Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

SkyView Rentals "Bashful Bear" 6Br Elevator~Free WIFI~Theater~MtnView~GameRoom

Sleeps26
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms6
Half Baths2
Space 371 m²
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Log Cabin, 6 Large Bedrooms W Bath + Sofa bed(s), (Sleeps 26)

SkyView Rentals "Bashful Bear" offers panoramic views of the Smokies from one of the most majestic peaks in Sherwood Forest. It is convenient to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg area attractions, restaurants and shopping. As you enter the warm, fully furnished lodge, on the main level you'll find a beautiful stacked stone fireplace flanked by a wall of windows. Enjoy the spectacular views while rocking on the deck or relaxing in the hot tub. Connect with your friends with our Free WIFI. Just off the fully equipped gourmet kitchen is a master bedroom with a king size bed, TV and large bathroom with a walk-in tiled shower. A short elevator ride up to the loft reveals a second master bedroom with king bed, TV, large bathroom, and huge Jacuzzi tub. Off this bedroom is a cozy game area with pool table, air hockey and foosball, and a loft deck with more fantastic views.

Ride the elevator down to the lower level to enjoy another big-screen TV and 3 other bedrooms (2 with king beds and 1 with queen-over-queen bunk beds), all with their own private bath. Here you'll find another fireplace and deck to reap those peaceful moments in your rocking chair. One more elevator ride down to the lowest level offers a wet bar, 1 more bedroom with private bath and Jacuzzi tub, and the beautiful home theater equipped with your own personal reclining theater chair! Visit with friends and family in front of another fireplace here, or enjoy the bar and deck. This cabin is sure to help you and your group relax, laugh, and enjoy a wonderful vacation at 'SkyView Rentals Bashful Bear!'

More Details

Property Manager
Earl & Sandra Martin, or Stacy Cole
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 21, 2017

About Earl & Sandra Martin, or Stacy Cole

Welcome to our cabin high atop the mountain. Sandra and I, plus our kids and Ginger our Nova Scotia Duck Tolling Retriever want you to have a great time just as we do when we get the chance to stay in our cabin. We moved from the Twin Cities and settled down in a suburb of Tampa, Florida, but always loved the beauty of the Smoky Mountains as we drove between Florida and Minnesota. We always said that when we could get a place to share with our family and friends we would. We also wanted it to be a place that we could share with others. So please enjoy your stay and hope you feel refreshed and rejuvenated like we do.

Earl & Sandra Martin, or Stacy Cole purchased this cabin in 2008

Guestbook comments from the manager

There were 18 of us here this week from ages 3 to 89! We came from Seattle, Michigan, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia and North Carolina. We had a great time.

The cabin was awesome with plenty of room. Morning coffee on the deck, watching the Smokies, was a great way to start our days. The week was filled with fun, food and laughter. Our families got to reunite and make more memories together. We are already making plans for our return!
Jun 2009
  • 1 of 7

Amenities

Pigeon Forge Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 371 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 26
  • Max. adults: 26
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • NO PETS & NO college aged groups, fraternities, sororities or groups that do not meet the minimum adult supervision requirements are allowed to stay.
  • SkyView Rentals enforces a minimum Primary Rental Guest age of 30 and the signer must be in attendance with the group throughout the rental period.
  • Age Verification Required. Copies of Credit Card and Drivers License required. No Refunds.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 7 - toilet
    Bathroom 8 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 26
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 2 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , 2 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king
    Bedroom 6 - 2 queen , Bunk Bed
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gated Community
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
14% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
SkyView Rentals "Bashful Bear" 6Br Elevator~Free WIFI~Theater~MtnView~GameRoom
average rating of 4.4761906 based on 28 reviews
4

Stay at Bashful Bear

  • 4 of 5

We were here for a family wedding. Beautiful area. Cabin was great. Awesome weekend! The only critiques would be that the furniture needs updating and the area around the garbage cans had a lot of litter around it.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Dave, Thank you for your review of Bashful Bear. We are in the process of updating furnishings throughout the cabin. I am sorry we were not able to have them in place prior to your recent stay. We would love to have you stay with us in the future to see the exciting changes we are making. Also I would like to apologize for any liter found around the trash receptacles or property. We do try very hard to make sure this type of thing does not happen. Unfortunately liter does get blown in and around the property after it has been cleaned and inspected. I have personally inspected the area and made sure any liter has been properly taken care of and I will work towards a solution to keep it from happening again. Thank you Stacy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Not as nice as the first time, but still a great vacation experience.

  • 3 of 5

The older ones appreciated the new ADA improvement, however a lot of the railing was loose and some not even connected, this presented a safety hazard for all the young and older alike. Overall, its still a great spot but it could use some TLC.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The property was amazing. The cabin was beautiful and had everything you needed.

  • 5 of 5

I just stayed at The Bashful Bear for a family get together. The cabin was amazing and allowed for great views of the mountains and plenty of space for everyone to spend time together and have quiet time. The rooms were great and the cabin had everything you would need for a great stay!!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Easy

  • 4 of 5

Very Nice ----beautiful view. A little strange with no in door stairs but actually became a positive not having to worry about the little ones falling.

Best Part check in already done! ---did not have to wait for paperwork. Drove straight into the cabin which was a huge plus for me.

  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fabulous family vacation spot!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 22 (14 adults, 3 teens and 5 children) had a fun-filled vacation at this gorgeous mountain cabin. We all fit comfortably in our separate bedrooms and had ample room to congregate on the 3rd floor making full use of the living room/dining room area and the great decks. The game room was a pleasant surprise with pool table, shuffleboard, a soccer table and arcade video game. We were very happy that there was enough table & counter space in the dining area to accommodate all 22 of us! The location near the Smokey Mountain National park was perfect for us and the view from the decks was unbelievable. The only suggestion for improvement that I have is for them to hire a better cleaning service. It was surface cleaned and there was plenty of clean linen but it needs a good thorough cleaning. I do recommend the place and would come back again.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
1

Not the best or cleanest.....

  • 1 of 5

There are a lot of houses being built around this home. The construction traffic and the trucks blocking access was really bad. Also we were told the home had new carpet..... however - the entire second floor smelled like dog urine and clearly there was an animal in the home - there were claw marks on every door frame on each level. Also - I would have thought for the amount per week the house would have been in better shape. The first and second floor bathrooms were really run down (specifically mold in the showers - and a really poor attempt to caulk over the mold). Also every pull out couch had mouse poo in them. Would have been nice if they cleaned the couches first (a lot of food wrappers under the furniture - hence the mice problems).

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We do apologize that your experience with us was anything less than excellent. Unfortunately, we do not have any control over construction traffic that happens within the resort. As for the housekeeping and maintenance issues that were stated, we responded immediately and took care of the issues you made us aware of during your stay. Each property is inspected behind housekeeping to ensure that the home is in check-in condition for every new guest. However, the property is large and on occasion things might get over looked. Bashful Bear does have a total of 6 pullouts and there were only 2 of them that had an issue. You mentioned a urine smell after requesting the fireplace be lit on that floor. When we came out to check, the odor came from the fireplace and was the chemical included in the natural gas line. Being that we are in the woods and small critters do make it inside of log cabins from time to time as kids leave doors open. We did respond to the complaint as soon as it was reported and made arrangements with pest control to address and take care of the issue immediately. The scratch marks you found on the inside of the guest bathroom were from the previous owner allowing pets which were locked up while they were out, we do not allow pets due the previous damage caused. Earl & Sandra & Stacy
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Knoxville Tyson Airport - TYS -
Car: necessary

Right where you want to be, that's where we are located. Just 3 miles from Dollywood, off of light #10 in Pigeon Forge. This is the last light in Pigeon Forge just before the Parkway to Gatlinburg.

Great Smoky Mountain National Park, The Great Smoky Mountains National Park (GSMNP) is the most visited in National Park system.

Dollywood, Unique as its namesake Dolly Parton, Dollywood theme park is a one-of-a-kind Smoky Mountain Family Adventure! Spanning 125 acres and nestled in the lush foothills of the Great Smoky Mountains in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee, near Gatlinburg, Dollywood is one of the most popular family vacation destinations.

Dixie Stampede, one of the most spectacular dinner and shows boasting four great locations in Branson, MO; Myrtle Beach, SC; Pigeon Forge, TN, and Orlando, FL.

Tangers Outlet Center, Shop Tanger Outlet Center in Sevierville, TN and buy direct from over 100 brand name manufacturer and designer outlet stores.

Other Activities: Shopping, Downhill/Alpine Skiing, Wildlife Viewing, Kayaking, Snowboarding, Boating, Miniature Golf

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Sanitize Hot Tub $49 + Tax
Cabin Cleaning $349 + Tax
Accidental Damage Ins $49
Tax Rate 12.75%

Minimum Stay:
2 Night minimum stay during non-holiday periods.
3 Nights MLK, Labor and Memorial Day. October & November.
4 Night minimum stay from Mid-June to Mid August.
5 Nights Christmas and New Years, Thanksgiving
Only our rates at www.skyviewrentals.com are accurate and will be honored.
VRBO & HomeAway rental rates are estimates ONLY.
Our cabin is located in a gated community with an on-site pool.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund