Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Sugarloaf lodge retreat

Bedrooms 5
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights


Minimum Stay
1 - 2 nights

About the property

5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17

Beautiful lodge style log home perfect for a family and freinds getaway. 3 master bedrooms, and one queen guest room, 1 bunk room that sleeps up to 7 people, one fold out queen sofa in the loft, 7 stone fireplaces, gourmet kitchen, bar, game room, sauna, hot tub. The perfect place to relax and enjoy the mountains of Maine. Shuttle bus service from the driveway to any location on the mountain during winter months 24 hours a day.

Owner/Property Manager
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 31, 2017


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)


Great house and a great owner

  • 5 of 5

Went for a corporate retreat with adults and children. The house is better than the pictures indicate, and is a great base for exploring the area. Facilities are top notch. Owner checked out the place for us on check in, and was helpful in every way. While Sugarloaf is a great mountain with super nice people, the owner and the home add so much to the experience. Would stay there again in a heart beat. The fireplaces, hot tub, sauna, and kitchen were huge, and the quality is top notch.

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Dirty but beautiful setting

  • 3 of 5

The house is huge with plenty of room for a large group of people, however when we checked in I was not impressed by the state of the house. The floors were sticky, half of the lights needed the bulbs to be replaced and most of the light fixtures with full with dead house flies. However the kitchen was the worst with mouse dropping in the cupboards and an explored beer in the fridge for the price and the very large cleaning fee I would have expected a much cleaner house. However you can't beat the location and setting- Sugarloaf is heaven.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Cleaning for this property is contracted through Sugarloaf Condo Housekeeping Services who normally does an outstanding job. The concerns this traveler expressed were forwarded to them and we are assured that the issues raised have been addressed and resolved. There was a stickiness to the kitchen floor that arose when we tried applying a new tile sealer that was supposed to be easier to keep clean. It did not set up properly and left a tacky surface. It has since been stripped and replaced.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great house for a ski group!

  • 5 of 5

We had a large group of adults who have gathered each March for over thirty years. This house had everything we needed. The kitchen is set up so the cooking team had plenty of room and all the necessary tools. The counter is long enough so eight or so guests can sit and watch the cooks do their thing. A wonderful fireplace in every room with plenty of wood in the garage. We used the hot tub quite a bit as well as the sauna. The Sugarloaf Shuttle picked us up and dropped us off on the half hour. Very convenient. The gazebo, with a large gas grille and running brook nearby made for a great place to hang out outside. More than ample parking.

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Superb Ski Season Stay

  • 5 of 5

Our annual ski trip to differing New England mountains was once again a success for the sixth year in a row after staying at this gorgeous home for a long weekend in January. It was our first trip to Sugar Loaf and we were more than pleased with the accomodations at the property, dealings with the owner, the proximity to the mountain, and of course, the skiing. A tremendous property on the extremely convenient shuttle route of a tremendous resort. I would recommend to anyone looking to stay at Sugar Loaf. Clean, accomodating, and fun. Thanks for a great stay! Our favorite yet!

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfec house for ski for large group

  • 5 of 5

This is a perfect house for large group. Plenty of space and rooms have enough spaces. Kitchen is large enough to cook for 20. Very near the mountain. Max 5 min drive. The owner did care a lot about our satisfaction and comfort and gave call and came to make sure everything was fine during our stay. For large group, this house is highly recommended.

  • Submitted: May 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great For Couples Getaways or Family Vacations

  • 5 of 5

This place has enough room for everyone. Plenty of beds, bathrooms, and dining area for everyone to eat. We had a party of 14 adults and we had no issues. The place has a large deck out back, a sauna and a hot tub for 6. Centrally located to access the Sugarloaf mountain or outdoor center. There is a fireplace in every room.

  • Submitted: May 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Nov 18 2016 - Apr 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
May 1 2017 - Nov 15 2017
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $375
Refundable damage deposit $750
Tax Rate 9.0%

$1000 to $1500 / night.
Payment information:
Downpayment of 50% due at time of booking. The remainder must be payed by 8 weeks prior to arrival. If booking within the 8 week time frame, full payment is due at time of booking.
Potential guests have been reporting that the website will not allow certain arrival and departure dates and I cannot seem to correct this. I prefer to not split a weekend during the winter meaning I generally require weekend stays to include both Friday and Saturday nights. Other than that I try very hard to accommodate the needs of my guests. I do not allow online booking so please contact me via the website. The calendar is generally up to date so availability is as shown there. I am willing to negotiate a modest discount for stays of 7 days or more.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Email Owner


Carrabassett Valley Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
  • Catering available
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Floor Area:
  • 6800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Resort
  • River
  • Ski in/Ski out ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
  • Four
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Three master bedroom suites, one queen guest room, bunk room that sleeps up to 7 and one loft fold-out couch.
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Sauna
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • skiing
  • whitewater rafting
During the winter months there is a shuttle bus that comes by the house hourly from 8:00 am until 10:00 am and then is on call until midnight. They will pick you up and take you anywhere you want to go on mountain property (including restaurants, etc.). It is a very convenient way to get around the mountain without ever using your car.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car