on the Big Island and the accomodation was clean and spacious and the set up with lock boxes and a gate made us feel safe.Great to BBQ on the deck.
Recommendations: the house is a little has lots of instructions posted about and make you feel a little intimidated about using all of the space with a looming extra cleaning fee possibility.Air conditioning would help as at night you have to close everything up because of the noisy frogs.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I recommend this vacation rental

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 17, 2011

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Very nice house indeed. It was a nice location for our purpose. I was sleeping in the Master bedroom (upstair room with the router for internet). I think that the bed need new sheets (to me its old and worn). Additionally the internet did not work for me there after I was told that it would work.

Manager responded on 1/25/2011:
The owners just replaced the sheets, and we will look into the internet issue thanks for letting us know! Mahalo, Hawaii Holiday Management

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Too noisy

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 16, 2010

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very unhappy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was adequately helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The 3 main bedrooms give directly onto the road, and it made our nights very noisy. In order to get to downstairs, you have to take an outside staircase, which would not be suitable for young kids. it's not really one house as is specified in the description, but 2 separate units. Other than that, limited supply of dishes (we had to run the dishwasher everyday just to get more plates), but everything is in great condition and the place is nicely painted in vibrant colors.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just Got back, great house, would repeat!

Review submitted: January 29, 2011   Date of arrival: January 19, 2011

5 of us just got back from hawaii and we stayed at this house. The house was great! Plenty of ammenities and lots of space. Very recommended, especially if you are a fan of lava. 3 minute drive to the active flows as of late January! Can't beat the location. Wish I was still there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 14, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2010

What I liked best about this unit was that my family of 11 (9 adults, 2 infants) was easily at home with the space here. There was always plenty of hot water despite the number of family. The only problem we ran into was that there was not much paper supply and we ran out of toilet paper which it seems like should not have happened in this lovely home. The views were lovely. The frog chorus at night and the bird chorus in the morning were soothing and relaxing for us. Thank you so much for sharing this lovely place with us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 14, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2010

What I liked best about this unit was that my family of 11 (9 adults, 2 infants) was easily at home with the space here. There was always plenty of hot water despite the number of family. The only problem we ran into was that there was not much paper supply and we ran out of toilet paper which it seems like should not have happened in this lovely home. The views were lovely. The frog chorus at night and the bird chorus in the morning were soothing and relaxing for us. Thank you so much for sharing this lovely place with us.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Review submitted: January 6, 2010   Date of arrival: January 6, 2010

Incredible adventure. House met all our needs. Arriving after 10:30 p.m. it was nice to find a few amenities like toilet paper, shampoo, etc. Even some extra snorkel gear was useful. Everything we needed for cooking was available. If you want to be entertained with typical tourist type activities, go to the Kona side. But if you want to relax, enjoy fabulous scenery, walk to the lava fields, etc., you can't beat this place. Down the road is a wonderful little cafe and bar with incredible fish and root beer floats. Don't miss the night time lava walk, even the day walk to awe inspiring. Don't believe everything your blue book "Hawaii the Big Island Revealed" says. We found Issac Hale Beach park a delightful place to swim with turtles. This was my favorite part of the island and the house is superb. Thanks

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 27, 2009   Date of arrival: November 27, 2009

The house is beautiful! It's location so near the lava was
neat but a little scary. It was great to have family and
friends together in this house!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 1, 2009   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

Thank you! It was a wonderful week we spent here. We saw
turtles, we saw rain, we swam in the ocean. Some of us even
saw lava flowing. The house is very well equipped.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 13, 2009   Date of arrival: September 13, 2009

Mahalo!
It was a beautiful stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 18, 2009   Date of arrival: July 18, 2009

It's hilarious, amazing to be on the other side of the world
on this little spot in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. The
vegetation, the flowers, the birds, the lavaflows, the
temperature and more is a big wonder for us. It's like we're
dreaming a wonderful scenery, a long wonderful dream. In the
house we feel very comfortable and welcome. All the
different night songs of the night achieve animals are very fascinating for us. Our children love to discover this
adventurous world. After having speaker about volcanoes at
school, it's so interesting for them to see the plumes, the
lavafields and to stand on the edge of a crater.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2009   Date of arrival: June 1, 2009

Thank you for providing such a comfortable and beautiful
retreat, and for providing beach towels and snorkel equipment.
It was much appreciated! We had a fantastic time and enjoyed
exploring this lovely part of the island.
Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 15, 2009   Date of arrival: May 15, 2009

We had a wonderful time. We especially enjoyed the walk over the lava to the black sand beach from the house.A great place for kids!
Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 7, 2009   Date of arrival: May 7, 2009

Beautifulsetting, famous weather, we walked to the valcano viewing and black sand beach, really enjoyed Pahoa and its people.
Aloha

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 25, 2009   Date of arrival: April 25, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay here! I amm half eskimo and was born above the Artic Circle, all my relatives are from the far most village in the world, Barrow. I wil trade Alaska for Hawaii any day! This truly is paradise! This home is very peaceful!
Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 10, 2009   Date of arrival: April 10, 2009

Watching Madame Pele in the rain dancing from the hot tub! Lovely! Wonderful retreat space. Thank you and blessings to all that come here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 25, 2009   Date of arrival: February 25, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay here in this gorgeous area. We experienced the "clothing optional" beach, warm pools, ymaymafallsand the botanical gardens. Volcano National Park, the evening walk to the lava fields (don't forget your flashlight). The house was perfect and we enjoyed all its comforts. We were delighted with the warm weather beautiful views and the smell of the flowers. We will certainly recommend this area and home to our friends.
Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 13, 2009   Date of arrival: January 13, 2009

Thanks for a great time. Enjoyed the volcano, hot tub, lava flows and especially the tide pools! Great snorkeling!
See you back in Canada!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 12, 2009   Date of arrival: January 12, 2009

A well kept house, a great view, a warm spa. Could not think of a better New Year's relief. Amazing to see and walk on the old lava flow, explore the are and just unwind. Mahalo for a great stay.
Couldn't think of a more "perfect" holiday home. Just like we walked into someone's house. Beautiful. Spa was perfect and what a view! Would love to come back for longer.
Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 30, 2008   Date of arrival: December 30, 2008

Awesome! Standing on the deck at night watching the glow of the lava flow. The rain at the drop of a hat. Definately did not miss the 30 degree CA winter.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 16, 2008   Date of arrival: December 16, 2008

Beautiful! Had a wonderful time. Very nice place. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 31, 2008   Date of arrival: October 31, 2008

We had a great time! Hiked to the lava, went to Volcano National Park. Hiked the black sand beach, snorkeled, went to Mauna Kea, Botanical gardens, Akaka falls, Rainbow Falls, boiling pots, South Point, hiked Iki the park, Hilo farmers market, drove the red road and made many stops along the way. The house was great and scenery was awesome!
Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 10, 2008   Date of arrival: August 10, 2008

This was an amazing house with great features, and a stunning view! We're definitely not looking forward to the long trip home! The closeness to the lava flow was awesome! Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 9, 2008   Date of arrival: August 9, 2008

Beautiful vista. Loved visually checking the ocean and the lave plume daily. The plume stopped on 8/6/08. Christine Rogers 50th birthday! Beautiful house. Loved the lave walk and volcanoes. Aloha!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 5, 2008   Date of arrival: July 5, 2008

Spent last week in Oahu. Got this week on the Big Island.
Awesome house, great views of the steam cloud (lava hitting ocean) from kitchen windows & hot tub!
Beautiful view from deck as the cruiseship went by all the lights on at night.
No one looking forward to long flight back home but sure was worht it to get here!
Celebrated Ron and Carole's 49th wedding anniversary COngratulations!
This trip was actually an early "50th" family trip. Never put off...... especially when its such awesome travel!
Terrific accomodations.
Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 25, 2008   Date of arrival: May 25, 2008

Your house is lovely. We were happy you had provided all the paper products and the washing supplies.
We enjoyed the volcano national park. The 365 mile trip around the island was very enlightening!
The hot tub was enjoyed by all the family members especially my 13 yr old granddaughter.
Thanks for the lovely banquet of flowers. Eating on the lanai was great treat!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 25, 2008   Date of arrival: May 25, 2008

Aloha! 13 yrs granddaughter writing! The vacation was amazing!, loved the beach,volcanos, food, view, and well pretty much everything!
Hot tub was awesome! Snorkeling rockey but sadly we did not see sea turtles, but we did see that lava flow, which was extremely amazing! highly recomemded.'
Thanks for an amazing comfortable experience!
Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2008   Date of arrival: May 14, 2008

Thank you very much for letting us stay in your lovely home with an awesome view and the comfortable envirorment. First time in Hawaii for all of us and it was the best experience ever. Thanks for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 10, 2008   Date of arrival: May 10, 2008

"Amazing, undescribable," the humidity, the sudden pouring rain, getting in the beautiful greenish/tourquiose water of the ocean experiencing othe closeup turtle, walking throughout the lave, the local market, everything was awesome. Thanks much, enjoyed the stay here at this
place, very comfy, will definately be back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 16, 2008   Date of arrival: April 16, 2008

The Volcano was glowing at night. Nice vacation rental. The washing waves were a great view while sitting on the swing and staring out into the ocean, wonderful views. Breathtaking!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 15, 2008   Date of arrival: March 15, 2008

We enjoyed all of the wonders of the island, ATV rides, whale watching, snorkeling, and the lave flow was amazing. The house was not beautiful but well equipt. The hot tub was a great bonus. The view from the house was also amazing. And the neighbors were super friendly. We all would love to come back!
Mahalo! and Aloha

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 6, 2008   Date of arrival: March 6, 2008

We loved this house and did not want to leave. It was everything we hoped for and more. We had an amazing time exploring the area. The four year old loved the "big tub".
Can't wait to come back.
Thank you and the wonderful crew!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 3, 2008   Date of arrival: March 3, 2008

Lava Lava Lava nice flow. Awsome house, great time, the best host.
Mahalo

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 12, 2008   Date of arrival: February 12, 2008

John, Carol, John and Nicloe from New York. We had a great time here at Kalapana Shores. The sapce was wonderful for a family of 4. My daughter poved her room and they loved playing pool in the game room.
The view was unbelievable. We walked to the black sand beach and climbed the lava to the bench. So many things to do here on the East side of Island.
Thank you for a great place to stay in Hawaii, we will recommend this house to our family and friends.
Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 11, 2008   Date of arrival: February 11, 2008

Sam, Billy nad I enjoyed your black san beach, lizard hunting and beautiful surroundings. Kids were sad to leave the area and house.
Really enjoyed our stay.
Mahalo
Liz

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 24, 2008   Date of arrival: January 24, 2008

Beautiful home, fabulous view. We enjoyed our short stay.
Would definitely again.
Mahalo

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 24, 2008   Date of arrival: January 24, 2008

What a wonderful place to be! Enjoyed our stay in Paradise. The house has all the extras you may have forgotten. Excellent views!
Aloha
The Gang from Pennsylvania

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 5, 2008   Date of arrival: January 5, 2008

We enjoyed the house and location very much. Lots of room for all of us. I wish I could have been here when that lavaflow went by- that must have been a spectular event!!!!
Thank you for thinking of your guests with all the little extras.
It was truly wonderful!
Thank You
Anne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 28, 2007   Date of arrival: December 28, 2007

We came here from Yokohama Japan. It took more than 10 hours, but it is worth to come! We felt at home very much! Thank you very much.
We'll tell our friends about this place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 28, 2007   Date of arrival: December 28, 2007

Enjoyed our stay! This is an Excelent place, nice views, amenities and well thought out. Bed are comfortable! Woul love to return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 25, 2007   Date of arrival: November 25, 2007

Very thoughtful to have so may little amenities so handy (Binoculars, Scissors, Towels, books, Sunscreen, etc) flashlights.
We loved the view, full moon, stars, and hot tub. We had a great vacation. Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 22, 2007   Date of arrival: November 22, 2007

Love the area and especially the black sand beach.
Thanks
Richard and Lynn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review