check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Bashful Bear 6Br-Specials$ Elevator~Theater~MtnView~GameRoom


Property Details

Updated: Oct 18, 2016
Log Cabin, 6 Large Bedrooms W Bath + Sofa bed(s), (Sleeps 26)

'The Bashful Bear' offers panoramic views of the Smokies from one of the most majestic peaks in Sherwood Forest. It is convenient to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg area attractions, restaurants and shopping. As you enter the warm, fully furnished lodge, on the main level you'll find a beautiful stacked stone fireplace flanked by a wall of windows. Enjoy the spectacular views while rocking on the deck or relaxing in the hot tub. Just off the fully equipped gourmet kitchen is a master bedroom with a king size bed, TV and large bathroom with a walk-in tiled shower. A short elevator ride up to the loft reveals a second master bedroom with king bed, TV, large bathroom, and huge Jacuzzi tub. Off this bedroom is a cozy game area with pool table, air hockey and foosball, and a loft deck with more fantastic views.

Ride the elevator down to the lower level to enjoy another big-screen TV and 3 other bedrooms (2 with king beds and 1 with queen-over-queen bunk beds), all with their own private bath. Here you'll find another fireplace and deck to reap those peaceful moments in your rocking chair. One more elevator ride down to the lowest level offers a wet bar, 1 more bedroom with private bath and Jacuzzi tub, and the beautiful home theater equipped with your own personal reclining theater chair! Visit with friends and family in front of another fireplace here, or enjoy the bar and deck. This cabin is sure to help you and your group relax, laugh, and enjoy a wonderful vacation at 'The Bashful Bear!'

More Details
  • Sleeps 26
  • 6 Bedrooms
  • 6 Bathrooms, 2 Half Baths
  • Parking
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Recent Review

About the Owner

Welcome to our cabin high atop the mountain. Sandra and I, plus our kids and Ginger our Nova Scotia Duck Tolling Retriever want you to have a great time just as we do when we get the chance to stay in our cabin. We moved from the Twin Cities and settled down in a suburb of Tampa, Florida, but always loved the beauty of the Smoky Mountains as we drove between Florida and Minnesota. We always said that when we could get a place to share with our family and friends we would. We also wanted it to be a place that we could share with others. So please enjoy your stay and hope you feel refreshed and rejuvenated like we do.

Call Manager
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the manager

There were 18 of us here this week from ages 3 to 89! We came from Seattle, Michigan, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia and North Carolina. We had a great time.

The cabin was awesome with plenty of room. Morning coffee on the deck, watching the Smokies, was a great way to start our days. The week was filled with fun, food and laughter. Our families got to reunite and make more memories together. We are already making plans for our return!
Jun 2009
  • 1 of 7

17 Reviews

based on 17 traveler reviews


Fabulous family vacation spot!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 22 (14 adults, 3 teens and 5 children) had a fun-filled vacation at this gorgeous mountain cabin. We all fit comfortably in our separate bedrooms and had ample room to congregate on the 3rd floor making full use of the living room/dining room area and the great decks. The game room was a pleasant surprise with pool table, shuffleboard, a soccer table and arcade video game. We were very happy that there was enough table & counter space in the dining area to accommodate all 22 of us! The location near the Smokey Mountain National park was perfect for us and the view from the decks was unbelievable. The only suggestion for improvement that I have is for them to hire a better cleaning service. It was surface cleaned and there was plenty of clean linen but it needs a good thorough cleaning. I do recommend the place and would come back again.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not the best or cleanest.....

  • 1 of 5

There are a lot of houses being built around this home. The construction traffic and the trucks blocking access was really bad. Also we were told the home had new carpet..... however - the entire second floor smelled like dog urine and clearly there was an animal in the home - there were claw marks on every door frame on each level. Also - I would have thought for the amount per week the house would have been in better shape. The first and second floor bathrooms were really run down (specifically mold in the showers - and a really poor attempt to caulk over the mold). Also every pull out couch had mouse poo in them. Would have been nice if they cleaned the couches first (a lot of food wrappers under the furniture - hence the mice problems).

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We do apologize that your experience with us was anything less than excellent. Unfortunately, we do not have any control over construction traffic that happens within the resort. As for the housekeeping and maintenance issues that were stated, we responded immediately and took care of the issues you made us aware of during your stay. Each property is inspected behind housekeeping to ensure that the home is in check-in condition for every new guest. However, the property is large and on occasion things might get over looked. Bashful Bear does have a total of 6 pullouts and there were only 2 of them that had an issue. You mentioned a urine smell after requesting the fireplace be lit on that floor. When we came out to check, the odor came from the fireplace and was the chemical included in the natural gas line. Being that we are in the woods and small critters do make it inside of log cabins from time to time as kids leave doors open. We did respond to the complaint as soon as it was reported and made arrangements with pest control to address and take care of the issue immediately. The scratch marks you found on the inside of the guest bathroom were from the previous owner allowing pets which were locked up while they were out, we do not allow pets due the previous damage caused. Earl & Sandra & Stacy
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Awesome place for a large gathering

  • 5 of 5

Stayed 6 nights over the holidays and it was fantastic. The cabin is beautiful and everything worked great and was clean. The management company responded promptly to the few requests we had. Had 28 people in the cabin and there was plenty of room and everyone had a great time. Definately will return!!

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Memphis, TN

Very comfortable for a large group!

  • 5 of 5

We had a large group with a wide age range. We thoroughly enjoyed the game room on the top floor. We enjoyed the hot tub as well. My friend and I were responsible for the meals for this group of 16 and found the kitchen quite adequate. This is a great place for a family reunion. People went fishing, hiking, shopping and some just relaxed. Of course, UT beat GA and that was a highlight of the weekend! We never felt crowded and there was plenty of privacy. There is also a theater, but we never used it. Too many other fun activities!

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Definitely on our list of top places to stay.

  • 5 of 5

We had a family wedding AT cabin on one of the decks with a gorgeous mountain view background. 23 people stayed the weekend with ample room. Everything as clean & organized as promised. Very relaxed atmosphere. Bedrooms/Bathrooms were spectacular. Just minutes from all major Pigeon Forge attractions. Working with Skyview Rentals was a most pleasant experience. Every question was answered promptly and they even helped us with logistics of having folks come in at various times over the weekend. Definitely on our list of places to gather as family or for a multi-couples weekend getaway.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great stay!

  • 5 of 5

This is such a great cabin for a large group! Every bed was so comfy and the game room and movie room were extra cool! Our youth group came for a retreat and everyone can't wait to come back! Looking forward to returning next year for sure!

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Knoxville Tyson Airport - TYS - at 40 Miles Car: necessary

Right where you want to be, that's where we are located. Just 3 miles from Dollywood, off of light #10 in Pigeon Forge. This is the last light in Pigeon Forge just before the Parkway to Gatlinburg.

Great Smoky Mountain National Park, The Great Smoky Mountains National Park (GSMNP) is the most visited in National Park system.

Dollywood, Unique as its namesake Dolly Parton, Dollywood theme park is a one-of-a-kind Smoky Mountain Family Adventure! Spanning 125 acres and nestled in the lush foothills of the Great Smoky Mountains in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee, near Gatlinburg, Dollywood is one of the most popular family vacation destinations.

Dixie Stampede, one of the most spectacular dinner and shows boasting four great locations in Branson, MO; Myrtle Beach, SC; Pigeon Forge, TN, and Orlando, FL.

Tangers Outlet Center, Shop Tanger Outlet Center in Sevierville, TN and buy direct from over 100 brand name manufacturer and designer outlet stores.

Other Activities: Shopping, Downhill/Alpine Skiing, Wildlife Viewing, Kayaking, Snowboarding, Boating, Miniature Golf


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Sep 30 2016 - Oct 29 2016
2 night minimum stay
Oct 30 2016 - Nov 17 2016
2 night minimum stay
Nov 18 2016 - Nov 26 2016
5 night minimum stay
Nov 27 2016 - Dec 10 2016
2 night minimum stay
Dec 11 2016 - Dec 15 2016
2 night minimum stay
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 2 2017
5 night minimum stay
Jan 3 2017 - Feb 4 2017
2 night minimum stay
Feb 5 2017 - Mar 4 2017
2 night minimum stay
Mar 5 2017 - May 6 2017
2 night minimum stay
May 7 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
May 30 2017 - Jun 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
4th July-2017
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
Jul 5 2017 - Aug 19 2017
2 night minimum stay
Aug 20 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
Labor Day-2017
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
Sep 5 2017 - Sep 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
Sep 29 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
Nov 1 2017 - Nov 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
Nov 17 2017 - Nov 26 2017
5 night minimum stay
Nov 27 2017 - Dec 9 2017
2 night minimum stay
Dec 10 2017 - Dec 14 2017
2 night minimum stay
Dec 15 2017 - Dec 31 2017
5 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Accidental Damage Ins $49
Cabin Cleaning $279 + Tax
Sanitize Hot Tub $49 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.75%

Only our rates at are accurate and will be honored.
VRBO & HomeAway rental rates are estimates ONLY.
Our cabin is located in a gated community with an on-site pool.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Email Manager
Updated: Oct 18, 2016
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Property Type

  • cabin


  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions


  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet


  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster


  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area


  • Air Hockey
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR

Pool / Spa

  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • jetted tub


  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Location Type

  • Mountain View
  • Resort


  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing

Local Services & Businesses

  • groceries

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • water tubing

Floor Area

  • 4000 sq. ft.


  • Bathroom 1 - toilet, combination tub/shower, jetted tub
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet, shower
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet, combination tub/shower, jetted tub
  • Bathroom 4 - toilet, combination tub/shower, jetted tub
  • Bathroom 5 - toilet, combination tub/shower, jetted tub
  • Bathroom 6 - toilet, combination tub/shower, jetted tub
  • Bathroom 7 - toilet
  • Bathroom 8 - toilet


  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 26
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king, 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king, 2 sleep sofa /futon
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 king, 2 sleep sofa /futon
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 king, 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Bedroom 5 - 1 king
  • Bedroom 6 - 2 queen, Bunk Bed


  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gated Community
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck


  • Guests provide their own meals

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car