Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Outdoor Spa Cabin!!! 5 min walk to Golf, Zoo and Ski Lifts

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths

Refined & Rustic 3 bedroom 2 full bath cabin within a 5 minute walking distance to the ski lifts, zoo, and golf course and ride your bike to the mountain biking park - all at great rates.

Sit in the large private spa and looking up at the beautiful mountain view in the day time, or at night with the beautiful star filled skies.

There's no shortage of other comforts. A gas BBQ grill out back, natural stone fireplace, full kitchen, bar, a 55' tv with cable, pool table, air hockey and ping pong in the great room.

Near to recreational Big Bear Lake for fishing, boating, & jet skiing, with restaurants, rentals, shopping centers, movie theatres just down the road, but out of sight of this cute cabin in the trees set back from the road.

Winter is a great time for your family or ski party to discover Bear Mountain Chalet. Its quaint chalet exterior and 600 sqf deck that wraps around the house, is a vivid contrast to the snow that covers the wide open spaces that separate the chalet from neighboring cabins. Hand carved wooden bears all around the decks that the kids can sit on, and the mountain provides privacy for the large spa in the back.

Set back far from Deer Canyon Road, Bear Mountain Chalet will make you feel like you have stepped back 50 years to a more serene Big Bear before it was discovered by Southern California as the perfect alternative to Aspen or Vale. Imagine walking to the ski lifts at Bear Mountain Resort without having to rise at dawn to find a parking space in the resort's main parking lot. No longer will you have to be herded like cattle in those open flat-bed trucks from distant auxiliary lots. You can also walk to the nearby Moonridge Animal Park to visit the inhabitants of the surrounding San Bernardino National Forest.

Step inside its original diamond-paned front door and you will be in the spacious Bear Mountain Chalet great room. It features T&G wood ceilings, supported by large, rugged beams and a very large natural stone fireplace. You'll also find a huge 55' flat-screen television, with access to numerous cable channels. For the game players, there's a pool table, air hockey, and ping pong. A large glass door take up one wall of the great room and lead out to the large back deck with its spa, and BBQ, private sledding hill and private mountain views.

Also part of the great room is the dining area and the fully-equipped kitchen. Let Mom relax in front of the large, flat-screen TV with a glass of wine while Dad and the older kids prepare dinner. You can even keep one eye on the young ones, who will want to head outdoors whenever they can. The mountain views are right outside the kitchen windows.

There's also a 15 foot bar and barstools if night time activities and entertaining are what your after.

When it's time for the rest of your family or group to bunk down after an active day, Bear Mountain Chalet can sleep 8 adults three bedrooms. The master bedroom has a luxurious queen-size bed, with a view overlooking the and spa and mountain. There's also a large wall mounted flat screen tv and cable, and an ipod hook up for your music. The second bedroom contains another queen sized bed. The third bedroom has four pine bunk beds, that will delight the kids.

There's probably some guests who couldn't come up the mountain without a laptop, or have to do some real work to make the trip tax-deductible. High-speed Internet access is available throughout the cabin. There is ample parking on the huge circular driveway and two more parking spaces at the top of the driveway, so you can fit lots of cars, boats, trailers, RV's or whatever you need.

Summer has hiking, fishing and every other activity a forrest provides.

For mountain bikers, you can ride over to Bear Mountain and ride the chair lifts to the top of the mountain with your bike, and then bike down.

The kids will love Bear Mountain Chalet as much as the adults.

So what's keeping you from booking this bargain cabin? There's no excuse not to give your family or best friends a well-deserved ski 'n' snowboarding, or fishing getaway to Big Bear Lake with Bear Mountain Chalet -- all polished to perfection -- as your home base.

We're also pet friendly.

Keywords: 'Big Bear' 'Big Bear Lake' 'Bear Mountain' 'hot tub' 'spa' 'fireplace' 'fire place' 'pool table' 'air hockey' 'ping pong' 'game table' 'sledding hill' 'ski' 'snowboard' 'fishing' 'mountain biking' 'mountain bike' 'cabin' 'chalet' 'stone fire place' 'wood fireplace' 'pet friendly' Families family

More Details

Owner
Art Haynie
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 29, 2017

About Art Haynie

We're a couple that loves to be active. Ski, snowboard, hike, fish, travel, spend time with family...anything and everything. We both grew up in the mountains and love everything they have to offer.

We needed to get away one weekend, and realized that Big Bear was close to LA, so we went for a weekend to sit in the hot tub and read, hike, and just relax. We fell in love with it and were looking for a home the very next day.

Art Haynie purchased this cabin in 2010

Why Art Haynie chose Big Bear Lake

We chose this particular house because if it's privacy and quiet. It's set back from the street, and has wide open views of the mountain with a totally private back yard and nothing but forrest that you can see behind it. But it's a short walk to everything. One look and we fell in love. We spend as much time as we can there, and when the nephews come, they lose their minds.

What makes this cabin unique

It's romantic, it's quiet, it's private and the views are fantastic. You can sit in silence and do nothing, or go non stop with every activity known to man.

Winter is beautiful and has every snow activity, summer is warm, and offers an entirely new catalog of things to do.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Warm and wonderful cabin. My husband and I loved all the wood and the big fire place…and the hot tub outside!!!!! I wish he'd booked this for Valentines Day!!
Feb 2015
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Upper Moonridge Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ski in/Ski out ...
  • Town ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
  • Bathrooms come complete with plenty of towels, soaps and shampoo.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 4 twin/ single , Four bunk beds
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
- Sit and relax in your private hot tub and look at the clear skies and stars, or in the day at your own mountain views - Private sledding hill - Large Stone Fireplace, - Large hand carved bears - Coffee maker - iPod hook up - Redwood Picnic table outside next to the hot tub Maximum Occupancy is 5 according to the city, however the property has sleeping accommodations for 8.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

Amazing, such a cozy, clean place. Loved it. Host super responsive. Location amazing. Will book again. Took my two kids and they had a blast.

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the kind review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great cabin close to the mountain!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I recently stayed here and had an amazing time. The back yard had a spa where we spent a lot of our time. Also, the slopes were only a 10 minute walk from the house. We definitely plan on returning!

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the kind review and we look forward to having you back again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

This place was great! The kitchen stuff could use some replacing, but it all works. When we first arrived and checked everything out, we noticed dirt settled in the bottom of the jacuzzi. I called the property management people and they came to clean it within half an hour. Also, I messaged the owner about a week or so before our stay and requested extra towels and there were extra when we arrived :-) We had fun sledding in the back yard, though it's realllly steep! Had a fantastic time!

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the kind review. We loved having you and we hope to see you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Los Angles, CA
5

Perfect cabin for a ski getaway

  • 5 of 5

My kids had a couple of days off school so we decided to go enjoy the amazing snow at Big Bear. This cabin was the perfect spot for our get away! The huge fireplace is incredible and really warms up the living room and kitchen area. We also LOVED the hot tub - it was absolutely amazing after skiing and quite comfortable for the three of us. While you could walk to the lifts from this house, with all the snow and our gear, we decided to drive which took all of two minutes. I'm already trying to figure out a weekend to come back to bring my husband!

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect for Skiers

  • 4 of 5

This cabin is quaint and cozy. We have 2 small children so I do not recommend because the house is small and no real play area inside for them. Keeping a 1yr old occupied in a confined space proves to be difficult. The 2 positives to the house is you are in walking distance to the slopes, 7 minutes with kids tops; also the sledding hill in your backyard is amazing! We had a great time outside. Couple small issues but nothing to turn around and go home over. For me I just had to remind myself I was not in a hotel and couldn't call housekeeping for any and everything, do bring whatever you would need from your own home.

Overall a great trip for my sons birthday but wouldn't go back until my children are much older.

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We do supply hand soaps and shampoo as any hotel, but we don't typically supply dish soap or any personal items. But if there is something you ever need, please contact us as we pride ourselves on making it the most enjoyable stay for our guests. Glad you had a great trip for your son's birthday.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

Not clean... disappointed.

  • 1 of 5

Location and yard was amazing. Especially for sledding. However, we had many issues with the cabin. To start with, the snow wasn't cleared in front of the driveway and with no cell reception and no shovel this was a huge problem. It took us 2 hours to park the cars. With tired kids.

The cabin wasn't clean. The bedding had crusted stains and there was a cough drop and pill on the floor so it didn't seem to be vacuumed. The worst was that our kids found DOG POOP under the table. Again, not sure how you could vacuum and miss that.

The code for the jacuzzi lock was given to us but it was buried under snow. A huge disappointment.

Things were broken in the cabin. It didn't seem to be well maintained.

The owner did respond to these complaints but we paid a lot of money for our boys to play in the snow for the first time so would like more than just a sorry.

With these issues addressed, it could be a nice little cabin.

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Memorial Day
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
Summer
May 30 2017 - Jun 29 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
From
$225
Fri,Sat
 
 
July 4th
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
Summer
Jul 5 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
From
$225
Fri,Sat
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
Fall
Sep 6 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$200
Fri,Sat
 
 
Winter
Nov 1 2017 - Nov 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
From
$225
Fri,Sat
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$475
 
 
Winter
Nov 27 2017 - Dec 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$225
From
$350
Fri,Sat
 
 
Christmas
Dec 22 2017 - Dec 26 2017
4 night minimum stay
$575
 
 
New Years
Dec 27 2017 - Jan 3 2018
4 night minimum stay
$575
 
 
Winter
Jan 4 2018 - Jan 11 2018
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$375
Fri,Sat
 
 
MLK Weekend
Jan 12 2018 - Jan 15 2018
4 night minimum stay
$470
 
 
Winter
Jan 16 2018 - Feb 15 2018
2 night minimum stay
$250
$375
 
 
Presidents Day
Feb 16 2018 - Feb 19 2018
3 night minimum stay
$460
 
 
Winter
Feb 20 2018 - Apr 1 2018
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$375
Fri,Sat
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Pet Fee $25
Cleaning Fee $150
Tax Rate 11.0%

Call for Last minute specials. Rates may change at any time.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

Special HomeAway Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car