check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Newly Remodeled Unique Log Cabin in Manzanita

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Aug 27, 2016
Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

Octagonal log home provides a unique coastal experience. Set in a wooded neighborhood the home feels like your own private tree house. Newly remodeled with marble counters and new hardwood floors. On cold days relax in front of the gas fireplace and play a board game. On sunny days the activities are endless. In the evenings, enjoy a BBQ on the large deck and listen to the wind in the pines.

This home is located just minutes away from the incredible seven miles of Manzanita beach, Nehalem Bay State Park, and the quaint town of Manzanita and Nehalem. Enjoy kiteboarding in Manzanita, surfing at Oswald West or trail running up Neahkahnie Mountain. If relaxation is your idea of vacation you can visit the spa in Manzanita, browse antique shops, walk the beach or drink coffee at one of the local coffee shops. Like to fish? Wheeler Marina is a few minutes down the road with boats and crab pots to rent. At low tide walk along Nehalem Bay to dig for clams.

Keywords: Cabin

  • Sleeps 6
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Barbecue
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Recent Review

About the Owner

We are 30 somethings who live full time in Hood River, Oregon. We are self employed and run a small video production company and run kids adventure camps in the Columbia Gorge. When we aren't working we take our daughter to the beach where we unwind, surf and eat cinnamon buns at Bread and Ocean. We feel fortunate to live and vacation in such beautiful places. While in Hood River we grow our own food, run our cars on vegetable oil and do what we can to live a simpler life.

Call Owner
Speaks: english

29 Reviews

4.4
based on 29 traveler reviews

Portland, Oregon
4

Good place to stay in Manzanita!

  • 4 of 5

This cabin really is unique; it is just as pictured. The main room on the top floor is spacious, and the open design is great and aesthetically pleasing. The kitchen is well stocked and convenient; the bathroom is as well. The location is great as you can be in Manzanita in minutes. A couple of negatives: The fan in the bathroom reverberates in the kitchen on the floor above, sometimes fairly loudly. Also, I found the bed in the main bedroom to be very uncomfortable. A new mattress (or mattress topper) would make a big difference in the overall impression. I needed to communicate with Lisa a few times; she was very responsive.

A note about VRBO/HomeAway--I find the $300 damage deposit "off putting" as opposed to other site options. If you reserve an accommodation months in advance, the $300 (in addition to your accommodation rate) is taken out of your account and is not refunded for about two weeks after your stay. Of course, this is nothing the owner can control.

All in all, this is a very nice place to stay, and I do recommend it.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very relaxing atmosphere

  • 5 of 5

I thoroughly enjoyed my time at the cabin. The location was ideal for our purposes and felt somewhat isolated from everyone else. I would most definitely rent again

  • Submitted: May 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Gresham, OR
5

Nice Quiet Cabin

  • 5 of 5

We had a very nice stay - two adults and two teenagers during the last weekend of Spring Break. The amenities were as advertised and everything was in working order. It's about a 5 minute drive into town and the beach. I don't really have any complaints, but since I believe in constructive criticism, I'll only point out a few things that might make it even better. 1) A little night stand or shelf by the bed in the master bedroom - I had no where to put my glasses! 2) Switch to more eco-friendly or fragrance free cleaning products...while I truly appreciate how clean it was upon arrival, there was the harsh smell of cleansers that could be bothersome to people with chemical sensitivities. It faded quickly though. And this is not really a criticism, but more of an FYI - there is no WiFi and the TV is small. It didn't bother me or my husband a bit, but just something to remember if traveling with teens! They were forced to visit with their parents - oh no! But they Loved the giant bean bag and I think that made up for it. None of these issues would deter me from staying there again - it is a very unique, cozy and beautifully constructed cabin - I wish we could have stayed a little longer.

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Rustic & homey

  • 4 of 5

Lisa has been amazing to work with. She was kind and fairly quickly to respond and get things in order.

The cabin is beautiful inside! Has great rooms and is cozy.

Pros: lisa is great and flexible. It's got a lot of great features like 'pots, pans, plates, bowls, utensils, blender "great plus" and many more things. It's a fairly central location. Just a few minutes drive and your at the beach or FOOD ;) it was fairly clean which is a big thing for me.

Cons: Not really anything that will make or break the deal just a few things from someone who is kind of picky. There are a few things that if I rented it again would be nice to see changed or improved. On our trip there were 6 full grown women, we definitely could have used more blankets, as the heater in the master bedroom did not work properly and downstairs was quite a bit colder than upstairs. The door in the laundry room and in the bedroom could have definitely used curtains considering the bathroom is viewable from the laundry area and well the door that is in the bedroom that accesses outside should have it for privacy.

In the kitchen the lighting is very inconvenient at night and would be nice to have some lighting next to the sink while washing dishes.

Since cleaning is necessary before vacating a vacuum would have been handy for the carpets. I have never had to wash my towels at a hotel where I stayed before so it was slightly and inconvenient to have to do so.

No WiFi is a tuff one as we didn't get great service with our cell phone and there is no land line.

There were a few condiments in the cupboard which was slightly convenient however there was no salt and in my opinion salt and pepper is a must. We bought one and left it there LOL.

All in all we really did have a good time. Despite having fell in the water at the beach and my phone being the victim :p

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed the uniqueness of the home. It's true that the downstairs is cooler than the upstairs which is why we have two blankets plus a down comforter on the main bed and extra blankets folded up on the ends of each of the other beds, plus the chest upstairs is full of blankets. I'm sorry you didn't find all those blankets suitable. We regret that you had an issue with the heater in the Master bedroom. We double checked the heater and it is not broken. In addition to the main heat source we do provide extra space heaters in each room to accommodate differing heating needs. As for the lighting upstairs, It's quite tricky to light an octagon! There is a dimmer on the main light that sometimes gets turned down. Perhaps the dimmer was on a low setting. About the cleaning, we ask that guests do their dishes and put some towels in the wash and dryer. We don't ask guests to do a full clean. We keep a vacuum cleaner in the closet downstairs for guests to use if needed. We regret you didn't see it. As for internet...we intentionally keep our cabin internet free. Since it's so easy for anyone to set up a personal hotspot these days we figure if guests really want internet on vacation they can set up a hotspot. Thanks again for the detailed review. I'm sure other guests may find it helpful and it allows us to clarify details about the cabin.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Place, Amazing Value

  • 5 of 5

Looked great in the photos, and exceeded my expectations. Rustic charm but very clean and up to date. Would not hesitate to recommend or rent again.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jed, We are so glad you enjoyed the house. Please come back again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful cabin at a great price

  • 5 of 5

We stayed two nights and loved the cabin. It is a great location (short drive to downtown Manzanita and the beach). We loved the fully-stocked kitchen and very spacious upstairs living area. There was plenty of space for the four of us, plus two young children. This is a great choice being home-bound on a stormy weekend like we had. We highly recommend this cabin! My only suggestion for the owners is to consider adding a dishwasher. Since it is the responsibility of guests to clean the dishes for the next guests, the degree of cleanliness can vary quite a bit. We had to wash many of the dishes before we could use them because they were visibly dirty. Not a big deal, though.

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed the uniqueness of the cabin. We recognize that cleaning dishes for the next guest is an act of trust and sorry that the previous guest didn't leave the dishes up to your standards. We hope you'll consider returning for a visit next time you come to the beach.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

From the Owner

We had a dream to own a log cabin one day. When we moved to Oregon the log cabin dream turned into a tree house dream which turned into a yurt on the Oregon coast dream. We didn't plan on buying a house but when we saw our cabin we knew this was the place for us. It was a log cabin, treehouse, yurt all in one! We love the relaxed environment of the Manzanita area and prefer it to the more touristy areas on the coast.

Activity and Interests

clamming, crabbing, deep sea fishing, close proximity to airstrip, stand up paddle boarding and surfing

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
High Season
Jun 17 2016 - Sep 6 2016
2 night minimum stay
$150
 
 
Mid Season
Sep 7 2016 - Nov 30 2016
2 night minimum stay
$110
 
 
Low Season
Dec 1 2016 - Dec 15 2016
1 night minimum stay
$100
 
 
Christmas
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$125
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning Fee $60 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Email Owner
Updated: Aug 27, 2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available stay (no arrival)
12
Unavailable

Amenities

From the Owner

We enjoy cooking big breakfasts in the cozy main room and taking morning runs on the Alder Creek Farm trail. Other mornings we'll go to Bread and Ocean for a tasty morning treat and head to Neahkanie Mountain to see what kind of mood the ocean is in. We love day trips down to Oswald West Park where we haul our daughter, our surfboards and snacks for a day at the beach. Oswald is our favorite beach to enjoy with our family. In the evenings we BBQ on the deck at the house and cuddle in front of the fire while we play games and read. We leave the cabin fully restored, rested and grateful.

Property Type

  • cabin

General

  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...

Dining

  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Stereo ...

Suitability

  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...

Attractions

  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1

Bedrooms

  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Convertible bed(s)
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1) This is a futon in the main living area upstairs, Twin or Single Beds (2)

Outside

  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill

Meals

  • Guests provide their own meals

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car