Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

House Rental in Cabuya Costa Rica-Beautiful Beach Front

Bedrooms 2
Space 148 m²
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-6)

This beautiful home is located right on the beach in Cabuya on the Nicoya Peninsula. Cabuya is also just 10 minutes from the lively town of Montezuma, which is known for its thriving art culture, surfing, adventure activities, and world class restaurants.

The Nicoya Peninsula is a favorite tourist destination for foreign and local tourists alike. This area is beautiful, not over-developed with guaranteed sunshine from December to April. The area is becoming more and more popular with migrants from overseas as well as locals from the mountainous regions being attracted to this fast-growing and very varied community.

Cabuya is the gateway to the wonderful Cabo Blanco Reserve, which is Costa Rica‘s first nature preserve and just 5 minutes away. Nestled along the jungle-fringed coast with a backdrop of mountains, Cabuya is great base for hiking, beachcombing and bird watching and all those nature lovers looking for a place off the beaten track.

At high tide the swimming is safe off the Cabuya shore and there are some stretches of sandy beach. Low tide exposes dramatic rock formations and tide pools. About 2kms north of Rio Lajas there is pleasant sandy Los Cedros beach which is popular with surfers.

Cabuya is the only village in Costa Rica to have the town cemetery located on an otherwise uninhabited island. Cabuya Island is connected to the mainland by a wide stony trail which is completely submerged at high tide. Its rocky Shores offer great snorkeling.

Keywords: House

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english, english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 26, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

5 out of 5


Relaxing Getaway

Darlene64 Rutland, VT, USA

Review Submitted: April 21, 2009 Date of Stay: March 2009

My husband and I were looking for a place, close to beautiful beaches where we could relax and enjoy our first getaway from our 2 1/2 year old twins and we definitely found it! We became friends with the grounds keeper who took us on a fishing tour and prepared us dinner right on the patio. Mal Pais and Montezuma are only short drives away. All the amenities of the house made it extremely comfortable (especially the king mattresses) and being in such a small village, we forgot about all the "problems" of the outside world. (Not having cable was actually a plus :)!

Many thanks,

Darlene and Scott

Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Mar 2009
  • 1 of 4


Cabuya House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 148 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beachfront
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)


fine place but uncaring owner

  • 1 of 5

We strongly recommend against staying at this house because the owner has demonstrated an inability to support if anything goes wrong. Our family stayed here in the beginning of February. On the third evening of our stay, while we were out to dinner, the house was broken into and my computer stolen. We called the manager and checked the security camera film, where we saw someone climb up the balcony. The cameras were positioned in a way that made it impossible to see the burglar so nothing could be done. The first night of our stay, the manager's nephew yelled at us from the yard late at night trying to sell something. She had warned us to ignore people who approached the house from the beach – including her nephew. It appears that there have been several problems with petty theft, so beware. After the burglary, we decided to leave Cabuya and spend the rest of our vacation somewhere else, leaving several days of our booking unused. We contacted the owner several times but he failed to respond and ask how we were, let alone refund the nights that we didn’t stay in the place. His lack of concern and communication are shocking. The house is directly on the water and a group of howler monkeys comes by every morning and evening, which is great! The manager at least helped us try to find out what happened, but the owner was never heard from at all.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First, I'd like to say that the house and Costa Rica is a very safe and peaceful place. Most of the time any of these petty thefts are just young kids up to no good like in most countries. It is a very rare occurrence for anything like this to ever happen at the house. I am however very sorry about what happened to these guests. Unfortunately there are situations where very little can be done locally or from a far. We have security cameras installed mainly for the peace of mind for our guests not because there are many thefts. Overall we want to try to make everybody feel comfortable. As the owner of the property I always try to give the guests 100% of my time and efforts to helping them in any situation that occurs during their stay. Some situations however are out of our control. We always ask guests to be mindful of where they leave their belongings inside and outside of the house. This area of Costa Rica is very quiet and peaceful surrounded by forest and nature and beaches mostly local people who are very respectful not beggars. Having said that we do state in the rental agreement that every guest signs, "if you carry expensive equipment, we recommend you get insurance." We also state in the rental agreement that we get most of our bookings months in advance, and we can only refund your money if we rent the dates you have reserved. We are more than understanding and try to please everybody that stays at the house but there are costs involved in setting up the house for the rental, and if you decide to leave before your rental time is up that is you're choice and we can't reimburse you. I think that is very reasonable as you leave of you're own free will not because there are any issues with property. I think the reviews speak for themselves you can only have so many rental reviews without having one or two negative ones. Unfortunately situations occurs but we always try to work with guests. It is our number one concern that you enjoy your vacation have a relaxing peaceful time! Please read the many fine reviews posted on the website. You will then see that these events rarely happen and 98% of the time guest come back repeatedly to stay again over and over because of there love for the area and people. We hope this help you as a future renter understand this review a little better and hope you will stay with us! Please feel free to contact me at anytime if you have any concerns before or after you're trip. I'm sure you will love it!
Did you find this review helpful?
8 2

Where the jungle meets the ocean. A great place to experience the best of Costa Rica

  • 5 of 5

Just a few miles on a country road away from the charming little beach town of Montezuma lies a crossroads called Cabuya, and there you will find the sweetest little property sitting right on the ocean with a sunlit jungle canopy above it that you will love almost as much as the monkeys do. At dawn you'll hear surf and roosters and sometimes howler monkeys who will lift even teenagers out of their comfy beds to watch them cross over the canopy above, playing and eating and grooming one another as they go. On another day we saw a large family of white faced monkeys who were much cuter and quieter, with babies on their backs. They would drop down to where our daughters had placed pieces of banana in the low bushes so we could see them up close. There were local fishermen with fresh caught mahi mahi for sale. The town of Montezuma had some great little restaurants. If I could close my eyes and be back there I would do it in a heart beat. Oh and the house was nice too.

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great location and Super Comfortable

  • 5 of 5

This house was amazing! It was in a great location, 10 mins from Montezuma and 15 mins from Malpais. The property was clean, furnished well, and had a great view of the ocean. Every morning I'd sit on an Adirondack chair facing the ocean with my coffee--it was divine. There was also a great hammock that you can lounge in right on the ocean. The patio is also a great feature to watch the sunrise and hang out in the evenings. Jenny (the property manager) was super helpful, spoke English, and helped us out with everything we needed (i.e when is the trash pick up--Saturday.) The washer and dryer came in handy too, especially after lounging at the beach and washing our beach towels. The kitchen was really great--the dining room table is HUGE. I would absolutely recommend this house for any stay--great location and super comfortable!

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Atlanta, Georgia

Amazing Romantic Adventurous Holiday Vacation We Will Never Forget

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I spent 7 nights at this great getaway spot. All of the comforts of home in the most wonderful setting which exceeded our expectations. Another couple, friends joined us for 4 nights, but still had plenty of privacy. Entrance is gated and property is immaculately maintained making it the best in the area. Beach is part of backyard. We spent hours each day and every night sitting where the edge of the property meets the beach listening to the waves, cracking open coconuts, laying in the hammock, enjoying bonfires made by the caretakers, making smores, eating meals by candlelight, and taking in the most amazing view of the moon we have ever seen. This was truly paradise for us and a Christmas holiday vacation we will never forget. When not relaxing, we were partaking in all of the adventures the area has to offer. Jose, the fishing guide who takes care of the place with his wife Flori, offers authentic fishing experiences at affordable prices. I agreed to go with my husband (I'd never been fishing in the ocean and wasn't sure I would like it) and after the first trip couldn't wait to go again. Riding in the boat looking at the scenery was enjoyable in and of itself. We also had fun snorkeling and exploring Cemetery Island. But the fishing was awesome! Jose knows just where to go and provides all the guidance you need to catch big fish. I caught a Wahoo(nearly 5ft), a Mahi Mahi, and a Jack fish. My husband caught 5 beautiful, large Mahi Mahi over 40pds each, a Wahoo, Jack fish, and tuna. We went hiking in Cabo Blanco National Park (within walking distance from house) and spent hours relaxing on the beach there. Took long walks on beach, to the nearby river, and even walked the road to Mal Pais. Cabuya provides a quiet, authentic Costa Rican experience. There are restaurants, two little grocery stores, and an artist shop within a short walking distance. We didn't have a car, didn't need one. Don't miss out on Jenny's Coyote Café (great pizza take-out and breakfast). If have questions about the area, she will have the answers. Our trip was made even more special than it would have been by staying this great house with Jose, Flori, and their kids next door. They were extremely helpful but yet maintained their distance. We felt safe having them there. Flori cooked most of our meals (don't miss out on her pancakes) including the fish we caught. Owner answered all of our questions before we left. Thought house better than pictures depict. Loved it!

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Spirit Lake,Idaho

Awesome House!

  • 4 of 5

We stayed only a couple days to be away from the touristy areas of Arenal , and Jaco, and had a wonderful stay!

We cooked at the well equipped house and enjoyed the beachfront chairs and fire pit.We went fishing with the on site caretaker and was the only thing we would suggest doing with a tour recommended by Jenny or out of Montezuma, our experience with him was not as pleasant as we had hoped for the convenience of leaving from our beach,and the price we paid ! His gear had some to be desired and was perpetually late ,and with our short time there, required being on time.

The house and the grounds were pure heaven , and as said in other reviews, do not expect a swimmable beach as the tides are extreme and is shallow and rocky beachfront, but none the less very beautiful, expect to drive to other beaches to swim.

The house would be perfect if a little more private, expect to spend your vacation with the caretaker and his wife and 3 kids , although a pleasant family, they appear to derive their sole employment from the renters at the property and are ever present , and complain of their income and expect payment for basic services they offered, tipped him handsomely, and waited many hours for firewood, propane for the grill,etc etc !Made requests at 3 pm and was 8 pm before we got either!

If a privacy fence was erected this would help the owners set up some boundaries,and a more relaxing and private experience would be had by anyone renting here !

Howler monkeys visited, and the landscaping, trees and flowers etc were absolutely gorgeous,and the house was well equipped, a decorated beautifully.The floor plan is a little odd with the only comfortable seating in the living area that is upstairs and shared by the master suite,a wall separating the bedroom would be a plus as we had the main level bedroom and a concrete outdoor table and a wooden bench in the kitchen were the only areas to sit to not intrude on the couple in the upstairs bedroom, so the living area was unusable for us!Pads for all the chairs would also be a plus,as I was actually sore after spending 3 days on wood and concrete seating!A smaller kitchen table and a COUCH downstairs and seat pads for the outdoor furniture (save the loungers that had pads, after we got them the second day from the caretaker who was using them )would be a great investment for the comfort of guests .:-)

Loved the place with a few upgrades 5 star!Will likely get a beachfront motel next visit!

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Fabulous Hacienda Relaxo

  • 5 of 5

We are 2 couples who are in the process of planning our third trip back to this house. (which should say it all) What you see in the pictures is exactly what you get. The house feels like home to us, it is very accommodating for 2 couples, has what you need for doing your own cooking etc., The beach is rocky but is no problem with water shoes. We usually spend a couple of hours a day in the extremely warm water when the tide is high. Walk out your door and into the water, life does not get much better than this. At low tide you can walk to cemetary island and swim from there. Jose and his family live net door and take care of the property. The property is kept very clean, well raked, watered etc., You will need to go fishing with Jose and have his wife Flori cook your catch. They are very helpful as is Jenny who is the go to person for the keys etc., Jenny runs the Coyote Cafe and makes really good pizza. She will help you with anything you need - she also goes the extra mile to make sure that all is well. Dealing with Neil the owner is very easy and he is most helpful. We would recommend having a vehicle but there is a bus service to Montezuma. However, we did most of our grocery shopping in Cobano. (don't know about taking a bus there) The bakery in Cabuya is fabulous and there are sodas that serve good food for resonable prices. Howler monkeys visit nearly every day, iguanas bask in the sunny yard where there is plenty of seating and/or lounging for reading, visiting or just plain old relaxing. We would not hesitate to recommend this house to friends or family. We are looking forward to spending a month there next year.

Vancouver Island

British Columbia


  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


Reserva Natural Absoluta Cabo Blanco
Montezuma Falls
Montezuma Beach


Rates & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Email Manager Email Manager

Special HomeAway Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car

You might like these similar properties