Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

It's All About The View! Remodeled Oceanfront Condo located in Kapaa.

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
condo
Sleeps
3
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

1 bedroom / 1 bathroom, sleeps 3

Enjoy the comfort of our remodeled and tastefully decorated (so we have been told), one-bedroom, one bath condominium. Imagine being 75 steps from a mile long golden sand beach on the east shore of Kauai. From your private lanai with unobstructed views of the pacific ocean, you can watch the incredible sunrises and listen to the soothing sounds of the ocean.

Our condominium is a Non-Smoking corner unit on the 2nd floor that has been completely remodeled. Custom-made cherry cabinets and granite counter tops have been installed in our fully equipped kitchen. Porcelain tiles grace the entry, bathroom and kitchen areas. The bathroom has a large tiled walk-in shower.

Besides the new additions, the condo comes with all the amenities listed above. Added amenities include FREE SECURE WiFi internet connection, HD TV with On-demand, beach toys, chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, and tennis rackets for your use during your staying at our condominium.

The Pono Kai resort is a non-smoking property. The resort provides a front desk that is open 24 hours a day. There is onsite free parking. Each building has a coin-operated laundry facility and an elevator. The grounds are beautifully maintained with extensive grass areas, herb garden so you can pick fresh herbs for your meals and a Koi pond. For your convenience, there is an activities desk so you can arrange for your island adventures. Each Thursday and Sunday morning a 'tour operator' presentation is hosted at the pool area (highly recommended) and you may even win a two-for-one excursion. A workout room has also been added as well as a 5-mile all-purpose path which follows the coastline just steps outside the resort. There are a pool/spa area and 2 tennis courts and many other on-property activities.

Come enjoy a stay in paradise!!!

More Details

Owner
Shirley Cooney
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 19, 2017

About Shirley Cooney

We live in Marin County which is part of the San Francisco bay area. My husband & I are semi-retired. We have 2 grown children and 2 grandsons. We are very lucky to have our children and grandsons close by.

Shirley Cooney purchased this condo in 2001

Why Shirley Cooney chose Kauai

The first time we came to Kauai was in 1971. We toured 4 of the islands and fell in love with the 'Garden Isle'.

We had friends who owned a condo at the Pono Kai Resort. We started renting their unit and spending many of our family vacations on Kauai.

We always hoped one day to buy a little piece of paradise. In 2001, our wish came true.

What makes this condo unique

The Pono Kai is centrally located on the east side of the island. This location is great for people who want to explore the island. The resort is conveniently located in the historical town of Kapaa. The condo is in walking distance to many shops and restaurants. The beach and a 5 mile walking/bike path is right out front of our condo.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for the most beautiful Hawaiian floral gift that we found on arrival at your lovely home. It was totally unexpected, but a most thoughtful & sweet thing to do for us on our 25th wedding anniversary.



We've already taken a 1 hour Safari helicopter tour of the Nepali Coast & Waimea Valley & that's been the most exciting time we've had since Colorado. We've driven Southwest & Northwest & Kauai is lovely & pristine.

Your home is warm & welcoming and we're treating it as if it were our own - we're both fussy & clean nuts so everything is being kept clean & tidy.



Your furnishings, pictures and overall color scheme is perfect for this great island. The view from your balcony is so terrific - we watched the sunrise from there & it was delightful.



Thank you for the flowers & for making our stay a memorable one on the island of Kauai.
Sep 2014
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(64 traveler reviews)

5

Great condo awesome view

  • 5 of 5
Verified Stay

Great condo. Had everything we needed. Well equipped. Felt like home

Centrally located to everything on the resort property. Fantastic view of the ocean

Very comfortable

Highly recommend this owner and condo. Also walking distance to the town and shops.

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

perfect ocean view

  • 5 of 5
Verified Stay

My husband and I arrived for our third week and third vrbo rental , all very different but fitting their locations well. This spot was to be our last week,lay back and concentrate on beach. Well we found so much to do, that we never had time to use the great facilities offered at this resort.They did help us book some fantastic tours (Ali,i Kyaks and Capt Andy zodiac. ( DO IT)

The condo it's self however is superb , the owners have made every effort to make this a high end retreat, it is their home after all!

From the top quality bedding to the absolutely gorgeous and well equipped kitchen, there is not a thing lacking.

Start your morning early in the huge custom tile and glass shower, watch the sun come up over the ocean on the lanai .

Rent a bike and travel the paved bike path along the beach.

Loved it , would highly recommend this comfy spot.

Only tiny comment would be the heavy footed folks upstairs, we were just lucky that week!

Thanks for sharing Mahalo

Les and Don

Haida Gwaii Canada

  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

PREMIUM CONDO WITH PREMIUM LOCATION AND WHAT A VIEW

  • 5 of 5
Verified Stay

EVERYTHING YOU WANT OR NEED IS AT YOUR FINGERTIPS OR WELL WITHIN A VERY SHORT STROLL . COOK IN THE WELL APPOINTED KITCHEN AND ENJOY THE MEAL ON YOUR LANAI WITH JUST A HINT OF THE TRADE WINDS AND A VIEW OF THE WAVES BREAKING IN FRONT OF YOU . RELAX IN THE VERY COMFORTABLE LIVING AREA WITH A COOL DRINK AND THE SOUNDS OF THE WAVES SLAPPING THE SHORE . THERE IS A PATH ALONG THE SHORELINE WHICH CAN BE WALKED OR BICYCLED TO BEACHES AND COVES NOT SEEN BY CAR . ITS AN EASY WALK TO RESTAURANTS , SHOPS AND MARKETS . ANYTHING AND EVERYTHING YOU COULD POSSIBLY WANT TO DO ON THE ISLAND CAN BE ARRANGED ON SITE !!

THE PROPERTY ON WHICH THE CONDO IS LOCATED IS VERY WELL MAINTAINED FROM THE PONDS AND GRASS TO THE POOL AND HOT TUB . WANT TO RELAX AND ENJOY WITHOUT WANDERING FAR ? THIS IS WHERE YOU NEED TO BE . WANT TO HAVE A GREAT HOME BASE TO VISIT VARIOUS PARTS OF THE ISLAND FROM ? THIS IS WHERE YOU NEED TO BE .

SHIRLEY AND TONY HAVE DONE THEIR PART IN PROVIDING A DIAMOND OF A CONDO FOR YOUR USE . THE REST IS UP TO YOU !!!

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Seattle, WA
4

Very nice condo and well stocked. Sad that the shower was broken

  • 4 of 5
Verified Stay

Good location with all you need in walking distance Condo well furnished with comfortable bed and very comfortable sleeper sofa. Quite grounds to walk in the morning, friendly staff, plenty of close parking to the unit. Only disappointment the shower handle was broke off which made it a challenge to operate and really warm in the bedroom with one fan. Overall, I would stay again for weekend getaway Thank you for sharing you beautiful condo

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The shower handle came off and we had the replacement part overnighted by FedEx. Our manager told us that the existing handle could still be used temporarily to turn on and off the shower. We have high-end plumbing fixtures so we needed to order the Rohl replacement handle from the mainland. Unfortunately, FedEx lost the package. We had another handle overnighted and the new handle was installed. We are so sorry that you had any inconvenience during your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful stay in Kapaa, Kauaui

  • 5 of 5
Verified Stay

Great view of the Pacific sun rise from the balcony, the kitchen had everything we needed for cooking, and the propane grills around the facility had a great view of the ocean, too. There were some warm September nights, but thankfully lots of fans and windows to help keep it cool. We really enjoyed our stay, it was hard to leave!

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Comfortable, Cozy, and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
Verified Stay

Ever since we walked into the condo we were greatly impressed with the atmosphere it presented. With the great view of the ocean my wife and I were able to take a load off and relax. The condo remodel was amazing as well. The pictures online did not do justice to the real deal. The rest of the resort also presented many fun activities and because we were walking distance to downtown kapaa we were never bored. Overall our experience was great and we highly recommend this condo to anyone staying in Kauai.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter - Spring
Dec 20 2016 - Apr 15 2017
2 night minimum stay
$165
$1,098
 
 
Spring - Fall
Apr 16 2017 - Dec 19 2017
2 night minimum stay
$155
$1,031
 
 
Winter - Spring
Dec 20 2017 - Apr 15 2018
2 night minimum stay
$165
$1,098
 
 
Spring - Winter
Apr 16 2018 - Dec 19 2018
2 night minimum stay
$155
$1,031
 

Additional information about rental rates

one-time cleaning fee $110 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

$200.00 deposit is required to reserve the dates. Cancellations made 60 days prior to the check-in date will receive a full refund. Homeaway service fee is non-refundable. Cancellations made less than 60 days prior to the check-in date will forfeit all rents paid (cleaning fee will be refunded). If we are able to re-rent the condo so that we have no loss, we will waive the cancellation fee.
Payment in full is required if the reservation is made less than 60 days prior to the check-in date.
Minimum age to book the condo is 25.
Maximum number of people is 3.
TA & GE Tax ID # 027-128-0128-01

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Email Owner Email Owner
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Kapaa Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 740 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Downtown ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Safe
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , natural cherry vanity with granite counter tops.
  • remodeled with large walk-in shower (no tub)
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • A comfortable queen size bed in the bedroom / queen sofa bed in living room
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Binoculars
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Sauna ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Each building has a coin operated washer and dryer, an outside propane BBQ and outside beach showers. A workout room was added in December 2010

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car