Send to a friend
Pin It
back to search results

Hermitage Hideaway, dogs allowed, gentle lot in Smith Mountain Lake

Smith Mountain Lake Cottage Rental Picture Smith Mountain Lake Cottage Vacation Rental Picture Cottage in Smith Mountain Lake, Virginia Picture Smith Mountain Lake Vacation Cottage for Rent Picture Cottage Rental in Smith Mountain Lake Picture Smith Mountain Lake Cottage Lodging Picture Cottage in Smith Mountain Lake Rental Picture Rental Cottage in Smith Mountain Lake, Virginia Picture

vacation rental description

This is a great lake front cottage,for those on a budget, but want clean, good fishing, kept up home.

You can walk out into the lake on an older sand beach. Tired of huge homes, where you feel lost, or homes so far out you cannot get to a store? This is located 10 minutes from grocery stores, great budget home, clean and new carpet and comforters 2013..
 Tired of steps to the water? 
Then this home is for you! Freshly renovated and newly furnished this cozy cottage is right on the lake. The water is just seconds from your screened porch or outer decks  This home has the wonderful feeling of seclusion, with trees surrounding the home and no one next to you on one side as this home is located at the end of the street This home is central  to all lake activities, and 1 minute from the dam and mountain!

This great getaway/hideaway is also safe for swimming or fishing right from
your dock, where the owners' kids catch fish every time they visit. The
home has a nice size kitchen and dining room, which is open to the
living area.

The living area has a TV, and one of the bedrooms has a TV as
well. Great amenities make this home one  of the most special and private getaways on Smith Mountain Lake. Enjoy your nights relaxing and reading or playing games, with cool breezes blowing through the screened porch. Large picnic tables on the deck, and lawn furniture at the dock, provide the right setting for families, couples or singles looking to get away from it all. You are just seconds from gorgeous views of the mountain and only about a half mile from Mitchell's Marina. Walk, hike, boat, water ski, and fish all day,
and relax all night, in this wonderful private setting.

vacation rental location

property availability

  • dates with deals
  • unavailable dates

Last modified on 11-12-2013 at 4:41 AM.

email owner view full calendar

Reservations 540-797-0460

cottage rental amenities

Bedrooms: 2 bedrooms, sleeps a maximum of 4 people 
Bedroom 1 - Queen,  with TV in room
Bedroom 2 2-Twins/ Single
BA: 1 full bath Bathroom - Toilet, Combination Tub/Shower

Location Type: lakefront, mountain, Smith Mountain Lake

Theme:  budget

General: accept credit card, Activities-Guide, air-conditioning - central & central heat, Ceiling-Fans, , Restaurant-Dining-Guide,

Kitchen: Blender, clothes washer & dryer, coffee maker, cooking utensils, iron , microwave, oven, refrigerator, , toaster,

Entertainment: Books, Books-Adult, Books-Kids, CD, DVD, Games,
cable  TV, VCR,

Internet access: no phone at this home-please bring your global/modem card for use in your computer and cell phone

Outside: balcony, Deck-Wood, Dock-BoatSlip,  Outdoor-Grill-Gas, parking, Parking-Off-Street,   Screened-Porch terrace, Decks, 4 garden chairs

Suitability: children welcome, non smoking only, dogs okay,
suitable for elderly or infirm

activities and attractions in Smith Mountain Lake Virginia

Local Activities: antiquing, cycling, fishing, golf, horseback riding, hunting, mountain biking, mountaineering, paragliding, sailing, scuba diving or snorkeling,
skiing, surfing, swimming, tennis, walking, water skiing, kayak, canoeing

Attractions: Autumn-Foliage, Garden, Caves, Churches, Cinemas, Fitness-Center, Forests, Groceries, Hospital, Laundromat, Library, Marina, Museums, Playground, Pond, Recreation-Center,

Leisure Activities: Bird-Watching, Fly-Fishing, Freshwater-Fishing, Hiking, Hunting-Small-Game, Jet-Skiing, Live-Theater, Mountain-Climbing, Outlet-Shopping, Paddle-Boating, Rafting, Sight-Seeing, Water-Tubing, Whitewater Rafting

Nearby Services: Massage-Therapist, Medical-Services

Nearby Attraction / Facility: Restaurants, Ruins, Scenic-Drives,
Synagogues, Waterfalls, Winery-Tours, Zoo

vacation rental rates

Please call for rates-subject to change--Call or email for specials!

Summer:- $850 a week    $150 Thurs-Sun   $125 Mon-Wed.  3 night min.

 winter       $450 a week, $60 per night 2 night min

spring/fall    $600 weekly, $85/90 per night 2 night min.-- 

Add cleaning, tax and dog fee

Damage deposit $300.00

 weekend rate: Thursday to sunday

Call for Holiday Rates, all rates subject to change


email owner

Reservations 540-797-0460

contact owner

please fill in the form below to inquire about this rental.


  • owner Reservations
  • phone 540-797-0460

When you book a vacation rental on any of our websites, we want you to experience a carefree vacation. Learn More

accepted payment methods

credit card

Prior to paying a reservation deposit, always verify payment instructions by calling the phone number displayed on this listing page. By contacting the owner directly and paying by an approved method - credit card, paypal, check or bank transfer - your reservation payment will be protected up to $1,000.

Learn more in our Security Center
Top things to do in Smith Mountain Lake
  • fishing
  • golf
  • sail
  • kayak
  • hike
Top things to do on a budget
  • Smith Mountain Lake State Park
  • fish from dock
  • hike
  • play in the yard
  • make sand fun at the edge
Top things to do with a family
  • fish
  • water sports
  • hike
  • golf
  • play

Reservations , owner

Smith Mountain Lake cottage photos at a glance

Smith Mountain Lake Cottage Rental Picture
Cottage in Smith Mountain Lake, Virginia Picture
Cottage Rental in Smith Mountain Lake Picture
Cottage in Smith Mountain Lake Rental Picture
Smith Mountain Lake Cottage Vacation Rental Picture
Smith Mountain Lake Vacation Cottage for Rent Picture
Smith Mountain Lake Cottage Lodging Picture
Rental Cottage in Smith Mountain Lake, Virginia Picture

email owner

Reservations 540-797-0460

traveler reviews for this smith mountain lake cottage rental

Hermitage Hideaway

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

I would give this property a fair review. The main living area was ok. The rest of the property needed a good clean and some new paint. The bathroom was quite smelly. The carpet in the bedrooms were stained and dirty. The out door deck area also needed some work. The Facia on the back of the house was coming away. We could not use the dock to bring our jet ski up to, as there were to many weeds and they got in the engine.

Loved the lake. Will return, but not to this property.

Owners response: Thank you for visiting..carpets are cleaned each year, summers are hard on all carpet homes...yes the lake is down 4 feet and we do disclose it is back in a cove, weeds just showed up and we called AEP to help, so we are waiting on them..But this is also why the home is so less money than all the others as well, a great spot to go to, clean and by the way everyone, this dock does not have a jet ski lift , nor any lift, nor power.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4


Fantastic-what we expected

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 1, 2010

Great spot, for the money! Yes it is dark at night, but we wanted to see the stars from the hot-tub..and the place was clean, and we did catch some fish! We are returning, we came for our views - but the agency discloses this, but we rented a boat and went out..for the views, we did not want to pay over 200 a night for this home was perfect!
We are coming back, thanks for opening your home to us..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for staying with us, I know it is a quiet spot, and the hot-tub is cozy....come back again soon!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7


Not exactly what we expected

Review submitted: August 19, 2009   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

This was our fifth year visiting SML and this was definitely the worst place we have stayed in. The one good thing I can say about it is that it was clean. You can swim off the dock if you don't mind swimming in 4 ft. of water with bugs on the top. There is absolutely no sandy beach at all. You can spend time at the dock at night if you don't mind sitting in the dark because there are no lights and an unlighted path to get back up to the house. The gently sloped lot is gentle compared to some, but gets rather slippery after it rains. The bushes are so overgrown that you can't really see the front of the house or use the front door. This also makes it rather dark inside. The house also slopes toward the lake so you constantly feel like you are on a boat. The good sized kitchen is really only big enough for 1 adult person. The hot tub is for three people which makes it kind of difficult to enjoy when the house holds four people. Also, the chemicals are so strong that it makes you cough when you get in it. Your view of the lake is the small cove that the house is situated on. There is only about 10 ft. or less between this dock and the dock across the cove. It was very easy to carry on a conversation with the people across the cove.

Owners response: We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay.. However as far as sand goes - we are not allowed to add or change anything with sand on this lake, feel freee to go to AEP web site to see all their laws and regs..An owner is lucky to have this much sand and there is sand there.
Also the lake is dark, no we do not have those citystreet lights like what you requested this is the lake and the country. This is why people come here. Also this is back in a cove, we tell you that and you can see that on the web. This is one of those great lots where you can walk out in the water with small kids and dogs..Everyone else has loved and we have an 80% returnee rate..So no - this is not a drop off with deep water, it does have good water however. Also not sure what bugs you are even talking about, never seen any here, and no one else has either. Thanks to all who do enjoy this private country lake setting..Sorry to anyone who is expecting a beach like Virginia Beach ( they do not exist here) and sorry to anyone who needs any street lights - we do not have that at this lake...

Helpful votes: 12 / 17


Reviews are the subjective opinions of travelers and not of, Inc.

email owner see all reviews (3/8) write a review

Reservations 540-797-0460

Smith Mountain Lake vacation rental

This vacation rental has been listed since 03/17/2006.

Page views: 1258 this month – 4387 this year – 40822 since listed

View Another Smith Mountain Lake Vacation House Rental