check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

1BR The 'Secret Spot' with an Artistic Mediterranean Tropical Feel

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Jul 25, 2016
1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Sleeps 4

Nestle into this 1BR, two-story artistic guest house with loads of charm and an exotic Mediterranean style inside –just right for a romantic hideaway, it’s called the “Secret Spot”. Located on ""The Mesa"", it's tucked behind the property's main house. Its private entry leads to a lush tropical and tranquil little haven nestled above another vacation rental known as the “Hidden Cove” (VRBO Listing #201036).

There are high ceilings with skylights, a natural rock fireplace, log canopy loft bed under another skylight for star gazing, stained glass windows, mood lighting for that perfect ambiance, and a travertine stone shower with dual shower heads. The kitchen downstairs if fitted with stainless steel appliances and a set of French doors leads to the deck with a mosaic bistro table that overlooks the pond and waterfall. Lush banana trees, palms, and jasmine vines create a garden area with a tranquil tropical feel and a great vibe. There is a great barbecue area in this space too.

Our property is a two minute walk to the Mesa Lane steps that go down to the beach –a favorite surfing spot. We have boogie boards, beach chairs and bicycles for you to use. We are a lovely five minute walk to the main shopping area of ""The Mesa"" where you can find groceries and numerous restaurants (Mexican, Thai, Chinese, Italian, Tapas, and American) for your enjoyment.

Our property is TurnKey Rental Certified. All photos and amenities have been verified by TurnKey staff. Our calendar and rates are 100% accurate. We strive to make it as easy as possible to stay at our property - you just drive right up and enter via our secure electronic lock. No more keys and no more security concerns with a unique code that works for your reservation only. We will notify you proactively when early check-in / late check-outs are possible and you'll receive the comforts of a luxury home when you arrive like a starter supply of shampoo, soaps, paper products and hotel-quality towels and linens. In addition, when you book we will send you our mobile app with property directions, details, unlock code and instructions. And if you need us, we are available 24 hours each day with live help. TurnKey Vacation Rentals uses the industry's most trusted brand of software to securely store all guest data - HomeAway Software for Professionals. All TurnKey Vacation Rentals follow local and state tax rules. Each reservation includes applicable taxes, a cleaning fee and a Property Damage Protection Program.

.

More Details
  • Sleeps 4
  • 1 Bedroom
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Barbecue
  • Pets welcome
  • Internet
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Recent Review

About the Manager

46 Reviews

4.4
based on 46 traveler reviews

Henderson
5

Pleasent stay,walking distance to dog beach.

  • 5 of 5

Cozy and comfortable...Quiet area close to beach and Douglas Family Preserve

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

"Secret Spot" with Artistic Mediterranean Tropical feel reviewer

  • 5 of 5

The Secret Spot was an oasis surrounded by palm trees and an exclusive pond with waterfall that soothed our souls. From the moment we set foot in this space we were transformed. The space worked well for us as we sought a space to springboard our reunion with our daughters. Every corner was thoughtfully appointed with artifacts to lend to the artistic Mediterranean theme. We were thankful for the bikes for our use and the firewood to have fires in the evening. We met Nancy one morning and were quite impressed with her desire to make sure all our needs were met. Our daughters loved the space as well and have talked about making it our 'go to' reunion spot for future visits to Santa Barbara. We loved the quirky layout and weren't at all dismayed by the multiple levels and the kitchen on a different level. Having a balcony with dining seating indoors and out and the area around the pond with chaise lounge chairs were very generous spaces in which to relax! Thank you for this lovely choice in accommodations!

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Secret Spot hit the spot!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The three of us (1 couple plus our dog) loved our stay at the Secret Spot for the second year in a row - as charming as ever. The weather smiled on us too!

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

I wanted to surprise my boyfriend for his birthday

  • 4 of 5

It looks exactly like the pictures. We felt so at home. The landscaping was so beautiful and the water feature outside made it so relaxing. I cooked for us and my boyfriend commented on how he liked the stove outside. The only thing I would tell the owner is to please make sure your oven works cause I was trying to make my boyfriend a special southern homecooked meal, well I went to put my cornbread in the oven and it didn't work. But everything else with this beautiful secret spot is amazing and we defiantly would come back. Walking to the beautiful Mesa stairs was breath taking. So much beauty all around and the place was so nice and quite. The skylight above the bed was dreamy and the moon lite up the bed. Moments my boyfriend and I won't ever forget. We felt so relaxed and refreshed from our stay at secret spot... Thank you so much for opening up your beautiful place for us..

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Azalea! We're so glad you guys had a good time. We're sorry about the oven, and we've since had it fixed. You were perfect guests and we looking forward to hearing from you again soon! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Santa Barbara's best secret

  • 5 of 5

We loved our week in this cozy and well equipped little nest by the beach. We felt a part of this quiet funky neighborhood and had great walking access to beaches, stored, Parks, and restaurants.

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

my first visit to SB

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The overal visit was good. The location was very close to everything but was a little bit difficult to find at night. It could have been better if we were more prepared..a few issues we had 1. the place was cold. We were not aware that the place does not have a central heating system. We used mainly fireplace but the other heating units did not work well except the one small heater in the bathroom. We could have used additional blankets but we managed without one. I'm sure we could have got one if we asked for. 2. I overlooked the fact that the stove was not in the kitchen and the kitchen was downstairs separated from dining area. Just caused some hassle but was not a big deal. But if you plan to cook a real meal for a family, that could be somewhat challenging. In overall, we enjoyed the visit, and the customer service over the phone was great. I wasn't sure if the couple who live in the main unit were the owners but they were very friendly, too.

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Sujin! We apologize for the cold. Guests can call us with any problems they may have 24/7. We definitely could have brought blankets and working fans. Since your stay we have checked the heaters and brought more blankets. You were perfect guests and we look forward to hearing from you again soon! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Availability

Notes

  • All TurnKey Vacation Rentals follow local and state tax rules. City and state taxes will be added to all reservation rates. Each reservation also requires a cleaning fee, and the standard Property Damage Protection policy.
Enter dates to see total
Total amount
Email Manager
Updated: Jul 25, 2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available stay (no arrival)
12
Unavailable

Amenities

Property Type

  • cabin

General

  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Refrigerator

Entertainment

  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable

Suitability

  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Location Type

  • Beach View
  • Beachfront

Attractions

  • arboretum
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • outlet shopping

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • golf

Floor Area

  • 650 sq. ft.

Bathrooms

  • 1

Bedrooms

  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • 1 Queen bed, 1 Twin bed, 1 Sofa Bed bed, 1 Other bed

Outside

  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website

Notes:

  • We offer massage and chiropractic in the Zen Den which is on the property at the front house. Nancy has been a massage therapist since 1991 and Dr. Jim has been a chiropractor since 1992.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car