check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Seas the Day - the Most Beautiful House on the BEACH!


Property Details

Updated: Sep 15, 2016
House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

This is the most beautiful house on Topsail! And it's right on the beach - not an 'ocean-view' a couple of blocks from the beach or across the street from the beach, or even a piano lot (with only a small strip that extends between the houses to the beach). Seas the Day is right on the beach and the house is gorgeous.

Now wait a minute...I bet you think I'm just saying that. Well look at what some of are guests have said (see the full comments below):

'The website does not do this house justice! It is gorgeous, and the views of the beach and water are amazing from every room. ' Bonnie from Va

'Seas the Day is one of the best vacation houses I have stayed in. ... You will not be disappointed if you rent this place' Norma Jean from Ohio

'I highly recommend this place if you are looking for a wonderful beach house that has one of the best vistas in Topsail.' Mark from Northern Va

'Loved that house!!!!!! oh my, the walk to the pier was wonderful and so pretty. the house was perfect and held my whole family! it was an awesome vacation! thank you so much! wonderful!' Jessica from Ohio

And it goes on. You will truly love your stay at Seas the Day.

Located just 1 mile south of the Surf City pier, you're close to all the activity, yet just far enough away to enjoy the tranquility that lives here also. As a matter of fact, you may note some of our guests jokingly refer to the 'Buddy's walk'. Buddy's is a bar/restaurant by the pier, which is a nice 1 mile walk on the beach. Some people, including my brother, myself and our two wives like to walk down to Buddy's at lunch time, watch the surfers by the pier, order oyster shooters, and... possibly a cerveza or two (that's Spanish for beer) and maybe a tequila shooter. Well, the walk back is now quite enjoyable. We often just come back, lay out a towel and catch some rays and a snooze. The Buddy's walk - a perfect way to spend a vacation day.

Do you like to bike or run? There is a bike shoulder on the main road the entire way from the north side of Surf City to the south tip of the island. The island is like 22 miles long, so you can get a good work out.

Recently I rode my bike to the south end, and the smell of Jasmin and ocean air was unbelievable. I stopped on the far south point of the island and walked around the beach on the undeveloped point. I then rode back to Topsail Beach city hall and said hi to the ladies who worked there. (They had kindly sent me an invitation to pay real estate tax in their city even though my house was in Surf City. I graciously declined :-) but they were very pleasant.) I then rode back to Surf City and promptly bought an ice cream cone at DQ just to make sure I hadn't burnt off too many calories.

Believe me, this place is fun.

And I haven't even told you about Giligan's, just before the bridge on the mainland side and it's hilarious karaoke nights, or about Sears Landing and its award winning clam chowder made with sherry, or Indigo Marsh - the best restaurant overlooking the sound that you will ever find. Oh, and how about the fresh fish market (I mean right off the boat) behind the Crab Pot where you can get shrimp, flounder, shark or whatever they have been catching and take it back and grill it at Seas the Day.

You can play 18 holes at Coastal Carolina's only four-star golf course, North Shore Golf and Ocean Club (as per Golf Digest).

Surf shops that make me wish I was 18 again, Andy's and Island Delights that serve 50's style burgers and malts, the Surf City Wine and Cheese Shop (I go in for the weekly wine tastings and just the great smell!), II Bouchaines, and on and on. You won't want to leave.

And I haven't even talked about surf fishing, kayaking, surfing, jet skiing and more (check out the ALL CAPS paragraph below to see my web site for MORE things to do with phone numbers, addresses, etc.)

Seas the Day is BEACH FRONT. It is not a piano lot, a view lot, or across the street from the ocean. It is direct OCEANFRONT property.


My teenage son once walked up the stairs to the living room and said 'This place just makes you smile!'


'We loved the outside shower, complete wtih room for dry clothes and towels! Very kid friendly, my 13-month-old niece could wander around and the gates kept her safe. Topsail itself is so peaceful. We went to the sound side a few times to fish, canoe, and take the baby swimming. We golfed, ran, sailed (you have very nice neighbors who invited us!), and fished from the surf (caught sharks, stingrays, and a few fish). Such a great house -- plenty of space, well decorated, and everything you need in the kitchen for eating in!' Bonnie VA

Jim Murray from GA agrees wholeheartedly:

'My sister and I are both recently retired school teachers. For over 25 years we have talked about renting a beach house on the North Carolina coast, big enough to house all of our families. ... This house was everything we had dreamed about. It was RIGHT ON THE WATER,...

'Setting on our porch, we could watch the sun rise each morning. In the evening we could drive to the end of the island and watch the sun sink into the ocean....I bought 5 kites and one day we all spent the day flying them. ... We enjoyed the secluded walks on the beach and the discovery of hundreds of sea shells. We saw dolphins swimming by several times. The only regret we had, was that we couldn't stay for another week.'

We have added a 42' FLAT SCREEN TV in the living room and NEW FLAT SCREEN TVs in the master and 2 queen bedrooms, and there is a large TV in the bunk beds room. Ill post pictures soon.

BEDROOM SETUP: Top floor: QB & Full Bath. (There is also a QSS but it's right in the middle of the living room); Middle floor: KB, QB, 2BB (i.e. 4 beds), and BB with 2 Full Baths. There is a deck on both floors and there is an enclosed outdoor shower on the deck of the middle floor. The bottom floor has 2 full car garage, grill, and storage space.

Keywords: House, Beach, Surf, City, Seize, Seas, Topsail, Outer, Banks, Wilmington

More Details
  • Sleeps 12
  • 5 Bedrooms
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Speaks: english

55 Reviews

based on 55 traveler reviews

benson, nc 27504

Guestbook Comment

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay in your beautifully decorated beach home. It made our family time most enjoyable. Look forward to using it again next fall. Pat Blackman

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2007
  • Stayed: Sep 2007
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Pat and do please come again. Many of our guests are repeat guests, so treat it as your own "vacation home"
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice but definitely not the "best house on the beach" as advertised.

  • 3 of 5

Nice house. Definitely close to the beach. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. Some negatives. Insufficient seating at dining table. This house sleeps 12 people (with two of the beds in the laundry room) but only has dining table seating for six. No other chairs available to pull up to the table. Kitchen ware is adequate but showing lots of wear. Only two small (on the rocks) size drinking glasses. Bedcovers and furniture seemed dirty and in need of cleaning...or replacement. Sliding screens on patio doors do not slide. There is no icemaker, though the description says that there is. Charcoal grill is poor quality. Listing says the this is not a piano lot with wide open views of the beach....however, the house does sit back behind houses on the left and right which restrict an open view to the beach on both sides. The view ahead is still beautiful, but the description is deceptive. The write up on the vrbo site definitely oversells and under-delivers.

Again, a nice place overall. In need of some paint and updating. We have rented worse, but definitely not one of the nicer homes we have rented. If this is the best house on all of Topsail beach, all other houses must be really bad or mediocre.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ron, I'm sorry that you didn't have a better time. The house actually sleeps 14 (KB, QB, QB, 2BB, BB, and QSS, but we put a limit of 12 people maximum that can stay in the house. We understand that sometimes people want to have 2 or 3 families stay together for vacation, but that's why we put a max limit on who can stay. We do not have a dining room table that can seat 12, but we have a dining room table that seats 8, a breakfast bar right next to it that seats two, and a beach view table right outside on the upper deck (about 3 feet from the dining room table) that seats 4. But because of your comments, we will give consideration to limiting the total of guests to 10, or perhaps 8. We do not have a laundry room. It's a beach house with no basement or utility rooms. In the small room with a bunk bed in it, we have a washer and dryer in the closet. Seas the Day is right on the beach, no piano lot, and it's on one of the few side streets on Topsail Island (since Topsail is so narrow), so you don't have traffic running up and down. Topsail doesn't have any high rise condo buildings so it is a very friendly, easy place to take a family vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Loved this place!

  • 5 of 5

This was one of our best vacations ever. This house was perfect for our family vacation. We had 7 people, and there was plenty of room for all of us. The house was clean and right on the beach. The owners are very pleasant to deal with. It was nice having the outdoor shower to wash the sand off. It's also within easy walking distance of the pier, restaurants, shops. The people in town are so friendly! The beach area is not crowded at all and we could surf right in front of the house.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Virginia. That enclosed outdoor shower is great, isn't it? I usually take a morning dip, come back and shower off, then sit on the top deck and sip coffee while the sun comes up. No one has to drip or slog sand inside, and it's perfectly private. And, of course, being only a mile on the beach from the pier and Buddy's Grill and Bar is perfect. Close enough to go down for a brew and some shrimp while you watch the surfers, and far enough that you're not bothered by the teams of people who come to fish, surf, and sun at the pier.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very nice

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful view and convenient to shopping and restaurants.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great home, great beach! Beach is MUCH closer than in the pictures!

  • 5 of 5

We loved staying at Seas the Day. Steve Morrison was great to deal with. The house was perfect for our family. Son, Daughter-in-law and granddaughter, daughter and my husband and me. We all had our own bathrooms and there was room for several more people! We didn't even use the bedroom with 4 bunk-beds in it.

The beach was great! Much closer than it looked in the pictures and the houses on either side DO NOT interfere with the view at all.

Make sure you rent linens and towels so they are there before you come! Bring/buy your own toilet paper, paper towels, spices, etc. Otherwise there are plenty of pots and pans and dishes.

Highly recommend this place!

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Laurie - I'm so glad that you and your family had a great time. The beach is lovely and is only separated from the house by the dune which protects Seas the Day during a storm. I do hope you come again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

seas the day

  • 4 of 5

It was awsome being right on the beach my family really enjoyed our time at seas the day and are thinking about doing it again next year

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


From the Owner

We absolutely love Surf City. But Seas the Day is so beautiful itself. The colors seem to bring the outdoor yellows of the sun, the sky's blue, and the ocean's greens inside. This is a totally relaxing beach house. The ocean breezes, the salt air, and the wonderful people make this a great place to be.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Wilmington NC at 30 Miles Nearest Barpub : Buddy's at 1 Miles Nearest Golf : Snead's Ferry at 5 Miles Nearest Motorway : 210 at 0.5 Miles Nearest Beach : Right in front of the house at 1 Metres Car: recommended


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Off Season
Sep 17 2016 - May 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
May 6 2017 - Jun 2 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
June 4th
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 16 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Jun 17 2017 - Aug 11 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Mid August
Aug 12 2017 - Aug 25 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Late Aug/Early Sept
Aug 26 2017 - Sep 15 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

PeaceofMind (no sec dep) $60
Pet Fee $150
Cleaning $140
Tax Rate 13.0%

Call 919-454-7701 or email for details about refundable security deposit instead of Peace of Mind coverage. The week before and after Easter, we only rent by the week, Saturday to saturday, but we only charge the very low off-season rates. Note on Monthly rate: This only applies to January, February, and March.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Email Owner
Updated: Sep 15, 2016
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Property Type

  • house


  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet


  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator


  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo


  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Location Type

  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront


  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2
  • Bathroom 3


  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Bedroom 4
  • Bedroom 5
  • Convertible bed(s)
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1) One room has 2 bunk beds (4 beds) and one room has 1 bunk bed


  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car