reviews for: listing #99683 - Mystic, Connecticut Cottage rental

Honeymoon Lakeside Cottage near Mystic and Foxwoods
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $400 /nt
    $700 - $1,600 /wk
    $2,500 - $5,500 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful getaway

Review submitted: October 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a wonderful autumnal weekend. We had swans who came for breakfast, and saw plenty of ducks too.

The cottage is comfortable, and we enjoyed it.
Loved the hot tub!

We managed to walk for miles in the area, and explored Mystic seaport too.

Recommended

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Summer Vacation

Review submitted: October 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 9, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the cottage. The cottage of a good size for my husband and our dog. We decided to rent the cottage because it was on the lake. the only draw back was that we had to walk across the street to the lake to swim. the lake just outside our door was over grown with trees. They do have a dock that can be brought over to the other side of the lake and the kayaks can be launched from the dock.
We would rent again. The place was clean and close to Mystic and Foxwood. It is really a quiet and restful area but a bit too close to the road.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pretty much perfect

Review submitted: September 12, 2013   Date of arrival: September 9, 2013

We had an amazing time at the cottage. The timing was perfect - early fall, mid-week trip. We essentially had the lake to ourselves and explored all of it in the kayaks and canoe provided. The cottage was quiet and centrally located. We were able to explore Mystic, Stonington, Noank and even made a 30 minute drive to the Rhode Island coast (Napatree Point, which I highly recommend). There's also a local farm just down the road and a solid winery - Jonathan Edwards - about 20 minutes away. The cottage itself had everything we needed. All in all, two thumbs up!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Not what we planned

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

Our experience was not as nice as others that have reviewed this cottage. We first met the cleaning crew as we arrived, fixing the toilet and tending to the hot tub that was being disinfected from the previous renters using bubble bath in it. The house was not clean, and we spent the first two hours of our stay cleaning the kitchen and especially the bathroom. The kitchen floor was so filthy that we swept the dirt before we used paper towels and mopped the whole floor. Thank goodness there was ammonia in the cabinet as we scoured the bathroom floor and toilet. The other issue we encountered were very small ants that were attracted to the condiments left on the windowsill. They were also in the bedroom, and that is what led to us leaving a day early. Karen was extremely nice and would get back to us immediately, and Bob seemed nice too via text. In the defense of the owner we did not complain to him and just wanted to go home. We did not think the problem could be rectified during our stay. The cottage is in a decent area especially if you'd like to frequent the casino or downtown Mystic. BE AWARE! If you have small children or an animal, there are very large white German shepherds that live nearby that were loose during our stay. The three dogs were roaming and it was very unnerving. The neighbor said they had been getting loose often and it was a big problem in the neighborhood. Overall, if the house were clean and air conditioned it would not have been that bad.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazin cottage/perfect location for any stay!

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 25, 2013

We (2 adults and small dog) stayed here at the Blue cottage for a long weekend and it was absolutely amazing and exceeded our expectations. We were looking for a quiet getaway to just relax and experience nature and lake views and this was it! The cottage itself was very cute, spacious, and fully equipped with everything you could possibly need for a weekend or week-long stay. Hot tub a plus. Location is perfect on the pond with great views of water any time of day, especially since it's a less traveled lake, you will have plenty of quiet and peace. This is a perfect getaway whether for a weekend or a week-long, couple or small family, quiet or adventurous. There are plenty of activities to do around the area such as pretty towns to explore, aquarium, biking, fishing, etc. (which we didn't explore as we were happy chilling on the deck/lake most of the time). Also, Karen was so wonderful and responsive! We would definitely come back and recommend to others!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Perfect Relaxing Weekend at the Cottage

Review submitted: May 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

My husband and I spent the weekend here on a him last week and we were so happy that we chose the cottage and it was available. It was so relaxing and the hot tub overlooking the lake was awesome!

We also were very happy to work with Karen. She was very responsive and helpful. We can't wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Absolutely Amazing!!!

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 24, 2013

I have stayed at a few properties before and I have to say the most enjoyable time I have ever had was at the Lakefront Cottage. It is as if you take a step back in time to this charming, rustic cottage filled with all the amenities you can image and then some! You have access to Kayaks, a hot tub and idyllic cottage in which you can make memories that last a lifetime. I know I did. Do not hesitate to book this cottage now if you are choosing a vacation in Eastern Connecticut. You won't go wrong!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Lovely Lakehouse

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 25, 2013

We decided to take a trip to Mystic at the last minute, and were lucky enough to find this lake house. Karen responded promptly to our enquiries, and was very helpful. The cottage was clean and comfortable with a fully equipped kitchen, washer and dryer, and wifi internet. It is well designed, and ample storage space. It was lovely to wake up to the view of the lake from the bedroom and kitchen windows. The cottage is in a beautiful setting, right on the water. We had a great time paddling around in the kayak and canoe, and fishing from the pontoon. The cottage is quiet at night, and bedding is very comfortable. Location is great - peaceful, yet only a 5 minute drive from Foxwoods Casino. Mohegan Sun Casino is about 20 minutes away, and Mystic is 10 minutes. It's a wonderful spot for a family holiday. Thanks for having us!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Cute cottage

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: April 9, 2013

Spent our 10th anniversary at this cute cottage. Enjoyed sitting on the deck
with coffee in the morning watching the geese and swans. Close by to
Mystic and Foxwoods. Cottage is very well equipped with appliances and
Cooking needs. Would recommend to couples or family getaway.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Family Get Together

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

We had come up to spend Thanksgiving with the family. The cottage was absolutely beautiful, very clean,cozy and well kept. Everything that we needed was there. Karen and Bobby was very helpful and easy to get in contact with. Karen had provided us with a list of things to do and area attractions. We spent our time with our family most of the time. One of my favorite things was when we had our meals, having the views of the lake. Waking up in the morning, having coffee while looking at the lake.We were able to bring our dog which made it all that much nicer. She loved it there.We definitely plan to stay there gain. We would recommend this cottage to everyone.

Donna and Jim

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Beautiful Cottage

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

We came up to have Thanksgiving with the family. The cottage was absolutely beautiful. We had watched the video and the rooms were larger than appeared on the video.The cottage was very clean and well kept. We were able to bring our dog with us, which made it all that much nicer. She loved it there. We had everything that we needed there.Karen and Bobby were very helpful and Karen had provided us with list of things to do and local attractions.We spent most of our time with the family but we definitely do plan on coming back.We would recommend this cottage to everyone. We really hated to leave, it was so beautiful and relaxing there.

Donna and Jim

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Serene place to unwind

Review submitted: December 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 8, 2012

I had the pleasure of spending a weekend at this cottage. The cottage is unassuming and comfortable inside. Outside, it is rustic and charming. The deck overlooking the lake is peaceful and a great place to sit and enjoy the scenery. We had a little dinner while looking out at the lake and enjoying the quiet. Our dog was thrilled to be able to walk down to the water and onto the floating deck. If you want to relax and unwind, this is the place for you.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great last minute weekend stay

Review submitted: December 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

We contacted the owner on a Wednesday for that weekend for a last minute stay. The owner was very accomodating and had the cottage ready for us Friday afternoon. It was very comfortable and had everything we needed to make our own meals (though we went to some of the great local restaurants). LOVED the hot tub and having coffee lakeside in the morning. The views from the bedroom and dining room were beautiful. Hope to come back for longer

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

lots of fun

Review submitted: September 29, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2012

we had such a great time! the house is cute luxurious & kyacking is fun too. down the road is a native american reservation & we met a really nice guy who lives & works there! they are called pequot tribe also they had a museum & there were some antique cars there, one of them a 1912 red rolls royce. If a couple or a few people or a family just wants to get away, enjoy nature and feel homey, THIS is the place!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Cute Little getaway place- Loved it!

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 22, 2012

I was very happy with this cottage. It was in a quiet area but close enough to area attractions if the weather was bad or I wanted a change of pace. Couldn't beat the beautiful water views that I had every morning from the bedroom. The place was very clean and the interior was very homey and much more updated compared to many other vacation rentals. The owner was friendly and easy to reach if I had any questions. The outside was lovely. I loved having my own kayak to take a quick ride around the lake and the hot tub was a great way to wind down after a day of sightseeing. I am looking forward to the deck being built! I would reccomend this cottage to friends and look forward to coming back with my dog, as he LOVES the water!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful little getaway place

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 22, 2012

I was very happy with this cottage. It was in a quiet area but close enough to area attractions if the weather was bad or I wanted a change of pace. Couldn't beat the beautiful water views that I had every morning from the bedroom. The place was very clean and the interior was very homey and much more updated compared to many other vacation rentals. The owner was friendly and easy to reach if I had any questions. The outside was lovely. I loved having my own kayak to take a quick ride around the lake and the hot tub was a great way to wind down after a day of sightseeing. I am looking forward to the deck being built! I would reccomend this cottage to friends and look forward to coming back with my dog, as he LOVES the water!

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review