Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Highly Recommended!! Secluded Guest Privacy Yet Central To All Activities

Bedrooms 3
Space 167 m²
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Home 2 bedrooms / 2 bathrooms also Studio Apartmentt, 1 bedroom /1 bathroom

The first thing people usually say after arriving at the Posada Colonial is that 'The pictures don't do it justice'. We are confident from our reviews that you, your family and your friends will feel the same way.

We are central, yet secluded, with patios, balconies and grounds looking on to the world famous Arenal Volcano. This Almendro home has a wrap-around balcony, is gated and very private. We have WI-fi, cable and Sky TV, indoor and outdoor dining with flowers, birds and butterflies everywhere. It is a natural paradise.

We are near the charming town of La Fortuna, and our area is famous for its diversity of interests. These include bird watching, river rafting, jungle cruises, jungle canopy tours, butterfly farms, horseback riding, world famous spas and hot springs or relaxing and enjoying the best views of the spectacular Arenal Volcano. And because we are well located on the main road, all is within easy access. We encourage everyone who is planning on visiting to read the reviews of our home to help determine your decision for your visit to this lovely part of the world.

We have been a Bed and Breakfast for about 15 years, with excellent reviews in the guide books, Our housekeeper/cook Miriam is local, friendly, helpful and has developed a great reputation for her breakfasts, which you can read about in the reviews. She is the soul of the place.

Security: Although the property is on the main road, with easy access to all the local attractions, it is gated, fenced, on a partial rise, and thus very safe and private. The newly formed 'tourist police' make regular checks with all the property owners.

More Details

Property Manager
Grant Carlson
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2017

About Grant Carlson

I'm a Canadian who came here in 1993 for a combination of adventure and investment. I built a home in La Palma overlooking Arenal Volcano, and because of the shortage of places for people to stay gradually became involved in tourism. It has been a wonderful experience meeting people from all over the world. When it comes to the wonders of nature, everyone reacts in a similar way. Awe, respect, wonder and delight.

Grant Carlson purchased this house in 1995

Why Grant Carlson chose Alajuela Province

When I decided on Costa Rica as a place to live in and invest I knew very little about the country, apart from its positive reputation. It was only later that I realized I needed a 'where' in Costa Rica. After driving around the country for a week or so I arrived in La Fortuna and immediately knew that this was where I wanted to be. It was something I still can't explain. I built the home, which eventually evolved into a B and B, about two years after arriving. I drove a fifth wheel down here from Vancouver and lived in that until my home was complete.

What makes this house unique

The Nicaraguan and Costa Rican people Ive become friends with over the years have enhanced my life immeasurably. As well. the climate, the greenery, fresh air, the birds and, of course, the volcano, all serve to make this area a very special place in the world.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Two friends and I recently visited Arenal and stayed at this wonderful home just outside of La Fortuna. We had a great time, mostly because of the wonderful hospitality of the owner and his staff. The home itself is beautiful with wonderful views of the volcano and rainforest. Grant went out of his way to help us plan our stay: he helped set up various excursions and provided great recommendations on things to do. Miriam cooked amazing breakfasts every morning, and we couldn't have asked for more. It made everything so easy. If I ever return to Arenal, I will certainly want to stay here again!

Recommended for:Families with young children, families with teenagers, adventure seekers, girls getaway, sightseeing, romantic getaway, pet owners, age 55+.
Nov 2011
  • 1 of 5


San Carlos House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 167 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Town
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Cabina Bathroom - toilet , shower
  • En suite upstairs also has a door leading from the living area. Downstairs bathroom has very large tub sink and shower. Both bathrooms are done in Spanish style ceramics. The bathroom in the private guest apartment includes a shower.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    cabina - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Master Bedroom - 1 queen
  • Large Master Bedroom has an en suite and sliding bronzed glass doors leading on to the wrap around balcony. Downstairs house bedroom also has sliding bronzed glass doors leading on to the patio and garden area. Third bedroom is in the nearby private cabina which is a part of the complex.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Patio
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
  • Staff
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
We have a housekeeper who will have everything prepared for your arrival. The house is situated on the Rio La Palma which is a short hike down to the bottom of the property. Across the small river, actually a large creek, is jungle. Monkeys visit regularly but at times known only to them. We have feeders so there are always plenty of birds around. Deer, wild boar, pesote, and other animals have also been sited. Of course there is an abundance of flowers as well. It s a very comfortable home which fits into the surrounding ambiance quite naturally. There are interesting views everywhere. It is private and enclosed yet near everything the area has to offer.


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(58 traveler reviews)


Great Arsenal rental, with lots of room.

  • 5 of 5

We were very pleased with this immaculate property. It was an exceptional "Tica" home, with plenty of room, doors that opened fully to enjoy the wrap around porch to allow the full nature experience of the rain forest. The home was far enough from town to allow for restful times, but close enough to La Fortuna and Volcano Arenal to be accessible easily. The caretaker was very informative, and provided a wonderful breakfast daily at the time you requested.

We would return to this rental, and highly recommend to our closest friends and family. This is a five star rental.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your very kind response and I'll be sure to pass this along to Miriam. All the very best to you and your family, Grant
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Montreal, Canada

Impressive. We felt we were in a park all by ourselves with the volcano view.

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was fantastic. Upon arrival we marvelled at the scenery and the large outdoor sitting and eating area. We had a splendid view of the Volcano and we were lucky enough to see it completely everyday. Myriam who cooked us breakfast is a fantastic lady.

I highly recommend this place.

  • Submitted: May 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so very much and I'll certainly pass this along to Miriam. These reviews like yours mean everything to us and are very much appreciated. Every happiness, Grant
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Greenbush Wisconsin USA

Great Location, Great Time

  • 5 of 5

Grant and staff made this a memorable 3 day stay. Large airy home with upper and lower porches, located very conveniently to LaFortuna and Arenal. Excellent communication with Grant and homemade breakfasts made this a special place to stay. We enjoyed the early morning and late day bird shows, colorful birds of every kind show up to feast on fruit. I would definitely return. Don't forget to hike down to the creek! It's a slice of heaven down there.

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your kind words, Michael, we depend exclusively on these reviews, and I'll be sure to pass this along to Miriam. Love to see you back again! Every happiness for you and your family, Grant
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
colorado springs

Amazing!! Terrific location too! Perfect for a family!

  • 5 of 5

This was an amazing location and beautiful as well. Everything we did between ziplining ,night tours, daytime birding hikes as well as Suspension Bridge tour was within 5 miles. The breakfast servedwas great !! Free hot springs at Tabacon is just down the road. Great birding including parrots on the great wrap around deck!! Thanks so much Grant for sharing your home with us.

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your very kind words and I'll certainly pass them along to Miriam. We are completely dependent on the feedback of our guests so this means a great deal to us. All the very best to you and your family, Grant
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Caledon, Ont.,

Really Poor

  • 1 of 5

I rented this property in October for an 11-day stretch to include Valentine's day and my wife's birthday. I paid a 50% deposit. A week before our trip, I checked the site and discovered two of my reserved days were "open." Upon further checking, it turned out the manager had triple-booked the site and canceled me without notice, leaving me with a week to find leftovers within the timeframe of our tickets.

The owner's response when I inquired was to say "sorry," and throw the deposit back. I pointed out the relationship was contractual, I had paid my deposit and it did not matter whether he could make more with other clients.

Since the site specifies that deposits are non-refundable, unlike most other sites, I suggested compensation for rebooking, loss of reservations elsewhere, etc.

There has been no offer of compensation or cooperation. We were out on our ear with a verbal blistering, including the false accusation that I had already booked a substitute. It was almost as if he had been drinking, but it was too early.

VRBO's response has been equally unsatisfying. That is to say, nothing.

Very unhappy. My assessment is that this manager is far more interested in fail-safe profit than in providing any service, whatever.

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This person never stayed with us yet demanded we pay him $600. We can only point to the long list of very satisfied guests we have hosted over the years in order that readers can determine the truth for themselves.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great Location, Amazing Miriam

  • 4 of 5

We are two "senior" couples who stayed for three days mid-week in March 2017. The volcano-view vacation home is very comfortable and spacious. We enjoyed watching colorful birds at the feeder each morning. Chef Miriam, a very sweet and helpful lady who took care of us well, prepared hearty combined tipico and Americano breakfasts, complemented by fresh papaya, pineapple, watermelon, and cantalope. At our request, Miriam also made us a dinner of chicken and "camarones con arroz" (shrimp with rice) one evening. The location is excellent, between La Fortuna and Lake Arenal, and the volcano view is stunning. Good restaurants and hot springs are plentiful. We drove around the lake, almost to Tilaran, one day - and visited the hanging bridges on another. Internet access is very good, most of the time. Miriam understands quite a bit of English, and speaks mostly Spanish, so a dictionary or translator app may be helpful if you speak no Spanish. One of the twin beds could be more comfortable, and the kitchen could use some additional utensils for self-catered meals. Ask Miriam for a blender if you want to mix some pina coladas. An unapologetic Homeaway/VRBO did a very poor job at helping us to communicate with the owner before we arrived, making it nearly impossible to find a map to the property. Homeaway's so-called "customer service" took almost a day to respond by email, and cut off two of our calls - after waiting 48 minutes and 55 minutes on hold. Fortunately we had paid by PayPal, and were able to use that transaction info to contact the owner directly. Be sure to get driving directions from the owner when you book.

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Brian and Lisa, I'm terribly sorry about your experience but it seems Miriam worked her magic in finally making your stay a more satisfying experience. I'll certainly mention the need for more utensils to Miriam, who I know is wonderful, and update the twins. I'll pass this along to Miriam and the rest of us can hopefully improve from the points you've made. All the very best, Grant
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing

Special HomeAway Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car

You might like these similar properties