Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spectacular Mountain Log Cabin for Outdoorsmen, Sports Fans & Romantic Couples!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 55 m²
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cozy 1-Bedroom + Convertible bed(s) - 1 Bath - (Sleeps 2-4)

Escape the city life, getaway to this pet and child friendly mountain log cabin with extraordinary nature scenery all around you. Enjoy breath-taking sights and sounds of the outdoor from the deck while sitting in the hot tub or enjoying the gas barbeque. This cabin has year-round appeal for fishermen, hunters, golfers, couples retreats or friends hanging out. In winter drive 1 hr. 52 Min. to Winter Place Ski Resort in Ghent West Virginia. Cabin is close to Virginia Tec and Martinsville Spedway.

It is located on Native Trout Stream near New River in Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia and is a short distance from the Blue Ridge Parkway at Meadows of Dan. Trout fishing, hunting, hiking, and four wheeling are available on site. Bring your own equipment. Golf, swimming, boating, antiquing, wineries and horseback riding are all within a few miles. For those that must stay connected, the house has Satellite Flat Screen TVs.

For further information about this property an links to area attractions, visit website. There you will find links to local golf course, a local winery, a park with swimming, beach and boat rentals, etc.

Payment Information: Payment is due at the time of reservation. Payment may be made by check or credit card.

Cancellation Policy: We know that plans can go astray, however, we rely on advance reservations, and cancellations may not be readily refilled. To be fair to all concerned, our policy is as follows:

If a reservation is canceled 30 days or more prior to the arrival date, then the pre-payment will be refunded less a $50.00 administrative fee. If a reservation is canceled within 30 days of the arrival date, refunds will be dependent upon re-renting the property. You may not change your reservation to new date within the 30 day cancellation period. The reservation may not be changed to a shorter length of time. Extension to stays is subject to availability. All guests are financially responsible for the time reserved; there will be no refunds due to weather, change of plans, or early departures.

Trip Cancellation Insurance is available at:

Copy & paste to Browser.

More Details

Owner
Bob Chamberlain
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 27, 2017

About Bob Chamberlain

We are private homeowners who live in Florida and this is our small guest cabin that sits below and at the bottom of the mountain from our 5 bedroom home, which we also rent when we are not there ourselves.

What makes this cabin unique

Sits on stream near waterfall with a great deck and a hot tub effective May 1st.

Amenities

Dugspur Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 55 m²
  • 1 story
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • smoking allowed ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • River ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Ceiling Heat/Fan
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , Sofa Bed
  • The master bedroom features traditional design with queen-size bed. Wooden television cabinet and dresser are featured for comfortable relaxation. In the living area, extra guests can stay by cabin’s fireplace and a short walk to the kitchen for those midnight snacks. Everyone sleeps comfortably and enjoys this amazing log cabin in the woods.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
HOT TUB & Expanded Deck & Gas Grill Added 4/18/13. CHILDREN: Children are absolutely welcomed. This is the perfect and safe environment for children and family vacations. PET POLICY: Pets are accepted with a $50.00 cleaning fee. SMOKING: Smoking is permitted outside on the deck, but not inside the home. Privacy and seclusion is offered. Cabin is in a great location for fishing, hunting or just relaxing by the fireplace watching satellite television. Bring your four wheelers. Trip Cancellation Insurance is available at: http://www.travelguard.com/agentlink.asp?ta arc=268515&ASPP2agencyemail=george@cccruisefl.com. Copy & paste to Browser.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(62 traveler reviews)

High Point, NC
5

Fantastic accomodations even in the rain!

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for a weekend get away from the city and our jobs and this cabin provided all the comforts and relaxation we needed even during a weekend of rain and thunderstorms. The half covered deck provided a shelter from the rain while still enjoying meals, the hot tub, and lounging on the chairs just to re-connect. It is in a very secluded place and features the sound of water going over a river dam within eye sight of the deck. Thanks Bob for sharing your cabin with us.

  • Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Little Cute Cabin next to Roaring Creek

  • 4 of 5

LOved our stay at the cabin. Bob was great and very helpfull

  • Submitted: May 13, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Everything was beautiful

  • 4 of 5

Our stay was great! I really enjoyed all the peace and quiet. We will definitely be back.

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Review of cabin in Dugspur

  • 3 of 5

I have stayed in this cabin before and it was kept very well. Unfortunately,this time there were a lot of things that needed to be addressed.

1. Both of screens doors were damaged and "duck taped". Frame was

bent!

2. Shower head needed to be replaced. Not able to adjust properly.

3. Bugs on ceiling in bedroom and falling in bed while I tried to sleep. All

over floor.

4. TV didn't function properly. Friends who live there said it wasn't satellite

cause theirs was fine.

Must admit I was floored to see all these things were being neglected after once being such an awesome place. Was not up to par to be rented at the fee that was charged

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry you encountered these issues. I understand that you also had trouble entering because we use guest phone numbers for the code and you did not know your phone number. This is a five star property based on prior reviews so it appears you should not return. This cabin is remotely located in the mountains. This means bugs can be present and satellite TV can have issues occasionally. The shower head was checked and is fine so it appears that the lower level was not pulled completely. It is the same shower head as your previous visits and shower heads don't go bad. It is simply the means to spread the water with the use of multiple holes and have no moving parts. As for the doors, someone must have attempted to break in since both doors damaged is not likely with normal use. We are sorry you feel things were neglected. Seems the bugs are still doing well and we just installed a new TV so the old box TV was removed and permanently neglected by replacing with a better wall mount. We really don't control satellites or bugs nor doe we feel we need instructions for operating the shower. Those "Friends who live there" live on top of a mountain and not in the valley so have no clue as to reception at the bottom of the mountain. As for the door, we rely on renters to tell us if they break something. I might suggest the Holiday Inn in in Hillsville. The rate is the same. The Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Breathtking views

  • 4 of 5

We would definetely stay agin, but the shower needs fixing & the power was out when we got there with no candles or lamp oil., but hey it was our hooneymoon so dark was ok ha. The power came back on later & Bob came to check on us & was very friendly & helpful. We loved the nice hot tub & fire pit & sounds of the river,. We loved it!

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Picturesque Cabin in the middle of nowhere

  • 5 of 5

This cabin was exactly what me and my boyfriend wanted for our first Valentines Day together. Sweet cabin in the woods, with hot tub and fireplace. The fact that we could cook the entire time we were there and didn't have to leave was great. And we took full advantage of the hot tub. We were in it atleast 3 hours everyday. We will definitely be back. The only problem we had was the water pressure in the shower was pretty bad. Might want to check on that. But other than that, PERFECT! Juse know that you are about 20 minutes from anything resembling a store or restaurant. So stock up before you get there. We did and it was perfect!

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Blue Ridge Parkway
"The Blue Ridge Parkway is known as the most beautiful road in the United States"
Mabry Mill Restaurant
"Famous mill and restaurant near Meadows of Dan on the Blue Ridge Parkway"
Chateau Morrisette
"If you want a fine dining experience, great view and a winery tour this restaurant and winer..."
Bogey's Restaurant
"Bogeys Restaurant in Galax, Chateau Morrisette on the Parkway and Maples Restaurant at the O..."
Floyd
"The General Store in Floyd is a must on Friday nights for banjo pickin and fiddlin."
Food Lion Store
"The closest major grocery store to home. Located in Hillsville on Mainstreet and Hwy 58 on t..."
Olde Mill
"Phenominal Golf Resort and fantastic Maples Restaurant just a 15 minute drive."

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring
Apr 1 2017 - May 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$125
$700
$1,400
 
 
Memorial Day
May 26 2017 - May 30 2017
5 night minimum stay
$600
Flat fee
 
 
Summer
Jun 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$125
From
$160
Fri,Sat,Sun
$900
$2,000
 
 
Fourth of July
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 5 2017
5 night minimum stay
$600
Flat fee
 
 
Floydfest
Jul 25 2017 - Jul 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$800
Flat fee
 
 
Fall
Sep 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$125
From
$140
Fri,Sat,Sun
$600
$1,700
 
 
Labor Day Flea Market
Sep 2 2017 - Sep 5 2017
4 night minimum stay
$650
Flat fee
 
 
Winter
Nov 1 2017 - Mar 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
$110
From
$125
Fri,Sat,Sun
$600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50

Trip Cancellation Insurance is available at: www.cccruisefl.com

Copy & paste to Browser.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Owner Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

Special HomeAway Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car

You might like these similar properties